Exchanges

Austausch GAPP © Goethe-Institut/Daniel Seiffert

Being an exchange student as well as hosting one, opens up a whole new world for our GAPP students. Students not only get to share their culture, but they will be able to immerse themselves completely in a foreign culture, becoming more independent and open in the process and forming friendships and connections that last a lifetime.

GAPP group exchanges are cost efficient: Travel to the host community (airfare+ ground transportation) and spending money are all it takes (a basic exchange without extensive tourist program ranges between appr. $ 1,600 - $ 2,300 per student)

Once a school partnership has been established between a school in the US and a school in Germany, GAPP supports two kinds of exchanges: 

Group Exchange © Goethe-Institut/Daniel Seiffert

Group Exchanges (Short-Term)

Every active GAPP partnership establishes a mutual short-term group exchange: A group of students travels to Germany for at least 16 days, stays with host families and attends school for at least 10 school days.

Individual_Exchange © Goethe-Institut/Daniel Seiffert

Individual Exchanges (Long-Term)

Has the short-term exchange been established, individual students can spend either a semester or a full academic year at their partner school. (conditions apply)

 

 

Disclaimer:

GAPP does not charge a fee for any of its services connected to short-term exchanges nor does GAPP make any arrangements for the exchange. The entire implementation of the program is the responsibility of the school administrations.
 

If your school already has a German partner school and is planning on travelling to Germany in 2017, you will find all relevant information in the section “Group Exchanges”.

Austausch

Austausch GAPP Foto: Goethe-Institut/Daniel Seiffert

Schüleraustausch

Die Teilnahme an einem GAPP-Austausch, sei es als Austauschschüler oder als Gastfamilie, eröffnet allen Beteiligten eine völlig neue Sichtweise auf die Welt. Einerseits geben die Austauschschüler Einblicke in ihre eigene Kultur, andererseits wird ihnen die Möglichkeit geboten, vollständig in eine fremde und neue Kultur einzutauchen.

Gruppenaustausch (Kurzzeit)

Jede aktive GAPP-Partnerschaft bietet einen Kurzzeit-Gruppenaustausch: Eine Gruppe von Schülern reist für mindestens 16 Tage nach Deutschland, lebt dort in einer Gastfamilie und nimmt für mindestens 10 Tage am Unterricht in der deutschen Partnerschule teil.

Einzelaustausch (Langzeit)

Wenn die Schule einen Kurzzeitaustausch etabliert hat, können einzelne Schüler am Langzeitaustausch für ein Semester oder ein akademisches Jahr teilnehmen. (unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen)

 

Bitte beachten Sie:

GAPP erhebt keinerlei Bearbeitungsgebühren in Verbindung mit dem Kurzzeitaustausch und GAPP tätigt auch keine Buchungen für die einzelnen Austauschvorhaben. Die vollständige Organisation und Abwicklung der einzelnen Austausche liegt in der Verantwortung der einzelnen Schulleitungen.

Falls Ihre Schule plant, am Austausch 2017 teilzunehmen und bereits eine deutsche Partnerschule hat, finden sie weitere Informationen zum Austausch 2017 unter der Rubrik „Gruppenaustausch“.