“These bodies are filled with fear” Interview with Klaus Theweleit about violence in Germany

This article was originally published in German by the Gerda Henkel Stiftung.

In recent weeks, Germany has been disturbed by images of men chasing people they perceived to be refugees through the streets of a German town. We asked Professor Klaus Theweleit, an expert on violence and male fantasies in the context of fascist ideology, for a psychological profile of these men.

These images have given rise to debates in the media about whether fascism is on the rise again in Germany and needs to be combatted. Furthermore, people are asking themselves what drives these men to act with such violence towards anyone who looks even remotely foreign, to chant degrading slogans and to openly use Nazi symbols. In the 1970s, Professor Klaus Theweleit studied violence and male fantasies in the context of fascist ideology. In his latest analysis of laughter in those who engage in excessive violence, he has addressed this subject once again.

“Right-wing extremist mobs want to kill, all over the world”

Professor Theweleit, in your research and in many of your books you have studied the violence perpetrated by men–from the terror of the Freikorps paramilitary groups (German volunteer mercenary units that existed from the 18th to the early 20th centuries) in your widely acclaimed two-volume work Male Fantasies to Anders Breivik’s killing spree in your latest monograph entitled Das Lachen der Täter (i.e. The Laughter of Perpetrators). In your work, you explore the motives that drive these men to spread fear and terror. When looking at the latest images of violent incidents–especially the way people were hounded through the streets of Chemnitz–do you see parallels with the men who you studied and discussed in the aforementioned books?

The reasons why people are hounded are similar the world over. The “justification” may differ considerably from an ideological perspective–and may be for political, religious or local reasons.  “Reasons” can always be “found” for all kinds of acts all over the world; that is the problem with so-called “rationality”. Yet things that might actually be “genuine” justifications tend to be cited only rarely. In other words, justifications are as a rule arbitrary. The perpetrators in question may not always be aware of this, though some are. They have a clearer idea of what motivates them: namely the urge to kill. There are people–in all kinds of different cultures–who are designed to violently eliminate others from their environment. I have described how this type of person functions in Male Fantasies and other books. There are local variants; and doubtless there were specific factors particular to the men in Chemnitz, for example the fact that for years a Nazi network in Chemnitz provided cover for the NSU (National Socialist Underground, a far-right German neo-Nazi terrorist group) murderers. In principle, however, such perpetrators exhibit similar characteristics. The hate-filled mob that took to the streets of Koethen on Sunday, September 10, was to be seen applauding and cheering an agitator who was loudly shouting: “Do you want to remain the bleating sheep or do you want to become wolves and tear them apart?” He called upon the mob to confront their political opponents at home and “to wait for them on their doorsteps”. Taken together, this is tantamount to an incitement to murder. Right-wing extremist mobs want to kill, all over the world.

“There is no such thing as ‘professional’ causal research”

Even before any causal research can be undertaken professionally, numerous explanations can already be found in the media as to why neo-Nazis chase people through the streets who do not look the way they believe they should. Among the explanations typically put forward are that such people are the “losers of modernization”, “a lower middle class that has been left behind”, “incorrigible Nazis”, have “a fear of being swamped by foreigners” or are the “typical legacy of the prescribed anti-fascism of the GDR”, et cetera. Do you find any of these explanations convincing?

There is no such thing as “professional” causal research. It is always a case of speculating on a more or less well-founded basis. And sometimes it is nothing but pure imagination. The closest one comes to identifying the “causes” of violent acts is when one studies the bodies of the perpetrators in question.

“The desire to kill is driven by worse bodily states”

In your book Das Lachen der Täter (i.e. The Laughter of Perpetrators), you illustrate that the reasons why a person has a propensity for violence with the intention of injuring or even killing another person can be found in the earliest years of their life and have to do with the formation of their ego. One key factor in this context is a person’s negative or “unresolved” symbiotic relationship with their mother. What is meant by this?

Neither historians nor sociologists, ethnologists or psychoanalysts are willing (even with reservations) to recognize or to admit that the basis for an adult body is the child’s body, out of which the specific violent perpetrator in question is produced. Violence in adults, whether carried out for reasons of enjoyment or not, stems from bodies that in earlier years–to put it in very general terms–were subjected to certain types of damage. This damage may come in all kinds of different forms, such as physical beatings; psychophysical damage due to an entire arsenal of different threats, including the threat of being swallowed up in a negative symbiosis by a superior and dominant adult body (this need not necessarily be that of the “mother”). These threats result in people with a “fragmented body”. Bodies that feel torn apart. Bodies that are unable to develop a stable sense of themselves; a state of equilibrium in which they feel safe; an “ego” that is capable of incorporating external realities into its own psyche without collapsing under the strain of this “burden”. These bodies–and this is the crucial point–are filled with fear. The fear of breaking apart, the fear of becoming destabilized, the fear of being devoured by (potentially) everything around them and everything that approaches them without their having any idea about how to handle it.

One of the psychophysical or physical possibilities open to them is to react with violence to all kinds of “external” threats.

Historians, sociologists, philosophers, ethnologists, economists, politicians, psychoanalysts: none of them acknowledges the existence of fragmented bodies that are bent on violence despite their being one of the fundamental elements that actually exist in human societies around the world. They talk and fantasize instead about the individual, or even about an autonomous subject–about an “ego” or “responsible person” who has to take responsibility for their existence and the way they are. This “subject” hardly occurs at all in the real world. They talk of phantoms when speaking (or writing) about the people acting in real-life societies.

And they do so without understanding–or considering–just how many people (not only those in Chemnitz) are living on the brink. Not only on the brink in the sense of “losers of modernization” or a “lower middle class that has been left behind”. True, these are also examples of a brink, yet ones that can be resolved with comparative ease, such as by providing people with long-term unemployment benefits or other government subsidies or aid programs, or if those affected receive help from friends, partners, neighbors, parents or associations. This kind of help can also have the desired result with some people, though with many it does not. Despite the help they receive, such people can find themselves falling into the infamous “black hole”. However, this by no means “explains” the dire situation that prompts people to gather in public places, waving their flags and declaring that they have to “hunt” other people and eliminate them, murder them. Reaching that stage requires something more than not having enough cash to afford a reasonable quality of life and a place to live. The people who voted for the Nazis in the 1930s were in some cases also people who had become “left behind” in socioeconomic terms. That is no reason to commit murder. The key problem was (is) that some Germans appear to feel no shame nor see anything should prevent them voting for election candidates who promote such concepts.

The desire to kill that I have noticed and described in so many of the murders committed by right-wing extremists around the world is driven by inferior bodily states: the fragmented body’s fear of disaster, of being devoured by the realities that surround it.

The void (the brink!) from which the sound of yelling–the hatred and the desire to kill–reaches us is a lonely void that is filled with fear. Physical action is needed to fill this void. A nebulous state that I refer to as “hallucinatory perception conglomerates” prevails in the heads of those affected.

“The press should admit its own partiality”

Do you see these bodily sensations as the reason or as one of the reasons for the accusation that the press are “liars” that is continually leveled at the German media?

One of the reasons, certainly. After all, in the opinion of those who live for the most part in states of hallucinatory fear, these devouring realities are simply denied by others who believe, for example, that they inhabit one of the best worlds possible. It is not simply the case that the publishing houses of this kind of person (who always calls the shots in society) are unjustifiably decried as the “lying press”. All of those who are in some way “better off”, whose lives are or appear to be comfortable and who perceive their existence as something to be enjoyed, naturally spread lies about the situation of those who are not so well off, who perceive the world around them as threatening but see no opportunity of bringing about any kind of change–or at least not by any civil means.

In my opinion, one fundamental error made by the liberal “bourgeois” press was (and still is) its failure to take the “lying press” accusation really seriously, that they do not give it any serious consideration. Rather than saying–truthfully–that we are biased, we represent certain interests and we can justify this: for example, the interest that the so-called market economy has in highly-technicized democratic societies. We can justify why this includes the interest of political argument in certain forms: in the German parliament, in the state-level and local government bodies, in kindergartens, schools, companies and associations. We can justify why this includes accepting the state’s monopoly on the use of force, and accepting the so-called “separation of powers” and independence of the justice system. And, indeed, the right to civic initiatives and civic resistance, et cetera–though not the right to local “vigilante groups”, especially not armed ones, to name just one example.

In other words, the press should freely admit: “We are a self-interested bourgeois press with very specific values; and as such are quite naturally a lying press in the eyes of those who reject and fight against these values. Thanks for the compliment!”–this is roughly how an appropriate response should be, rather than inviting the openly criminal elements from the AfD (Alternative for Germany, a far-right political party in Germany party) and the like to so-called talk shows so as to prove to them there that the press is all about objective journalism, and is not a lying press; thereby perpetuating this central lie of the “bourgeois press”. The press should admit its own partiality: “Yes, that is how we are; and we are opposed to you. And we are happy to say that out loud without needing to have you there to discuss it.” Because: “You are declared enemies of the democratic system whose tenets we represent in this discussion. And of which you are no part”.

Yet we perpetuate the fairy-tale of “objective journalism” instead. I (like millions of others) should really be entitled to claim compensation for the suffering and secondhand embarrassment inflicted upon us by talk show hosts such as Maischberger, Will, Illner, Jauch and Plasberg in their pious “attempts at conversation” with the openly criminal types, male and female, from the so-called Alternative for Germany party.

This applies not only to television and to the serious quality press such as Die Welt (a German national daily newspaper), Die Zeit (a German national weekly newspaper), et cetera, but also to the media that see themselves as more “left-wing”, such as the  newspaper Die Tageszeitung. Full-page interviews with the openly fascist Alice Weidel, just a few days before an election! Ms. Bettina Gaus as the upholder of objective balance. Just how dumb do they think people are? Not even the Gaulands and Weidels are that dumb. (Send them to prison! For proven death threats and sedition). Should they enter into a discussion with them? No! Absolutely not. But not because they are dishonestly claiming to be the objective ones.

And then they even buy into the bargain that they are superior to those people and that their arguments could be refuted in a discussion! That really takes the cake! Anyone who engages in a genuine discussion can only lose against people who (quite intentionally) use counterfactual arguments (be it someone like Weidel, Gauland or Trump) because such types simply wipe their asses with any “argument” that is put forward, countering with claims that they couldn’t care less whether they are actually “true” or can even be “substantiated”. Any semi-reasonable person would refuse to engage in any discussion with such people.

“Talking to ‘semi-reasonable people’”

What can be done to combat them?

They can be combatted by talking to any other “semi-reasonable people” who can be reached. And who are prepared to listen, who can expect to be listened to when they have something to say themselves–the emphasis being on talking, not shouting. Then, a discussion can take place. The “right-wing extremists” who shout their views in the street do not talk to one another; together they bellow out murderous slogans directed at others.

Any true kind of conversation requires that those talking to one another also listen to–and acknowledge the value of–what the other person is saying. This must be a reciprocal process. Where this is not possible, give such individuals a wide berth. And do not hesitate to take legal steps against criminal threats; take such socio-political action as to ensure that such people remain isolated to the greatest extent possible and that their influence is limited.

“Violent tendencies that are acted upon are (almost) always an exclusively male phenomenon”

To what degree can the excessive violence that we have seen in Chemnitz and similar incidents in the recent past be described as an exclusively male phenomenon? Is such violence primarily masculine in its origins or coding, or does it apply to both genders these days? What is the role and function of women in this constellation? Are women in this context merely victims, or the imagined victims?

Violent tendencies that are acted upon are (almost) always an exclusively male phenomenon. The cultural and historical reasons for this are similar the world over; first and foremost, the fact that male bodies have a traditionally much greater tendency to physically act out their internal psychological problems. It is not necessarily the case that women will speak with less hatred of foreigners, for example. They are just as involved in the sedition–they help organize, are present when murders are committed and applaud. Yet they are less involved in the actual beatings–this gender difference remains. Producing the desired “bloody mess” in the destroyed and broken bodies of the murder victims is still largely the male domain. This is not only the case with the NSU (National Socialist Underground, a far-right German neo-Nazi terrorist group); Zschäpe did not commit the murders single-handedly. The regular attacks on refugee shelters and their residents–roughly 250 in 2017 alone–were also committed by men as far as we know.

“Liberal journalists exaggerate a fascist threat”

Many of the commentaries about the effects of events such as those in Chemnitz express concerns about a revival of fascism in Germany. Do you believe such concerns to be justified? Or is this simply a question of a relatively small incidence of fascist tendencies? And what about the so-called “concerned citizens” who stand on the fringes of demonstrations and applaud when people, with refugees in mind, chant slogans such as “Drown!”?

I have stressed on many occasions that “concerned citizens” will not become fascists; they will not form a mob and chase people down the streets. And they will not chant “Drown”. The term “concerned” is not appropriate here. What we are dealing with is, as you say, a “relatively small incidence of fascist tendencies”, though these are by no means harmless. Yet where does this strange tendency in “our” media to intentionally exaggerate the threats posed by this phenomenon come from? A “victory of right-wing populists” in the Swedish parliamentary elections was proclaimed in news ticker and teletext reports on the evening of Sunday, September 10, 2018, and in some parts of Monday’s press, too. Then came the correction on Tuesday: 17.6%, making them only the third-strongest party and giving them no chance to participate in the government formation. (Much the same happened some time ago when the alleged threat posed by Marine Le Pen in France was talked about nationwide). Liberal journalists exaggerate a fascist threat they (probably) do not even believe in themselves. What a bizarre indulgence. The cover of the September 8 edition of Spiegel magazine shows the AfD (Alternative for Germany, a far-right political party in Germany party) leadership rocketing skywards. What’s the point of such garbage? Neither Europe nor Germany is in any way at risk of being dominated by right-wing populism. It’s all just bullshit!

„Diese Körper sind von Angst erfüllt“ Interview mit Klaus Theweleit über Gewalt in Deutschland


Dieser Artikel wurde zuerst von der Gerda Henkel Stiftung veröffentlicht.

Die Bilder von Männern, die Menschen durch eine Stadt jagen, die sie zuvor als Flüchtlinge ausmachten, haben die Republik in den vergangenen Wochen regelrecht verstört. Wir haben Prof. Dr. Klaus Theweleit, Fachmann in der Gewalt und Männerphantasien im Zusammenhang mit faschistischem Gedankengut, um ein Psychogramm dieser Männer gebeten.
 

In den begleitenden Medien entzünden sich die Debatten nicht zuletzt entlang der Frage, ob in Deutschland ein neuer Faschismus aufkommt, dem man entgegenzutreten habe. Außerdem fragt man sich, was diese Männer antreibt, gegen alles fremdländisch Erscheinende gewaltsam vorzugehen, ungeniert menschenverachtende Parolen zu skandieren oder NS-Symbolik offen zu demonstrieren. Prof. Dr. Klaus Theweleit hat sich bereits in den 1970er Jahren mit Gewalt und Männerphantasien im Zusammenhang mit faschistischem Gedankengut auseinandergesetzt. In seiner jüngsten Analyse über das Lachen von Tätern gewaltsamer Exzesse hat er dieses Thema noch einmal aufgegriffen.


„Der rechte Mob will töten, überall auf der Welt“

Herr Professor Theweleit, Sie haben sich in Ihrer Forschung und in vielen Ihrer Bücher mit Gewalt, die von Männern ausgeübt wird, beschäftigt – vom Terror der Freikorps in Ihrem weitrezepierten Zweibänder Männerphantasien bis zum Amoklauf von Anders Breivik in Ihrer jüngsten Monographie Das Lachen der Täter. Darin gehen Sie den Motiven bzw. Antrieben dieser Männer auf den Grund, Angst, Schrecken und Terror zu verbreiten. Wenn man sich die aktuellsten Bilder von gewalttätigen Ereignissen anschaut – so insbesondere die Hetzjagd auf Menschen in Chemnitz –, sehen Sie da Parallelen zu den Männern, die Sie in den oben angesprochenen Büchern untersucht und besprochen haben?

Hetzjagden auf Menschen haben überall auf der Welt ähnliche Hintergründe. Ideologisch werden sie zwar sehr verschieden „begründet“ – politisch, religiös, lokal verschieden.  „Gründe“ lassen sich für alle Sorten Handlungen auf der Welt immer „finden“; das ist halt das Kreuz mit der sogenannten „Rationalität“. Dinge, die als „tatsächliche“ Begründungen durchgehen könnten, werden dabei eher selten genannt. Das heißt, Begründungen sind in der Regel willkürlich. Das ist den jeweiligen Tätern nicht immer bewusst, manchen aber schon. Die kennen ihre Beweggründe genauer: sie lauten auf töten wollen. Es gibt Menschen – in den verschiedensten Kulturen – die darauf angelegt sind, andere Menschen um sie herum gewaltsam aus ihrem Umfeld zu entfernen. Wie dieser Typus funktioniert, habe ich in Männerphantasien und anderen Büchern beschrieben. Es gibt lokale Abweichungen darin; bei den Chemnitzern sicher besondere Spezifika; zum Beispiel den Umstand, dass in Chemnitz ein Nazi-Netzwerk den Mördern des NSU jahrelang Deckung gab. Aber im Grundsätzlichen ähneln sich solche Täter. Der Hetzmob, der am Sonntag, dem 10. September, in Koethen unterwegs war, beklatschte und bejohlte einen Hetzredner, der brüllte: „Wollt ihr weiterhin die Schafe bleiben, die blöken, oder wollt ihr zu Wölfen werden und sie zerfetzen“. Er rief dazu auf, die politischen Gegner „zu Hause zu stellen“, „vor ihren Türen auf sie zu warten“. Zusammengenommen sind das Mordaufrufe. Der rechte Mob will töten, überall auf der Welt.


„Ursachenforschung ‚professionell‘ gibt es nicht“

Bevor Ursachenforschung professionell betrieben werden kann, finden sich in den Medien bereits zahlreiche Erklärungen, warum Neonazis Menschen durch die Stadt jagen, die nicht so aussehen wie sie meinen, dass diese auszusehen hätten. Zu den Erklärungsmustern gehören unter anderen: „Modernisierungsverlierer“, „abgehängte untere Mittelschicht“, „unbelehrbare Nazis“, „Angst vor Überfremdung“, „typisches Erbe des verordneten Antifaschismus in der DDR“ usw. Überzeugt sie einer dieser Erklärungsansätze?

Ursachenforschung „professionell“ gibt es nicht. Es handelt sich immer um mehr oder weniger fundierte Spekulationen. Manchmal um reine Phantasien. Am nächsten kommt man „Ursachen“ für Gewalthandlungen, wenn man an den Körperzuständen der jeweiligen Täter ansetzt.
 

„Die Mordlust hat schlimmere körperliche Motoren“

Sie zeigen in Ihrem Buch Das Lachen der Täter, dass die Gründe für den Hang zur Ausübung von Gewalt, die darauf aus ist, ein Anderes zu verletzen und es sogar zu töten, bereits in der frühesten Lebensphase eines Menschen zu suchen sind, die mit der Ich-Bildung zu tun haben. Stichwort: die negative, die „nicht aufgelöste“ symbiotische Beziehung zur Mutter. Wie ist das zu verstehen?

Weder die Geschichtswissenschaft noch die Soziologie, Ethnologie oder Psychoanalyse will (mit Einschränkungen) erkennen beziehungsweise zugeben, dass die Grundlage eines Erwachsenenkörpers der Kinderkörper ist, aus dem der jeweilige spezifische Gewalttäter hervorgeht. Gewalt Erwachsener, ob lustvoll ausgeübt oder nicht, kommt aus Körpern, die in früheren Stadien – ganz allgemein gesprochen – bestimmten Zerstörungen ausgesetzt waren. Zerstörungen verschiedenster Art, physisch, Prügel; psychophysisch, in einem Arsenal aller Arten von Bedrohungen; unter anderem der Bedrohung, in einer negativen Symbiose von einem übermächtigen Erwachsenenkörper (es muss nicht unbedingt der der ‚Mutter‘ sein), verschlungen zu werden. Aus diesen Bedrohungen resultieren Menschen mit einem Fragmentkörper. Körper, die sich zerrissen fühlen. Körper, denen es nicht gelingt, ein stabiles Selbstempfinden zu entwickeln; eine Balance, in der sie sich sicher fühlen; ein „Ich“ zu entwickeln, das in der Lage ist, äußere Realitäten psychisch zu integrieren, ohne unter dieser „Last“ zusammenzubrechen. Diese Körper – und das ist das Entscheidende – sind von Angst erfüllt. Angst, auseinanderzubrechen, Angst, den Boden unter den Füßen zu verlieren, Angst, verschlungen zu werden von (potentiell) allem um sie herum, das sich ihnen nähert, ohne dass sie wüssten, wie damit umzugehen sei.

Eine der Möglichkeiten, die sich ihnen – psychophysisch/motorisch – anbietet, ist, mit Gewalt auf alle Arten von Bedrohungen „von außen“ zu reagieren.

Ob Historiker, ob Soziologen, ob Philosophen, ob Ethnologen, ob Ökonomen, ob Politiker, ob Psychoanalytiker: sie realisieren nicht die Existenz fragmentierter Körper, die auf Gewalt aus sind als eine der real existierenden materiellen Grundbestandteile der menschlichen Sozietäten weltweit. Sie reden, sie phantasieren stattdessen vom Individuum, vom autonomen Subjekt gar, vom „Ich“, von der „verantwortlichen Person“, die gerade zu stehen hat für ihre Existenzform; dies „Subjekt“ kommt in der realen Welt kaum vor. Sie reden von Phantomen, wenn sie von den handelnden Menschen realexistierender Gesellschaften sprechen (oder schreiben).

Statt wahrzunehmen – und davon auszugehen – wie viele Menschen (nicht nur die in Chemnitz) am Abgrund leben. Nicht nur dem Abgrund „Modernisierungsverlierer“ oder „abgehängte untere Mittelschicht“. Das sind zwar auch Abgründe, aber vergleichsweise  behebbare, etwa mit Maßnahmen wie Hartz IV, Arbeitslosengeld, Wohngeld, Hilfsprogrammen verschiedenster Art, Hilfen von Freunden, Geliebten, Nachbarn, Eltern oder Vereinen. Hilfen, die auch greifen, bei manchen. Bei vielen anderen aber nicht. Diese können, trotz der Hilfen, in das berühmte „Loch“ fallen. Was aber in keiner Weise jenen  Abgrund „erklärt“, der dazu führt, dass Leute auf öffentliche Plätze rennen und fahnenschwenkend proklamieren, andere Leute „jagen“ zu müssen, sie eliminieren, sie ermorden zu wollen. Dazu gehört etwas mehr, als nicht genug zum Leben und zum Wohnen in der Tasche zu haben. Die Nazi-Wähler und Wählerinnen der 1930er Jahre waren zum Teil auch ökonomisch-gesellschaftlich irgendwie „Abgehängte“. Das ist kein Grund zum Morden. Das zentrale Problem war (ist), dass es für manche Deutsche offenbar keine Scham und keine Barriere gibt, hinter solche Konzepte ein Wahlkreuz zu setzen.

Die Mordlust, die ich wahrgenommen und beschrieben habe an so vielen Taten der mordenden „Rechten“ weltweit, hat schlimmere körperliche Motoren: Angst des fragmentierenden Körpers vorm Untergang; vorm Verschlungenwerden von den umgebenden Realitäten.

Die Leere (der Abgrund!), aus dem heraus uns das Gebrüll – der Hass, die Mordlust – entgegentönen, ist eine einsame, ist eine angsterfüllte Leere. Sie sucht motorische Aktion, um diese Leere zu füllen. Im Kopf herrscht dabei diese Nebulösität vor, die ich „halluzinatorische Wahrnehmungskonglomerate“ genannt habe.


„Die Presse sollte sich zur eigenen Parteilichkeit bekennen“

Sehen Sie in diesen Körpergefühlen den Grund oder einen der Gründe für den Dauervorwurf „Lügenpresse“ in Richtung der in der Bundesrepublik vorherrschenden Medien?

Einen der Gründe, sicher. Denn diese verschlingenden Realitäten werden von anderen, die zum Beispiel glauben, eine der bestmöglichen Welten zu bewohnen, in der Auffassung jener, die überwiegend in halluzinatorischen Angstzuständen leben, schlicht geleugnet. Die Publikationsorgane dieser (tonangebenden) Sorte Mensch werden nicht einfach ganz zu Unrecht als „Lügenpresse“ beschimpft. Selbstverständlich verbreiten alle die, denen es irgendwie „besser“ geht, denen es auskömmlich geht oder zu gehen scheint, die ihr Dasein als Lust empfinden, Lügen zur Lage derer, denen es nicht so geht; die die Welt um sich herum als bedrohlich empfinden, aber keine Chance auf Veränderungen sehen; jedenfalls nicht auf zivilen Wegen.

Ein Grundfehler der liberalen „bürgerlichen“ Presse war (und ist) es meiner Meinung nach, den Vorwurf der „Lügenpresse“ nicht wirklich ernst zu nehmen, ihn nicht ernsthaft zu bedenken. Statt zu sagen – was der Wahrheit entspräche – wir sind parteiisch; wir vertreten bestimmte Interessen; und wir können das begründen: zum Beispiel das Interesse an der sogenannten Marktwirtschaft in hochtechnifizierten demokratischen Gesellschaften. Wir können begründen, warum dazu das Interesse an bestimmten Formen der politischen Auseinandersetzung gehört: im Bundestag, in den Landtagen, in den Kommunen, in Kindergärten, Schulen, in Betrieben und Vereinen. Wir können begründen, warum dazu die Akzeptanz des Gewaltmonopols des Staats gehört; die Akzeptanz der sogenannten „Gewaltenteilung“, Unabhängigkeit der Justiz. Aber auch das Recht auf Bürgerinitiativen, auf zivilen Widerstand et cetera – aber nicht das Recht auf lokale „Bürgerwehren“, zumal bewaffnete, um nur dies eine Beispiel zu nennen.

Zuzugeben wäre also: „Wir sind eine interessenzentrierte bürgerliche Presse mit ganz bestimmten Werten; und sind damit in den Augen derer, die diese Werte ablehnen und bekämpfen ganz selbstverständlich Lügenpresse. Danke für das Kompliment“! – so etwa hätte eine angemessene Antwort zu lauten; und nicht: die offen Kriminellen von AfD und ähnlich einzuladen in sogenannte Talkshows, um ihnen dort zu beweisen, dass man doch nicht Lügenpresse sei, sondern objektiver Journalismus; diese Zentrallüge der „bürgerlichen Presse“ also weiter und nochmals zu verbreiten. Man hätte sich zu bekennen zur eigenen Parteilichkeit. Nämlich: „Ja, wir sind so; und wir sind gegen euch. Und wir sagen das laut, auch ohne euch dabei haben zu müssen im Diskutierstuhl“. Weil: „Ihr seid erklärte Feinde jenes demokratischen Systems, dessen Formate wir hier diskutativ repräsentieren. Und da gehört ihr nicht rein“.

Stattdessen die Mär vom „objektiven Journalismus“. Ich (wie Millionen andere) müssten Schmerzensgeld verlangen dürfen für die Leiden des Fremdschämens, die uns die Moderatoren und Moderatorinnen Maischberger, Will, Illner, Jauch, Plasberg auferlegt haben in ihren devoten „Gesprächsversuchen“ mit den offen kriminellen Typen, männlich wie weiblich, aus der sogenannten Alternative für Deutschland.
Dies gilt nicht nur fürs Fernsehen, Die Welt, Die Zeit und so weiter, sondern genauso für die taz und andere Organe, die sich für die „linkeren“ halten. Ganzseitige Interviews mit der offenen Faschistin Alice Weidel, ein paar Tage vor einer Wahl! Frau Bettina Gaus als Statthalterin objektiver Ausgewogenheit. Für wie blöd hält man die Leute denn? So blöd sind grad die Gaulands und Weidels nicht. (In den Knast mit ihnen! Wegen erwiesener Morddrohungen und Volksverhetzung). Diskutieren mit denen? Nein! Und nochmal nein. Aber nicht aus der Verlogenheit heraus: „Wir sind die Objektiven“.

Und auch noch denken, man wäre denen damit überlegen; könne sie, diskutierend, widerlegen! Der Gipfel! Gegen Leute, die (voll bewusst) aus dem Kontrafaktischen reden (ob Weidel, Gauland oder Trump) kann jeder „diskutierende“ Mensch nur verlieren; weil dieser Typus sich mit jedem vorgebrachten „Argument“ nur den Hintern wischt und eine Behauptung dagegensetzt, die darauf pfeift, „wahr“ oder auch nur „begründbar“ zu sein. Mit solchen Leuten diskutiert man nicht als halbwegs vernünftiger Mensch.


„Mit den ‚halbwegs Vernünftigen‘ reden“

Was tut man gegen die?

Sie bekämpft man, indem man mit anderen „halbwegs Vernünftigen“ redet, die einem erreichbar sind. Die bereit sind, zuzuhören; die erwarten dürfen, dass man ihnen zuhört, wenn sie selber etwas sagen; also reden, statt zu brüllen. Dann kann gesprochen werden. Die „Rechten“, die auf der Straße brüllen, reden ja nicht etwa „miteinander“; sie brüllen gemeinsame mörderische Parolen, die sich gegen Andere richten.

Sprechen, das diesen Namen verdient, setzt voraus, dass man etwas wahrgenommen hat von der Rede der Person, zu der oder mit der man spricht; und etwas davon gelten lässt. Das gilt beidseitig. Wo das nicht möglich ist: einen Bogen um die Leute machen. Und gegen kriminelle Bedrohungen entschlossen mit rechtlichen Schritten vorgehen; gesellschaftspolitisch so handeln, dass jene möglichst isoliert bleiben; ihren Einfluss begrenzen.


„Ausagierte Gewalt ist (fast) immer ein rein männliches Phänomen“

Inwieweit haben wir es bei den Exzessen von Chemnitz und ähnlichen in der jüngeren Vergangenheit mit einem reinen Männerphänomen zu tun? Ist diese Gewalt vor allem eine maskulin begründete und kodierte oder ist diese inzwischen genderübergreifend? Welche Rolle und Funktion kommt Frauen in dieser Konstellation zu? Ist Frau hier nur das Opfer bzw. das imaginierte Opfer?

Ausagierte Gewalt ist (fast) immer ein rein männliches Phänomen. Das hat, weltweit, ähnliche, kulturell-geschichtliche Gründe; vor allem die traditionell größere Nähe männlicher Körper zum motorischen Ausagieren innerpsychischer Probleme. Die hasserfüllte Rede z.B. gegenüber Fremden gibt es bei Frauen nicht unbedingt weniger. Sie hetzen mit; sie organisieren mit; sie stehen bei Mordtaten dabei und spenden Beifall; aber sie schlagen – diese Gender-Differenz besteht nach wie vor – weniger selber zu. Die Produktion des ersehnten Anblicks „Blutiger Brei“ in den zerstörten Körpern von Mordopfern ist weiterhin weitgehend männlich. Nicht nur beim NSU; Zschäpe mordete nicht eigenhändig. Auch die regelmäßigen Angriffe auf Flüchtlingsunterkünfte und ihre BewohnerInnen – allein 2017 waren es circa 250 – sind, soweit bekannt, Männertaten.


„Liberale Journalisten schreiben eine faschistische Bedrohung hoch“

In vielen Kommentaren zu den Auswirkungen solcher Ereignisse wie der in Chemnitz und ähnlicher wird die Sorge vor einer Rückkehr des Faschismus in Deutschland ausgedrückt. Halten Sie diese Sorge für berechtigt? Oder haben wir es hier mit einer überschaubaren Größe von faschistischen Tendenzen zu tun? Und was ist mit den sogenannten „besorgten Bürgern“, die am Rande stehen und applaudieren, wenn auf Kundgebungen mit Blick auf Flüchtende Parolen wie „Absaufen!“ skandiert werden?

Ich habe mehrfach betont: „Besorgte Bürger“ werden keine Faschisten; werden kein Mob und keine Menschenjäger. Und sie skandieren nicht „Absaufen“. Die Bezeichnung „Sorge“ gehört hier nicht her. Wir haben es, wie Sie sagen, mit einer „überschaubaren Größe von faschistischen Tendenzen“ zu tun; keineswegs harmlose. Aber: Woher diese merkwürdige Tendenz in „unseren“ Medien, die Bedrohungen durch diese Gefahr mutwillig zu vergrößern? Am Sonntag Abend, 10. September 2018, wird in Kurzmeldungen und Teletexten ein „Sieg der Rechtspopulisten“ in den schwedischen Parlamentswahlen vermeldet; in Teilen der Montagspresse auch. Am Dienstag dann die Korrektur: 17,6%; nur drittstärkste Partei. Keine Chance, an einer Regierungsbildung beteiligt zu werden. (Ähnlich vor einiger Zeit die flächendeckend beschworenen Bedrohungen durch Frau LePen in Frankreich). Liberale Journalisten schreiben eine faschistische Bedrohung hoch, an die sie (wahrscheinlich) selber nicht glauben. Was für ein merkwürdiges Vergnügen. Das Spiegel-Cover vom 8. September zeigt das Personal der AfD-Spitze in einem himmelfahrtsartigen Aufstieg begriffen. What for? Was soll der Blödsinn? Keineswegs ist „Europa“, keineswegs ist „Deutschland“ von einer Vorherrschaft des Rechtspopulismus bedroht. Bullshit!

Dieses Interview führte Georgios Chatzoudis.