"Astronaut Cosmonaut" by Victor Ash
BERLIN KREUZBERG

"Astronaut Cosmonaut" by Victor Ash © Victor Ash, Photo: Luna Park

A berlin legend

French artists’ Victor Ash’s Astronaut Cosmonaut has achieved a cult mural status for Berlin. It is one of the most pictured murals in Berlin – a legend! Standing in Berlin-Kreuzberg near Kottbusser Tor and painted during the legendary Backjumps Festival #3 in 2007, the painting of a floating astronaut on 22 x 14 meters strikes a particular chord in Berlin.

Victor wanted to concentrate and express his past experiences and visions of Berlin - the space race between the USSR and the USA but also the different Berlin subcultures and the desire to escape reality. “I got inspired by David Bowies “Space Oddity” from 1969 in which he tells the story of a astronaut who gets lost in space and later on with the song “Ashes to Ashes” in 1981 where Bowie tells us that the spaceman was in fact a junkie on a trip”. 


For the artist, the Astronaut/Cosmonaut represents the will to escape to other universes, “as a little child, I escaped to a fantasy world with my space drawings and as a teenager, I escaped to subcultures to find my identity in the urban environment where I grew up”.

For the Parisian artist born in 1968 and fascinated by the Cold War, space exploration, graffiti, subcultures & electronic music, Berlin was to become from the mid to late 80s to the present a focal point of his attention, with regular trips to the city alongside artistic projects and residencies.

To mark the 10-year anniversary of the iconic mural painting in Berlin Kreuzberg, the Urban Spree Galerie invited Victor Ash for a special pop up exhibition. The exhibition centered around the cult figure of the Astronaut with numerous original/stenciled works on paper and a mural at Urban Spree. A series of screen prints is expected to be released as well.

"Astronaut Cosmonaut" von Victor Ash
BERLIN KREUZBERG

„Astronaut Cosmonaut" von Victor Ash © Victor Ash, Foto: Luna Park

Eine berliner legende

Der französische Künstler Victor Ash hat mit seinem Astronaut Cosmonaut in Berlin Kultstatus erlangt. Es ist eines der am öftesten abgebildeten Wandbilder in Berlin - eine Legende! Das Kunstwerk befindet sich in Berlin-Kreuzberg in der Nähe des Kottbusser Tors und entstand bereits 2007 beim legendären Backjumps Festival # 3. Gerade in Berlin erzeugt dieses Bild eines schwebenden Astronauten auf 22 x 14 Metern eine besondere Spannung.

Victor wollte seine vergangenen Erfahrungen und Visionen von Berlin darstellen, das Aufrüstungs-Wettrennen zwischen der UdSSR und den USA, aber auch die verschiedenen Berliner Subkulturen und den Wunsch, der Realität zu entfliehen. "Ich habe mich von David Bowies Lied „Space Oddity" aus dem Jahr 1969 inspirieren lassen, in dem er die Geschichte eines Astronauten erzählt, der sich im Weltraum verliert und später 1981 in dem Song "Ashes to Ashes " wieder auftaucht, wo Bowie uns erklärt, dass es sich bei diesem Raumfahrer eigentlich um einen Junkie auf einem Trip handelt ".


Für den Künstler stellt Astronaut Cosmonaut den Wunsch der Flucht in andere Universen dar: „ich bin als kleines Kind mit meinen Raumzeichnungen in eine Fantasiewelt und als Teenager in Subkulturen geflüchtet, um in der urbanen Umwelt, in der ich aufgewachsen bin, meine Identität zu finden“.

Für den 1968 geborenen und vom Kalten Krieg, Weltraumforschung, Graffiti, Subkulturen und elektronischer Musik faszinierten Pariser Künstler war Berlin Mitte-Ende der 80er Jahre und danach ein Schwerpunkt seiner Aufmerksamkeit, mit regelmäßigen Reisen in die Stadt sowie künstlerischen Projekten und Residenzen.

Anlässlich des 10-jährigen Jubiläums der ikonischen Wandmalerei in Berlin-Kreuzberg lud die Urban Spree Galerie Victor Ash zu einer speziellen Pop-Up-Ausstellung ein. Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung stand die Kultfigur des Astronauten mit zahlreichen originalen / schablonierten Arbeiten auf Papier und einem Wandgemälde in Urban Spree.