Call for Fellows
Shaping the Past

Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe leading a discussion at Monument Lab’s Town Hall
2019 Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) leading a discussion at Monument Lab’s Town Hall, A Public Forum on Process and Power | © CJ Willis

Monument Lab in partnership with Goethe-Institut and Federal Agency for Civic Education invites applications for a 2020 cohort of Monument Lab Transnational Fellows. This fellowship recognizes individuals and collectives whose ongoing projects address long term inequities in monuments and engage new creative approaches to public art, history, and memory. The fellowship program is part of the joint project Shaping the Past.


Shaping the Past engages the changing forms of collective remembrance and reckoning in public spaces within and across national borders. The multidisciplinary project fosters transnational exchange among curators, artists, activists, historians, and civic participants to discuss and imagine the next generation of monuments.
 
The project, a partnership between the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Federal Agency for Civic Education, Shaping the Past connects memory workers across multiple cities in North America and Germany who have piloted new approaches to building and remediating monuments in their own local contexts. Shaping the Past expands the Monument Lab Fellows program and includes a major public conference built into Monument Lab’s annual Town Hall in Summer 2020, a multi-site exhibition across multiple Goethe-Institutes in North America in Fall 2020, and a publication that contextualizes the Fellows’ projects as a sweeping intervention and update to the monumental landscape.

Monument Lab Fellow Joel Garcia
2019 Monument Lab Fellow Joel Garcia (Los Angeles) | © CJ Willis
Places of remembrance, such as monuments, statues, parks, and street names, shape shared perceptions of a society. They significantly influence what is perceived, erased, disavowed, and potentially open for reinterpretation. Significant interventions into the field have been pushed by practitioners who seek antiracist, de-colonial, feminist, queer, and transnational perspectives. These current discourses on dealing with monuments shed light on the (in)visibilities of and potential for different interpretations of the past in the public realm. Shaping the Past connects with and builds on the work of emerging leaders of local, national, and transnational movements to remember through reflection and with urgency.
 
Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with Monument Lab, the Goethe-Institut, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Call for Fellows 

Monument Lab invites applications for a 2020 cohort of Monument Lab Transnational Fellows. This fellowship recognizes individuals whose ongoing projects address long term inequities in monuments and engage new creative approaches to public art, history, and memory.

The Monument Lab Fellowship program was initially founded to support US-based practitioners. This year, in partnership with the Goethe-Institut and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education, we are expanding this program through Transnational Fellowships for individuals or collectives primarily based in or across countries in North America, including Central America and the Caribbean. We encourage applications from individuals and collectives whose monument projects critically engage or collaboratively work within, along, or across national borders. This includes projects that reflect anti-racist, de-colonial, feminist, queer, and other social justice knowledge systems. In the spirit of further transatlantic exchange with our key partners, one additional fellowship will be offered to a practitioner primarily based in Germany. 
 
Fellows will engage in activities that are meant to build capacity for their own ongoing monument and memory projects, workshop ideas, and form alliances across the cohort and multiple cities. The fellows will virtually meet several times during the fellowship, contribute a dispatch to the Monument Lab website/podcast, and participate in an in-person Orientation in March 2020 Washington, DC and Town Hall symposium in Philadelphia in Summer 2020. Fellows will receive additional funds for documentation as a part of a publication and exhibition initiative, Shaping the Past, to foster transnational exchange among curators, artists, activists, historians, and civic participants to discuss and imagine the next generation of monuments.

Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe presenting her project titled “In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens”
2019 Monument Lab Fellow Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) presenting her project titled “In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens” | © CJ Willis
The Monument Lab Fellows Program is supported by a grant from the Surdna Foundation, with additional support from the Center for Public Art and Space at the University of Pennsylvania Stuart Weitzman School of Design.

WHO CAN APPLY?

There are two general categories of Monument Lab Fellows: civic practitioners and high school students.
 
Applications are welcome from civic practitioners including: artists, activists, scholars, journalists, filmmakers, architects, designers, planners, archivists, historic preservationists, archeologists, data scientists, and others working across the country in their own local contexts interested in engaging the national movement to critically update and impact the monumental landscape. We welcome fellowship applications from individuals or collectives located within and across North America, Central America, the Caribbean, and Germany. Emerging, independent, and underrepresented practitioners are especially encouraged to apply. 

Applications are also welcome from high school students around the United States with existing projects that use art, activism, history, journalism, and other tools to approach monuments in their communities.
 
Applicants who apply this year and who are not chosen are eligible to apply again in future years.
 
Any questions about eligibility are welcome and can be addressed to monumentlab@gmail.com.

APPLICATION MATERIALS & INSTRUCTIONS

Interested candidates must submit the following materials through the application portal below. We value multilingual projects and have the capacity to accept written application materials in English, Spanish, French, and German. Please note that the fellowship proceedings and public programs will be conducted in English.

  • Curriculum Vitae or Resume*
  • Two References
  • 300 Word Statement of Interest
  • 300 Word Description of Your Current Project
  • Four Samples of Your Work. (Samples can include images, videos, animations, personal website, project website, published writing sample, article or blog, and press coverage.)
  • Social Media Handles

*Before applying, you will need to upload materials to your preferred file sharing platform and generate a shared public link for each item. Learn how to do this on Google Drive, Box, or Dropbox.

TERMS & CONDITIONS

  • Applications will be reviewed by a jury of Monument Lab and external curators, artists, and collaborators.
  • Civic Practitioner Fellows will receive a $2,500 award.
  • High School Student Fellows will receive a $1,000 award.
  • Travel stipends will be issued in addition to award payments to cover the costs of to attend the Spring 2020 orientation in Washington D.C. and to participate in the Summer 2020 Town Hall symposium in Philadelphia. Fellows will receive additional funds for documentation as a part of a publication and exhibition initiative, Shaping the Past.

TIMELINE

Fellowship Applications are due by Sunday, December 8, 2019 by 11:59 pm EST.
 
Fellows will be announced in early 2020.

Apply here!

Partners

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Monument Lab Logo

Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Monument Lab
Monument Lab is an independent public art and history studio based in Philadelphia. We work with artists, students, activists, municipal agencies, and cultural institutions on exploratory approaches to public engagement and collective memory. Monument Lab cultivates and facilitates critical conversations around the past, present, and future of monuments.
https://monumentlab.com/
 

Top

Ausschreibung
Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past

Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe moderiert eine Diskussion beim Town Hall des Monument Lab.
2019 Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) moderiert eine Diskussion beim Town Hall des Monument Lab, ein öffentliches Forum zu Prozessen und Macht. | © CJ Willis

Monument Lab schreibt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung ein transnationales Fellowship-Programm für 2020 aus. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Einzelpersonen und Kollektive, deren laufende Projekte sich mit langfristigen Ungleichgewichten in Denkmälern befassen und neue kreative Ansätze für öffentliche Kunst, Geschichte und Erinnerung entwickeln. Das Fellowship-Programm ist Teil des gemeinsamen Projekts Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping The Past.


Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past befasst sich mit den wandelnden Formen kollektiver Erinnerungen und Annahmen im öffentlichen Raum innerhalb von und über Landesgrenzen hinweg. Das multidisziplinäre Projekt fördert den länderübergreifenden Austausch zwischen Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Historiker*innen und Bürger*innen, um über die nächste Generation von Denkmälern zu diskutieren und sie zu gestalten.
 
Das Projekt Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past, eine Kooperation des Goethe-Instituts, Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, bringt Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen aus mehreren Städten Nordamerikas und Deutschlands zusammen, die innovative Wege beim Bau und der Sanierung von Denkmälern in ihrem jeweiligen lokalen Kontext beschreiten. Das Projekt ist eine Erweiterung des Fellowship-Programms des Monument Lab und umfasst eine große öffentliche Konferenz im Sommer 2020, eine Ausstellung in mehreren Goethe-Instituten Nordamerikas im Herbst 2020 sowie eine Publikation, in der die Projekte der Stipendiat*innen als eine umfassende Intervention in die und Erneuerung der Denkmallandschaft in einen Gesamtzusammenhang gebracht werden.

Monument Lab Stipendiat Joel Garcia
2019 Monument Lab Stipendiat Joel Garcia (Los Angeles) | © CJ Willis
Orte des Gedenkens, wie Denkmäler, Statuen, Parks und Straßennamen, formen die kollektive Wahrnehmung einer Gesellschaft. Sie beeinflussen maßgeblich, was wahrgenommen, gelöscht und verleugnet wird und was Raum für Neuinterpretationen bietet.  Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen, die nach antirassistischen, antikolonialistischen, feministischen, queeren und grenzübergreifenden Perspektiven suchen, haben in signifikantem Maß in diese Sphäre eingegriffen. Der derzeitige Diskurs über den Umgang mit Denkmälern beleuchtet die (Un)Sichtbarkeit und das Potenzial verschiedener Deutungen der Vergangenheit im öffentlichen Raum. Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past knüpft an die Arbeit neuer Anführer*innen lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zur Förderung einer reflektierten, eindringlichen Erinnerungskultur an und baut darauf auf.

Ausschreibung

Monument Lab schreibt für 2020 ein transnationales Fellowship-Programm für eine Gruppe von Stipendiat*innen aus. Das Stipendium richtet sich an Personen, deren laufende Projekte lang bestehende Ungleichgewichte im Bereich der Denkmalkunst thematisieren und nach neuen kreativen Umgangsweisen mit Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, Geschichte und Erinnerung suchen.
 
Das Fellowship-Programm des Monument Lab wurde ursprünglich für Bürger*innen der USA ins Leben gerufen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung erweitern wir in diesem Jahr das Programm und schreiben ein transnationales Fellowship-Programm für Einzelpersonen und Gruppen aus, die vorwiegend in den Ländern Nordamerikas und Mittelamerikas sowie der Karibik sowie in Deutschland ansässig sind. Wir unterstützen insbesondere Bewerbungen von Einzelpersonen und Gruppen, die sich mit ihren Denkmalprojekten innerhalb von, entlang der oder über Ländergrenzen hinweg kritisch engagieren oder zusammenarbeiten. Dazu gehören Projekte, die antirassistische, antikolonialistische, feministische, queere oder andere Wissenssysteme der sozialen Gerechtigkeit zum Ausdruck bringen. Im Sinne eines weiteren transatlantischen Austauschs mit unseren wichtigsten Partner*innen wird ein zusätzliches Stipendium für eine Person mit Hauptwohnsitz in Deutschland ausgeschrieben. 
 
Die Stipendiat*innen sollen während ihrer Arbeit im Monument Lab ihre laufenden Denkmals- und Erinnerungsprojekte weiterentwickeln, Ideen für Workshops erarbeiten und Kontakte innerhalb der Gruppe und mehrerer Städte knüpfen. Während des Programms werden sich die Stipendiat*innen mehrmals in virtuellen Meetings austauschen, einen Beitrag für die Website/den Podcast des Monument Lab verfassen, im März 2020 persönlich an einem Einführungsseminar in Washington, D.C. und im Sommer 2020 an einem Symposium innerhalb der Monument Lab Town Hall in Philadelphia teilnehmen. Die Stipendiat*innen erhalten zusätzliche Mittel für die Dokumentation im Rahmen der Publikations- und Ausstellungsinitiative Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past, mit der der länderübergreifende Austausch zwischen Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Historiker*innen und Bürger*innen gefördert werden soll, um über die nächste Generation von Denkmälern zu diskutieren und sie zu gestalten.

Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe präsentiert ihr Projekt “In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens.”
2019 Monument Lab Stipendiatin Kanyinsola Anifowoshe (Chicago) präsentiert ihr Projekt “In Search of Our Mothers’ Gardens.” | © CJ Willis
Das Stipendienprogramm des Monument Lab wird unterstützt von der Surdna Foundation sowie dem Center for Public Art and Space der University of Pennsylvania Stuart Weitzman School of Design.

WER KANN SICH BEWERBEN?

Die Stipendiat*innen des Monument Lab unterteilen sich in zwei Kategorien: Professionelle „Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen“ verschiedener Disziplinen (Berufstätige) sowie High-School-Schüler*innen.
 
Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Journalist*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Architekt*innen, Designer*innen, Planer*innen, Archivar*innen, Denkmalpfleger*innen, Archäolog*innen, Datenwissenschaftler*innen und andere Personen, die landesweit in eigenen lokalen Kontexten tätig und daran interessiert sind, sich an der nationalen Bewegung zur kritischen Neugestaltung und Beeinflussung der Denkmallandschaft zu beteiligen. Wir akzeptieren Bewerbungen von Einzelpersonen oder Gruppen, die in Nordamerika, Mittelamerika, der Karibik und Deutschland ansässig sind. Besonders unterstützt werden Bewerbungen von angehenden, unabhängigen und unterrepräsentierten Berufstätigen. 
 

Wir nehmen auch Bewerbungen von US-amerikanischen High-School-Schüler*innen entgegen, die sich in ihren Projekten mit Mitteln aus Kunst, Aktivismus, Geschichte, Journalistik u.a. mit den Denkmälern in ihren Gemeinden beschäftigen.
 
Bewerber*innen, die in diesem Jahr nicht für das Fellowship-Programm ausgewählt werden, können sich in den folgenden Jahren erneut bewerben.
 
Falls Sie Fragen zur Teilnahmeberechtigung haben, senden Sie diese bitte an monumentlab@gmail.com.

BEWERBUNGSUNTERLAGEN & HINWEISE

Interessent*innen müssen die folgenden Unterlagen im Bewerbungsportal einreichen. Wir wertschätzen mehrsprachige Projekte und Perspektiven. Schriftliche Bewerbungsunterlagen können in Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch und Deutsch eingereicht werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Kommunikation bezüglich des Stipendienvergabeverfahrens und der öffentlichen Programme in englischer Sprache durchgeführt werden.

  • Lebenslauf*
  • Zwei Empfehlungen/Referenzen
  • Motivationsschreiben (300 Wörter)
  • Beschreibung des Arbeitsprojektes (300 Wörter)
  • Vier Arbeitsproben (Dazu gehören Bilder, Videos, Animationen, eine persönliche Website, eine Projektwebsite, veröffentlichte Texte, Artikel oder Blogs und Berichterstattung in der Presse.)
  • Nutzer*innenname in den Sozialen Medien*
*Bevor Sie das Bewerbungsformular ausfüllen, müssen Sie Ihre Dokumente auf Ihre bevorzugte Filesharing-Plattform hochladen und für jede Datei einen freigegebenen Link generieren. Anweisungen dazu finden Sie auf Google Drive, Box oder Dropbox.

VERGABEBEDINGUNGEN

  • Die Bewerbungen werden von einer Jury aus Mitarbeiter*innen des Monument Lab sowie externen Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen und Partner*innen geprüft.
  • Berufstätige erhalten ein Stipendium in Höhe von 2500 US-Dollar.
  • High-School-Schüler*innen erhalten ein Stipendium in Höhe von 1000 US-Dollar.
  • Zusätzlich zu diesen Stipendien werden Reisestipendien zur Deckung der Kosten für die Teilnahme am Einführungsseminar im Frühjahr 2020 in Washington, D.C. und am Symposium innerhalb der Monument Lab Town Hall im Sommer 2020 in Philadelphia gewährt. Außerdem erhalten die Stipendiat*innen zusätzliche Mittel für die Dokumentation im Rahmen der Publikations- und Ausstellungsinitiative Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping the Past.

WICHTIGE TERMINE

Bewerbungsschluss ist Sonntag, der 8. Dezember 2019, 23.59 Uhr EST.

Die Stipendiat*innen werden Anfang 2020 bekanntgegeben.

hier Bewerben!

PARTNER

Gestaltung der Vergangenheit // Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab, Philadelphia, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Monument Lab Logo
Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
Monument Lab
Monument Lab ist ein unabhängiges Atelier für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und Geschichte in Philadelphia. Gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen, Schüler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Kommunalbehörden und Kultureinrichtungen erarbeiten wir explorative Ansätze für öffentliches Engagement und kollektives Gedächtnis. Monument Lab fördert und ermöglicht einen kritischen Diskurs über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft von Denkmälern.
https://monumentlab.com/
 

Top