News and Impact

02/23/19 Butler Eagle: “Knoch senior studies abroad“

Knoch Senior High School, PA, and Gustav-von-Schloer-Schule in Weiden (Upper Palatinate), Germany, have been participants of the German American Partnership Program since 2008, and organized several group exchanges to visit each other. Now, a Knoch senior student decided to take the plunge to leave the U.S. for the first time in her life in order to study at her High School’s GAPP partner school in Weiden. Looking back, she considers living with her host family for nearly 5 ½ months and attending school in Germany an invaluable experience and definitely the best way to fully immerse oneself in the German way of life.

09/06/2018, Rutland Herald: "RHS hosts German exchange students, teachers"

The RHS has already hosted different student exchanges but now for the first time togehter with a german partner High School. On both sides the teachers in charge agree: The exchange is a live-changing experience for their students. This impression is reinforced by the statements of the students.

08/18/2018, Las Cruces Sun News: "Friendships formed through youth exchange program"

The cities of  Las Cruces and Nienburg will be celebrating 25 years of sisterhood this year. But due to the German American Partnership Program the relationship already lasts  for 31  years now. Therefore the exchange is by now entering its second generation,  which is pretty exciting for everyone.

09/20/2018, WQOW TV News 18: "20 German students learning at North High School"

Twenty german students and their two teachers are currently staying at Eau Claire North High School due to a GAPP exchange. The german students are really enjoying their time especially the various sports offers.

09/20/2018, Vermillion Plaintalk: "Don't Miss Oktoberfest Next Weekend In Vermillion"

It's time for Vermillions annually  Oktoberfest! This isn't just a great celebration for the whole community but also a important activity for the VHS German Club whose students are taking part in the German American Partnership Program. This Year they will also be celebrating the "Year of German-American-Friendship" (Deutschlandjahr USA).

09/25/2018 The Chattanoogan: "SMMHS German Exchange Students Arrive In Chattanooga Sunday"

On the 2nd of October the Signal Mountain Middle High School, Chattanooga,  and  the Beisenkamp Gymnasium from Hamm in Germany will start another one of their GAPP-exchanges. For the first time the german principal will be visiting as well. Three of her four children took part in a GAPP-exchange already. The german guests will stay until October 25th and a lot of exciting activities in the area are planned for them.

10/03/2018, The Litiz Record Express: "30 Warwick exchange students travel to Germany"

30 years of exchange at Warwick High School! Therefore it was just suitable for this summers exchange to travel with a total of 30 students. German teacher Wendy Andrews is enthusiastic : “The primary purpose of the partnership is to promote international friendship between Germany and America."

10/02/2018, Herald & Review: "Art of language: German, Sangamon Valley students learn through exchange program"

Since 12 years the Sangamon Valley High School takes part in  GAPP-exchanges with Germany. Right now a group of 22 German students is staying at Niantic. German and Spanish Teacher Joe Scarnavino, who is organizing the exchange, is proud that his small school is able to offer this opportunity, as he was sure from the very beginning, that the German skills of his students would improve dramatically if they would get to talk and live with German native speakers during the exchange.

10/04/2018, Der Tagesspiegel: „Deutschlandjahr USA“ 2019 Free spirit und free markets

On the3rd of October the "Deutschlandjahr USA" was kicked off in Washington. The Goethe-Institut is responsible for the  project management. President Klaus-Dieter Lehmann says: "The transatlantic relations are a central topic in my life." In this context projects like TOP and GAPP ought to be improved, as they enable young people to take part in the transatlantic-cultural exchange.

10/7/2018, Herald and News: "Celebrating German culture: Mazama High School offers only German language program in the region"

Mazama High School is the only school in the Klamath Baisin, and one of few in Oregon in general, that is offering a German language program. Last week this fact was celebrated at the anual Oktoberfest celebration by 100 language students and their teacher Kathleen Todd. “The kids really get into it,” Todd said. “It is so important to learn about a different culture so we are not so ethnocentric. When you study a foreign language, it’s important to learn the history of the people who speak it.!"

10/1/2018, The Kirkwood Call: "Bridging the GAPP"

"You create friendships, and it doesn’t matter where you come from because we’re the same. That’s the most important thing I’ve learned.",  that's how Helin Derin from Germany, who is currently taking part in a exchange with the Kirkwood High School in Missouri, describes her GAPP-experience.

10/11/2018, Laredo Morning Times: "German, JHS students bridge cultural GAPP"

4,484-miles away from home a group of 18 students from Uelzen in Germany is spending most of October at the Jacksonville High School, Illinois, due to an GAPP-exchange. Besides the improvement of his students language skills the English teacher from Uelzen, Daniel Mettjes, is hoping that his students can broaden their horizons and will be able to learn that both countries have pros and cons.

10/12/2018, C&G Newspapers: "German Exchange Program forms friendships at Walled Lake Northern"

The Walled Lake Northern High School has been taking part in the German American Partnership Program for 14 years now. Since then the interest in the exchange has more than doubled. German Teacher Kaye Lynn Mazurek from the WLNHS expresses that the exchange is a integral part of the school as it allwos the class room learning to come alive.

10/15/2018, Dalton Public School News: "Dalton High School Hosts German Friends for Exchange Experience"

Just one visit can change a lot! When DHS German teacher Ava Wyatt visited the town of Elbingerode, Germany, in 1996 and contacted Gymnasium Hochharz, she probably never imagined what an impact her actions would have. Though the partner school has changed to the Gerhart Hauptman Gymnasium, DHS can already look back on a 22 year long history of German exchanges.

10/16/2018, Ostthüringer Zeitung: "Zeulenroda-Triebes students in the U.S."

Eight students of the Friedrich-Schiller-Gymnasium from Zeulenroda-Triebes set off to Mineral Wells in Texas during the last three weeks to disover the "american way of life". They experienced that a lot of  clichés really apply but also faced some surprises.

10/18/18, Williston Herald: "Exchange program forges a link across oceans"

For 31 years now, every fall the town of Williston welcomes a group of students and chaperones from Germany. The students themselves describe their stay as amazing, as they were able to learn a lot about american culture and explored some interesting places, for example the Yellowstone National Park.

10/18/18, Lokalkompass: "Spirit of time of the town twinning between Wesel and Hagerstown/USA"

Already in the 1950ies the student exchange between the two communities of Wesel (Germany) and Hagerstown (U.S.) started. This year, due to the prize money of the Steuben-Schurz-Society, which values the ongoing commitment of both communities in terms of transatlantic relation, the students were able to devolop a bilingual brochure as well as a cinematic documentation during a summer workshop.

10/23/18, The Pueblo Chieftain: "German students get an inside look at American way of life, Pueblo-style"

For the past decade the Centennial High School in Pueblo and the Remstalgymnasium in Weinstadt have been part of the German American Partnership Program. Over the years the american hosts gained some insight on what the german visitors are really fascinated about. Homecoming, Walmart, a learner's permit to drive and Oreo cookies are only some of them.

10/26/18, Las Cruces Sun News: "Students from Nienburg Germany visit Las Cruces as part of sister cities exchange"

The GAPP-exchange between Las Cruces and Nienburg has already been around for 31 years now. It lead to the establishment of a city-partnership between the two communities, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year. 18 students from Germany were hosted in Las Cruces during the last month and now the american students are looking forward to visit their German friends in May 2019.

10/30/18, centraljersey.com: "NBTHS students willkommen German counterparts"

15 students from the Theodor-Heuss-Gymnasium in Pforzheim, Germany, are currently visiting North Brunswick Township High School due to a GAPP-exchange. During the stay they are discovering a lot of differences between the countries. One of the most surprising things for them is that water is free in U.S. restaurants.

11/2/18, Montana Standard: "Exchange program creates lasting connections between Butte and Germany"

When Sydney Miller started to take german classes in high school she could never have imagined what an impact this decision would have on her life. Now eleven years later she is married to her former german exchange partner and is living in Germany with him and their two sons. This is just one of the many stories that started with Buttes High School passionate German teacher Wendy Schoonen, who is organizing a GAPP-exchange to the partner city of Altensteig in the Black Forest every year.

Austausch GAPP © GAPP/Daniel Seiffert
GAPP in the News CC0 Creative Commons

GAPP Exchanges in the News

Here you find current reports on GAPP exchanges from around the country. Get a feel for the diversity and reality of GAPP!

GAPP Logo GAPP, Inc.

Alumni Stories

Since 1972, GAPP has impacted the lives of more than 360,000 students and teachers. Learn more  by reading some of their individual GAPP stories and feel free to tell us about your own GAPP-experience!

Presse & Wirkung

06.09.2018, Rutland Herald: "RHS empfängt deutsche Austauschschüler*innen sowie deren Lehrkräfte"

Die RHS hat bereits mehrere Schüleraustausche durchgeführt, nun den ersten gemeinsam mit einer deutschen Schule. Die Verantwortlichen auf beiden Seiten sind sich einig: Der Austausch ist eine lebensverändernde Erfahrung für ihre Schülerinnen und Schüler. Diesen Eindruck bekräftigen diese auch in ihren Aussagen.

18.08.2018, Las Cruces Sun News: "Aufbau von Freundschaften durch Schüleraustausch-Programm"

Die Städte Las Cruces und Nienburg feiern in diesem Jahr ihre seit 25 Jahre bestehende Partnerschaft. Eine Beziehung zwischen den beiden Städten besteht durch das German American Partnership Program jedoch bereits seit 31 Jahren. Damit geht der Austausch schon in seine zweite Generation, was für Begeisterung sorgt.

20.09.2018, WQOW TV News 18: "20 deutsche Schülerinnen und Schüler lernen an der North High School"

Zwanzig deutsche Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie ihre zwei Lehrkräfte sind mometnan im Rahmen eines GAPP-Austausches zu Gast an der Eu Claire North High School. Die deutschen Gäste genießen ihre Zeit sehr, besonders das große Angebot der Sportclubs.

20.09.2018, Vermillion Plaintalk: "Verpassen Sie nicht das Oktoberfest nächstes Wochenende in Vermillion"

Es ist Zeit für Vermillions jährliches Oktoberfest! Dieses ist nicht nur ein wunderbares Ereignis für die Gemeinde, sondern auch ein wichtige Aktivität für den VHS German Club, dessen Schülerinnen und Schüler auch am German American Partnership Program teilnehmen. Dieses Jahr wird außerdem das Deutschlandjahr USA gefeiert.

25.09.2018 The Chattanoogan: "Deutsche Austauschschüler der SMMHS kommen am Sonntag in Chattanooga an"

Am zweiten Oktober werden die Signal Mountain High School in Chattanooga und das Beisenkamp Gymnasium in Hamm einen weiteren ihrer GAPP-Austausche beginnen. Zum ersten Mal wird auch die Direktorin des Beisenkamps dabei sein. Drei ihrer vier Kinder haben bereits an einem GAPP-Austausch teilgenommen. Die deutschen Gäste werden bis zum 25. Oktober bleiben und es sind viele aufregende Aktivitäten für sie geplant.

03.10.2018, The Litiz Record Express: "30 Schüler*innen von der Warwick High School reisen nach Deutschland"

Seit dreißig Jahren bestehender Austausch an der Warwick High School! Aus diesem Grund war es nur passend, dass der diesjährige Austausch im Sommer mit genau 30 Schülern stattfand. Die Deutschlehrerin Wendy Andrew ist begeistert: " Der vorrangigste Grund der Partnerschaft ist die internationale Freundschaft zwischen Deutschland und den USA zu fördern."

02.10.2018, Herald & Review: "Die Kunst der Sprache: Deutsch, Sangamon Valley Schüler*innen lernen durch Austauschprogramm"

Seit zwölf Jahren nimmt die Sangamon Valley High School an GAPP-Austauschen mit Deutschland teil. Im Moment ist eine Gruppe von 22 deutschen Schüler*innen zu Gast in Niantic. Deutsch- und Spanischlehrer Joe Scarnavino, welcher den Austausch organisiert, ist stolz darauf, dass seine kleine Schule in der Lage ist dieses Angebot zu leisten. Schließlich war er sich von Anfang an sicher, dass sich die Deutschkenntnisse seiner Schüler*innen dramatisch verbessern würden, wenn diese dazu in der Lage sind mit Muttersprachlern zu kommunizieren und während der Austausche in das Alltagsleben in Deutschland einzutauchen.

04.10.2018, Der Tagesspiegel: „Deutschlandjahr USA“ 2019 Freier Geist und freie Märkte

Am 3. Oktober 2018 wurde in Washington das Deutschlandjahr USA eröffnet. Die Projektleitung liegt dabei beim Goethe-Institut. Dessen Präsident Klaus-Dieter Lehmann  stellt klar: "Für mich sind die transatlantischen Beziehungen ein Lebensthema." Ausgebaut werden sollen in diesem Zuge auch die Projekte TOP und GAPP, welche Schüler*innen eine Chance zum transatlantisch-kulturellen Austausch bieten.

07.10.2018, Herald and News: "Feier der deutschen Kultur: Mazama High School bietet das einzige deutsche Sprachprogramm in der Region"

Die Mazama High School ist die einzige Schule im Klamath Becken, und eine der wenigen Schulen Oregon allgemein, die über ein deutsches Sprachprogramm verfügt. Letzte Woche wurde dieser Fakt bei der alljährlichen Oktoberfest Feier von rund 100 Sprachschülern und deren Lehrerin Kathleen Todd begangen. "Die Kids begeistern sich richtig dafür," sagte Todd. " Es ist so wichtig etwas über eine andere Kultur zu lernen, damit wir nicht zu ethnozentrisch sind. Wenn man eine Fremdsprache lernt, ist es auch wichtig etwas über die Geschichte der Leute, die diese sprechen, zu lernen." 

01.10.2018, The Kirkwood Call: "Eine Lücke schließen"

"Man schließt Freundschaften und es macht keinen Unterschied wo man herkommt, weil wir gleich sind. Dass ist das Wichtigste, was ich gelernt habe.", so beschreibt  Helin Derin aus Deutschland, welche momentan am Austausch mit der Kirkwood High School in Missouri teilnimmt, ihre GAPP-Erfahrung.

11.10.2018, Laredo Morning Times: "Deutsch, JHS Schüler*innen überbrücken kulturelle Unterschiede"

4,484 Meilen von zu Hause entfernt verbringt eine Gruppe von 18 deutschen Schüler*innen aus Ülzen den größten Teil des Oktobers an der Jacksonville High School in Illinois. Dies geschieht im Rahmen eines GAPP-Austausches. Neben der Verbesserung der Sprachkenntnisse seiner Schüler*innen hofft der Ülzener Englischlehrer, Daniel Mettjes, dass diese außerdem ihre Horizonte erweitern können und lernen, dass beide Länder sowohl Vor- als auch Nachteile haben.

12.10.2018, C&G Newspapers: "Deutsches Austauschprogramm formt Freundschaften an der Walled Lake Northern High School"

Seit 14 Jahren nimmt die Walled Lake Northern High School schon am German American Partnership Program teil. Seitdem hat sich das Interesse am Austausch mehr als verdoppelt. Die Deutschlehrerin der WLNHS, Kaye Lynn Mazurek, äußert, dass der Austausch ein zentrales Element an der Schule darstellt, da dieser das Lernen im Klassenraum zum Leben erweckt.

15.10.2018, Dalton Public School News: "Dalton High School beherbergt deutsche Freunde im Zuge eines Austausches"

Ein einziger Besuch kann viel ins Rollen bringen! Als Ava Wyatt, die Deutschlehrerin der DHS, im Jahre 1996 die Stadt Elbingerode besucht und Kontakt mit dem Gymnasium Hochharz aufnimmt, hat sie sich sicher nicht vorstellen können, wie stark sich ihr Einsatz auswirken würde. Mittlerweile ist die Partnerschule das Gerhart Hauptmann Gymnasium und die DHS kann bereits auf einen 22-jährigen Autausch mit Deutschland zurückblicken.

16.10.2018, Ostthüringer Zeitung: "Zeulenroda-Triebes Schüler in den USA"

Acht Schüler*innen des Friedrich-Schiller-Gymnasiums aus Zeulenroda-Triebes begaben sich in den letzten drei Wochen im Rahmen eines Schüleraustausches auf die Suche nach dem "american way of life" in Mineral Wells, Texas. Dabei stellten sie fest, dass tatsächlich viele Klischees zutreffen, allerdings erlebten sie auch einige Überraschungen.

18.10.18, Williston Herald: "Austauschprogramm formt eine Verbindung über den Ozean hinweg"

Seit 31 Jahren begrüßt Williston nun schon jeden Herbst eine Gruppe von Schüler*innen und Begleitpersonen aus Deutschland. Die Schüler*innen selbst beschreiben ihren Aufenthalt als sehr gelungen, da sie sehr viel über die amerikanische Kultur erfahren haben und auch einige interessante Plätze, wie z.B. den Yellowstone Nationalpark, besuchen konnten.

18.10.18, Lokalkompass: "Zeitgeist der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Wesel und Hagerstown/USA"

Bereits in den 1950er Jahren begann der Schüleraustausch zwischen den zwei Gemeinden Wesel (Deutschland) und Hagerstown (USA). In diesem Jahr entstand durch das Preisgeld der Steuben-Schurz-Gesellschaft, welche das Engagement bei der Aufrechterhaltung der Beziehung der beiden Gemeinden würdigt, während eines Sommerworkshops eine zweisprachige Broschüre sowie eine filmische Dokumentation.

23.10.18, The Pueblo Chieftain: "Deutsche Schüler*innen bekommen einen Einblick in den amerikanischen Alltag, Pueblo-style"

Seit etwa zehn Jahren sind die Centennial High School in Pueblo und das Remstalgymnasium in Weinstadt teil des German American Partnership Programs. Über die Jahre haben die amerikanischen Gastgeber einen Überblick darüber bekommen, was die deutschen Gäste am meisten fasziniert. Dazu gehören unter anderem  Homecoming-Tänze, Walmart, der Führerschein ab 16 Jahren und Oreo Kekse.

26.10.18, Las Cruces Sun News: "Schüler*innen aus Nienburg, Deutschland, besuchen Las Cruces im Zuge der Städtepartnerschaft"

Der GAPP-Austausch zwischen Las Cruces und Nienburg besteht mittlerweile schon seit 31 Jahren. Aus ihm resultierte die Partnerschaft der beiden Städte, welche dieses Jahr ihren fünfundzwanzigsten Geburtstag feiert. Im Zuge dessen besuchten 18 Schüler*innen aus Deutschland  im letzten Monat Las Cruces. Die amerikanischen Schüler*innen fiebern nun dem nächsten Mai entgegen, denn dann besuchen sie ihrerseits die neuen Freunde in Deutschland.

30.10.18, centraljersey.com: "NBTHS Schüler*innnen begrüßen ihre deutschen Freunde"

Fünfzehn Schüler*innen des Theodor-Heuss-Gymnasiums in Pforzheim besuchen momentan die North Brunswick Township High School im Rahmen eines GAPP-Austausches. Während ihres Aufenthaltes entdecken sie eine Menge an Unterschieden zwischen den Ländern. Eine der größten Überraschungen ist für sie, dass das Wasser in amerikanischen Restaurants kostenlos ist.

02.11.18, Montana Standard: "Austauschprogramm schafft nachhaltige Verbindungen zwischen Butte und Deutschland"

Als Sydney Miller während ihrer High School-Zeit damit begann deutsch zu lernen, ahnte sie noch nicht welch enormen Einfluss diese Entscheidung auf ihr Leben haben würde. Nun, elf Jahre später, ist sie mit ihrem einstigen Autauschpartner verheiratet und lebt zusammen mit ihm sowie ihren zwei Söhnen in Deutschland. Dies ist nur eine der vielen Geschichten die mit der passionierten Deutschlehrerin der Butte High School, Wendy Schoonen, beginnen, welche jedes Jahr einen GAPP-Austausch in die Schwesternstadt Altensteig im Schwarzwald organisiert.

Austausch GAPP Foto: Goethe-Institut/Daniel Seiffert
GAPP in the News CC0 Creative Commons

GAPP Partnerschaften in der Presse

Hier finden Sie aktuelle Presseartikel über GAPP Austausche. Lesen Sie selbst, wie unterschiedlich GAPP Partnerschaften und Austausche umgesetzt werden!

GAPP Logo GAPP, Inc.

GAPP-Alumni

Seit 1972 haben mehr als 360.000 Schüler an einem GAPP-Austausch teilgenommen. Hier können Sie einige unserer GAPP-Alumni kennenlernen, Presseartikel über einzelne Schulpartnerschaften lesen und wir laden Sie ein, selbst Ihre eigenen GAPP-Erlebnisse mit uns zu teilen.

Testimonials