Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Call for Fellows
Shaping the Past

Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe leading a discussion at Monument Lab’s Town Hall
2019 Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) leading a discussion at Monument Lab’s Town Hall, A Public Forum on Process and Power | © CJ Willis

Monument Lab in partnership with Goethe-Institut and Federal Agency for Civic Education invites applications for a 2020 cohort of Monument Lab Transnational Fellows. This fellowship recognizes individuals and collectives whose ongoing projects address long term inequities in monuments and engage new creative approaches to public art, history, and memory. The fellowship program is part of the joint project Shaping the Past.


Shaping the Past engages the changing forms of collective remembrance and reckoning in public spaces within and across national borders. The multidisciplinary project fosters transnational exchange among curators, artists, activists, historians, and civic participants to discuss and imagine the next generation of monuments.
 
The project, a partnership between the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Federal Agency for Civic Education, Shaping the Past connects memory workers across multiple cities in North America and Germany who have piloted new approaches to building and remediating monuments in their own local contexts. Shaping the Past expands the Monument Lab Fellows program and includes a major public conference built into Monument Lab’s annual Town Hall in Summer 2020, a multi-site exhibition across multiple Goethe-Institutes in North America in Fall 2020, and a publication that contextualizes the Fellows’ projects as a sweeping intervention and update to the monumental landscape.

Monument Lab Fellow Joel Garcia 2019 Monument Lab Fellow Joel Garcia (Los Angeles) | © CJ Willis Places of remembrance, such as monuments, statues, parks, and street names, shape shared perceptions of a society. They significantly influence what is perceived, erased, disavowed, and potentially open for reinterpretation. Significant interventions into the field have been pushed by practitioners who seek antiracist, de-colonial, feminist, queer, and transnational perspectives. These current discourses on dealing with monuments shed light on the (in)visibilities of and potential for different interpretations of the past in the public realm. Shaping the Past connects with and builds on the work of emerging leaders of local, national, and transnational movements to remember through reflection and with urgency.
 
Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with Monument Lab, the Goethe-Institut, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Call for Fellows 

The call for fellows has closed. 2020 Fellows will be announced soon.
 

Partners

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Monument Lab Logo
Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Monument Lab
Monument Lab is an independent public art and history studio based in Philadelphia. We work with artists, students, activists, municipal agencies, and cultural institutions on exploratory approaches to public engagement and collective memory. Monument Lab cultivates and facilitates critical conversations around the past, present, and future of monuments.
https://monumentlab.com/
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ausschreibung
Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past

Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe moderiert eine Diskussion beim Town Hall des Monument Lab.
2019 Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) moderiert eine Diskussion beim Town Hall des Monument Lab, ein öffentliches Forum zu Prozessen und Macht. | © CJ Willis

Monument Lab schreibt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung ein transnationales Fellowship-Programm für 2020 aus. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Einzelpersonen und Kollektive, deren laufende Projekte sich mit langfristigen Ungleichgewichten in Denkmälern befassen und neue kreative Ansätze für öffentliche Kunst, Geschichte und Erinnerung entwickeln. Das Fellowship-Programm ist Teil des gemeinsamen Projekts Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping The Past.


Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past befasst sich mit den wandelnden Formen kollektiver Erinnerungen und Annahmen im öffentlichen Raum innerhalb von und über Landesgrenzen hinweg. Das multidisziplinäre Projekt fördert den länderübergreifenden Austausch zwischen Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Historiker*innen und Bürger*innen, um über die nächste Generation von Denkmälern zu diskutieren und sie zu gestalten.
 
Das Projekt Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past, eine Kooperation des Goethe-Instituts, Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, bringt Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen aus mehreren Städten Nordamerikas und Deutschlands zusammen, die innovative Wege beim Bau und der Sanierung von Denkmälern in ihrem jeweiligen lokalen Kontext beschreiten. Das Projekt ist eine Erweiterung des Fellowship-Programms des Monument Lab und umfasst eine große öffentliche Konferenz im Sommer 2020, eine Ausstellung in mehreren Goethe-Instituten Nordamerikas im Herbst 2020 sowie eine Publikation, in der die Projekte der Stipendiat*innen als eine umfassende Intervention in die und Erneuerung der Denkmallandschaft in einen Gesamtzusammenhang gebracht werden.

Monument Lab Stipendiat Joel Garcia 2019 Monument Lab Stipendiat Joel Garcia (Los Angeles) | © CJ Willis Orte des Gedenkens, wie Denkmäler, Statuen, Parks und Straßennamen, formen die kollektive Wahrnehmung einer Gesellschaft. Sie beeinflussen maßgeblich, was wahrgenommen, gelöscht und verleugnet wird und was Raum für Neuinterpretationen bietet.  Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen, die nach antirassistischen, antikolonialistischen, feministischen, queeren und grenzübergreifenden Perspektiven suchen, haben in signifikantem Maß in diese Sphäre eingegriffen. Der derzeitige Diskurs über den Umgang mit Denkmälern beleuchtet die (Un)Sichtbarkeit und das Potenzial verschiedener Deutungen der Vergangenheit im öffentlichen Raum. Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past knüpft an die Arbeit neuer Anführer*innen lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zur Förderung einer reflektierten, eindringlichen Erinnerungskultur an und baut darauf auf.

Ausschreibung

Die Ausschreibung für Stipendiat*innen ist abgeschlossen. Die 2020-Stipendiat*innen werden gleich bekanntgegeben.

PARTNER

Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab, Philadelphia, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Monument Lab Logo Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Monument Lab
Monument Lab ist ein unabhängiges Atelier für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und Geschichte in Philadelphia. Gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen, Schüler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Kommunalbehörden und Kultureinrichtungen erarbeiten wir explorative Ansätze für öffentliches Engagement und kollektives Gedächtnis. Monument Lab fördert und ermöglicht einen kritischen Diskurs über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft von Denkmälern.
https://monumentlab.com/
 

Top