Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
The Big Pond – A US-German Listening Series.

A US-German listening series
The Big Pond

In collaboration with radio producers and broadcasters from the US and Germany, The Big Pond is home to 50 podcasts that will be produced over the next year, all of which are available for free on this website and via iTunes and Spotify. Features on topics such as music, sports, history, religion, language, and society convey a multifaceted image of life in Germany and in the US. With high-quality journalism, thorough research, and a preference for unique stories, this series takes on pretzels, beer, and the Berlin Wall, each piece offering a fresh perspective on just how much these two countries share.


Latest episode

Apprentice Jahi Taylor and his mentor Erik Smith © Rhoda Metcalfe

December 5, 2018
The Big Pond #08: German-style Apprenticeships in the US

Audio wird geladen
Driven by a critical lack of skilled technicians, a group of largely German-owned manufacturers in Chicago have launched a new apprenticeship program based on the German education model. This idea is now spreading to a number of American companies.

More


Recently aired

Jürgen Klinsmann talking to Kerstin Zilm © SilverLakes

November 28, 2018
The Big Pond #07: Klinsmann in California

Audio wird geladen
He is a soccer legend in Germany as player and as coach: Jürgen Klinsmann. After leading the German national team to a third-place finish in the 2006 World Cup, he also coached the U.S. men’s soccer team from 2011 to 2016. But now, Klinsmann is anything but retired: In the summer of 2018, he created the SilverLakes Cup, an international youth soccer tournament in Southern California.

More

Oktoberfest at “Zum Schneider” Courtesy “Zum Schneider”

November 21, 2018
The Big Pond #06: Suds and Stories

Audio wird geladen
Germany’s beer influence has spread around the world, and one of the epicenters of this trend is New York City. There are now more than two dozen beer gardens and halls in the city. And every year, Oktoberfest celebrations are held in all of the five boroughs, lasting several weeks. 

More

Thomas Buergenthal and his parents © Thomas Buergenthal

November 14, 2018
The Big Pond #05: Thomas Buergenthal - A Lucky Child

Audio wird geladen
Thomas Buergenthal saw the Nazi concentration camps through a child’s eyes. Luckily, he survived and later became a lawyer and, eventually, a judge on the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, the International Court of Justice in The Hague, and the United Nations Truth Commission for El Salvador. 

More

Marine A Grain Silo, Buffalo, NY © Alex van Oss

November 7, 2018
The Big Pond #04: The Colossi of Buffalo

Audio wird geladen
Buffalo, New York was once the world’s foremost grain port. More than a dozen enormous grain silos, awesome colossi made of wood, steel, and reinforced concrete, still attest to that fact. Their surreal quality fascinated European pioneers of modern architecture, including Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier, and Mies van der Rohe. 

More

Downtown Atlanta © Susanna Capelouto

October 31, 2018
The Big Pond #03: Revitalizing Downtown Atlanta

Audio wird geladen
When Jake Nawrocki had the idea to revive the Southside of Atlanta’s downtown neighborhood – which could take up to 20 years – he had to find investors interested in a long-term committment. He found a partner in Olaf Kunkat, a German real estate investor. 

More

Frances Schoenberger and John Lennon 1975 in New York © Bob Gruen

October 17, 2018
The Big Pond #02: A Day With John Lennon

Audio wird geladen
In 1975, the German journalist Frances Schoenberger interviewed John Lennon in New York, a dream gig for her – but this interview was never published. For The Big Pond, Schoenberger listens to the recordings again for the first time in more than 40 years, recalling what she calls the best day of her career.

More

Migration © Chris Gash

October 3, 2018
The Big Pond #01: The Things We Brought

Audio wird geladen
​There are keepsakes that hold a story for each of us, things that we hold onto for our whole lives – a stitch, a book, a hat. In this episode, we hear three stories about mementos that immigrants brought to the U.S. from other countries and what they mean to their owners.

More


Our Topics

Our topics are as diverse as Germany and the United States – there will be pieces on music, soccer, history, migration, food, travel, architecture, literature, and the environment. 

The common thread is a focus on the things that sometimes connect and sometimes divide us – like the Big Pond we call the Atlantic – with high quality journalism, thorough research, and a preference for unfamiliar stories, points of view, and curious topics.


Team

Verena Hütter Commissioning Editor: Verena Hütter
Verena Hütter (verena.huetter@goethe.de) is the Goethe-Institut’s Director of Communications in North America and is responsible for journalistic and media projects. She studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe, Germany and in Bourges, France as well as German Studies. Before she came to Washington, DC in November 2016 she worked at the Goethe-Institut’s headquarters in Munich in their online editorial department.
   
Bill Gilcher Co-Commissioning Editor: William Gilcher
William Gilcher (wgilcher at me.com) William Gilcher is a veteran of the Goethe-Institut’s engagement with electronic media projects in North America, having worked for 18 years with television, radio, and internet projects for the Goethe-Institut North America from his position in Washington. His background is in film production and film studies, specializing in US and European film criticism and history. After his retirement from the Goethe-Institut in 2011, he has worked on independent writing, editing, and production projects through Harmonia Band Communications, LLC. He serves as co-commimssioning editor for The Big Pond. 
   
Dario Radisic Editor and Project Manager: Dario Radisic
Dario Radisic is the editor and project manager for The Big Pond. He is a cultural theorist and has been working as a freelance writer, editor, project manager and consultant in the cultural and public sector since 2008, working amongst others for the Goethe-Institut, the Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (Second German Television) and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).
   
Savannah Beck Editor: Savannah Beck
Savannah Beck (savannah.beck@goethe.de) is the Online Editor at the Goethe-Institut Washington. She studied German, French, and International Studies at the University of Florida. She has been at the Goethe-Institut since April 2018 and is currently working on several projects for the Year of German-American Friendship including The Big Pond.
   
Flawn Williams © Victoria Moss Technical Director: Flawn Williams
Flawn Williams is a media producer and field recordist who spent 30 years making programs for National Public Radio, including being Technical Director of “All Things Considered” and making numerous trips into remote parts of the world for NPR’s science/nature series “Radio Expeditions”. For the last ten years he’s been teaching audio production and music recording at Georgetown University. And he was a founding member of the “Hear Now” audio producers’ collective, which has had a long cooperative association with the Goethe-Institut in Washington, DC. He now handles podcast production for Malcolm Gladwell’s “Revisionist History” and several other series from his home base in Hyattsville, MD. 


 


Our Partners


Developed within the scope of

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Federal Foreign Office Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
The Big Pond – A dialouge between Germans and Americans.

A US-German listening series
The Big Pond

In Zusammenarbeit mit Radiomachern und -sendern aus den USA und Deutschland werden für The Big Pond im Laufe des nächsten Jahres 50 Podcasts produziert, alle umsonst verfügbar auf dieser Website, bei iTunes und bei Spotify. Mit Sendungen zu Themen wie etwa Musik, Sport, Geschichte, Religion, Sprache oder Gesellschaft wird ein vielseitiges Porträt vom Leben in Deutschland und in den USA gezeichnet. Das verbindende Element ist ein Fokus auf die Dinge, die uns manchmal verbinden und manchmal trennen – so wie der Big Pond, wie der Atlantik in den USA genannt wird –, was wir kombinieren mit professionellem Journalismus, sorgfältigen Recherchen und einer Vorliebe für ungewöhnliche Geschichten und Blickwinkel.


Aktuelle Folge

Germans on Harleys © Scott Carrier

16. Januar 2019
The Big Pond #11: Germans on Harleys

Audio wird geladen
Regelmäßig strömen zahlreiche Touristen aus aller Welt nach Utah, vor allem wegen der überwältigenden Landschaft. Während die meisten mit dem Auto kommen, wählen manche ein außergewöhnlicheres Transportmittel. Fahren Sie mit, während unser Produzent Scott Carrier einen deutschen Motorradclub bei seiner Reise durch die Red Rock Canyons begleitet.

Mehr


Frühere Folgen

Freiwillige bereiten etwa 4.000 Knödel für das jährliche 'Sour Beef dinner' bei der Zion Church of Baltimore zu © MelissaGerrMedia

9. Januar 2019
The Big Pond #10: Faith, and a Side of Sour Beef

Audio wird geladen
Innerhalb der historischen Mauern der Zion Lutheran Church in Baltimore, Maryland, kann man sowohl Polka-Bands als auch Orgelkonzerte hören. Seit über 250 Jahren ist die Gemeinde ihrem deutschen Erbe, das Immigranten nach Baltimore brachten, treu. Mittlerweile ringt die Zion Church um die richtige Balance, um zukunftsfähig zu bleiben.

Mehr

Leigh Hamilton © Janine Guldener

19. Dezember 2018
The Big Pond #09: A Singer’s Life

Audio wird geladen
Seit siebzehn Jahren lebt die amerikanische Sopranistin Leigh Hamilton in Berlin. In dieser Episode folgen wir dem Lebensweg der Sängerin von ihrer Heimatstadt in Ohio bis in die deutsche Metropole, wo sie heute als Gesangscoach Nachwuchstalente für die Bühne ausbildet.


Mehr

Der Auszubildende Jahi Taylor mit seinem Mentor Erik Smith © Rhoda Metcalfe

5. Dezember 2018
The Big Pond #08: German-style Apprenticeships in the US

Audio wird geladen
Da es in Chicago oft an ausgebildeten Fachkräften mangelt, haben einige Firmen, die größtenteils in deutscher Hand sind, ein Ausbildungssystem eingeführt, das an das deutsche duale System angelehnt ist. Diese Idee wird nun auch von anderen amerikanischen Firmen übernommen.

Mehr

Jürgen Klinsmann und Kerstin Zilm im Gespräch © SilverLakes

28. November 2018
The Big Pond #07: Klinsmann in California

Audio wird geladen
Er ist eine deutsche Fußball-Legende, als Spieler wie als Trainer: Jürgen Klinsmann. Nachdem er die deutsche Nationalmannschaft in der WM 2006 zum dritten Platz führte, war er von 2011 bis 2016 auch Trainer der US-amerikanischen Mannschaft. In Rente ist Klinsmann aber noch lange nicht: Im Sommer 2018 rief er den SilverLakes Cup ins Leben, ein internationales Jugend-Fußball-Turnier in Südkalifornien.

Mehr

Oktoberfest bei „Zum Schneider“ Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von „Zum Schneider“

21. November 2018
The Big Pond #06: Suds and Stories

Audio wird geladen
Der Einfluss deutscher Braukunst hat sich in der Welt verbreitet, und eins der Zentren dieses Trends ist New York. Es gibt mittlerweile mehr als zwei Dutzend Biergärten in der Stadt, und jedes Jahr gibt es in allen fünf Bezirken mehrwöchige Oktoberfeste.

Mehr

Thomas Buergenthal und seine Eltern © Thomas Buergenthal

14. November 2018
The Big Pond #05: Thomas Buergenthal - A Lucky Child

Audio wird geladen
Thomas Buergenthal erlebte die Konzentrationslager der Nazis aus der Perspektive eines Kindes. Zum Glück überlebte er und wurde später Anwalt und schließlich Richter am Interamerikanischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte, am Internationalen Gerichtshof im niederländischen Den Haag und in der UN-Wahrheitskommission für El Salvador.

Mehr

Marine A Grain Silo, Buffalo, NY © Alex van Oss

7. November 2018
The Big Pond #04: The Colossi of Buffalo

Audio wird geladen
Buffalo (New York) diente einmal als der größte Getreidehafen der Welt. Dies wird von mehr als einem Dutzend enormer Getreidesilos bezeugt – eindrucksvolle Kolosse aus Holz, Stahl und verstärktem Beton. Deren surreale Ausstrahlung faszinierte auch europäische Architekturpioniere wie Walter Gropius, Le Corbusier und Mies van der Rohe.

Mehr

Downtown Atlanta © Susanna Capelouto

31. Oktober 2018
The Big Pond #03: Wiederaufbau von Downtown Atlanta

Audio wird geladen
Als Jake Nawrocki auf die Idee kam, die Southside von Downtown Atlanta wiederaufzubauen – ein Vorhaben, das zehn bis 20 Jahre dauern könnte –, musste er Investoren finden, die einen langen Atem haben. Einer davon ist Olaf Kunkat aus Deutschland.

Mehr

Frances Schoenberger und John Lennon 1975 in New York © Bob Gruen

17. Oktober 2018
The Big Pond #02: A Day With John Lennon

Audio wird geladen
1975 hatte die deutsche Journalistin Frances Schoenberger die Chance zu einem Gespräch mit John Lennon, davon hatte sie lange geträumt – doch das Interview wurde niemals veröffentlicht. Für The Big Pond hört sich Schoenberger die Aufnahmen das erste Mal seit über 40 Jahren an und erinnert sich an den, so sagt sie selbst, schönsten Tag ihrer Karriere.

Mehr

Migration © Chris Gash

3. Oktober 2018
The Big Pond #01: The Things We Brought

Audio wird geladen
Manche unserer persönlichen Dinge – eine Stickerei, ein Buch, ein Hut – haben eine besondere Geschichte, und sie begleiten uns unser ganzes Leben lang. In dieser Folge hören wir drei Erzählungen über ausgesuchte Dinge, die von ihren Besitzerinnen und Besitzern aus anderen Ländern in die USA gebracht wurden.

Mehr


Unsere Themen

Unsere Themen sind so vielfältig wie die USA und Deutschland an sich – wir arbeiten gerade zum Beispiel an Folgen zu Musik, Fußball, Geschichte, Migration, Essen & Trinken, Reisenden, Architektur, Literatur und Umweltschutz. 

Das verbindende Element ist ein Fokus auf die Dinge, die uns manchmal verbinden und manchmal trennen – so wie der Big Pond, wie der Atlantik in den USA genannt wird –, was wir kombinieren mit professionellem Journalismus, sorgfältigen Recherchen und einer Vorliebe für ungewöhnliche Geschichten und Blickwinkel.


Team

Verena Hütter

Redaktionsleitung: Verena Hütter

Verena Hütter (verena.huetter@goethe.de) ist als Leiterin der Informationsarbeit für die journalistischen Angebote und Medien-Projekte des Goethe-Instituts in Nordamerika zuständig. Sie hat an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe und in Bourges in Frankreich Malerei studiert und Germanistik. Bevor sie im November 2016 nach Washington, DC gezogen ist, war sie in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München in der Online-Redaktion tätig.
   
Bill Gilcher

Redaktionsleitung: William Gilcher

William Gilcher (wgilcher at me.com) war von 1993 bis 2011 für das Goethe-Institut als Medienreferent mit regionalem Auftrag in den Bereichen Fernsehen, Radio und Internet  tätig, was ihn zum Fachmann für Projekte rund um elektronische Medien in Nordamerika macht. Sein Spezialgebiet sind Filmproduktion und Filmwissenschaft mit besonderem Augenmerk auf amerikanische und europäische Filmkritik und -geschichte. Seit er 2011 das Goethe-Institut verlassen hat, um in den Ruhestand zu gehen, arbeitet er bei Harmonia Band Communications, LLC als selbstständiger Autor, Redakteur und Produzent. The Big Pond betreut er als leitender Redakteur. 
   
Dario Radisic

Redaktion und Projektmanagement: Dario Radisic

Dario Radisic ist Redakteur und Projektmanager bei The Big Pond. Er ist Kulturwissenschafler und arbeitet seit 2008 als selbständiger Autor, Redakteur, Projektmanager und Berater im kulturellen und öffentlichen Sektor, unter anderem für das Goethe-Institut, das ZDF und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.
   
Savannah Beck

Redaktion: Savannah Beck

Savannah Beck (savannah.beck@goethe.de) ist Webredakteurin am Goethe-Institut Washington. Sie hat an der University of Florida Deutsch, Französisch und Internationale Beziehungen studiert. Sie arbeitet seit April 2018 am Goethe-Institut und kümmert sich momentan um mehrere Projekte im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahres USA, einschließlich The Big Pond.
   
Flawn Williams © Victoria Moss Technische Leitung: Flawn Williams
Flawn Williams ist im Bereich Medienproduktion und Field Recording tätig und hat 30 Jahre lang für das National Public Radio gearbeitet, wo er unter anderem Technischer Leiter von „All Things Considered“ war und oft für die Wissenschafts- und Natursendung „Radio Expeditions“ an die entlegensten Winkel der Erde reiste. Die letzten zehn Jahre unterrichtete er Hörfunk und Musik-Aufnahmetechnik an der Georgetown University. Außerdem war er Gründungsmitglied des Audioproduktionskollektivs „Hear Now“, das sehr lange Kooperationspartner des Goethe-Instituts in Washington, DC war. Heute lebt Williams in Hyattsville, MD und arbeitet von dort aus an der Produktion von Podcasts für Malcolm Gladwells „Revisionist History“ sowie einigen anderen Reihen. 


 


Unsere Partner


Entstanden im Rahmen von

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Auswärtiges Amt Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI