Los Angeles
Yaangna, beyond L.A. Indigenous Frameworks

Grand Park Courtesy Joel Garcia

How can Indigenous frameworks and methodologies help cities and counties change policy to address the lack of visibility of Native/Indigenous Peoples? 

Focusing on three Los Angeles locations, significant to Native/Indigenous peoples, this series of events brings together artists, Elders, Tribal Members, scholars, and activists into dialogue about authentic narratives, strategies for policy change, the future of public/civic art, civic memory, and memory culture:  What must we not forget?
 

Explore the Events

Watch videos, view photographs, and read more by clicking below.




Featured Artists

Cheyenne Concepcion
Cheyenne Concepcion is an artist and designer living and working in San Francisco. Her art practice is strongly research oriented and investigates the politics of space through installation, speculation, cartography, and collecting.

Joel Garcia
Joel Garcia is an artist, arts administrator and cultural organizer with over 20 years of experience working transnationally focusing on community-centered strategies. His approach is rooted in Indigenous-based forms of dialoguing and non-hierarchical decision-making that uplifts non-institutional expertise. 

Top

Los Angeles
Yaangna, über L.A. hinaus. Indigene Rahmen-bedingungen

Grand Park Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Joel Garcia

Wie können indigene Rahmenbedingungen und Methoden Städten und Gemeinden helfen, ihre Strategien zu ändern, um die Sichtbarkeit der einheimischen/indigenen Völker zu erhöhen?

Diese Veranstaltungsreihe konzentriert sich auf drei Orte in Los Angeles, die für einheimische/indigene Völker von Bedeutung sind, und bringt Künstler*innen, Stammesälteste, Stammesmitglieder*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Aktivist*innen in den Dialog zu authentischen Erzählungen, Strategien für politische Veränderungen, sowie die Zukunft von Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, das Kollektivgedächtnis und Erinnerungskultur: Was dürfen wir nicht vergessen?
 

Mehr zu den Veranstaltungen

Hier finden Sie Videos, Fotos und weitere Informationen zu den bisherigen Veranstaltungen.




Beteiligte Künstler*innen

Cheyenne Concepcion © Cheyenne Concepcion
Cheyenne Concepcion ist Künstlerin und Designerin und lebt und arbeitet in San Francisco. Ihre künstlerische Praxis ist stark forschungsorientiert und untersucht die Politik des Raumes durch Installation, Spekulation, Kartographie und Sammlungen.

Joel Garcia
Joel Garcia ist Künstler, Kunstverwalter und Kulturveranstalter mit über 20 Jahren Erfahrung. Er arbeitet länderübergreifend und konzentriert sich auf gemeinschaftsorientierte Strategien. Sein Ansatz fußt auf indigenen Formen des Dialogs und egalitären Entscheidungsfindungen, die eine Sachkenntnis abseits der Institutionen fördern.

Top