Behind POW! WOW! Washington DC
POW! WOW! Washington DC

  • Jeff Gress spricht ©Jeff Gress / Photo: Mike Maguire
    Hawaii artist Jeff Gress on the second day of the festival sporting a POW! WOW! t-shirt and explaining the plans for his mural.
  • Jeff Gress - POW! WOW! Washington DC ©Jeff Gress / Photo: Mike Maguire
    Gress’s completed mural near the corner of N and First Streets NE.
  • CRI - POW! WOW! Washington DC 2017 Shed ©CRI / Foto: Mike Maguire
    DC artist Juan Pineda, aka CRI, painted this shed on M Street NE in NoMa for the 2017 festival.
  • Kelly Towles - POW! WOW! Washington DC 2018 ©Kelly Towles / Photo: Mike Maguire
    Kelly Towles took on the same shed for this year’s festival.
The 2018 POW! WOW! DC Mural Festival has now wrapped up, leaving behind over 20 new works of street art in and around Washington’s NoMa neighborhood.
 
The festival’s director Kelly Towles has been active in the D.C. art scene since the late 1990s. His pieces can be seen throughout the area in businesses, galleries, on walls and garage doors. Along with the large task of running this year’s festival, he also took part by covering a shed on M Street NE with a new mural.
 
Hawaii artist Jeff Gress has long been active in the POW! WOW! Worldwide community. He helped Towles host the 2017 POW! WOW! DC Mural Festival, but for 2018 he returned to enjoy the festival strictly as an artist. The scale of his contribution this year required his full attention. His massive blue and purple “DC!” mural off N Street NE completely covers three stories.
 
Check the map of locations on the POW! WOW! DC website to ensure you see the murals in their beginning state. Street art is almost always a transitory form, and these murals will face many hazards. While many graffiti artists and taggers would never use someone else’s mural as a canvas, there are some who do. There is also always the possibility of murals being painted over or lost when a wall is demolished to make way for new construction.

 

Author

Mike Maguire ©Josh Mike Maguire is a Washington, D.C. photographer and writer. His photos have appeared in The Washington City Paper, The Baltimore Sun, USA Today, and Thrasher Magazine. A native of the D.C. area, he loves photographing the city's nightlife and street art. 
Follow Mike on Instagram.

Hinter den Kulissen von POW! WOW! Washington DC
POW! WOW! Washington DC

  • Jeff Gress speaking ©Jeff Gress / Foto: Mike Maguire
    Der hawaiianische Künstler Jeff Gress erklärt am zweiten Tag des diesjährigen Festivals die Pläne für sein Wandbild, dabei trägt er ein POW! WOW!-T-Shirt.
  • Jeff Gress - POW! WOW! Washington DC ©Jeff Gress / Foto: Mike Maguire
    Gress‘ fertiggestelltes Werk in der Nähe der Ecke von N und First Street NE.
  • CRI - POW! WOW! Washington DC 2017 Shed ©CRI / Foto: Mike Maguire
    Juan „CRI” Pineda, ein Künstler aus D.C., verschönerte diese Hütte auf der M Street NE in NoMa für das POW! WOW! DC Festival 2017.
  • Kelly Towles - POW! WOW! Washington DC 2018 ©Kelly Towles / Foto: Mike Maguire
    Kelly Towles nahm dieselbe Hütte für das diesjährige Festival in Angriff.
Das POW! WOW! DC Mural Festival 2018 ist zu Ende gegangen und hat in Washington, D.C. 20 neue Street-Art-Kunstwerke in und um das Stadtviertel NoMa hinterlassen.
 
Festivalleiter Kelly Towles ist bereits seit Ende der 1990er Jahre in der Kunstszene von D.C. aktiv; seine Werke sind hier allerorts zu sehen: in Geschäften, Galerien, an Wänden und Garagentoren. Neben der ganzen Organisation für das diesjährige Festival ist er selbst auch als Künstler aktiv gewesen und hat einen Schuppen mit einem neuen Wandkunstwerk versehen.
 
Der Künstler Jeff Gress aus Hawaii gehört schon lange zur „POW! WOW! Worldwide“-Gemeinschaft und hat Towles bereits beim POW! WOW! DC Mural Festival 2017 unterstützt. 2018 hat er das Festival dagegen rein aus Künstlersicht erlebt – das Ausmaß seines Beitrags erforderte dieses Mal seine gesamte Aufmerksamkeit: Sein in Blau und Lila gehaltenes Wandgemälde DC! in der Nähe der N Street NE erstreckt sich schließlich über drei Stockwerke.
 
Wer die Werke noch im Neuzustand erleben möchte, sollte sich schnell das Standortverzeichnis auf der POW! WOW! DC Website ansehen und den Wandgemälden bald einen Besuch abstatten. Schließlich handelt es sich bei Street Art fast ausschließlich um eine zeitlich begrenzte Kunstform, die Kunstwerke sind diversen Bedrohungen ausgesetzt. Obwohl die meisten Graffiti-Künstler und Tagger nie auf die Idee kämen, das Werk eines anderen als Leinwand für das eigene Bild zu nutzen, gibt es leider immer wieder Ausnahmen. Es besteht immer die Gefahr, dass die Werke von anderen übermalt oder im Zuge einer Baumaßnahme, bei der die betreffende Wand in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wird, zerstört werden.

 

Autor

Mike Maguire ©Josh Mike Maguire kommt aus Washington D.C. und ist Fotograf und Schriftsteller. Seine Fotos sind im Washington City Paper, in der Baltimore Sun, in USA Todayund im Thrasher Magazine erschienen. Der gebürtige Washingtoner liebt es, das Nachtleben und die Street-Art der Stadt zu fotografieren. Folgen Sie Mike auf Instagram.