Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Multilingualism
A Bilingual Revolution is Underway

 DLP
© Jonas Cuénin

As our world becomes more connected through technology, global competitiveness expands. Familiarity with multiple languages and cultures gives individuals a competitive edge. Multilingual skills provide pervasive opportunities, particularly as successful careers require international communication, which is essential for our children to compete in the workplace. Several states have recently recognized the economic advantages of a multilingual workforce. Businesses understand that the current demands of international trade require this proficiency, particularly for states that are geographically isolated from vital economic centers. In this light, the ultimate goal for schools should be to educate the next generation to function in a global economy. There remains a majority of leaders, educators, and skeptics who renounce the value in that goal. Yet states like Utah and even Delaware — where half of U.S. corporations are incorporated — are realizing that they are losing business as a result of poor language skills.

Our global economy triggers complex geopolitics, and in turn, nations need more multilingual citizens. Alabama, home of a Japanese car manufacturing plant, has established several Japanese language supplementary schools to help facilitate the education of Japanese expatriate children. The state intended to require proof of citizenship or permanent residency for enrollment into these programs. This decision was quickly withdrawn, as the children of many of the car plant employees and senior management did not have U.S. citizenship, and the car maker threatened to relocate the plant if the state of Alabama were to discriminate against them. The community spoke clearly about its needs.

For many communities and educators, established values, data, and forecasts dictate the programs, as well as the languages. It makes more sense for many communities to offer Mandarin/English than Bengali/English, although either option would probably benefit children developmentally and academically. Some communities offer a modern language (beginning in elementary school), and then introduce a classical language (in middle or high school). My local districts offer combinations of French/English, Mandarin/English, Japanese/English, Polish/English, German/English, and Spanish/English at the elementary level, and then expand to other languages (including classical) in higher grades. In some districts, students can also opt to take online instruction if the system does not offer the language. It is defined by a community’s vision and needs for the future.

For instance, the craze for dual language programs in New York’s French-speaking community can be explained in various ways: often at the beginning of the initiative, families do not always have the same reasons to enroll their children in these bilingual programs. In New York, recent Francophone arrivals from Africa or the Caribbean aim to remain fluent within the family to perpetuate their cultural heritage, as well as to facilitate their eventual return to their countries of origin in case of expatriation. While fluency in French accelerates a child’s English language skills, it also has an indirect effect on the integration of immigrant children into U.S. society. Children in these classes show an interest in their heritage and are inclined to turn to their elders to learn about their past.[i]

At a time when other types of bilingual education are on the decline, dual language programs are flourishing. The programs are showing promise in their mission to promote biliteracy and positive cross-cultural attitudes in our increasingly multilingual world. Educators acknowledge the benefits for both English-language learners and those fluent in English. With no federal law legislating the content of education, each school has made decisions on its own pedagogy. With the rising perception that dual language programs are more effective in educating both native English speakers and English Language Learners in the long run, the number and variety of bilingual programs can perplex parents or educators willing to introduce these programs. Providing uniform definitions and terminology about these programs is critical for the dissemination and expansion of dual language education. In the United States, most parents and school principals need to understand the different models of bilingual education. A recent report by the U.S. Department of Education now provides these answers.[ii]

The duration of the program also depends on the school. Some offer kindergarten through 12th grade bilingual education, although this is rare. Most programs cease bilingual teaching at 6th grade, due to a lack of resources. The number of hours taught to children depends on the grade level as well as school policy. Researchers unanimously agree that dual language programs are very effective and should be offered by every school district.[iii] While the educational model of each school differs, each is defined by its distinctive community, a trend that can be observed geographically.

In the United States, bilingual education programs first emerged in the 1960s to service the needs of Spanish-speaking students in Florida and French-speaking students in Maine. By the 1980s, bilingual magnet schools were established in cities like Tucson, Arizona, to help desegregate schools by attracting white students to predominantly minority schools. In the 1990s and early 2000s, bilingual programs came under attack for their lack of effectiveness in teaching English to immigrants. Ballot campaigns succeeded in banning transitional bilingual education programs in California, Massachusetts, and Arizona. Still, schools found loopholes and began adopting dual language models in various forms.

Georgia, Delaware, North Carolina, and other states have expanded their investments in dual language immersion. Minnesota has updated its spending and effective policies for young dual language learners, and New York and Oregon are changing their strategic approach to the long-term academic outcome for bilingual children. Utah has a concentration of dual language programs as well. The model of dual language education that is flourishing today in the United States focuses on bilingual education that serves children of various linguistic backgrounds. Not solely focused on the children who have a mother tongue, the models are open to children only familiar with the English language and work to introduce them to foreign languages from a very early age. The way the model is structured is that students spend half of their school time in English and the other half in a target language.

Bilingual education is up for debate again in California and Massachusetts, where legislators have proposed overturning their respective bans. The fact that this is once again becoming a political issue indicates that these programs have been successful. Representative of the times, the Office of Bilingual Education and Minority Language Affairs in the U.S. Department of Education was renamed the Office of English Language Acquisition. There are many factors that have led to the rekindled notion that more language is needed within our culture. The resurgence was clearly fueled by population movements, changes in immigration law, and the refugee act. Other contributing factors include the situation in Cuba in the early 1960s and the resulting immigration flux, 9/11, and the inflow of unaccompanied Central American minors. All of these events have added to the demand and evolution of bilingual education.

Bilingual education must be concerned with monolingual English-speaking children having the opportunity to become proficient by starting early in kindergarten and first grade. It is important to keep in mind the history and to understand that bilingual education is a social justice and equity issue in maintaining the value of whole languages. Many U.S. students enter universities at the low or intermediate level of language proficiency, despite years of prior studies. Dual language education is about our perception of language instruction and learning for monolingual American industry.

New York, for instance, focuses mainly on English language learners, although the current administration is revisiting this model. The mandate in New York State for these dual language programs is to teach these students to assimilate into American culture. This involves half of the students speaking English and the other half in the same classroom speaking the target language. This is not the case in other states that often offer foreign immersion programs where English-speaking, monolingual children will learn a foreign language and all subjects through a foreign language.

Before moving to New York in early 2001, I was the director of a private bilingual school in Cambridge, Massachusetts. At the time, parents would pay twenty thousand dollars a year for a bilingual education. When we looked at public schools, none of the English speakers were even considered for the programs. It is uncommon to hear about children wanting to become bilingual, simply because it is a good educational resource. The field is impeded in discussions that no longer match what parents want for their children. A revolution is needed to make this topic evolve in this country and elsewhere. Parents hold the keys to this revolution.

All over the world, new bilingual programs grow in response to the persistence of parents. For the majority of schools, dual language programs were created because of the school leadership’s interest in bilingual education. Motivated parents have supported the implementation of these programs by making financial contributions, raising funds, or volunteering their time. This is not only an American phenomenon. In France — where bilingual education is currently heavily regulated by state programs — the first bilingual programs began to appear in 2002, after parents formed grassroots associations in Alsace, promoting German/French bilingual education in schools. In addition, the increasing demand of these parents has led school authorities to open bilingual programs in public schools. In Ireland, for example, parents fought for bilingual programs in both Irish and English, even though the state supported the teaching of Irish as a second language in schools. Similarly in Canada, a parent organization called “Parents For French” has become an important force in the growth of bilingual programs throughout the nation.

Parents initiate many dual language programs, however, it can sometimes be difficult to garner the support of principals and teachers for bilingual education in the schools that will sustain these programs. Often these administrators are themselves monolinguals and are not necessarily knowledgeable about bilingual education. This makes advocating a challenge for parents in many countries and demonstrates how crucial it is to make sure that everyone involved in the implementation of dual language programs is knowledgeable about bilingual education and bilingualism.

In several contexts of education, immersion and international education is too often reserved for children of the affluent. However, the community of public bilingual schools that has developed in New York and in other cities provides access to quality programs to children of diverse socioeconomic and ethnic backgrounds. Programs in the United States build on the traditional models of bilingual education programs that are the result of the work of activists during the Civil Rights Movement, which focus on teaching children whose mother tongue is not English and who need stronger support to develop proficiency in the language. Despite criticism, these programs offer equal chances for all children to succeed in American society.

For the last ten years, linguistic communities in New York City have created dual language programs in Spanish, French, Japanese, Italian, German, Russian, Polish, Arabic, Mandarin, and Korean. These organizations are motivated to maintain the children’s linguistic heritage, which is susceptible to being lost due to the lack of exposure to it in their everyday, strictly English environment. These families would like for schools to put more value on their children’s heritage language and culture to help them to make their bilingualism an asset in their lives.

An increasing number of American families who only speak English at home also value the benefits of bilingualism, biliteracy, and biculturalism. In response to research showing that dual language immersion students tend to perform better academically, particularly in reading and math, monolingual American parents ask that schools help them to develop multilingualism in their children as early as possible, preferably through dual language or foreign language immersion programs. Usually, when parents demand that schools provide this kind of bilingual education, it becomes a true revolution.

Families find that in order to preserve their heritage language, public schools can help in doing so and turn bilingualism into an asset for society. The truth of the matter is that these languages cannot be fully developed or be sustained at home, as language loss and assimilation occurs rapidly. Of course, after-school and weekend programs exist, but they are not as efficient as daily dual language programs. However, for these daily programs to succeed, they require strong partnerships within a community — commitment from schools’ leadership, the installation of qualified, dedicated teachers, and ceaseless involvement from parents at all levels. If this occurs successfully, schools hosting these programs can benefit from diversity of both the population that they serve and their teaching staff, enabling them to incorporate positive linguistic and cultural differences into pedagogy. When all these elements are in place, a true bilingual revolution is underway.

[i] Jaumont, F. & Ross, J. (2012). “Building Bilingual Communities: New York’s French Bilingual Revolution” in Ofelia García, Zeena Zakharia, and Bahar Otcu, (editors). Bilingual Community Education and Multilingualism. Beyond Heritage Languages in a Global City (pp.232-246). Bristol, U.K.: Multilingual Matters.
 
[ii] U.S. Department of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition (2015). Dual Language Education Programs: Current State Policies and Practices, Washington, D.C. Retrieved from http://www.air.org/sites/default/files/downloads/report/Dual language-Education-Programs-Current-State-Policies-April-2015.pdf
 
[iii] Thomas, W. P., & Collier, V. P. "The Astounding Effectiveness of Dual Language Education for All". NABE Journal of Research and Practice, 2:1. Winter 2004. Retrieved from http://hillcrest.wacoisd.org/UserFiles/Servers/Server_345/File/Publications/ELL/Dual%20language%20survey.pdf
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Mehrsprachigkeit
Die Revolution der Zweisprachigkeit

 DLP
© Jonas Cuénin

Im selben Maß wie sich unsere Welt technologisch immer enger verknüpft, wächst auch der globale Wettbewerb. Wer mehrsprachig ist und sich in den dazugehörigen Kulturen auskennt, hat hier einen echten Wettbewerbsvorteil. Mehrsprachigkeit bietet überzeugende Chancen, insbesondere da erfolgreiche Berufslaufbahnen internationale Kommunikation erfordern, und genau diese Fähigkeit brauchen unsere Kinder, um sich am Arbeitsmarkt zu behaupten. Mehrere US-Bundesstaaten haben in letzter Zeit die wirtschaftlichen Vorteile einer mehrsprachigen Arbeitnehmerschaft erkannt. Firmen verstehen, dass die aktuellen Anforderungen des internationalen Handels diese Fähigkeiten vorschreiben, besonders in Staaten, die geographisch von wichtigen Wirtschaftszentren isoliert sind. In diesem Sinne sollten Schulen das Ziel verfolgen, die nächste Generation zu echten Mitspielern der globalen Wirtschaft auszubilden. Es verbleibt eine Mehrheit politischer Führer, Pädagogen und Skeptiker, die sich gegen den Wert dieses Ziels aussprechen. Doch US-Bundesstaaten wie Utah und selbst Delaware – wo die Hälfte der in den USA befindlichen Unternehmen registriert sind – erkennen, dass sie aufgrund mangelnder sprachlicher Kenntnisse Geschäftschancen verpassen.

Unsere globale Wirtschaft löst eine komplexe Geopolitik aus und Länder wiederum brauchen mehr Bürger, die mehrere Sprachen beherrschen. Alabama, wo Autos eines japanischen Herstellers gebaut werden, hat mehrere Sprachenschulen für Japanisch ins Leben gerufen, in denen die Kinder japanischer Expatriates unterrichtet werden können. Der Bundesstaat hatte ursprünglich vor, nur Schüler dort zuzulassen, die ihre Staatsbürgerschaft oder eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nachweisen konnten. Doch diese Regelung wurde eilig fallen gelassen, da die Kinder vieler der Werksangehörigen und leitenden Mitarbeiter keine US-Staatsangehörigkeit hatten und der Autohersteller drohte, das Werk aus Alabama fort zu verlegen, wenn der Bundesstaat gegen sie diskriminierte. Die Gemeinde äußerte klar, was sie brauchte.

In vielen Gemeinden und Bildungseinrichtungen schreiben anerkannte Werte, Daten und Prognosen die Programme und die zu unterrichtenden Sprachen vor. Mancherorts ist es beispielsweise sinnvoller, Mandarin/Englisch statt Bengali/Englisch anzubieten, auch wenn beide Optionen den dortigen Kindern zugutekommen würden, was ihre Entwicklung und Bildung anginge. Einige Gemeinden bieten eine moderne Sprache (ab der Grundschule) und ab der sechsten oder neunten Klasse eine klassische Sprache an. Die Schulbezirke, in denen ich tätig bin, bieten ab der Grundschule Kombinationen aus Französisch/Englisch, Mandarin/Englisch, Japanisch/Englisch, Polnisch/Englisch, Deutsch/Englisch und Spanisch/Englisch an und erweitern das Angebot in den höheren Klassen dann zu weiteren Sprachkombinationen, einschließlich klassischer Sprachen. In einigen Bezirken können Schüler außerdem die Option von Online-Unterricht nutzen, wenn das Schulsystem eine gewünschte Sprache nicht anbietet. Dies wird von den Zielen und zukünftigen Anforderungen der jeweiligen Gemeinde definiert.

Die enorme Beliebtheit zweisprachiger Programme unter den französischsprachigen Bewohnern New Yorks lässt sich beispielsweise in vielerlei Weise begründen: Am Anfang der Initiative haben Familien nicht alle dieselben Gründe für den Wunsch, ihre Kinder für diese bilingualen Programme anzumelden. Französische Muttersprachler, die erst neu aus Afrika oder der Karibik nach New York gezogen sind, möchten die fließenden Sprachkenntnisse innerhalb der Familie aufrechterhalten, um ihr kulturelles Erbe zu bewahren und eine spätere Rückkehr in ihre Länder zu vereinfachen, wenn sie Expatriates sind. Fließende Sprachkenntnisse in Französisch ermöglichen das schnellere Aneignen der englischen Sprache, wirken sich aber auch indirekt auf die Integration der Einwandererkinder in die amerikanische Gesellschaft aus. Die Kinder dieser Unterrichtsklassen zeigen Interesse an ihrer Herkunft und sind eher geneigt, ihre Eltern und Verwandten nach deren Vergangenheit zu befragen.[i]

Zu einer Zeit, wo andere Arten bilingualer Bildung immer weiter abnehmen, erfreuen sich zweisprachige Unterrichtsprogramme immer größerer Beliebtheit. Diese Programme zeigen gute Erfolge in ihrer Zielsetzung, in unserer zunehmend mehrsprachigen Welt fließende Zweisprachigkeit und positive überkulturelle Einstellungen zu fördern. Pädagogen bestätigen die Vorteile für Personen, die Englisch lernen, und für diejenigen, die diese Sprache bereits fließend beherrschen. Da es auf Bundesebene keine Gesetzgebung gibt, die den Inhalt der Schulbildung vorschreibt, hat jede Schule ihre eigenen Lernziele festgelegt. Aufgrund des zunehmenden Eindrucks, dass zweisprachiger Unterricht englischen Muttersprachlern und Personen, die Englisch lernen, langfristig gleichermaßen zugutekommt, können die Anzahl und die Vielfalt der entsprechenden Programme Eltern wie Pädagogen, die solche Programme einführen möchten, in Erstaunen versetzen. Es ist unerlässlich, einheitliche Definitionen und Terminologie hinsichtlich dieser Programme einzuführen, um Programme zur Förderung von Zweisprachigkeit zu verbreiten und zu expandieren. In den Vereinigte Staaten müssen die meisten Eltern und Schuldirektoren die verschiedenen Modelle eines bilingualen Unterrichts verstehen. Ein unlängst erstellter Bericht des US-Kultusministeriums stellt diese Antworten nun bereit.[ii]

Die Länge der Programme hängt ganz von der jeweiligen Schule ab. Einige bieten vom Kindergarten bis zur 12. Klasse bilingualen Unterricht an, doch das ist selten. Die meisten Programme stellen diesen bilingualen Unterricht mit der sechsten Klasse ein, weil die nötigen Mittel fehlen. Die Anzahl der Unterrichtsstunden hängt von der Klassenstufe und der Regelung der jeweiligen Schule ab. Forscher sind sich einig, dass Programme zur Förderung von Zweisprachigkeit sehr wirksam sind und von jedem Sprachbezirk angeboten werden sollten.[iii] Obwohl jede Schule ein anderes Bildungsmodell verfolgt, wird jedes von den jeweils Beteiligten diktiert, und dieser Trend lässt sich geographisch beobachten.

In den USA zeigten sich bilinguale Unterrichtsprogramme erstmals in den 1960er Jahren, um spanischsprachige Schüler in Florida und französischsprachige Schüler in Maine besser integrieren zu können. In den 1980er-Jahren gab es dann bereits bilinguale Magnet-Schulen in Städten wie Tucson (Arizona), um die Rassentrennung in den Schulen aufzulösen, indem Schulen mit überwiegend Minderheiten für weiße Schüler interessanter gemacht wurden. In den 1990ern und den ersten Jahren nach 2000 wurden bilinguale Programme kritisiert, weil sie wenig Erfolg darin hatten, Einwanderern Englisch beizubringen. Dank Volksabstimmungskampagnen gelang es, bilinguale Übergangsprogramme in Kalifornien, Massachusetts und Arizona zu verbieten. Doch einige Schulen fanden Gesetzeslücken und fingen an, zweisprachige Programme unterschiedlicher Formate einzuführen.

Georgia, Delaware, North Carolina und andere US-Bundesstaaten haben ihre Investitionen in Immersionsprogrammen erweitert. Minnesota hat seine Ausgaben und Richtlinien für Schüler zweisprachiger Programme aktualisiert, und New York und Oregon ändern ihren strategischen Ansatz an die langfristigen akademischen Ziele für bilinguale Kinder. Auch Utah hat eine Ansammlung von Programmen zur Förderung von Zweisprachigkeit. Das Modell zweisprachigen Unterrichts, das heute in den USA die besten Erfolge zeigt, konzentriert sich auf bilingualen Unterricht, der Kinder verschiedener linguistischer Hintergründe unterstützt. Es konzentriert sich nicht einfach nur auf Kinder mit einer anderen Muttersprache, sondern ist auch für Kinder zugänglich, die nur Englisch sprechen, und arbeitet darauf hin, sie vom frühen Kindesalter an mit anderen Sprachen bekannt zu machen. Das Modell ist so strukturiert, dass die Schüler die Hälfte des Unterrichtstages auf English und die andere Hälfte in der Zielsprache unterrichtet werden. 

Bilingualer Unterricht steht in Kalifornien und Massachusetts jetzt wieder zur Debatte, wo Politiker vorgeschlagen haben, die jeweiligen Verbote aufzuheben. Die Tatsache, dass dies wieder zu einem politischen Thema wird, deutet darauf hin, dass diese Programme erfolgreich sind. Als Zeichen der Zeit wurde das Office of Bilingual Education and Minority Language Affairs (Amt für zweisprachigen Unterricht und Sprachangelegenheiten von Minderheiten) in das Office of English Language Acquisition (Amt für englische Spracherwerb) umbenannt. So viele Faktoren haben zu der erneuten Überzeugung beigetraten, dass mehr Sprachen in unserer Kultur vonnöten sind. Dieses Wiederaufleben wurde zweifellos von einem Impuls aus der Bevölkerung, Änderungen der Einwanderungsgesetze und dem Flüchtlingsgesetz angetrieben. Andere Faktoren sind die Situation in Kuba Anfang der 1960er Jahre und die daraus resultierende Einwanderungswelle, die Angriffe vom 11. September sowie der Zufluss unbegleiteter Kinder und Jugendlicher aus Mittelamerika. Alle diese Ereignisse haben die Forderungen nach bilingualem Unterricht und dessen Weiterentwicklung in Gang gesetzt.

Bilingualer Unterricht muss dafür sorgen, dass monolinguale englischsprachige Kinder die Gelegenheit erhalten, die andere Sprache gut zu lernen, indem sie im Kindergarten oder in der ersten Klasse damit anfangen. Es ist wichtig, sich der Geschichte bewusst zu sein und zu verstehen, dass bilingualer Unterricht eine Frage der sozialen Gerechtigkeit und Gleichbehandlung hinsichtlich der Aufrechterhaltung des Wertes ganzer Sprachen ist. Viele amerikanische Schüler fangen ein Studium an Hochschulen mit geringen oder höchstens mittelmäßigen Sprachkenntnissen an, obwohl sie jahrelang Sprachunterricht hatten. Zweisprachiger Unterricht hat mit unserer Sichtweise von Sprachunterricht und dem Erlernen von Sprache in der einsprachigen amerikanischen Industrie zu tun.

New York konzentriert sich beispielsweise auf Schüler, die Englisch lernen, obwohl die aktuelle Regierung dieses Modell zurzeit neu überdenkt. Die Zielsetzung des Bundesstaats hinsichtlich dieser Sprachprogramme ist, den Schülern die Assimilation in die amerikanische Kultur zu ermöglichen. Das bedeutet, dass eine Hälfte der Schüler in einem Klassenzimmer Englisch und die andere die Zielsprache spricht. Das ist in anderen Bundesstaaten nicht der Fall, in denen vielfach Immersionsprogramme angeboten werden, bei denen englischsprachige Kinder ohne Fremdsprachenkenntnisse eine andere Sprache lernen und alle Fächer in dieser Sprache unterrichtet werden.

Bevor ich Anfang 2001 nach New York zog, war ich Leiter einer privaten bilingualen Schule in Cambridge (Massachusetts). Damals bezahlten die Eltern zwanzigtausend Dollar pro Jahr für bilingualen Unterricht. An den öffentlichen Schulen wurden Kinder, die fließend Englisch sprachen, für die Sprachprogramme gar nicht in Betracht gezogen. Es ist ungewöhnlich von Kindern zu hören, die nur deshalb zweisprachig werden wollen, weil es eine gute Bildungsressource ist. Das Feld wird durch Diskussionen behindert, die nichts mehr mit dem zu tun haben, was Eltern für ihre Kinder wollen. Es ist eine wahre Revolution erforderlich, um das Thema in diesem Land und anderswo voranzubringen, und die kann nur von den Eltern ausgehen.

Neue bilinguale Programme erfreuen sich dank der Forderungen von Eltern in allen Teilen der Welt einer zunehmend guten Nachfrage. Für die Mehrheit der Schulen wurden duale Sprachprogramme eingeführt, weil die Schulleitung Interesse an bilingualem Unterricht hatte. Motivierte Eltern haben die Einführung dieser Programme gefördert, indem sie finanzielle Beiträge geleistet, Gelder gesammelt oder Zeit investiert haben. Dieses Phänomen findet man nicht nur in Amerika. In Frankreich – wo bilingualer Unterricht derzeit strengen Auflagen von staatlichen Programmen unterliegt – zeigten sich die ersten bilingualen Programme im Jahr 2002, nachdem Eltern im Elsass eine Volksbewegung ins Leben gerufen hatten, die Schulunterricht auf Deutsch und Französisch forderte. Die zunehmenden Forderungen dieser Eltern haben ferner bewirkt, dass die Schulbehörden an öffentlichen Schulen bilinguale Unterrichtsprogramme eingeführt haben. In Irland haben die Eltern ein bilinguales Programm für Irisch und Englisch durchgesetzt, obwohl der Staat Irisch nur als Fremdsprache unterrichten wollte. Und in Kanada ist eine Organisation mit Namen „Parents For French“ zu einer ähnlich wichtigen Stoßkraft hinsichtlich des Wachstums bilingualer Programme im ganzen Land geworden.

Eltern initiieren viele duale Sprachprogramme; doch es kann manchmal schwierig sein, die für ein Überleben dieser Programme unerlässliche Unterstützung von Schuldirektoren und Lehrern für bilingualen Unterricht zu erhalten. Diese mit der Verwaltung betrauten Personen sprechen häufig selbst keine Fremdsprache und wissen nicht unbedingt, was bilinguale Bildung ist. Das stellt in vielen Ländern eine Hürde für das Verfechten solcher Programme für Eltern dar und beweist, wie wichtig es ist, dafür zu sorgen, dass alle an der Umsetzung von Programm zur Förderung von Zweisprachigkeit Beteiligten sich mit bilingualem Unterricht und Bilingualismus auskennen.

In mehreren schulischen Kontexten sind Immersion und Unterricht in einer Fremdsprache häufig Kindern wohlhabender Eltern vorbehalten. Die Community öffentlicher bilingualer Schulen, die in New York und anderen Städten entstanden ist, bietet jedoch Kindern diverser sozioökonomischer und ethnischer Hintergründe Zugang zu hochwertigen Programmen. Programme in den Vereinigten Staaten bauen auf den traditionellen Modellen bilingualer Unterrichtsprogramme auf, die das Ergebnis der Arbeit von Aktivisten während der Bürgerrechtsbewegung sind; sie konzentrieren sich darauf, Kinder zu unterrichten, deren Muttersprache nicht Englisch ist und die mehr Unterstützung darin brauchen, die Sprache umfassend zu beherrschen. Trotz Kritik bieten diese Programme gleiche Chancen für alle Kinder, in der amerikanischen Gesellschaft Erfolg zu haben.

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben linguistische Gruppen in New York City Fremdsprachenprogramme für Deutsch, Spanisch, Französisch, Japanisch, Italienisch, Russisch, Polnisch, Arabisch, Mandarin und Koreanisch ins Leben gerufen. Diese Organisationen haben die nötige Motivation, das linguistische Erbe der Kinder zu bewahren, denn im alltäglichen, rein englischsprachigen Umfeld dieser Kinder geht ein solches Erbe verloren, wenn sie den Sprachen nicht ausgesetzt werden. Diese Familien wünschen sich von den Schulen, dass diese die Herkunftssprache und -kultur ihrer Kinder mehr wertschätzen und ihnen helfen, den Bilingualismus zu etwas Positivem in ihrem Leben zu machen.

Immer mehr amerikanische Familien, die zu Hause nur Englisch sprechen, wissen die Vorteile von Bilingualismus, die Fähigkeit, sich mündlich und schriftlich in zwei Sprachen auszudrücken, sowie Bikulturalismus zu schätzen. Als Erwiderung auf Forschungen, die gezeigt haben, dass Immersionsprogramme in zwei Sprachen Schülern dazu verhelfen, bessere akademische Leistungen zu erbringen, ganz besonders in Lesen und Mathematik, bitten einsprachige amerikanische Eltern die Schulen zunehmend darum, ihnen dabei zu helfen, ihre Kinder so früh wie möglich mehrsprachig zu machen, am liebsten durch Sprach- oder Immersionsprogramme in Fremdsprachen. Wenn Eltern verlangen, dass die Schule diese Art von bilingualem Unterricht bereitstellt, verwandelt sich das in der Regel in eine wahre Revolution.

Familien stellen fest, dass öffentliche Schulen ihnen helfen können, ihre Herkunftssprache aufrechtzuerhalten und Bilingualismus zu einem echten gesellschaftlichen Vorteil zu machen. In Wirklichkeit können diese Sprachen rein zu Hause nicht voll entwickelt oder erhalten werden, da das Verlust einer Sprache und die Assimilation in die neue Kultur zügig vonstatten gehen. Zwar gibt es Nachmittags- und Wochenendprogramme, doch sie sind nicht so effizient wie täglicher Unterricht in zwei Sprachen. Doch dieser tägliche Unterricht kann nur Erfolg haben, wenn alle Beteiligten ihn unterstützen – die Schulleitung muss dahinterstehen, es müssen qualifizierte, engagierte Lehrer vorhanden sein und die Eltern müssen auf allen Ebenen mit dabei sein. Wenn dies erfolgreich vorhanden ist, können Schulen, die solche Programme bieten, Nutzen aus ihrer Lehrerschaft ziehen sowie aus der Diversität der Bevölkerung, die sie bedienen, sodass sie positive linguistische und kulturelle Unterschiede in die Pädagogik mit einfließen lassen. Wenn alle diese Elemente vorhanden sind, findet eine wahre bilinguale Revolution statt.

[i] Jaumont, F. & Ross, J. (2012). “Building Bilingual Communities: New York’s French Bilingual Revolution” in Ofelia García, Zeena Zakharia, and Bahar Otcu, (editors). Bilingual Community Education and Multilingualism. Beyond Heritage Languages in a Global City (pp.232-246). Bristol, U.K.: Multilingual Matters.
 
[ii] U.S. Department of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition (2015). Dual Language Education Programs: Current State Policies and Practices, Washington, D.C. Heruntergeladen von http://www.air.org/sites/default/files/downloads/report/Dual language-Education-Programs-Current-State-Policies-April-2015.pdf
 
[iii] Thomas, W. P., & Collier, V. P. "The Astounding Effectiveness of Dual Language Education for All." NABE Journal of Research and Practice, 2:1. Winter 2004. Heruntergeladen von http://hillcrest.wacoisd.org/UserFiles/Servers/Server_345/File/Publications/ELL/Dual%20language%20survey.pdf
 

Top