"David Suzuki with Atlantic Salmon" von Kevin Ledo
Street art discoveries from Mexico, Canada and the US

Kevin Ledo "David Suzuki with Atlantic Salmon" © Kevin Ledo, Photo: Michelle Kay

The work

Kevin Ledo "David Suzuki", Toronto, Ontario, Canada

For the project "A love letter to the great lakes" by Pangea Seed. Latex paint brushes and rollers, roughly 26×64 feet. #pangeaseed #torontostreetart #seawallsto

In 2016, Kevin Ledo was thrilled to collaborate with the Pangea Seed Foundation for the very first international fresh water edition of "Sea Walls: Artists for Oceans" in Toronto, called a 'Love Letter to the Great Lakes'.
 
Together, these efforts brought a much needed voice to the Great Lakes and the many environmental issues that threaten their health. The inaugural Love Letter to the Great Lakes was a dynamic presentation of art and activism in the form of 23 legacy mural artworks in June 2016.
 
His mural of David Suzuki with Atlantic Salmon swimming in the background focuses on sustainability issues in Canada and their global effects. Atlantic salmon were once present in Lake Ontario and have been classified as extinct there at the turn of last century, as a direct result of human activity. Still today there are numerous species of plants and animals that are at risk of disappearing.
 

Kevin Ledo

Kevin Ledo’s artistic practice crosses back and forth through the boundaries of mural/street art, fine art, and gold leaf art installations. Ledo creates visually bold, iconic compositions, focusing on portraiture and the human form, interlaced with stylized abstract forms. Ledo’s figures are suspended in a minimalistic and slightly surreal world, captured in moments of contemplation, intimacy, emotion and wonderment.

„David Suzuki with Atlantic Salmon“ von Kevin Ledo
Street-Art-Entdeckungen aus Mexiko, Kanada und den USA

Kevin Ledo "David Suzuki with Atlantic Salmon" © Kevin Ledo, Foto: Michelle Kay

Das Werk

Kevin Ledo „David Suzuki“, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Für das Projekt „A love letter to the great lakes“ von Pangea Seed. Latexpinsel und -rolle. Ungefähr 26×64 Fuß. #loveletterprojects (Love Letters to the Great Lakes Project). #pangeaseed #torontostreetart #seawallsto
 
Für Kevin Ledo war es eine große Freude, 2016 mit der Pangea Seed-Stiftung an der ersten internationalen Süßwasserausgabe der „Sea Walls: Artists for Oceans“ in Toronto zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Ausgabe trug den Titel „Love Letter to the Great Lakes“ (Liebesbrief an die Großen Seen).
 
Mit dieser Initiative wurde auf die Umweltprobleme rund um die  Großen Seen aufmerksam gemacht. Der eröffnende „Liebesbrief“ im Juni 2016 war eine lebhafte Präsentation über Kunst und Aktivismus in Form von 23 Wandgemälden.

Ledos Wandgemälde von David Suzuki mit dem Atlantischen Lachs im Hintergrund beschäftigt sich mit der Problematik der Nachhaltigkeit in Kanada und ihre globalen Auswirkungen. Der atlantische Lachs war vor einiger Zeit noch im Lake Ontario zu finden, gilt seit der Jahrhundertwende aber als ausgestorben. Als direkten Grund dafür sieht man das menschliche Handeln. Auch heute gibt es noch Pflanzen und Tiere, die vom Aussterben bedroht sind.  
 

Kevin Ledo

Kevin Ledos künstlerisches Schaffen überschreitet immer wieder die Grenzen von Street Art, Fine Art und Blattgoldinstallationen. Er kreiert visuell starke, ikonische Kompositionen und konzentriert sich dabei auf Porträts sowie die menschliche Gestalt, die von stilisierten abstrakten Formen durchzogen wird. Seine Figuren werden einer minimalistischen und leicht surrealen Welt ausgesetzt, eingefangen in einem Moment des Nachdenkens, der Intimität, Emotion und Erstaunen.