Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Exhibition Impressions from New York City

Exhibition opening Queer as German Folk in New York City Impressions of the exhibition opening Queer as German Folk on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in New York City | Photo: Sarah Blesener
The ground floor of the Goethe-Institut New York is a multifunctional public space. It serves as a library and meeting point and hosts film screenings, panel discussions, seminars, and installations. Here, the exhibition Queer as German Folk and its “trail of liberation” brilliantly unfold.
 
Visitors can take main and side paths along the historical continuum of the exhibition. Adhesive tape imprinted with the exhibition title serves as an innovative leitmotif on the floor and on the walls. The look back at the history of the queer movement ends with an outlook: the Manifestos for a Queer Future and the Stonewall snaps. While visitors may take the manifestos home to read, the snap wall, reminiscent of a street barricade, invites them to contribute their own Stonewall moments to the exhibition.
 
Two projections complement the core exhibition. Each of them features five protagonists from New York and Berlin telling about the moment in their lives when they became queer activists or took their engagement in a new direction. This is a simple way to build a contemporary bridge between New York and Berlin.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Ausstellungsimpressionen aus New York City

Ausstellungseröffnung Queer as German Folk in New York City Impressionen Impressionen der Ausstellungseröffnung Queer as German Folk anlässlich des 50-jährigen Jubiläums der Stonewall Riots in New York City | Foto: Sarah Blesener
Der Public Space im Erdgeschoss des Goethe-Instituts New York ist ein multifunktionaler Raum. Er dient als Bibliothek und Begegnungszentrum und wird für Filmvorführungen, Diskussionsveranstaltungen, Seminare und Rauminstallationen genutzt. Hier kann sich die Ausstellung Queer as German Folk mit ihren neun Sektionen als „Trail of Liberation“ aufs Prächtigste entfalten.

Das historische Kontinuum der Ausstellung erschließt sich individuell über Haupt- und Nebenwege. Als innovatives Leitmotiv dient das mit dem Ausstellungstitel bedruckte Klebeband – auf dem Boden und an den Wänden. Die Einblicke in die queere Bewegungsgeschichte enden mit Zukunftsperspektiven: den Manifestos for a Queer Future und den Stonewall-Snaps. Während sich die Manifestos mit nach Hause nehmen lassen, um sie dort in aller Ruhe zu lesen, lädt die an eine Straßenbarrikade erinnernde Snap-Wand ein, den eigenen Stonewall-Moment zu hinterlassen. 

Zwei Projektionsflächen ergänzen die Kernausstellung. Sie zeigen je fünf Protagonisten aus New York und Berlin, die von den Momenten in ihrem Leben berichten, die sie zu Queer-Aktivisten gemacht haben oder ihrem Engagement eine neue Richtung gegeben haben. So wird auf einfache Weise eine aktuelle Brücke zwischen New York und Berlin geschlagen.

Top