Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Lo Que Se Ve No Se Pregunta
Queerness und Latinidad

Juan Gabriel
Foto: Viva Iquique (www.vivaiquique.com) / via Wikimedia, CC BY 2.0

The Latin American history of queerness spans generations of famous representatives: Juan Gabriel, Frida Kahlo and Chavela Vargas. Liliana Macias uses the example of these dazzling personalities to shed light on the complex connections between queerness and Latinidad.

For 45 years, Mexican singer and songwriter Juan Gabriel enamored audiences across the world with his beautiful voice, gut wrenching lyrics, and glamorously flamboyant performances. It was those performances that garnered him the title of “El Divo de Juarez” or the diva of Juarez, a city in the state of Chihuahua, Mexico.

From the start of his career up until he died in 2016, Juanga, as he was called colloquially by his fans, skirted speculations of his possible homosexuality. During an interview in 2002, as he was relentlessly pressed about his sexuality by a reporter, Juanga delivered a quintessential response that underscored the generational complexities of the intersections of queerness and Latinidad: „Lo que se ve no se pregunta“ (“You do not question the obvious.”)

The theory in the flesh

The ambiguity of the response, which neither denies nor confirms his sexuality, alludes to the ways in which queer Latinx folks navigate their identity. An identity that is defined by what Gloria Anzaldua and Cherrie Moraga called a theory in the flesh in their text This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color. They explain:

A theory in the flesh means one where the physical realities of our lives – our skin color, the land or concrete we grew up on, our sexual longings – all fuse to create a politic born out of necessity.

From his flamboyance to his coquettish queer gestures, Juan Gabriel was unapologetic about who he was. His career spanned 45 years, a catalogue of almost two thousand songs, and hundreds of performances to adoring audiences.

Juan Gabriel was beloved by million of fans of all sexualities; even the most ardent of machos were brought to tears by his beautiful songs.

Generations of queer stories

The love that Latinx audiences had for Juan Gabriel was not an anomaly in time but rather it followed a queer trajectory in history. One of Mexico’s most beloved and recognized artist Frida Kahlo was unapologetic about her queerness. Kahlo’s female lovers spanned from the famous American artist Georgia O'keeffe to the talented performer Josephine Baker. During her lifetime, Kahlo was beloved internationally by many having the opportunity to showcase her art across the world.

Frida Kahlo and Chavela Vargas

Frida Kahlo Foto: Guillermo Kalho, Sotheby's, Wikimedia, Public Domain Another of Kahlo’s lover who was equally as talented, though at times self destructive, was the vocally gifted singer Chavela Vargas. Chavela Vargas was born in Costa Rica but when asked what her nationality was she would proudly say Mexican. She asserted this even on her deathbed when she said Me voy con Mexico en el corazon (I leave with Mexico in my heart.) Her love for Mexico was not uncorresponded, during her career as an artist the Mexican public opened their arms to her and embraced her.

With poncho and guitar: Chavela Vargas conquers a male domain

At the age of seventeen, Vargas left Costa Rica and moved to Mexico where she donned mens clothing, began to drink heavily, and performed Mexican rancheras like no other musician could. Rancheras are a type of Mexican song known for being melancholic gut wrenching songs about betrayal love and loss traditionally performed by men. An often inebriated Chavela, wearing a poncho and armed with her guitar, would perform somber ranchera songs rendering the audience speechless and leaving them in tears.

Hollywood affairs and the crash

Soon Chavela was drinking with the father of Mexican rancheras Jose Alfredo Jimenez whose company help propel her career even further. During that period, Chavela had several female lovers and often bragged of enamoring famous Hollywood actresses that vacationed in Mexico. Eventually, Chavela’s alcoholism and anger management issues caught up to her and she disappeared from the limelight for almost thirty years.

Comeback with happy ending and obligation

Chavela Vargas Foto: Raúl Serrano, Wikimedia/Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0 In 1991, Chavela reemerged from her hiatus sober and ready to perform once more. Enamored by her music, famed Spanish director Pedro Almodovar help promote her music and made it so that at the age of 83 Chavela performed at the infamous Carnegie Hall. Also at the age of 83, Chavela officially came out as a lesbian. In her biography, she stated about being lesbian: „Nunca he estado con un señor, nací así, no lo presumo, tampoco lo pregono, pero no lo niego.“ (“I've never been with a man, I was born that way, I do not presume it, I do not preach it, but I do not deny it.”)

This recognition of her queerness came to no surprise to many for like Juan Gabriel; Chavela lived her life honoring who she was.

Juan Gabriel, Frida Kahlo, and Chavela Vargas are but a few examples of a queer Latinx history that spans across borders and centuries. Each living their own theory in the flesh while we young queer folk, in reverence, continue to stoke the fire of their, which is now our, resistance. Some days we thrive and other times we survive.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Lo Que Se Ve No Se Pregunta
Queerness und Latinidad

Juan Gabriel
Foto: Viva Iquique (www.vivaiquique.com) / via Wikimedia, CC BY 2.0

Die lateinamerikanische Geschichte der Queerness erstreckt sich über Generationen, die berühmte Vertreter*innen hervorbrachten: Juan Gabriel, Frida Kahlo und Chavela Vargas​. Liliana Macias beleuchtet am Beispiel dieser schillernden Persönlichkeiten die vielschichtigen Verbindungen von Queerness und Latinidad.

Von Liliana Macias

45 Jahre lang betörte der mexikanische Sänger und Komponist Juan Gabriel das Publikum auf der ganzen Welt mit seiner wunderschönen Stimme, seinen bewegenden Texten und schillernden, extravaganten Auftritten. Diesen Darbietungen verdankte er auch seinen Titel „El Divo de Juárez“ („Die Diva von Juárez“), einer Stadt im mexikanischen Bundesstaat Chihuahua.
 
Seit dem Beginn seiner Karriere bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 2016 wich Juanga, wie er von seinen Fans genannt wurde, Spekulationen über seine mögliche Homosexualität stets aus. Als Juanga 2002 während eines Interviews von einem Reporter hartnäckig nach seiner sexuellen Orientierung befragt wurde, gab er eine Antwort, die die generationsübergreifende Vielschichtigkeit der Schnittmengen von Queerness und Latinidad auf den Punkt brachte: „Lo que se ve no se pregunta.“ („Was man sieht, muss man nicht hinterfragen.“)

Die Theorie des Fleisches

Die Mehrdeutigkeit der Antwort, die keine Festlegung auf Juangas sexuelle Orientierung zulässt, gibt eine Vorstellung davon, wie lateinamerikanische Queers mit der Frage nach ihrer Identität umgehen. Einer Identität, die durch das definiert ist, was Gloria Anzaldúa und Cherríe Moraga in ihrer Publikation This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color als „theory in the flesh“ bezeichnen und wie folgt beschreiben:

A theory in the flesh means one where the physical realities of our lives – our skin color, the land or concrete we grew up on, our sexual longings – all fuse to create a politic born out of necessity.

(„Eine Theorie des Fleisches steht für eine Theorie, bei der die physischen Realitäten unseres Lebens – unsere Hautfarbe, das Land oder der Beton, auf dem wir aufgewachsen sind, unsere sexuellen Vorlieben – allesamt miteinander verschmelzen, um eine Politik zu schaffen, die aus der Not erwächst.“)
 
Mit seiner Extravaganz bis hin zu seinen kokettierenden Queerness-Gesten zeigte Juan Gabriel unmissverständlich, wer er war. Seine musikalische Laufbahn umfasst ganze 45 Jahre, ein Repertoire von fast zweitausend Liedern und Hunderte von Auftritten vor einem begeisterten Publikum. Juan Gabriel wurde von Fans aller sexuellen Orientierungen verehrt, selbst die hartgesottensten Machos wurden durch seine wundervollen Songs zu Tränen gerührt.

Queere Geschichten über Generationen

Die Liebe, die lateinamerikanische Fans Juan Gabriel entgegenbrachten, war keine Ausnahmeerscheinung der Zeit, sondern knüpfte vielmehr an die Geschichte der Queerness an. Auch Frida Kahlo, eine der beliebtesten und bekanntesten Künstlerinnen Mexikos, ließ in Bezug auf ihre Queerness keine Fragen offen. Die Liste ihrer Liebschaften reicht von der berühmten amerikanischen Malerin Georgia O'Keeffe bis zur talentierten Schauspielerin Josephine Baker. Kahlo wurde zeitlebens international verehrt, da sie die Möglichkeit hatte, ihre Kunst weltweit zu präsentieren.

Frida Kahlo und Chavela Vargas

Frida Kahlo Foto: Guillermo Kalho, Sotheby's, Wikimedia, Public Domain Zu Kahlos Affären gehörte auch die ebenso begnadete, bisweilen aber zum Selbstzerstörerischen neigende Sängerin Chavela Vargas. Chavela Vargas wurde in Costa Rica geboren; wenn man sie jedoch nach ihrer Nationalität fragte, antwortete sie stets stolz: „mexikanisch“. Sie betonte dies sogar auf dem Sterbebett, als sie sagte: „Me voy con Mexico en el corazon.“ („Ich gehe mit Mexiko in meinem Herzen.“) Ihre Liebe zu Mexiko blieb nicht unerwidert, im Laufe ihrer künstlerischen Karriere wurde sie vom mexikanischen Publikum mit offenen Armen aufgenommen.

Mit Poncho und Gitarre: Chavela Vargas erobert Männerdomäne

Vargas verließ Costa Rica im Alter von 17 Jahren und zog nach Mexiko. Fortan trug sie Männerkleidung, gab sich dem Alkohol hin und sang mexikanische Rancheras, ohne dass es ihr jemand gleichtun konnte. Rancheras sind traditionelle mexikanische Lieder, die für ihre melancholischen, herzzerreißenden Texte über enttäuschte Liebe und Verlust bekannt sind und üblicherweise von Männern dargeboten werden. Mit einem Poncho bekleidet und ihrer Gitarre bewaffnet sang die meist angetrunkene Chavela traurige Rancheras, die ihr Publikum sprachlos machten und zu Tränen rührten.

Hollywood-Affären und der Absturz

Es dauerte nicht lange, da trank Chavela mit dem Urvater der mexikanischen Rancheras, José Alfredo Jiménez, der ihrer Karriere noch weiteren Schub gab. In dieser Zeit hatte Chavela mehrere Affären mit Frauen und prahlte oft mit den in sie verliebten berühmten Hollywood-Schauspielerinnen, die in Mexiko Urlaub machten. Chavelas Alkoholabhängigkeit und ihre Unfähigkeit, ihre Aggressivität zu zügeln, wurden ihr jedoch zum Verhängnis und sie verschwand fast dreißig Jahre lang aus dem Rampenlicht.

Comeback mit Happy End und Verpflichtung

Chavela Vargas Foto: Raúl Serrano, Wikimedia/Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0 1991 kehrte Chavela von ihrer Auszeit zurück, nachdem sie dem Alkohol abgeschworen hatte und wieder bereit war, aufzutreten. Der berühmte spanische Regisseur Pedro Almodóvar, zutiefst von ihrer Musik berührt, verhalf ihr zu erneutem Ruhm. So kam es, dass Chavela im Alter von 83 Jahren in keinem geringeren Konzertsaal als der Carnegie Hall auftrat. Ebenfalls mit 83 bekannte sich Chavela offiziell zu ihrer Homosexualität. In ihrer Biographie schreibt sie dazu: „Nunca he estado con un señor, nací así, no lo presumo, tampoco lo pregono, pero no lo niego.“ („Ich war nie mit einem Mann zusammen, ich wurde so geboren, ich mache kein großes Aufheben darum, ebenso wenig predige ich es, aber ich leugne es auch nicht.“)

Diese Bestätigung ihrer Homosexualität war für viele – wie auch Juan Gabriel – keine Überraschung: Chavela blieb sich ihr Leben lang treu.

Juan Gabriel, Frida Kahlo und Chavela Vargas sind nur einige Beispiele für die lateinamerikanische Geschichte der Queerness, die sich über Grenzen und Jahrhunderte erstreckt. Sie lebten jeweils ihre eigene „Theorie des Fleisches“, während wir als junge Queer-Generation voller Ehrfurcht das Feuer ihres – und jetzt unseres – Widerstandes am Brennen halten. Mal gelingt es uns besser, mal schlechter.
 

Top