Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

11th Berlin Biennale
Kunst als partizipativer Prozess

The curators of the 11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, from left to right: Renata Cervetto, Agustín Pérez Rubio, María Berríos, Lisette Lagnado
The curators of the 11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, from left to right: Renata Cervetto, Agustín Pérez Rubio, María Berríos, Lisette Lagnado | Photo (detail): © F. Anthea Schaap

What will the Berlin Biennale 2020 focus on, and what role will Berlin play? An interview with curator Agustín Pérez Rubio.

By Nadine Berghausen

In summer 2020, the 11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art will be held at various locations in the city. This one promises to be a little different from its predecessors, though, as the current curatorial team has ambitious plans for the concept: through more openness and participation, they hope to extend the Biennale’s impact beyond 2020. Curator Agustín Pérez Rubio spoke in an interview about the importance of transforming art mediation and the role Berlin will play in this process.

Mr Pérez Rubio, the Berlin Biennale traditionally selects a leitmotiv. How would you describe it for the Biennale 2020?

Inspired by the work of Brazilian artist and architect Flávio de Carvalho, we have chosen a number of different projects for the Biennale 2020. From the 1930s to the 1950s, de Carvalho organized Experiências (experiences), different pieces performed in São Paulo, which was quite conservative at the time. We took these Experiências as a jumping off point and are confronting today’s reality with that of de Carvalho’s time. We explore the primary conflicts in our society – in Berlin and around the world – and how they are connected to the normative society described by de Carvalho. Ultimately his work provided triggering moments that are later discharged by the work of other artists over the course of the Biennale.

When you talk about the course of the Biennale, you are not just referring to the actual main event in summer 2020, but to a series of exhibitions leading up to this event. What is the significance of these individual elements?  

The Biennale is a process. Three “experiences”, exp. 1-3, that took place during the one-year run-up that kicked off in September 2019, created a context and paved the way for the actual Biennale. The final element is the phase generally seen as the Biennale, schedule from the 13th of June to the 13th of September 2020. We see this final piece as an epilogue closely linked to exp. 1-3.

Like your inspiration, artist de Carvalho, you and the three other members of the curator team are from Latin American countries. How has that impacted the Biennale?

We try to incorporate our South American past, history and research into our work. This affects various issues, like the legacy of Colonialism and the role of museums. We will also be showing a lot of work by South American artists.
Flávio de Carvalho wearing and displaying the New Look Suit on the streets of São Paulo: “Experiência n. 3”, 1956. Flávio de Carvalho wearing and displaying the New Look Suit on the streets of São Paulo: “Experiência n. 3”, 1956. | Photo: Fundo Flávio de Carvalho/CEDAE-UNICAMP, Campinas © The Heirs of Flávio de Carvalho How do you work together as a team?

We don’t believe in the work of any one individual curator, just like the Biennale doesn’t have just one central message. Instead we believe in the collaborative process, and reject clear cut distinctions such as: “what is an exhibition, what is a public programme, what is an art project, how do we understand art mediation, and what does mediation really mean in this context?” As a curatorial team, we see everything as art, the whole process from the very start of a piece to its reception. That is our approach.

This approach includes a desire to design the Biennale to be open and participative. What does that look like in practice?

We want to establish a more lasting relationship to the audience. To this end, we have closely involved the various exhibition venues in the programme and want to give the Berlin public the chance to truly participate in this Biennale. Performances, workshops and roundtables will be held at different venues throughout Berlin. This is our attempt to encourage continual exchange with the artistic community, the university and, above all, Berlin communities. Many citizens are not really involved in cultural processes and art mediation. They are not part of the system of art. We also do not want to exclude anyone just because they don’t have the resources, knowledge or experience in dealing with artistic processes.

Would you mind describing one of these projects in more detail?  

Stories are developed within a collective; they are made up of various perspectives, desires and fears. Florian Gass and Mirja Reuter held puppet theatre workshops for children and teens in our temporary spaces, and participants expressed the desire to define or interpret the action themselves. One workshop allowed children and teens to create their own puppets, stage sets and equipment for projecting shadows and images, fictions and illusions.
An outtake from the installation „exp. 1: the bones of the world“ at the 11th Berlin Biennale at ExRotaprint in Berlin Gesundbrunnen. An outtake from the installation „exp. 1: the bones of the world“ at the 11th Berlin Biennale at ExRotaprint in Berlin Gesundbrunnen. | Photo (detail): © Mathias Völzke What do you mean by sustainable in reference to the public and people who live in Berlin?  

The advantage of working on a sustainable process is that it gives you the option to change directions. We have time to respond to the needs of the people who live in Berlin and to recognize our mistakes. As a team, we didn’t arrive in Berlin with any specific expectations of the project. Instead, we asked ourselves what people in Berlin’s communities and in the artistic community expected from us, and what we could offer them. This Biennale will also be the first to take advantage of the opportunity to extend its impact even after the official exhibition has closed. For the first time, specially hired employees will continue to work on art mediation in future. The 11th Biennale will end, but citizens will continue to have opportunities for profiting from ongoing projects.

Infobox

Agustín Pérez Rubio and his colleagues Lisette Lagnado, María Berríos and Renata Cervetto identify as the female curatorial team working across generations for the Biennale Berlin. Pérez Rubio was artistic director of  the Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires and chief curator and director of the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León. He has also curated numerous exhibitions, most recently on Claudia Andujar and Mirtha Dermisache. In 2019, he curated the Chilean pavilion at the Biennale di Venezia. He explores collaborative projects, issues of gender and feminism, linguistics, architecture, politics and postcolonial perspectives.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

11. Berlin Biennale
Kunst als partizipativer Prozess

Die Kurator*innen der 11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, v.l.n.r.: Renata Cervetto, Agustín Pérez Rubio, María Berríos, Lisette Lagnado
Die Kurator*innen der 11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, v.l.n.r.: Renata Cervetto, Agustín Pérez Rubio, María Berríos, Lisette Lagnado | Foto (Detail): © F. Anthea Schaap

Was sind die Schwerpunkte der Berlin Biennale 2020 und welche Rolle spielt Berlin dabei? – Ein Interview mit Kurator Agustín Pérez Rubio.

Von Nadine Berghausen

Im Sommer 2020 wird sich die 11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt präsentieren. Diesmal möchte das Kurator*innenteam jedoch Veränderung in das bestehende Konzept bringen: Durch mehr Offenheit und Partizipation soll die Biennale über das Ausstellungsjahr 2020 hinaus wirken können. Im Gespräch erzählt Kurator Agustín Pérez Rubio, wie wichtig es ist, Kunstvermittlung zu verändern, und welche Rolle Berlin dabei spielt.

Herr Pérez Rubio, traditionell bestimmt die Biennale Berlin ein Leitmotiv. Wie würden Sie es für die Biennale 2020 beschreiben?

Für die Biennale 2020 haben wir uns für mehrere unterschiedliche Projekte entschieden. Dabei haben wir uns von der Arbeit des brasilianischen Künstlers und Architekten Flávio de Carvalho inspirieren lassen. Von den 1930er-Jahren bis in die 1950er-Jahre veranstaltete er sogenannte Experiências (Erfahrungen), die aus verschiedenen Performances bestanden und im damals konservativen São Paulo stattfanden. Wir nehmen diese Experiências als Ausgangspunkte und konfrontieren unsere heutige Realität mit jener aus de Carvalhos Zeit. Welche Konflikte herrschen in unserer Gesellschaft – in Berlin und weltweit – und wie stehen sie in Zusammenhang mit der normativen Gesellschaft, die de Carvalho beschreibt. Schlussendlich nutzen wir seine Arbeiten als auslösende Momente, die später, im Verlauf der Biennale, von Arbeiten anderer Künstler abgelöst werden.

Wenn Sie vom Verlauf der Biennale reden, beziehen Sie sich nicht nur auf das eigentliche Hauptevent im Sommer 2020, sondern auch auf eine Reihe von Ausstellungen, die diesem Event vorausgehen. Welche Bedeutung haben diese einzelnen Teile?

Die Biennale ist ein Prozess. Sie wird umspannt von einer einjährigen Anfangsphase, die im September 2019 eröffnet wurde. In dieser Zeit finden drei „Erfahrungen“, die exp. 1-3, statt, die zur eigentlichen Biennale hinführen. Der letzte Teil wird die Phase beschreiben, die gemeinhin als Biennale verstanden wird. Sie wird vom 13. Juni bis zum 13. September 2020 stattfinden. Diesen letzten Abschnitt sehen wir als Epilog, der aber mit den exp. 1-3 eng verbunden ist.

Wie der Künstler de Carvalho, von dem Sie sich haben inspirieren lassen, kommen auch Sie und Ihre drei Kolleginnen im Kurator*innenteam aus lateinamerikanischen Ländern. Welche Bedeutung hat das für die Biennale?

Wir versuchen, unsere südamerikanische Vergangenheit, Geschichte und Forschung in unsere Arbeit einzubeziehen. Das betrifft verschiedene Themengebiete, wie Kolonialerbe und die Rolle der Museen. Außerdem zeigen wir viele Arbeiten südamerikanischer Künstler.
Flávio de Carvalho trägt und zeigt den New Look-Anzug auf den Straßen von São Paulo: „Experiência n. 3“, 1956. Flávio de Carvalho trägt und zeigt den New Look-Anzug auf den Straßen von São Paulo: „Experiência n. 3“, 1956. | Foto: Fundo Flávio de Carvalho/CEDAE-UNICAMP, Campinas © The Heirs of Flávio de Carvalho Wie gestalten Sie die Arbeit im Team?

Wir glauben nicht an die Arbeit nur eines Kurators – so wie die Biennale nicht nur eine zentrale Aussage hat. Wir glauben an einen kollaborativen Prozess. Wir treffen keine klare Abgrenzung in der Art: „Was ist eine Ausstellung, was ist ein öffentliches Programm, was ist ein Kunstprojekt, was verstehen wir unter Kunstvermittlung, was bedeutet Mediation in diesem Zusammenhang?“ In unserem Verständnis als
Kurator*innenteam ist alles als Kunst zu verstehen – der gesamte Prozess vom Ausgangspunkt des Kunstwerks bis zur Rezeption. Das ist unsere Herangehensweise.

Zu dieser Herangehensweise zählt auch, dass Sie die Biennale offen und partizipativ gestalten möchten. Wie setzen Sie das um?

Unserer Meinung nach sollten wir nachhaltigere Beziehungen zum Publikum aufbauen. Wir beziehen die verschiedenen Veranstaltungsorte eng in unser Programm ein und wollen der Berliner Nachbarschaft die Möglichkeit geben, an dieser Biennale tatsächlich teilzuhaben. An verschiedenen Orten in Berlin veranstalten wir Performances, Workshops, Gesprächsrunden. Wir versuchen einen nachhaltigen Austausch mit der Künstlercommunity, der Universität und vor allem mit der Berliner Nachbarschaft zu etablieren. Viele Bürger*innen sind nicht wirklich in kulturelle Prozesse und Kunstvermittlung involviert. Sie sind nicht Teil des Kunstsystems. Andererseits möchten wir diese Menschen nicht nur deshalb ausschließen, weil es ihnen an Ressourcen, Wissen oder Erfahrung im Umgang mit Kunstprozessen mangelt.

Können Sie eines dieser Projekte näher beschreiben?

Erzählungen werden im Kollektiv entwickelt, sie setzen sich aus verschiedenen Perspektiven, Wünschen und Ängsten zusammen. Bei den Figurentheater-Workshops für Kinder und Jugendliche, die Florian Gass und Mirja Reuter in unserem temporären Raum durchgeführt haben, kam dazu noch die Lust, das Geschehen selbst zu bestimmen oder zu interpretieren. Eine Werkstatt hat den teilnehmenden Kindern und Jugendlichen den Bau von Figuren und Kulissen sowie von Apparaturen zur Projektion von Schatten und Bildern, Fiktionen und Illusionen ermöglicht.
Installationsansicht „exp. 1: Das Gerippe der Welt“ auf der 11. Berlin Biennale auf dem ExRotaprint-Gelände in Berlin Gesundbrunnen. Installationsansicht „exp. 1: Das Gerippe der Welt“ auf der 11. Berlin Biennale auf dem ExRotaprint-Gelände in Berlin Gesundbrunnen. | Foto (Detail): © Mathias Völzke Was meinen Sie mit Nachhaltigkeit, wenn Sie von den Beziehungen zum Publikum und den Berliner*innen sprechen?

Der Vorteil der Arbeit an einem nachhaltigen Prozess ist die Möglichkeit, die Richtung zu ändern. Wir haben die Zeit, auf die Bedürfnisse der Menschen in Berlin einzugehen und Fehler zu erkennen. Als Team sind wir nicht mit Erwartungen an das Projekt nach Berlin gekommen, sondern haben uns gefragt, was hier in der Nachbarschaft und von der Künstlercommunity von uns erwartet wird und was wir bieten können. Diese Biennale wird zudem als erste die Möglichkeit ergreifen, auch dann wirken zu können, wenn die offizielle Ausstellung vorüber ist. Zum ersten Mal werden die eigens eingestellten Mitarbeiter*innen auch zukünftig in der Kunstvermittlung tätig sein. Die 11. Biennale wird zu Ende gehen – aber die Bürger*innen werden auch danach noch die Möglichkeit haben, von fortlaufenden Projekten zu profitieren.

Infobox

Agustín Pérez Rubio und seine Kolleginnen Lisette Lagnado, María Berríos und Renata Cervetto identifizieren sich als weibliches Kurator*innenteam, das für die Biennale Berlin generationsübergreifend arbeitet. Pérez Rubio war künstlerischer Leiter des Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires und Chefkurator und Direktor des Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León. Außerdem kuratierte er zahlreiche Ausstellungen, zuletzt über Claudia Andujar und Mirtha Dermisache. 2019 war er Kurator des chilenischen Pavillons auf der Biennale di Venezia.. Er beschäftigt sich mit kollaborativen Projekten, Genderfragen und feministischen Themen, Linguistik, Architektur, Politik und postkolonialen Perspektiven.

Top