Top 10
Digital Culture – Straight from Germany

Musik - Illustration of grammophone, loudspeakers, music notes
© Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Katta Rasche

It can be overwhelming to sort through all of the digital cultural offers out there to find the best high-quality content, so we did it for you! Learn, read, watch, and entertain yourself with these digital cultural offers straight from Germany.

 

1. ONLINE FILM AND MEDIA CENTER — ARTE.TV


Arte.tv is a French-German television network that promotes cultural programming. In Arte.tv’s online media center, you’ll find a wide range of programs, including documentaries, feature films, news reporting, music, and performing arts, plus other exciting formats like Arte.tv’s virtual reality productions. Happy streaming!

2. VIRTUAL ART EXHIBITION — BIENNALE: ALL ART IS PHOTOGRAPHY

The Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie 2020 exhibit may been closed, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t visit! The Biennale is now offering a virtual tour of its exhibition houses in Ludwigshafen, consisting of six thematic exhibitions that explore our ambivalent relationship to photography. Immerse yourself in the world of photography via Germany’s largest photo festival in this digital tour.

3. ONLINE FILM FESTIVAL — MY DARLING Quarantine SHORT FILM FESTIVAL

In response to the current COVID-19 situation, Talking Shorts is presenting an online film festival with a new program of seven short films on the subject of “dystopia” every week. Viewers get to play the role of panelist by voting for their favorite films after viewing. Ever dreamed of being a film critic? Today is the day!

4. ONLINE COURSE — ART HISTORY ONLINE – THE STÄDEL COURSE ON MODERN ART


The Städel Museum in Frankfurt is offering an online course in art history – at no cost. Work through five modules on art history and visual studies from the convenience of your home. If you missed out on taking art history in school, here’s your chance to catch up!

5. STREAM OPERA ONLINE — STAATSOPER BERLIN

Everyday beginning at 12:00 CET, the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin is offering a new performance on demand, available to you for free for 24 hours. Stream titles like Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier and Massenet’s Manon as well as symphony concerts by the Staatskapelle Berlin.

6. LEARN GERMAN ONLINE — DEUTSCH FÜR DICH

Looking to brush up on your German? You can improve your German online for free with Deutsch für Dich. Deutsch für Dich features learning content for all language levels, free of charge. Practice your language skills with exercises on recycling, vacation, baking, and more!

7. DIGITAL LEARNING FOR KIDS — DIGITAL KINDERUNIVERSITY


The German Digital Kinderuniversity is a series of fun video lectures that gives children ages eight to twelve the chance to explore topics related to “Humankind,” “Nature,” and “Technology” themselves, while learning German. The so-called Kinderuni is a free online platform open to all kids – no matter where they live or which school they attend. Enroll today!

8. Party Online — United We Stream

The Berliner clubbing community is opening its virtual doors for a series of digital concerts. Different Berlin clubs will broadcast live DJ sets, music, and performances every day at 7:00 pm CET on their joint streaming platform www.unitedwestream.berlin. Tune in!

9. Literature Read Out Loud — Lyrikline

Lyrikline is an international website that offers a diverse collection of contemporary poetry, read by poets. You can listen to the melodies, sounds, and rhythms of poetry from around the world, recited by the writers themselves. The poems are available both in their original languages and several translations. Listen along now!

10. Stream Radio — KCRW Berlin


KCRW Berlin is an English-language radio station based in Germany’s capital featuring original Berlin-centric content and nationally syndicated US public radio shows. Tune in for a glimpse of Berlin life and culture, straight from Berlin.

Top

Top 10
Kultur Digital – Direkt aus Deutschland

Musik - Illustration von Grammofon, Lautsprecher-Boxen, Musiknoten
© Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Katta Rasche

Sich durch die gesamte Bandbreite der digitalen Kulturangebote wühlen zu müssen, um die besten und hochwertigsten Inhalte zu finden, kann einen ganz schön erschlagen. Daher haben wir das für Sie erledigt! Diese digitalen Formate direkt aus Deutschland laden ein zum Lernen, Lesen, Anschauen und sorgen für gute Unterhaltung.

 

1. ONLINE Mediathek — ARTE.TV


Arte ist ein deutsch-französischer Kulturfernsehsender. Im Online-Angebot von Arte finden Sie eine breite Palette an Sparten: Dokumentar- und Spielfilme, Nachrichten und Reportagen, Beiträge über Musik und darstellende Kunst sowie die digitalen Produktionen von Arte. Happy Streaming!

2. Virtuelle Ausstellung — BIENNALE: ALL ART IS PHOTOGRAPHY

Auch wenn die Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie 2020 abgesagt wurde, bedeutet das nicht, dass man sie nicht besuchen kann! Die Biennale bietet einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Ausstellungshäuser in Ludwigshafen mit sechs Themenausstellungen an, die unsere ambivalente Beziehung zur Fotografie untersuchen. Tauchen Sie auf dieser digitalen Tour durch Deutschlands größtes Fotofestival in die Welt der Fotografie ein.

3. Online-Filmfestival — MY DARLING Quarantine SHORT FILM FESTIVAL

Als Reaktion auf die derzeitige Corona-Pandemie präsentiert Talking Shorts ein Online-Filmfestival mit einem wöchentlich wechselnden Programm von sieben Kurzfilmen zum Thema Dystopie. Die Zuschauer werden zur Jury und können nach dem Anschauen für ihren Lieblingsfilm stimmen. Wollten Sie schon immer einmal Filmkritiker*in sein? Dann haben Sie heute Gelegenheit dazu!

4. ONLINEkurs — Kunstgeschichte ONLINE – Der STÄDEL-Kurs zur MODERNe


Das Städel Museum in Frankfurt am Main bietet einen kostenlosen Onlinekurs in Kunstgeschichte an. Eignen Sie sich ganz bequem von zu Hause mithilfe von fünf Modulen kunsthistorische und bildwissenschaftliche Kenntnisse an. Wenn Sie es versäumt haben, Kunstgeschichte in der Schule zu belegen, können Sie das jetzt nachholen!

5. theaterstücke streamen — STAATSOPER BERLIN

Jeden Tag um 12 Uhr mittags MEZ schaltet die Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin die Aufzeichnung einer Vorstellung als Video-on-Demand-Angebot frei, das dann 24 Stunden lang kostenlos zur Verfügung steht. Unter den Streams sind Werke wie Der Rosenkavalier von Strauss und Manon von Massenet sowie Sinfoniekonzerte der Staatskapelle Berlin.

6. Online Deutsch lernen — DEUTSCH FÜR DICH

Wollen Sie ihr Deutsch auffrischen? Mit Deutsch für Dich können Sie kostenlos online ihre Deutschkenntnisse verbessern. Deutsch für Dich umfasst Lerninhalte für alle Sprachniveaus und ist kostenlos. Trainieren Sie ihre Sprachfähigkeiten mit Übungen zu Recycling, Urlaub, Backen und vielen anderen Themen!

7. Onlineplattform für Kinder — DIGITALe Kinderuni

Die Kinderuniversität des Goethe-Instituts beinhaltet eine Reihe spielerischer Lernvideos, mit denen Kinder im Alter von acht bis zwölf Jahren eigenständig die Themenbereiche Mensch, Natur und Technik erforschen können und dabei Deutsch lernen. Die so-genannte Kinderuni ist eine kostenlose Onlineplattform für alle Kinder – unabhängig davon, wo sie wohnen oder welche Schule sie besuchen. Melden Sie sich heute an!

8. Online feiern — United We Stream

Die Berliner Clubszene öffnet virtuell ihre Türen für eine Reihe digitaler Konzerte. Verschiedene Berliner Clubs übertragen täglich ab 19 Uhr MEZ live DJ-Sets, Musik und Performances auf der gemeinsamen Streamingplattform www.unitedwestream.berlin. Tanzen Sie mit!

9. Literaturlesungen — Lyrikline

Lyrikline ist eine internationale Website mit einer vielfältigen Sammlung zeitgenössischer Lyrik. Lauschen Sie der Melodie, dem Klang und den Rhythmen von Lyrik aus aller Welt, die von den Autor*innen selbst vorgetragen wird. Die Gedichte sind sowohl in der Originalsprache als auch in mehreren Übersetzungen verfügbar. Hören Sie rein!

10. Radio streamen — KCRW Berlin

KCRW Berlin ist ein in der deutschen Hauptstadt ansässiger, englischsprachiger Radiosender, dessen Programm eine Mischung aus lokalen Berliner Beiträgen sowie Sendungen des US-amerikanischen National Public Radio (NPR) umfasst. Ein Einblick in das Leben und die Kultur Berlins aus erster Hand.

Top