Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

50 Years Stonewall Riots
A New York Revolt and its Consequences

Stonewall
Rhododentrites, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-4.0

New York, 1969: Drag queens, transgender people, gays, and lesbians, among them many people of color and homeless youth. The Stonewall Inn. A raid on the popular bar, but this time around the motley crew resists the police’s brutality.

The fight at the Stonewall Inn lasts for days. The press reports about violent riots on Christopher Street. It’s not the first uprising of the community but it becomes a beacon, the starting point of a movement that spreads from here to the rest of the world. A movement that increasingly resists discrimination against those who do not want to submit to gender norms. Every year on Christopher Street Day, the queer community commemorates this revolt. With courage and self-confidence, in Gay Pride parades across the globe, its members demand freedom to live and to desire in their own way.

FROM THE GAY AND LESBIAN MOVEMENT TO GENDER DIVERSITY

While initially the gay and lesbian movement initially attracted the most attention, the term “queer” is now used to refer to the full spectrum of gender identities and lifestyles. In many countries, the law protects the rights of minorities and enables an increasing number of people to lead self-determined lives. At least legally, queerness has made it to mainstream society. However, massive resistance against non-heteronormative ways of life remains.

JUSTICE FOR ALL

The Goethe-Institut is committed to freedom and equality. Issues such as censorship, racism, violence, religion, education, poverty, war, refugees, exploitation, fake news, #MeToo, and queerness need public debate. Around the world, queer people are still exposed to everyday discrimination, threats, and persecution. In Germany, paragraph 175 of the Penal Code was only abolished in 1994. Dating back to the German Empire, it sent tens of thousands to prisons and concentration camps during the Nazi period. Persecution remained in the Federal Republic of Germany as well, where more than 50,000 people were sent to prison in the 1950s and 60s. Most postwar victims were not rehabilitated until 2017.

Stonewall 5.0: HALF A CENTURY OF QUEER HISTORY

Together with Schwules Museum Berlin and the Federal Agency for Civic Education, the North American branches of the Goethe-Institut take the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots as an opportunity to explore the current state of gender diversity in society. We tell the story of the queer movements in West and East Germany with a special focus on transatlantic exchange as a “rainbow friendship” with North America: then, now, and with regards to the future. Exhibitions, discussions, personal memories, films, and teaching materials reflect the cultural, political, and social development of the queer movement.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

50 Jahre Stonewall Riots
Eine New Yorker Revolte und ihre Folgen

Stonewall
Rhododentrites, Wikimedia, CC-BY-SA-4.0

New York, 1969. Dragqueens, Transvestiten, Schwule und Lesben, darunter viele Schwarze, Latinx und obdachlose Jugendliche. Das Stonewall Inn. Razzia in der Szene-Bar, doch dieses Mal widersetzt sich die bunte Community der Polizeiwillkür.

Tagelang dauern die Kämpfe um das Stonewall Inn. Die Presse berichtet von den gewalttätigen Unruhen auf der Christopher Street. Es ist nicht der erste Aufstand der Community, aber er wird zum Fanal, zum Ausgangspunkt einer Bewegung, die sich von hier aus in alle Erdteile ausbreitet. Und die zunehmend Widerstand leistet gegen die Diskriminierung von Menschen, die sich nicht herrschenden Gendernormen unterwerfen wollen. Am Christopher Street Day erinnert die Queer-Community jedes Jahr an diese Revolte. Mutig und selbstbewusst fordert sie in vielen Metropolen auf Gay Prides die Freiheit, jede*n auf die eigene bevorzugte Weise leben und begehren zu lassen.

Von der Schwulen- und Lesbenbewegung zur Gendervielfalt

Verschaffte sich zunächst die Schwulen- und Lesbenbewegung mehr und mehr Sichtbarkeit, bezeichnet der Begriff „queer“ inzwischen die gesamte Vielfalt von Genderidentitäten und ‑lebensformen. In vielen Ländern schützen heute Gesetze die Rechte gesellschaftlicher Minderheiten und ermöglichen mehr und mehr Menschen, ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu führen. So ist Queerness vielerorts zumindest rechtlich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen. Doch es gibt weiterhin massiven Widerstand gegen nicht-heteronorme Lebenskonzepte.

Gerechtigkeit für alle

Das Goethe-Institut sieht sich der Freiheit und Gleichberechtigung verpflichtet. Themen wie Zensur, Rassismus, Gewalt, Religion, Bildung, Armut, Krieg, Flucht, Ausbeutung, Fake-News, #MeToo-Debatte oder Queer benötigen öffentliche Diskussion. In vielen Staaten der Welt sind queere Menschen weiterhin alltäglicher Diskriminierung, Bedrohung und Verfolgung ausgesetzt. In Deutschland wurde der Paragraph 175 des Strafgesetzbuches erst 1994 abgeschafft. In der Zeit des Deutschen Kaiserreichs formuliert, brachte er während des Nationalsozialismus Zehntausende in Gefängnisse und Konzentrationslager. Auch in der Bundesrepublik begründete er vor allem in den 50er- und 60er-Jahren mehr als 50.000 Urteile zu teilweise langen Haftstrafen. Die Rehabilitierung der meisten Nachkriegsopfer erfolgte erst 2017.

Stonewall 5.0: Ein halbes Jahrhundert Queer-Geschichte

Die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika nehmen gemeinsam mit dem Schwulen Museum Berlin und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall-Revolte zum Anlass, den aktuellen Stand der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung zu Gendervielfalt zu erkunden. Sie erzählen die Geschichte der queeren Bewegungen in West- und Ostdeutschland mit einem besonderen Fokus auf den transatlantischen Austausch als „Regenbogen-Freundschaft“ mit Nordamerika: damals, heute und mit Blick auf die Zukunft. Ausstellungen, Gesprächsrunden, persönliche Erinnerungen, Filme und Unterrichtsmaterialien reflektieren die kulturelle, politische und soziale Entwicklung des Queer Movement.

Top