Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The Berlin Wall’s Second Act

Photo of the Berlin Wall Memorial
Berlin Wall Memorial | Photo: Cheyenne Concepcion, 2019

Cheyenne Concepcion reflects on her time in Berlin, especially around the ways the formerly divided city offered a site to engage borders and monumentality back in the U.S. while inquiring about the (after)lives of border walls as sites to reckon with legacies of division.

by Cheyenne Concepcion

Before arriving in Berlin, I presumed I would learn about the physical conditions of the Berlin Wall in relation to our wall along the U.S.-Mexico border. I thought I’d draw connections between the security architecture of German Democratic Republic and the medieval solutions we are coming up with today in America. Instead, I learned more about what comes next. I learned about what happens after a border wall no longer needs to function as a barrier to migration, and when it transitions into its second act.

Before the fall of the Berlin wall, the wall as a monument symbolized lack of freedom under communism and division prompted by the Cold War. Since reunification and after its fall, this symbolism still seems to linger, though now accompanied by guilt. On our research trip, we visited many memorials and preserved sites of memory. These sites seem to have been directly influenced by pressures of tourism, foreign investment and most commonly government-funded initiatives. What are the spatial repercussions of these competing interests and how do monuments get utilized to achieve these agendas? And at what point does a monument's symbolism get re-defined, and for whom?

Coming away from this trip, I want to explore, analyze, criticize and re-represent this convergence of interests of these various parties onto the socio-political environment associated with memory culture. I believe researching and analyzing the politics of this space are absolutely connected to my own research interests at home, in San Francisco and San Diego. I hope to build on this theory of the monument's second life.
 

Photo of East German relics at a market Photo: Cheyenne Concepcion, 2019

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Der zweite Akt der Berliner Mauer

Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer
Foto: Cheyenne Concepcion, 2019

Cheyenne Concepcion gibt ihre Eindrücke von der Zeit in Berlin wieder. Insbesondere reflektiert sie darüber, welche Ansätze die ehemals geteilte Stadt für den Umgang mit Grenzen und Monumentalität in den USA bieten und das (Nach)leben von Grenzmauern als Orte der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Erbe der Teilung.

Von Cheyenne Concepcion

Bevor ich nach Berlin kam, nahm ich an, ich würde etwas über den physischen Zustand der Berliner Mauer in Bezug zu unserer Mauer entlang der US-amerikanisch-mexikanischen Grenze erfahren. Ich glaubte, Verbindungen ziehen zu können zwischen der Sicherheitsarchitektur der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik und den mittelalterlichen Lösungen, mit denen die USA heutzutage aufwarten. Stattdessen lernte ich mehr darüber, was als Nächstes kommt. Ich bekam einen Einblick, was mit einer Grenzmauer geschieht, die nicht mehr als Migrationsbarriere dient, und wann sie in den zweiten Akt übergeht.

Vor ihrem Fall war die Berliner Mauer als Monument Symbol der Unfreiheit im Kommunismus und der durch den Kalten Krieg verursachten Teilung Deutschlands. Seit der Wiedervereinigung und dem Mauerfall scheint diese Symbolik fortzubestehen, wenn auch nun mit Schuld gepaart. Während unserer Forschungsreise besuchten wir viele Denkmäler und Gedenkstätten. Sie wirkten so, als unterlägen sie direkt Zwängen des Tourismus, ausländischer Investoren und in den meisten Fällen staatlich geförderter Initiativen. Was sind die räumlichen Auswirkungen dieser konkurrierenden Interessen, und wie werden Denkmäler genutzt, um diese Absichten zu erreichen? Und an welchem Punkt wird die Symbolik eines Monuments neu definiert und für wen?

Nach meiner Rückkehr möchte ich diese Annäherung der Interessen unterschiedlicher Parteien an das mit der Erinnerungskultur assoziierte, soziopolitische Umfeld ergründen, analysieren, kritisch beurteilen und neu darstellen. Ich glaube, dass die Untersuchung und Analyse der Politik dieser Orte unbedingt in Zusammenhang mit meinen eigenen Forschungsschwerpunkten in San Francisco und San Diego stehen. Ich hoffe, auf der Theorie des Nachlebens von Monumenten aufbauen zu können.

Ostdeutsche Antiquitäten auf dem Flohmarkt Foto: Cheyenne Concepcion, 2019

Top