Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
50 cakes of gay© Kashink, Photo: Aim Kré

Street art discoveries from Mexico, Canada and the US
„50 cakes of gay" von Kashink

50 Cakes of Gay

Since 2014, locals and tourists can marvel at the mural 50 Cakes of Gay located in the heart of Montreal’s Gay Village. The mural was created by street artist Kashink, who has painted over 300 same-sex marriage cakes in nine different countries during her project 50 cCakes of Gay which started in 2012. A series of protests against same-sex marriage in Paris in 2012 led her to paint the first work of her project. The colorful murals are meant to spread a positive image about same-sex marriage. Idealistic motives are the driving force of Kashink’s paintings which is why, in this project, she works for free. Montreal’s mural contains 30 cakes in honor of the 30th anniversary of the free gay magazine Fugues. The wall on which the mural is painted belongs to the building in which Fugues has its office.
 


However, 50 Cakes of Gay is not Kashink’s only activist project. The artist grew up in the notorious suburbs of Paris and got to know graffiti early in her life. She began painting on big walls as early as 2006. In the beginning, it was all about the aesthetics of street art, but after some time, she began to use her murals for political statements. She says her activism aims at celebrating human diversity. In the course of the campaign My Body My Rights, she worked with Amnesty International and questioned the gender normative representation of women and their bodies. She also does this with her signature look: She has been wearing two lines above her lip as a mustache for several years now. Thus, she criticizes female beauty standards, especially female make-up traditions.  
 

I wanted to take this strong symbol – the wedding cake – to share my opinion on equal rights and gay marriage. (…) It is legal in France now, after all these protests, but it is still an issue in many countries.

Kashink

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
50 cakes of gay© Kashink, Foto: Aim Kré

1276 rue Amherst, Montréal, QC, Kanada
„50 cakes of gay" von Kashink

50 Cakes of Gay

Im Herzen von Montreals Gay Village können Anwohner*innen und Besucher*innen seit 2014 das Wandbild 50 cakes of gay bestaunen. Schöpferin ist die Straßenkünstlerin Kashink, die seit 2012 im Rahmen ihres Projektes 50 Cakes of Gay mehr als 300 Hochzeitstorten gleichgeschlechtlicher Paare in neun verschiedenen Ländern gemalt hat. Anlass für das erste Kunstwerk der Reihe waren die Proteste gegen die gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe in Paris im Jahre 2012. Mit den farbenfrohen Wandbildern soll eine positive Message im Zusammenhang mit gleichgeschlechtlicher Ehe verbreitet werden. Idealistische Motive sind die Triebfeder für die Malereien Kashinks, sie arbeitet für dieses Projekt grundsätzlich umsonst. Das Wandbild in Montreal besteht aus 30 Torten, um das 30-jährige Jubiläum des kostenlosen Schwulenmagazins Fugues zu honorieren. Die Wand an der das Kunstwerk gemalt ist, gehört zu dem Gebäude, in dem Fugues sein Büro hat.
 



50 Cakes of Gay ist allerdings nicht Kashinks einzige aktivistische Aktion. Die Künstlerin wuchs in den berüchtigten Pariser Vororten auf und lernte dort sehr früh schon Graffitis kennen. Bereits im Jahre 2006 begann sie große Wände zu bemalen. Anfangs ging es ihr nur um die Ästhetik der Straßenkunst, aber nach einiger Zeit begann sie Ihre Wandbilder für  politische Aussagen zu nutzen. Sie sagt, ihr Aktivismus zielt darauf ab, die menschliche Vielfalt zu feiern. Im Rahmen der Kampagne My Body My Rights hat sie mit Amnesty International zusammengearbeitet und hinterfragte die Gendernormativität in der Darstellung von Frauen und ihrer Körper. Dies tut sie außerdem mit ihrem Signature-Look: Seit einigen Jahren trägt Kashink zwei schwarze Linien als Schnäuzer. Damit kritisiert sie weibliche Schönheitsideale, insbesondere die weiblichen Schminktraditionen.
 

Ich wollte ein starkes Symbol – die Hochzeitstorte – dafür verwenden, meine Meinung über gleiche Rechte und gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe zu teilen. (…) In Frankreich ist sie jetzt legal, nach all den Protesten, aber in vielen anderen Ländern gibt es diesbezüglich noch immer Probleme.

Kashink

 


 

Top