Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Cold War films
The Wall as an international threat

Billy Wilder (right) and his leading actor Horst Buchholz from “One, Two, Three” 1993 in front of the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin
Billy Wilder (right) and his leading actor Horst Buchholz from “One, Two, Three” 1993 in front of the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin | Photo (Detail): Wolfgang Kumm © picture-alliance / dpa

The construction of the Berlin Wall – the physical manifestation of the separation of West and East Germany – also had a direct impact on cinema. And on how a secretary in Leeds or a factory worker in Michigan perceived the division of Germany. Let’s take a trip to the 1960s to learn more. 

By Karsten Kastelan

When Billy Wilder began shooting One, Two, Three in June 1961, he was unaware that his fast-paced postwar comedy would be overshadowed by a gigantic construction project. Or that the construction in question would pass right through his filming location, the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin. Yet during the early morning of August 13, 1961, this nightmare for any executive producer, and for a whole generation of East and West Germans, suddenly became a reality. Where it had previously been possible to quickly pop over to East Berlin, the path was now blocked by the Anti-Fascist Protection Rampart – better known as the Berlin Wall.

For the remaining on-location scenes, a mock-up Brandenburg Gate had to be crafted out of cardboard at the studio in Munich’s Geiselgasteig neighborhood, but the damage had already been done. “Suddenly, our jokes about East and West weren’t funny anymore,” Wilder remarked a quarter century later, something that the box office sales in December 1961 dramatically reflected when his movie One, Two, Three premiered and proved far less popular than Wilder’s other films.

Nonetheless, this first cinematic victim of the Wall probably portrays the relationship between East and West Berlin – and between the Russian and American sectors – more accurately than almost any other film. Before the Wall went up, the black market was thriving – people knew one another and generally felt that any ideological divides could be overcome. Indeed, this was true to such an extent that C.R. MacNamara, the director of the West Berlin branch of Coca-Cola played by James Cagney, goes to great lengths to export his product to East Germany. This sacrilege prompts the Russians to demand that they be given the recipe for Coca-Cola in return. An almost greater sacrilege.

Until that fateful day in August, however, people were still able to laugh about things like that.

Yet, it soon became clear that this was no longer a laughing matter – as Martin Ritt’s 1965 film The Spy Who Came in from the Cold illustrates. There were no problems with the filming location this time around as all the Wall scenes were shot in Dublin. However, the oppressive atmosphere of this spy thriller based on the novel by John Le Carré speaks volumes about how entrenched positions had become over the previous four years. We had already seen pictures of the Wall being built at the beginning of One, Two, Three – a scene added subsequently by Wilder so that his comedy would not seem outdated – but now we are suddenly confronted with threatening images of mortar and razor wire. The Cold War was now in full swing and at its lowest possible temperature – and a thaw was neither expected nor realistically hoped for.

In the first scene of the movie, Alec Leamas (Richard Burton), head of the British secret service in West Berlin, is waiting for a defector near Checkpoint Charlie. It is night, it is cold, and his nerves are on edge. Suddenly, a cyclist appears on the “enemy” side of the border crossing. His papers appear to be in order, but then a siren sounds. The border police aim their weapons and fire. The defector dies in front of Leamas’ eyes on the open street, in the no man’s land between the East and West.

A clear shift is apparent here in the way the Western Allies viewed Germany’s separation. And this was also from quite a unique viewpoint, as John Le Carré – the author of the novel on which the film was based and whose real name was David John Moore Cornwell – was himself a British spy, albeit not in the frosty atmosphere of a divided Berlin but in the occasionally sunny and provincial-seeming Bonn. His view of East Germany is different from that of Billy Wilder and his co-author I.A.L. Diamond. John Le Carré is a soldier in her Majesty’s service and his front line runs right across Germany. Checkpoint Charlie is like the fence in a wild animal’s enclosure behind which the evil Russian bear does what it pleases. And it is on the other side of the Wall that the film comes to an abrupt and tragic end, one which is entirely free of any illusions.

Filmed just one year later, Funeral in Berlin adopts quite a different tone and reveals that the relationship between the two Germanys was beginning to settle down – though The Spy Who Came in from the Cold was not shot until 1965, the novel was written back in 1963 – and that there was certainly scope to approach this serious subject with (admittedly cynical) humor.

This time, the movie was shot not in the United Kingdom but on location in Berlin. And it was none other than Goldfinger director Guy Hamilton who set about turning Len Deighton’s humorous spy novel into a film.

Right from the start, the first scenes are full of local color. West Berliners are depicted strolling along the Ku’damm, sitting in the city’s cafés, and ice-skating in the summer. However, we also see how mines are laid along the no man’s land on the border known as the death strip and how a young pianist escapes to the West in breathtaking fashion. None of this has any particular relevance to the plot of the film; it primarily serves as a portrait of the city to which Secret Agent Harry Palmer (Michael Caine) is sent to help a high-ranking Russian defector come to the West.

By now, the two sides have long since come to an arrangement in the casual style typical to Berlin. According to this set-up, one can never be sure who is spying on whom or whom one can trust – or rather whom one should distrust more. The Russian defector (Oskar Homolka) is namely the officer responsible for the security of the Berlin Wall, while his adversary (Günter Meisner) is the architect of successful escape attempts. To add to the chaos, we also have an Israeli agent (Eva Renzi) and the mysterious underwear importer Johnny Vulkan (Paul Hubschmid).

In other words, the Western powers’ perception changed within just five years, or at least the perception of the filmmakers and movie-goers in the West. There was a shift from an amusing culture clash of ideologies to a deadly serious state of war that was never publicly declared to a breeding ground for profiteers and spies of every conceivable stripe. 

The conditions for filming also changed. First, a wall was built right through Wilder’s filming location (though presumably not on purpose), then Checkpoint Charlie had to be relocated to Ireland for Ritt’s movie. While Guy Hamilton’s Funeral in Berlin was being shot, the East German police on the other side of the Wall took pleasure in using mirrors to disrupt the filming, beaming concentrated light on the cameras. In response, the director’s wife Kerima (whose real name is Miriam Charrière) asked the border guards to wave nicely for her camera. This worried Hamilton, but he couldn’t do anything about his hot-blooded wife’s temperament.

And the border soldiers couldn’t either. They smiled and waved back. The Wall would remain physically intact for a long time – and it would continue to haunt our thoughts for even longer. But it was there now, just like the two separate parts of the country that would develop in very different ways.

However, the shock was contained for the time being, at least in international cinema. And because movie-goers in England and the US would not necessarily want to see movies about the Wall, filmmakers turned to other subjects.



Author

Karsten Kastelan Autorbild © Karsten Kastelan

Karsten Kastelan has been a Berlin-based correspondent for a variety of news-outlets since 1991, which have included The Hollywood Reporter, Screen International, Moving Pictures, and Die Welt. He has served as a jury member at the London, Dubai, Munich, Cairo and Palm Springs film festivals, among others.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kalter Krieg im Kino
Die Mauer als internationale Bedrohung

Billy Wilder und sein Hauptdarsteller Horst Buchholz aus „Eins, Zwei, drei“ 1993 vor dem Brandenburger Tor in Berlin
Billy Wilder (rechts) und sein Hauptdarsteller Horst Buchholz aus „Eins, Zwei, drei“ 1993 vor dem Brandenburger Tor in Berlin | Foto (Detail): Wolfgang Kumm © picture-alliance / dpa

Der Mauerbau und die damit physisch manifestierte Trennung von West- und Ostdeutschland hatten auch im Kino unmittelbare Auswirkungen. Und darauf, wie die Sekretärin in Leeds oder der Fabrikarbeiter in Michigan die deutsche Trennung wahrnahm. Eine Reise in die 1960er-Jahre.  

Von Karsten Kastelan

Als Billy Wilder im Juni 1961 mit den Dreharbeiten zu Eins, Zwei, Drei begann, wusste er noch nicht, dass seine temporeiche Nachkriegskomödie von einem gigantischen Bauwerk überschattet werden würde. Und erst recht nicht, dass sich dieses genau durch seinen Drehort, das Brandenburger Tor, ziehen würde. Aber in der Nacht zum 13. August 1961 wurde dieser Albtraum eines jeden Produktionsleiters – und sukzessive einer ganzen Generation von Ost- und Westdeutschen – plötzlich wahr. Wo man zuvor noch schnell nach Ostberlin übersetzen konnte, stand nun der antifaschistische Schutzwall: die Mauer.

Für noch verbleibende Szenen vor Ort musste das Brandenburger Tor nun aus Pappe auf dem Studiogelände in München-Geiselgasteig nachgebaut werden, aber der Schaden war spürbar. „Unsere Späße über Ost und West waren nicht mehr komisch“, bemerkte Wilder ein Vierteljahrhundert später, was sich im Dezember 1961 vor allem an der Kinokasse zeigte, als der Film Eins, Zwei, Drei bei seiner Premiere deutlich hinter anderen Werken Wilders zurückblieb.

Dabei spiegelt wohl kaum ein Film die Beziehungen zwischen Ost- und Weltberlin, dem russischen und dem amerikanischen Sektor, so gut wider wie ausgerechnet das erste cineastische Opfer der Mauer. Vorher funktionierte der Schwarzhandel, man kannte sich gegenseitig und sah ideologische Gräben meist noch als überbrückbar an. Sogar in solchem Maße, dass der von James Cagney gespielte Manager C. R. MacNamara, Direktor der Westberliner Coca-Cola-Filiale, größte Anstrengungen unternimmt, sein Produkt nach Ostdeutschland zu exportieren. Ein Sakrileg, auf das die Russen mit dem Gegenvorschlag antworten, man müsse ihnen dann aber die Formel für Coca Cola aushändigen. Ein fast noch größeres Sakrileg.

Aber, wie gesagt, bis zu jenem schicksalhaften Tag im August konnte man über so etwas noch lachen.

Bald war allerdings Schluss mit lustig – dass illustriert Martin Ritts Film Der Spion, der aus der Kälte kam von 1965. Zwar gab es diesmal keine Probleme mit dem Drehort, da sämtliche Szenen an der Mauer in Dublin gedreht wurden. Die bedrückende Stimmung des Spionagethrillers nach dem Roman von John Le Carré spricht aber Bände über eine Verhärtung der Fronten, die in den vergangenen vier Jahren stattgefunden hatte. Sahen wir schon zu Beginn von Eins, Zwei, Drei Bilder des Mauerbaus – eine von Wilder nachgedrehte Sequenz, um seine Komödie nicht veraltet aussehen zu lassen – sind es nun plötzlich bedrohlich wirkende Aufnahmen von Mörtel und Stacheldraht. Der Kalte Krieg operierte nun konstant auf tiefstmöglicher Temperatur, ein Abtauen wurde weder erwartet noch realistisch erhofft.

In der ersten Szene des Films wartet Alec Leamas (Richard Burton), britischer Geheimdienstchef in Westberlin, am Checkpoint Charlie auf einen Überläufer. Es ist nachts, es ist kalt und die Nerven liegen blank. Plötzlich erscheint ein Fahrradfahrer auf der „feindlichen“ Seite des Grenzübergangs. Seine Papiere scheinen in Ordnung zu sein, aber dann ertönt eine Sirene. Die Grenzpolizisten legen an, schießen. Und der Überläufer stirbt vor Leamas Augen auf offener Straße, im Niemandsland zwischen Ost und West.

Hier zeigt sich ein klarer Wandel in der Einstellung, mit der die westalliierten Mächte die deutsche Teilung einschätzen. Und das auch aus klarer, anderer Sicht, da John Le Carré – Autor der Romanvorlage, unter seinem wirklichen Namen David John Moore Cornwell – selbst als britischer Spion tätig war, wenn auch nicht in der geteilten Kälte Berlins, sondern im gelegentlich sonnigen, provinziell wirkenden Bonn. Sein Blick auf Ostdeutschland ist ein anderer als der von Billy Wilder und Co-Autor I. A. L. Diamond. John Le Carré ist ein Soldat im Dienste Ihrer Majestät und seine Front geht quer durch ganz Deutschland. Der Checkpoint Charlie markiert den Zaun zum Raubtiergehege, hinter dem der böse russische Bär schaltet und waltet. Und es wird auf der anderen Seite der Mauer sein, wo der Film ein jähes, trauriges und komplett illusionsloses Ende findet.

Der nur ein Jahr später gedrehte Film Finale in Berlin schlägt einen anderen Takt an und zeigt, dass das deutsch-deutsche Verhältnis sich langsam einpegelte – Der Spion, der aus der Kälte kam wurde erst 1965 gedreht, der Roman stammt aber von 1963 – und es durchaus Raum gab, das ernste Thema mit (zugegeben zynischem) Humor zu betrachten.

Gefilmt wurde diesmal nicht im britischen Königreich, sondern direkt vor Ort in Berlin. Und kein geringerer als Goldfinger-Regisseur Guy Hamilton machte sich daran, den humoristischen Spionageroman von Len Deighton zu inszenieren.

Schon die ersten Szenen strotzen vor Lokalkolorit. Hier sieht man Westberliner*innen, die am Ku‘damm flanieren, in den Cafés sitzen oder im Sommer Schlittschuh laufen. Aber man sieht auch das Verminen des Todesstreifens, bei dem ein junger Pianist auf atemberaubende Weise in den Westen entkommt. Nichts davon ist der weiteren Handlung wirklich zuträglich: Es ist vor allem das Stimmungsbild einer Stadt, in die Geheimagent Harry Palmer (Michael Caine) geschickt wird, um einen hochrangigen russischen Überläufer in den Westen zu holen.

Inzwischen hat man sich nämlich schon längst arrangiert – auf eine legere und typisch berlinerische Art und Weise, bei der man sich nie sicher sein kann, wer jetzt wen bespitzelt und wem man noch trauen kann beziehungsweise wem man mehr misstrauen sollte. Der russische Überläufer (Oskar Homolka) ist nämlich der zuständige Offizier für die Sicherheit der Mauer, sein Gegenspieler (Günter Meisner) der Architekt gelungener Ausbruchsversuche. Hinzu kommen noch eine israelische Agentin (Eva Renzi) und der mysteriöse Dessous-Importeur Johnny Vulkan (Paul Hubschmid). Das Chaos ist perfekt.

Innerhalb von fünf Jahren hat sich also – in den Augen der Westmächte oder zumindest der Filmemacher und Kinobesucher dort – das Bild gewandelt: von dem putzigen „culture clash“ der Ideologien über die tiefe Ernsthaftigkeit eines nie öffentlich erklärten Kriegszustands bis hin zu dem Nest für Profiteure und Spione jeder Couleur.

Auch die Drehbedingungen änderten sich. Erst hatte man Wilder (wohl ohne konkret böse Absicht) eine Mauer durch den Drehort gebaut, dann musste der Checkpoint Charlie für Ritts Film nach Irland verlegt werden. Im Falle von Guy Hamiltons Finale in Berlin begnügten sich die Volkspolizisten auf der anderen Seite der Mauer damit, die Dreharbeiten mit Spiegeln zu stören und konzentriertes Licht auf die Kameras zu leiten. Worauf die Ehefrau des Regisseurs, Kerima (eigentlich Miriam Charrière), die Grenzposten dazu aufforderte, nett in ihre Kamera zu winken. Hamilton machte sich damals Sorgen, konnte dem Temperament seiner heißblütigen Frau aber wenig entgegensetzen.

Die Grenzsoldaten auch nicht. Sie lächelten und winkten zurück. Die Mauer sollte noch lange physisch bestehen bleiben und noch weitaus länger in unseren Köpfen herumspuken. Aber sie war nun mal da; genauso wie zwei Teile eines Landes, die sich sehr unterschiedlich entwickeln sollten.

Aber – zumindest im internationalen Kino – war der Schreck erst einmal eingedämmt. Und da man mit Mauerfilmen zumindest in England oder den USA nicht automatisch Kinokarten verkaufen konnte, wandte man sich anderen Themen zu.



Autor

Karsten Kastelan Autorbild © Karsten Kastelan

Karsten Kastelan ist ein in Berlin lebender Korrespondent, der seit 1991 für eine Vielzahl von Medien schreibt, darunter The Hollywood Reporter, Screen International, Moving Pictures und Die Welt. Er war Jurymitglied bei den Filmfestivals von London, Dubai, München, Kairo und Palm Springs, um nur einige zu nennen.

Top