Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Impressions Chicago

Studying queer history Impressions Chicago Studying queer history | Goethe-Institut Chicago
Chicago is known to be a segregated city: the affluent North visavis the socio-economically disadvantaged South and West of the city. Our target audience, the Latinx and Afro-American communities almost never visit exhibition in Loop Downtown Chicago. That's why we chose three exhibition venues: the Leather Archive and Museum in the Edgewater working-class neighborhood, a former meat-packing factory in Back of the Yards, and the Goethe-Institut in the Loop.

Our accompanying film series, which focused on the distribution company Salzgeber, one of the first queer film distribution and production companies, was shown at the home of the Reeling Film Festival in Edgewater.

The gay district Boystown was intentionally not included, mainly because extensive celebrations of the Stonewall Jubilee were already scheduled and took place. After the end of the exhibitions in the three districts, the entire exhibition was shown at the Goethe-Institut during the month of July.

The local component Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present illustrated both digitally and as a poster the influences the Latinx and Afro-American communities had on the Chicago queer movement - from historical bars to AIDS/HIV centers to archives and safe spaces, the audience was able to inform themselves with explanatory texts.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Impressionen Chicago

Queere Geschichte studieren Impressionen Chicago Queere Geschichte studieren | Goethe-Institut Chicago
Chicago ist bekannt dafür, eine „segregated city“ zu sein: der wohlhabende Norden und vis-à-vis der sozioökonomisch benachteiligte Süden und Westen der Stadt. Unsere Zielgruppe, die Latinx- und afroamerikanische Bevölkerung besucht Ausstellungen in Loop Downtown Chicago fast nie. Deswegen wählten wir drei Ausstellungsorte: das Leather Archive and Museum im Arbeiterviertel Edgewater, eine ehemalige Fleischverpackungsfabrik in Back of the Yards und das Goethe-Institut im Loop.

Unsere begleitende Filmreihe stellte den Produzenten und Verleiher Salzgeber in den Fokus, eines der ersten Unternehmen der deutschen Filmbranche, das sich schwerpunktmäßig queeren Filmen widmete. Wir zeigten das Filmprogramm im Mutterhaus des Reeling Filmfestivals in Edgewater.

Der schwule Stadtteil Boystown wurde absichtlich nicht einbezogen, weil dort viele andere Veranstaltungen zum Stonewall-Jubiläum stattfanden. Nach dem Ende der Ausstellungen in den drei Stadtteilen wurden alle drei Teile noch einmal für einen Monat im Goethe-Institut zusammengeführt.

Die lokale Komponente Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present veranschaulichte sowohl digital als auch als Poster den Einfluss, den die Latinx- und die afroamerikanischen Communitys auf die Queer-Bewegung in der Stadt hatten. Erklärende Texte informierten die Besuchenden über historische Bars, AIDS-/HIV-Zentren, Archive und geschützte Räume.


 

Top