Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Nellie's Ducky© Lisa Marie Thalhammer, Photo: Mike Maguire

Street art discoveries from Mexico, Canada and the US
„Nellie's Ducky“ von Lisa Marie Thalhammer

Since May 2019, a new mural decorates Nellie’s Sports Bar in Washington DC. With two pride flags and two ducks – also in rainbow colors – Washington DC has a new queer mural. Why ducks? They are a recurring motive of Nellie’s Sports Bar which has been chosen for the artwork for a good reason: The bar has always been supportive of queer events, for example it currently offers drag brunches every Saturday and Sunday.

The artist behind the mural is Lisa Marie Thalhammer who has already received multiple awards. Her works often feature strong women or convey a queer pride message by including respective portraits, symbols and colors. She had already started using her art for sociopolitical and activist purposes while studying at the Art Institute of Chicago and when completing her Bachelor in Visual Arts at the University of Kansas with a focus on women’s studies and art history. Many awards, collaborations, and publications in well-known magazines and other media characterize her career.

LOVE © Lisa Marie Thalhammer, Photo: Mike Maguire The Nellie’s Ducky mural is Lisa Marie Thalhammer’s third artwork in Washington DC. The most popular one is the mural LOVE in Blagden Alley from 2017, which shows the letters of the word love in rainbow colors. The other is based on the logo of the Washington Capitals ice hockey team, also called All Caps. Of course, this mural also features the rainbow colors of the pride flag. One of her most recent projects is the design draft for the special edition Spirit of Stonewall by Stoli Wodka. The design resembles a mural and includes many queer pride symbols such as familiar slogans, hand signs and the typical rainbow colors.

Besides art, Lisa Marie’s second passion is yoga. She describes her approach to life and her artistic motivation in the following quote:
 

There are many types of love including romantic, physical, familial, friendship and self-love but the most powerful and radical type is an unconditional spiritual universal love for the planet and all sentient beings, which the Greeks call Agape or Buddhists call Metta. This type of love is unconditional and without expectation and can relieve negative states of mind when focused upon. As an artist, I feel it is my job to reimagine a better world free of the toxicity that results from our current cultural love deficiency. Through the visual language of color and public art, I believe that yes, we can shift our psychology and create a more equitable world.

Lisa Marie Thalhammer

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Nellie's Ducky© Lisa Marie Thalhammer, Foto: Mike Maguire

900 U Street NW, Washington, DC, USA
„Nellie's Ducky“ von Lisa Marie Thalhammer

​Seit Mai 2019 schmückt ein neues Wandbild Nellie’s Sports Bar in Washington DC. Mit zwei Pride-Flaggen und zwei Enten – ebenfalls in Regenbogenfarben – ist Washington DC nun um ein queeres Wandbild reicher. Warum Enten? Sie sind ein wiederkehrendes Motiv von Nellie’s Sports Bar, welche aus gutem Grund Schauplatz für das Kunstwerk ist: Die Bar unterstützt seit jeher queere Events und bietet unter anderem jeden Samstag und Sonntag einen Dragbrunch an.

Die Künstlerin dahinter ist die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Lisa Marie Thalhammer. Ihre Werke überbringen durch eine Mischung von Portraits, Symbolen und Farben eine Queerpride-Botschaft oder bilden starke Frauen ab. Schon in ihrer künstlerischen Ausbildung – am Art Institute of Chicago und durch den anschließenden Bachelor in bildender Kunst an der University of Kansas mit den Nebenfächern Frauenforschung und Kunstgeschichte – begab sie sich in Richtung der sozial-politischen, aktivistischen Kunst. Viele Auszeichnungen, Kooperationen und Publikationen in bekannten Zeitschriften und anderen Medien zeichnen ihre erfolgreiche Karriere aus.

LOVE © Lisa Marie Thalhammer, Foto: Mike Maguire Das Wandbild Nellie’s Ducky ist das dritte der Künstlerin in Washington DC. Das bekannteste ist das Wandbild LOVE in der Blagden Alley aus dem Jahr 2017, welches die Buchstaben des Wortes Love in Regenbogenfarben zeigt. Das dritte Kunstwerk baut auf das Logo des Eishokeyteams Washington Capitals, auch All Caps genannt, auf. Natürlich besteht auch dieses Wandbild ausschließlich aus den Regenbogenfarben der Pride-Flagge. Eines ihrer aktuellsten Projekte war der Designentwurf für die Special Edition Spirit of Stonewall von Stoli Wodka. Das Design hat einen Wandbild-Charakter und zeigt viele Queerpride-Symbole, darunter bekannte Schriftzüge, Handzeichen und die typischen Regenbogenfarben. 

Neben der Kunst ist Lisa Maries zweite Leidenschaft das Yoga. Ihre Lebenseinstellung und ihre künstlerische Motivation zeigen sich in folgendem Zitat:
 

Es gibt viele Arten von Liebe: romantische, physische, familiäre, freundschaftliche Liebe und Selbstliebe. Die stärkste und radikalste Art von Liebe ist jedoch die bedingungslose, spirituelle, universelle Liebe für den Planeten und alle empfindungsfähigen Lebewesen, die im Griechischen Agape und im Buddhismus Metta genannt wird. Diese Liebe ist bedingungslos und ohne Erwartungen und kann eine positive Wirkung auf den Geisteszustand haben, wenn man sich darauf konzentriert. Als Künstlerin sehe ich meine Aufgabe darin, mir eine bessere Welt ohne die aus dem aktuellen Mangel an Liebe resultierende Toxizität vorzustellen. Ich glaube daran, dass wir anhand der visuellen Sprache von Farben und öffentlicher Kunst unsere Denkweise ändern und eine gerechtere Welt schaffen können.

Lisa Marie Thalhammer

 
 

Top