Our commitment to German

Our commitment to German Photo: Panthermedia/Viktor Thaut

German in the USA

What is the status of German as a foreign language in the U.S., and how does it compare worldwide? Which topics are of particular importance to strengthen German programs at U.S. schools and colleges? Find the Goethe-Institut’s position on these and other issues here.  

"Schulen: Partner der Zukunft" initiative

PASCH is a worldwide network connecting more than 1700 PASCH schools with a particular link to Germany. The Goethe-Institut acts as mentor to around 550 PASCH schools in the national education systems of over 100 countries.

Alumniportal Deutschland

Alumniportal Deutschland is a social network to promote networking between alumni of Germany, companies, universities and organisations.

TOP

The Transatlantic Outreach Program is a public / private partnership that promotes education about Germany, fosters intercultural dialogue, and provides the opportunity for North American social studies educators, STEM educators, and decision makers to experience Germany. 

GAPP

The German American Partnership Program (GAPP) supports partnerships and exchanges between schools in Germany and the United States. 

German for Hire

German for Hire brings together university students from Germany and American high school students curious about German language and culture. Any school in the United States and all German university students are eligible to participate.

Unser Engagement für Deutsch

Unser Engagement für Deutsch Foto: Panthermedia/Viktor Thaut

Deutsch in USA

Welchen Stellenwert hat Deutsch als Fremdsprache in den USA – auch im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern? Welche Themen sind für die Stärkung der Deutschprogramme an US-Schulen und Colleges besonders relevant? Finden Sie hier Einschätzungen des Goethe-Instituts zu diesen und weiteren Fragen.

Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“

Die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft” (PASCH) verbindet ein weltumspannendes Netz von mehr als 1.700 Schulen mit besonderer Deutschlandbindung. Das Goethe-Institut betreut rund 550 PASCH-Schulen in den nationalen Bildungssystemen von über 100 Ländern.

Alumniportal Deutschland

Das Alumniportal Deutschland ist ein soziales Netzwerk zur Förderung der Vernetzung und des Wissensaustauschs von Deutschland-Alumni, Unternehmen, Hochschulen und Organisationen.

Studienbrücke

Ein Studium in Deutschland ist Ausbildung auf höchstem Niveau – die optimale Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche Karriere im Heimatland und weltweit. Die „Studienbrücke Deutschland“ schafft die Voraussetzungen für einen Zugang an eine deutsche Universität nach dem Schulabschluss. 

TOP

Das Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) hat das übergeordnete Ziel, in den USA und Kanada den Unterricht um Sozialkunde- und MINT-Unterrichtsanteile über das gegenwärtige Deutschland zu erweitern und dadurch jungen Amerikanern ein differenzierteres und ausgewogeneres Deutschlandbild zu vermitteln. 

GAPP

Das German-American Partnership Program (GAPP) fördert seit 1972 Schulpartnerschaften und Schüleraustausch zwischen Schulen in Deutschland und den USA.

German for Hire

German for Hire führt deutsche Student/innen und  amerikanische High-School Schüler/innen zusammen, um mehr über die deutsche Sprache und Kultur zu lernen. Jede Schule in den USA und alle deutschen Student/innen können an dem Programm teilzunehmen.