Esther Gonstalla
Thin ice

The climate crisis threatens the “eternal” ice at the poles and on glaciers. Anyone who occasionally follows the news knows this. But knowledge about the subject is often as thin as the ice should never be. A wonderfully designed book offers insights.

Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch © oekom Verlag The work of book designer and infographic artist Esther Gonstalla is devoted to contemporary environmental issues. In 2017, she published Das Ozeanbuch, which appeared in English as The Ocean Book, followed by books about the climate (Das Klimabuch, 2019) and forests (Das Waldbuch, 2021). Her most recent publication Das Eisbuch takes on the ice. In each of her books, Gonstalla promises that 50 infographics reveal “everything you need to know” about each topic.

It starts with scientific terms. For example, the cryosphere is the totality of ice on a celestial body. On Earth, it includes the ice at the North and South Poles, on the glaciers, in permafrost soils, but even snow and the ice crystals in the clouds. The bright surface of snow and ice has an important function for the Earth’s climate and atmosphere: the albedo effect. Albedo is the measure of the reflectivity of a surface. While ice and snow reflect up to 90 per cent of the sun’s rays and thus prevent the earth from becoming warmer, the ice-free sea reflects only 7 per cent of the sun’s rays.

A Must read!

But the earth’s ice masses are melting. This is happening particularly quickly in the Arctic, where temperatures are rising the fastest. There, the coldness of the air makes it very stable, which is why the warmed air does not escape upwards. Lakes with meltwater are created, in which dark algae form, whereupon the albedo effect decreases and the temperature rise is intensified. Due to the loss of sea ice, the Arctic Ocean is warming at an above-average rate – in August 2020 it was 3 °C warmer than the average for the years 1982 to 2010.

These complex and often abstract relationships are presented in visually appealing, vivid and impressive illustrations in Gonstalla’s book. This does not mean that the texts and infographics, most of which are double-page spreads, are simplistic. The pages on the interrelationships between ocean currents, salt and sea ice, the air currents at the poles or the retreat of the Antarctic ice shelf, for example, demand concentration from readers and viewers.

Gonstalla once again collaborated with numerous scientists from all over the world for her ice book, in particular with experts from the Alfred Wegener Institute. After the predominantly ominous facts about the future of the ice worlds, the last chapter “Humans and Ice” ends with tips on how to reduce one’s own ecological footprint. Gonstalla’s books should be compulsory reading in schools and, of course, elsewhere!
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 18-19 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S.20-21 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 32-33 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 54-55 © oekom Verlag

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Esther Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch. Alles, was man wissen muss, in 50 Grafiken
München: oekom Verlag, 2021. 112 p.
ISBN: 978-3-96238-287-2
You can find this title in our eLibrary Onleihe.

Esther Gonstalla
Dünnes Eis

Das ewige Eis an Polen und auf Gletschern ist durch die Klimakrise bedroht. Das weiß jede*r, der gelegentlich die Nachrichten verfolgt. Doch das Wissen um dieses Thema ist oft so dünn, wie dieses Eis niemals werden sollte. Abhilfe schafft ein wunderbar gestaltetes Buch.

Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch © oekom Verlag Die Buchgestalterin und Infografikerin Esther Gonstalla widmet ihr Schaffen aktuellen Umweltthemen. Sie hat schon Das Ozeanbuch (2017), Das Klimabuch (2019) und Das Waldbuch (2021) publiziert. Zuletzt ist Das Eisbuch erschienen. In allen Büchern verspricht Gonstalla, dass man in jeweils 50 Infografiken alles zum jeweiligen Thema erfährt, „was man wissen muss“.

Das beginnt mit Fachbegriffen. So ist etwa die Kryosphäre die Gesamtheit an Eis auf einem Himmelskörper. Sie umfasst auf der Erde das Eis an Nord- und Südpol, auf den Gletschern, in Permafrostböden, aber auch Schnee und die Eiskristalle in den Wolken. Die helle Oberfläche von Schnee und Eis hat eine wichtige Funktion für das Klima und die Atmosphäre der Erde. Sie bewirkt den Albedo-Effekt. Die Albedo ist das Maß für das Reflexionsvermögen einer Oberfläche. Während Eis und Schnee bis zu 90 Prozent der Sonnenstrahlen reflektieren und somit verhindern, dass die Erde immer wärmer wird, reflektiert das eisfreie Meer nur 7 Prozent der Sonneneinstrahlung.

Pflichtlektüre!

Doch die Eismassen der Erde schmelzen. Besonders schnell geschieht dies in der Arktis, wo die Temperaturen am schnellsten steigen. Dort ist die Luft aufgrund ihrer Kälte sehr stabil, weshalb die erwärmte Luft nicht nach oben entweicht. Es entstehen Seen mit Schmelzwasser, in denen sich dunkle Algen bilden, woraufhin der Albedo-Effekt sinkt und der Temperaturanstieg verstärkt wird. Durch den Meereisverlust erwärmt sich der Arktische Ozean überdurchschnittlich – im August 2020 war er 3 °C wärmer als Im Durchschnitt der Jahre 1982 bis 2010.

Die komplexen und oftmals abstrakten Zusammenhänge sind in Gonstallas Buch optisch sehr schön, anschaulich und eindrücklich dargestellt. Anspruchsvoll bleiben die zumeist als Doppelseiten gestalteten Texte und Infografiken gleichwohl. So muss man z.B. die Seiten zu den Zusammenhängen zwischen Meeresströmen, Salz und Meereis, den Luftströmen an den Polen oder auch zum Rückgang des antarktischen Schelfeises durchaus konzentriert lesen und betrachten.

Gonstalla hat für ihr Eisbuch wieder mit zahlreichen Wissenschaftler*innen aus aller Welt zusammengearbeitet, insbesondere mit den Expert*innen des Alfred-Wegener-Instituts. Nach den doch überwiegend düster stimmenden Fakten zur Zukunft der Eiswelten endet das letzte Kapitel „Mensch und Eis“ mit Tipps zur Reduzierung des eigenen ökologischen Fußabdrucks. Gonstallas Bücher sollten an Schulen zur Pflichtlektüre werden, aber natürlich nicht nur dort!
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 18-19 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S.20-21 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 32-33 © oekom Verlag
  • Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch, S. 54-55 © oekom Verlag
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Esther Gonstalla: Das Eisbuch. Alles, was man wissen muss, in 50 Grafiken
München: oekom Verlag, 2021. 112 S.
ISBN: 978-3-96238-287-2
Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe