Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach

The annual Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize is awarded each spring to honor an outstanding literary translation from German into English published in the USA the previous year. The translator of the winning translation will receive US $10,000. The prize was established in 1996 and was administered by the Goethe-Institut Chicago until 2014. Funded by the German government, the Prize has been administered by the Goethe-Institut New York since 2015.

Prize Recipient 2019

Damion Searls was chosen to receive the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize by a jury of five for his translation of Uwe Johnson’s Anniversaries: From a Year in the Life of Gesine Cresspahl published by New York Review Books in 2018. The honor was presented to him at the Goethe-Institut New York on May 23, 2019 by Yasemin Pamuk, Head of Cultural Affairs and Science at the Consulate General of Germany.

Jury Statement

The jury for the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize takes great pleasure in awarding this year’s prize to Damion Searls for his masterful translation of Uwe Johnson’s Anniversaries. This multi-volume novel, which poses daunting translation challenges, chronicles a year (August 1967-August 1968) in the life of Gesine Cresspahl, a woman who left her small town in East Germany for New York’s Upper West Side with her young daughter, and overlays her daily struggles with painful memories of the past and the alarming news of the present world in a daily-recorded, year-long montage. Searls’s translation of this monumental work—which has been compared to the writings of Joyce, Faulkner, and Balzac— is the first complete edition of this novel in English. His sparkling translation captures the dizzying swirl of events, from the quotidian to the earth-shattering, with meticulous, acoustically spellbinding prose, and makes for riveting reading throughout its nearly 1,700 pages.

About Damion Searls

Damion Searls © Paul Barbera Damion Searls is the author of a book on Hermann Rorschach and the Rorschach test, and has translated many classic modern writers, including Marcel Proust, Rainer Maria Rilke, Friedrich Nietzsche, Robert Walser, Ingeborg Bachmann, Alfred Döblin, Jon Fosse, Elfriede Jelinek, Patrick Modiano and Nescio. 
 

The Jury

Shelley Frisch, Princeton, NJ, Chair
Bettina Abarbanell, Potsdam, Germany
Ross Benjamin, Nyack, NY
John Hargraves, New York, NY
Susan Harris, Chicago, IL

Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach Photo: Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach

Mit dem Helen und Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis wird jedes Jahr im Juni eine herausragende Literaturübersetzung vom Deutschen ins Englische ausgezeichnet, die im vorangegangenen Jahr in den USA veröffentlicht wurde. Der Preisträger erhält eine mit $10.000 dotierte Auszeichnung. Der Preis wurde erstmalig 1996 vom Goethe-Institut Chicago ausgelobt und dort bis 2014 verliehen. Der von der deutschen Regierung finanzierte Preis wird seit 2015 vom Goethe-Institut New York verliehen.

Preisträger 2019

Damion Searls wurde für seine 2018 bei New York Review Books erschienene Übersetzung von Uwe Johnsons Anniversaries: From a Year in the Life of Gesine Cresspahl (Jahrestage. Aus dem Leben von Gesine Cresspahl) von einer fünfköpfigen Jury als diesjährige Gewinner des Helen und Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreises ausgewählt. Die Auszeichnung wird ihm am 23. Mai 2019 von Yasemin Pamuk, der Kulturreferentin des Generalkonsulat New Yorks, in New York überreicht.

Stellungnahme der Jury

Die Jury des Helen-und-Kurt-Wolff-Übersetzerpreises freut sich sehr, den diesjährigen Preis an Damion Searls für seine herausragende Übersetzung der Jahrestage von Uwe Johnson zu vergeben. Dieser mehrbändige Roman, der eine gewaltige Übersetzungsherausforderung darstellt, zeichnet ein Jahr (August 1967-August 1968) im Leben von Gesine Cresspahl auf - einer Frau, die mit ihrer kleinen Tochter das ostdeutsche Heimatstädtchen in Richtung New Yorks Upper West Side verließ. Ein ganzes Jahr lang wird jeder Tag erfasst: Alltägliche Anstrengungen werden mit schmerzhaften Erinnerungen an die Vergangenheit und alarmierenden Nachrichten der Gegenwart montagehaft überlagert. Searls' Übersetzung dieses Monumentalwerks - das mit den Schriften von Joyce, Faulkner und Balzac verglichen wurde - ist die erste vollständige Ausgabe des Romans auf Englisch. Seine facettenreiche Übersetzung fängt den schwindelerregenden Wirbel der Ereignisse ein, vom Alltäglichen bis zum Weltbewegenden, mit akribischer, akustisch faszinierender Prosa und sorgt auf fast 1.700 Seiten für fesselnde Lektüre.

ÜBER Damion Searls

Damion Searls © Paul Barbera Damion Searls ist der Autor eines Buches über Hermann Rorschach und den Rorschachtest und übersetzte viele klassische moderne Schriftsteller, einschließlich Marcel Proust, Rainer Maria Rilke, Friedrich Nietzsche, Robert Walser, Ingeborg Bachmann, Alfred Döblin, Jon Fosse, Elfriede Jelinek, Patrick Modiano und Nescio.
 

Die Jury

Shelley Frisch, Princeton, NJ, Vorsitzende der Jury
Bettina Abarbanell, Potsdam, Germany
Ross Benjamin, Nyack, NY
John Hargraves, New York, NY
Susan Harris, Chicago, IL