Friedrich Kleinhapl (cello) & Andreas Woyke (piano)

22.01.2010, 20:00
Mersin Kültür Merkezi

Friedrich Kleinhapl (cello)

An Austrian cellist with Belgian roots, Friedrich Kleinhapl studied with Philippe Muller in Paris and then worked together with such luminaries as Claudio Abbado, Lord Yehudi Menuhin, Paul Tortelier and Tibor Varga. His breakthrough came with his performance of Friedrich Gulda’s famous cello concerto, and he remains one of its most sought-after interpreters. Kleinhapl performs as a soloist and chamber musician in Europe, America and Asia, and has played with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Fabio Luisi, Ulf Schirmer and Michael Güttler.

Andreas Woyke (piano)

The German pianist Andreas Woyke studied with Pavel Gililov at the Cologne conservatory and with Rudolf Kehrer at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. He has won countless awards, such as first prize at the International Brahms Competition in Hamburg and first prize at the Competition for Twentieth Century Music in Vienna. Andreas Woyke works as a freelance pianist in Graz, where he also teaches piano and chamber music at his alma mater. In addition, he conducts masterclasses and a jazz improvisation course for classical musicians at the annual “Musik Zentral” festival in Styria.


Joint recordings:

  • Beethoven Sonatas, 2009
  • Schubert Schnittke Sonatas and Songs, 2007
  • Franck Rachmaninow Sonatas, 2007
  • Brahms Sonatas and Songs, 2005
  • Schostakowitsch Sonaten, 2004

    Friedrich Kleinhapl:

  • Dirk D’Ase, 2008
  • Bach Solosuites 1, 3 and 5, 2006
  • Gulda Neumeister, 2001

    Andreas Woyke solo:

  • „Braiding Bach“, 2008
  • Related links