Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Montreal and Toronto, Canada
Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay Quentin VerCetty Lindsay is an award-winning, multidisciplinary visual griot (storyteller), artpreneur, art educator, activist, and an ever-growing interstellar tree based in Montreal, Canada. He is also co-founder and director of the Black Speculative Arts Movement, whose foundational work with second-wave Afrofuturism provides new, inclusive, and intersectional perspectives to reimagine public spaces.

His project, Missing Black Technofossil Here, uses augmented reality, digital 3D art, and printing to address the absence of monuments to Black bodies in Toronto and across the Canadian landscape. The project will exhibit works of digital, imaginary monuments to local Black Canadian leaders, past and present, in futuristic community spaces. The project will facilitate workshops that engage community members to create awareness around erasure.
 
VerCetty Lindsay has numerous publications, art, and essays on Afrofuturism, art, feminism, gang and drug intervention, and social reforms in numerous publications. He also has his own book in the works about his life journey lessons from being a street hustler to where he is now, entitled Exported Pollen from Mercury: Tales and Parables from a Life Growth along with several artistic projects like creating a series of bronze cast rapid-prototype larger than life-scaled bust monument commissions.

Featured Work

Missing Black Technofossil Here uses augmented reality, digital 3D art and printing, to address Tania Inniss’ notion that “the absence of Black representation in art” is erasure, which is related to the Canadian landscape – Toronto is one of the only major cities in the world without any monuments of Black people. The discourse is that monuments are Afrofuturistic technofossils and are an example of sankofanology, meaning it connects the past, present and future through its existence. Without representation, there is often a lack of validation, valuing and connection for Black people with themselves and other people with them in the present.
 
The current project consists of exhibiting works of digital imaginary statue monuments of local Black Canadian leaders in futuristic community spaces and using them as interventions. Conducting workshops in schools and community centres discussing the importance of Black technofossil and create awareness of the erasure and way artists can take up space. The next phase in the project is the 3D printing of pilot monuments made from digital scans of three Black Toronto community leaders and photographing them next to colonial sculptural monuments with a sign that says, “A Black Technofossil Is Missing Here.”
 
The final objective is to create a permanent statue that pays homage to the first African documented in North America, the multilingual translator and explorer Mathieu Da Costa who was a liaison for the European explorers and different First Nations in Canada. Da Costa’s story challenges the idea of Black history in the Americas only has to do with oppression or popular African-American narratives. Also, it’s a story about self-empowerment, community building and co-existence.
  • Kiana Ascension Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Kiana Ascension
  • Library of Unlearning Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Library of Unlearning
  • The New Queen's Gate (2018) Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    The New Queen's Gate (2018)
  • Watahnogetenemy (2017) Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Watahnogetenemy (2017)
  • Toussaint Da Great (Recovered) Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Toussaint Da Great (Recovered)
  • Twin Spirit of Sankofa Photo: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Twin Spirit of Sankofa

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Montreal und Toronto, Kanada
Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay Quentin VerCetty Lindsay ist ein preisgekrönter, multidisziplinärer Griot der bildenden Kunst, Artpreneur, Kunstpädagoge, Aktivist und stetig wachsender interstellarer Baum. Er ist Mitbegründer und Direktor des Black Speculative Arts Movement, dessen Arbeit die zweite Welle des Afrofuturismus mit neuen, inklusiven und intersektionalen Perspektiven auf öffentlichen Raum verbindet.

Für sein Projekt Missing Black Technofossil Here verwendet er Augmented Reality, digitale 3D-Kunst und Druck und thematisiert den Mangel an Denkmälern für Schwarze Körper in Toronto und anderen Teilen Kanadas. In seinem Projekt werden imaginäre Denkmäler für lokale Schwarze Persönlichkeiten Kanadas der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart in futuristischen Gemeinschaftsorten ausgestellt. Teil des Projekts sind Workshops, die sich an Mitglieder der Gemeinschaft wenden und Bewusstsein für blinde Flecke schaffen.
 
VerCetty Lindsay hat in zahlreichen Publikationen, Kunst und Essays über Afrofuturismus, Feminismus, Banden- und Drogenintervention sowie soziale Reformen veröffentlicht. Zudem arbeitet er an einem Buch über seinen Werdegang vom Leben auf der Straße bis zu dem, was er heute ist, mit dem Titel Exported Pollen from Mercury: Tales and Parables from a Life Growth sowie an mehreren Kunstprojekten, u.a. einer Auftragsarbeit für eine Reihe überlebensgroßer Bronzebüsten.

Vorgestellte Arbeiten

Im Rahmen von Missing Black Technofossil Here setzt VerCetty Lindsay sich mit Hilfe von Augmented Reality, digitaler 3D-Kunst und 3D-Drucken mit Tania Inniss Aussage auseinander, die Unterrepräsentation von Schwarzen Menschen in der Kunst komme einer Auslöschung gleich. Diese These wird in Bezug zur kanadischen Landschaft gesetzt. Toronto ist eine der wenigen Metropolen der Welt, in der es keine Denkmäler für Schwarze Menschen gibt. Seinem Diskurs zufolge sind Denkmäler afrofuturistische Technofossilien und Beispiele einer Sankofanologie, verbinden also durch ihre Existenz Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft miteinander. Durch die Unterrepräsentation mangelt es der Schwarzen Community oft an Bestätigung, Wertschätzung und der Verbindung zu sich selbst und anderen in der Gegenwart.
 
Das aktuelle Projekt besteht darin, digitale, fiktive Statuen von kanadischen, Schwarzen Führungspersönlichkeiten in futuristischen Gemeinschaftsräumen auszustellen und sie als Interventionen zu nutzen. Zudem sollen Seminare in Schulen und Gemeinschaftszentren durchgeführt werden, in denen über die Bedeutung Schwarzer Technofossilien diskutiert wird. Zugleich soll damit ein Bewusstsein für die Auslöschung Schwarzer Kunst geschaffen und diskutiert werden, wie Schwarze Künstler*innen wieder Raum für sich beanspruchen können. Als Nächstes sollen aus digitalen Scans von drei wichtigen Persönlichkeiten der Schwarzen Community Torontos 3D-Drucke von Denkmälern entstehen. Diese Denkmäler sollen neben Kolonialdenkmälern und einem Schild mit der Aufschrift „A Black Technofossil Is Missing Here“ (Hier fehlt ein Schwarzes Technofossil) fotografiert werden.
 
Letztendliches Ziel ist es, eine permanente Statue zu Ehren des ersten, in Nordafrika nachgewiesenen freien Schwarzen Menschen zu errichten – dem mehrsprachigen Dolmetscher und Seefahrer Mathieu Da Costa, der zwischen den europäischen Eroberern und den Ureinwohnern Kanadas vermittelte. Da Costas Geschichte hinterfragt die Vorstellung, die Geschichte der Schwarzen Menschen in Amerika sei nur von Unterdrückung und den gängigen afroamerikanischen Narrativen geprägt. Zudem ist es eine Geschichte über Selbstermächtigung, Gemeinwesen und Koexistenz.
  • Kiana Ascension Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Kiana Ascension
  • Library of Unlearning Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Library of Unlearning
  • The New Queen's Gate (2018) Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    The New Queen's Gate (2018)
  • Watahnogetenemy (2017) Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Watahnogetenemy (2017)
  • Toussaint Da Great (Recovered) Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Toussaint Da Great (Recovered)
  • Twin Spirit of Sankofa Foto: Quentin VerCetty Lindsay
    Twin Spirit of Sankofa

 

Top