Chicago
There is Black Housing in the Future: Equitable Public Housing as Memorial

Elmhurst Art Museum © Elmhurst Art Museum

How does the way we live serve to memorialize and codify history and social structures? Housing structures are monuments to socio-economic prowess, inequality, and expressions ranging from vanity to distain. Inspired by a new exhibition at the Elmhurst Art Museum on public housing in cities and suburbs (2021), Alisha Wormsley and her collaborator and friend, Ayanah Moor, explore the future of Black housing in the US and its connection to Black mothers.

STP
(c) Alisha Wormsley, (c) Ayanah Moor

The work, which will be installed at Mies van der Rohe’s iconic McCormick House – a proto-type for one possible housing solution situated in Elmhurst – refers to community and grass-root organizations like Moms 4 Housing, while creating a ‘Future Memory’ that leads from Cabrini–Green (an infamous Chicago public housing project) to affordable, dignified housing for all.

Explore the Events

Shaping the Past: Future Memory

An online dicussion Featuring Alisha B. Wormsley and Ayanah Moor, moderated by Mechtild Widrich. The three discussed the future of monuments, text as monuments, and black women's labor as Afro-Futurists.

Featured Artists

Alisha B. Wormsley © Alisha B. Wormsley
Alisha B. Wormsley is an interdisciplinary artist and cultural producer based in Pittsburgh, PA. Her work focuses on collective memory and the synchronicity of time, specifically through the stories of women of color.

Top

Chicago
There is Black Housing in the Future: Sozialer Wohnungsbau als Denkmal

Elmhurst Art Museum © Elmhurst Art Museum

Gebäude sind Denkmäler von sozio-ökonomischer Macht und Ungleichheit – und können von Eitelkeit bis Verachtung eine Vielzahl von Zeichen setzen. Inspiriert durch eine neue Ausstellung über den sozialen Wohnungsbau in Städten und Vorstädten im Elmhurst Art Museum (2021) untersuchen Alisha Wormsley und ihre Kollaborateurin und Freundin Ayanah Moor die Zukunft des sozialen Wohnungsbaus in den USA und seine Verbindung zu afro-amerikanischen Müttern. 

STP
(c) Alisha Wormsley, (c) Ayanah Moor

Die Arbeiten, die in Mies van der Rohes ikonischem McCormick-Haus – einem Prototyp für innovative Wohnraumgestaltung in Elmhurst bei Chicago – installiert werden, beziehen sich auf Gemeinde- und Grassroots-Organisationen wie Moms 4 Housing und schaffen gleichzeitig eine ‘Future Memory’, die von Cabrini–Green (eine Anlage des sozialen Wohnungsbaus in Chicago mit zweifelhaftem Ruf) zu erschwinglichem, menschenwürdigem Wohnraum für alle führt.  

Mehr zu den Veranstaltungen

Hier finden Sie Videos, Fotos und weitere Informationen zu den bisherigen Veranstaltungen.

Shaping the Past: Future Memory

29. Oktober 2020 - Online Veranstaltung

Mechtild Widrich, Wissenschaftlerin für zeitgenössische Kunst und Architektur, moderierte eine Diskussion mit den interdisziplinären Künstlerinnen Ayanah Moor und Alisha Wormsley. Die drei diskutierten über die Zukunft von Monumenten, Texten als Denkmäler und die Arbeit Schwarzer Frauen im Afrofuturismus.

Beteiligte Künstler*innen

Alisha B. Wormsley © Alisha B. Wormsley
Alisha B. Wormsley ist interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und Kulturproduzentin. Ihre Arbeit kreist um das kollektive Gedächtnis und die Synchronität der Zeit, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Geschichten von Women of Color. 

Top