Sound Installation
The Roedelius Cells

Roedelius Cells
(c) Russ Curry, Curious Music

Audio Installation by Tim Story, Piano by Hans-Joachim Roedelius

Experimental Sound Studio

  •  Visitors may schedule appointments for groups of up to 3 people via this doodle link for Opening Day Saturday, December 12. Appointments run from noon-5pm in 30 minute increments, with 15 minutes in between so any surfaces can be sanitized. 
  • For the duration of the sound installation exhibition, you may schedule appointments  via info@ess.org or by calling 773-998-1069.  Limited to 3 per group.
  • All arrangements depend on the latest State and City health and safety regulations.

    The Roedelius Cells
     is a multi-channel audio installation created by Grammy-nominated US composer/sound artist Tim Story, constructed from thousands of short extracts culled from a decade of informal piano recordings made with friend and colleague Hans-Joachim Roedelius.

    Short, repeating layers – consisting of thousands of fragments, each often just a second or two in duration – create a complex, syncopated interplay.

    To extend the process of ‘re-composition’ to participants, Story incorporates a playback system that divides the individual layers of each piece discretely amongst eight speakers. The Roedelius Cells surrender their cohesion and re-coalesce in unique and unrepeatable ways for each individual participant as they explore the soundstage.
    Challenging ideas of authorship, appropriation and composition, The Roedelius Cells blurs distinctions between composer and listener, and slyly subverts assumptions of what piano music can be.

    Hans-Joachim Roedelius (c) Hetty van Oijen
    Hans-Joachim Roedelius has profoundly influenced generations of musicians in a career spanning more than a half-century and over 100 solo and collaborative recordings. From his groundbreaking duo Cluster with Dieter Moebius, to his genre-crossing solo works and collaborations with luminaries including Brian Eno, Roedelius is recognized as one of Europe’s most important sound pioneers. Equally at ease with the most abstract of electronics and the most evanescent of piano solos, Roedelius has exerted an indelible, global impact on ambient, electronic, experimental, and wholly undefinable genres of music.

    Tim Story 2 (c) Ingo Pertramer
    Grammy-nominated American composer Tim Story has been called "a master of electronic chamber music" (CD Review, USA), and a "true artist in the electronic medium" (Victory review, USA). Through three decades of influential recordings and live performances, Story’s unique blend of careful composition and innovative sound design has garnered a dedicated worldwide following.  


    Longtime friends and colleagues, Roedelius and Story have partnered on many musical projects, including the acclaimed albums Lunz (2003), Inlandish (2007), and Lazy Arc (2014). 

    Roedelius and Story (c) Hetty van Oijen

Details

Experimental Sound Studio

5925 N. Ravenswood Ave
Chicago, IL

Price: Free Admission, donation appreciated

The exhibition will be available for safe, in-person visits by appointment.

Akustische Installation
The Roedelius Cells

Roedelius Cells
(c) Russ Curry, Curious Music

Audio Installation: Tim Story, Piano: Hans-Joachim Roedelius

Experimental Sound Studio

  • BesucherInnen können über diesen Doodle-Link Termine für Gruppen von bis zu 3 Personen für den Eröffnungstag am Samstag, 12. Dezember, vereinbaren. Die Termine laufen von mittags bis 17 Uhr in 30-Minuten-Abschnitten, mit 15 Minuten Pausen, damit alle Oberflächen gereinigt werden können.
  • Für die Dauer der Ausstellung können Sie Termine über info@ess.org oder telefonisch unter 773-998-1069 vereinbaren. Begrenzt auf 3 Personen pro Gruppe.
  • Die Termine zum Besuch der Installation richten sich nach den neuesten Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsvorschriften des Staates und der Stadt.

The Roedelius Cells ist eine Mehrkanal-Audioinstallation des Grammy-nominierten US-Komponisten und Klangkünstlers Tim Story, der sie aus einem Jahrzehnt von Tausenden kurzen, informellen Klavieraufnahmen mit seinem Freund und Kollegen Hans-Joachim Roedelius zusammenstellt.

Kurze, sich wiederholende Tonschichtungen - bestehend aus Tausenden von Fragmenten, von denen jedes oft nur eine oder zwei Sekunden dauert - erzeugen ein komplexes, synkopiertes Zusammenspiel.

Um den Prozess der "Neukomposition" auf die Teilnehmer*innen auszudehnen, kreiert Story ein Wiedergabesystem, das die einzelnen Schichten jedes Stückes auf acht Sprecher verteilt. Roedelius Cells geben ihren Kohäsion auf und verbinden sich auf einzigartige und unwiederholbare Weise während jede*n einzelne*n Teilnehmer*in die Installation erkundet.
Roedelius Cells stellen die Vorstellungen von Autorschaft, Aneignung und Komposition in Frage und verwischen die Unterschiede zwischen Komponist und Zuhörer*in und unterlaufen die Definition von Klaviermusik.

Hans-Joachim Roedelius (c) Hetty van Oijen
Hans-Joachim Roedelius hat in seiner mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert währenden Karriere mit über 100 Solo- und Gemeinschaftsaufnahmen Generationen von Musikern nachhaltig beeinflusst. Von seinem bahnbrechenden Duo Cluster mit Dieter Moebius bis hin zu seinen genre-übergreifenden Solowerken und der Zusammenarbeit mit Koryphäen wie Brian Eno gilt Roedelius als einer der wichtigsten Klangpioniere Europas. Mit der abstraktesten Elektronik und den flüchtigsten Klaviersoli gleichermaßen vertraut, hat Roedelius einen globalen Einfluss auf ambiente, elektronische, experimentelle und gänzlich undefinierbare Musikgattungen ausgeübt.

Tim Story 2 (c) Ingo Pertramer
Der Grammy-nominierte amerikanische Komponist Tim Story wurde als "Meister der elektronischen Kammermusik" (CD Review, USA) und als "wahrer Künstler im elektronischen Medium" (Victory Review, USA) bezeichnet. Durch drei Jahrzehnte einflussreicher Aufnahmen und Live-Performances hat Story's Mischung aus sorgfältiger Komposition und innovativem Sounddesign eine weltweite Fangemeinde gefunden.


Die langjährigen Freunde und Kollegen, Roedelius und Story kollaborieren oft, u.a. Lunz (2003), Inlandish (2007) und Lazy Arc (2014).

Roedelius and Story (c) Hetty van Oijen
  

Details

Experimental Sound Studio

5925 N. Ravenswood Ave
Chicago, IL

Preis: Freier Eintritt, freiwillige Spende

Die Installation steht nach Reservierung für Besuch nach Vereinbarung zur Verfügung.