German for Hire

  •    © Goethe-Institut

‘German for Hire’ gives middle and high school teachers the opportunity to invite German university students into their classrooms to give youth-oriented presentations on different topics in modern German life and culture. These ambassadors will provide an authentic and interactive classroom session in German language, history or social studies classes. Students will be able to discuss current events and experience German history first hand through a personal encounter. They can connect with their German guests through their shared excitement for films, music, and sports. Any school in the United States is eligible to participate - all you need to do is contact us and we will try to match you up with an ambassador near you.
 

If you cannot go to Germany, let Germany come to you

  ©

German for Hire Events

Thursday, 9/12/2018, 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm (PST): Informational webinar 

Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

For German Teachers

You want to offer your students a special treat? Invite Germany’s “Young Ambassadors” into your classroom.
 

Photo: Liesa Johannsen Photo: Liesa Johannsen

For Germany's Young Ambassadors

What does America think about Germany? Find out for yourself when you start an intercultural dialogue with American high school students. 

German for Hire Testimonials

  • Haddon Township High School, NJ © Scott Partenheimer
    Haddon Township High School, NJ: Participating in the program German for Hire has been a memorable experience for me. In a single day I stood in front of six different classes, spoke about life in Germany, answered questions and talked to the students. All of them were very intested and motivated. Claire Roder
  • Haddon Township High School, NJ Teacher Testimonial ©
    Haddon Township High School, NJ: I was able to talk to Claire beforehand and together we tailored a program to meet the needs of my students. Claire spent the entire day with us during which she delivered a powerpoint presentation about her life in Germany, and patiently answered questions from all 110 of my students.  All of my students enjoyed the experience of speaking and listening to a native speaker, and learned a little bit more about the German culture as well. Scott H. Partenheimer
  • Gunn High School, CA © Denise Reck
    Gunn High School, CA: The students thoroughly enjoyed my presentation about migration in Germany. Afterwards they had a great time making Döner Kebabs, Germany’s favorite fast food. Denise Reck
  • Los Gatos High School, CA © Goethe Institut
    Los Gatos High School, CA: The students had fun while practicing their German. German for Hire is an ideal opportunity to make German more attractive. It’s simply a great program! Verena Hehl
  • Chinle High School, AZ © Maja Bösser
    Chinle High School, AZ: The two days I spent at Chinle High School were pretty amazing and I hope that I was able to drum up enthusiasm for Germany and for learning the German language. The students extended a warm and open welcome to me and I was even given the opportunity to attend a Navajo lesson and to get an impression of the language. Maja Bösser
  • Chinle High School, AZ Teacher ©
    Chinle High School, AZ: We truly enjoyed having Maja with us and listening to her reports about studying in Germany. There are many students in my class now that could imagine to study in Germany themselves. Maja even contributed to our information session for the new freshman classes by providing information about the German language and Germany itself to around 100 students. I will definitely hire a young ambassador again next year. Kathleen Shull
  • Claremont High School, CA © Jennifer Tsai
    Claremont High School, CA: German for Hire is a fantastic program. Many students didn’t know anything about Marburg, the Grimm Brothers or Frankfurt and it was great for me to see them being so interested in these topics and to be able to share my German “world“ with them. Natascha Vonderschmitt
  • Cheyenne Mountain High School, CO © Goethe Institut
    Cheyenne Mountain High School, CO: I’m still so delighted with the school and the students that I met. Doug is a great teacher and I had the chance to learn so much in a single day. I was fascinated by the language level of the students – they really understood everything I was saying and showed interest in my presentation. Kathrin Bickert
  • Chandler High School, AZ © Ian Hersey
    Chandler High School, AZ: Right from the beginning of the class the teacher handed over the classroom management to me – which I appreciated greatly and perceived as a huge vote of confidence in my teaching skills. During the lesson I tried to speak slowly and to paraphrase words that the students might not know. They were all very open-minded, interested and made great efforts to answer my questions in German. We finished off my visit with a jolly Christmas celebration. It was a great pleasure for me! Christoph Schreiber
  • Old Bridge High School, NJ Teacher Testimonial ©
    Old Bridge High School, NJ: The students loved having a 'true' German in class! They were able to apply what they had learned in class - both their language and knowledge of culture - and they enjoyed Rouven's presentation about Christmas in Germany! We loved the program and hope to have another 'German for hire' in the classroom soon!! Brita Schmitz
  • Diablo Valley College, CA © Goethe Institut
    Diablo Valley College, CA: The students showed immense interest in the life of young university students in Germany. Now they know about BAföG (the federal student financial aid), Kochkarussell and the different educational paths in Germany. It was such a pleasure to tell them about my everyday student life in Paderborn and to share some photos of the university, the students‘ accommodations and the city with them. I would gladly support this German-American cultural exchange again! Rebecca Meier
  • Diablo Valley College, CA Teacher Testimonial ©
    Diablo Valley College, CA: Rebecca designed her presentation as an interactive quiz and thereby managed to include every single student. They were all very enthusiastic about her visit and highly interested in her Spotify list with German music. It was striking that a young ambassador who is in the same age group as the university students, and who has just come from Germany, does have a completely different emotional effect on the students than a professor. For many of them, Rebecca’s visit was certainly the highlight of the semester! Tina Schrader
  • Litchfield Senior High School, MN © Goethe Institut
    Litchfield Senior High School, MN: The school visit was incredibly instructive for me. The teacher offered me the opportunity to accompany her during the entire day, so I could get an insight into the everyday work of an American teacher. During my presentation I informed the students about the possibilities of studying a foreign language such as German would open up for them after finishing High School. Besides this, I introduced them to some German singers and bands to familiarize them with German music. Rena von Essen
  • The Paragon School, FL Teacher Testimonial © Sara Hoefler
    The Paragon School, FL: Students were thrilled that Lea came to visit us! Lea presented on typical German teen activities and introduced them to her hometown. Beside the first-hand look into German teen life, they practiced important social skills - asking appropriate questions, interacting with a positive near-peer role model. We are looking forward to having more German Ambassadors visit us in the future. Sara Hoefler
  • Nolan Catholic High School,TX © Madeline O'Bryan
    Nolan Catholic High School, TX: The day at the high school was a full success, not only for myself, but also for the students. They seemed very interested, sincere, and curious, and enjoyed getting to know a native speaker who could provide answers to their questions. I believe that this small but educationally valuable cultural exchange not only brings a bit of Germany to the US, but also encourages American students to continue learning German in higher education and even consider a trip, an exchange program or a degree in Germany. Selina Pazen
  • Independence High School, CA Teacher Testimonial ©
    Independence High School, CA : Mareike was very cooperative and flexible in the process of preparing and making her visit to our school possible. Her contribution greatly enhanced the lesson which was very much appreciated by the students. Katharina Eldada

German for Hire

  •    © Goethe-Institut

„German for Hire“ ermöglicht es Lehrkräften an Middle- und High-Schools, junge Deutsche, die sich noch in der Ausbildung befinden, in ihren Unterricht einzuladen, um dort mithilfe von Präsentationen einen Eindruck vom Leben und von der Kultur in Deutschland zu vermitteln. Als junge Botschafter verschaffen sie auf interaktive Weise einen authentischen Einblick in die deutsche Sprache, Gesellschaft und Geschichte. Amerikanische Schüler erhalten die Gelegenheit, sich mit aktuellen Geschehnissen auseinanderzusetzen und der deutschen Geschichte aus Sicht eines Deutschen zu begegnen. Gleichzeitig können sich die amerikanischen Schüler mit den deutschen Studenten über Musik, Sport und Film austauschen. Jede Schule in den USA ist herzlich willkommen, am Projekt teilzunehmen. Nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf und wir werden für Sie einen passenden Botschafter in der Umgebung finden.
 

Wenn du nicht nach Deutschland kommen kannst, DANN lass deutschland doch zu dir kommen

  ©

German for Hire Events

Donnerstag, 11.10.2018, 17:00  - 18:00 Uhr (PST): Informations-Webinar 

Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Für DeutschLehrer

Möchten Sie Ihren Schülern mal etwas ganz Besonderes bieten? Laden Sie mithilfe des Goethe-Instituts junge deutsche „Botschafter“ in Ihr Klassenzimmer ein.

Photo: Liesa Johannsen Photo: Liesa Johannsen

Für Junge Deutsche Botschafter

Was denken Amerikaner über Deutsche? Bei einem interkulturellen Dialog mit amerikanischen High-School-Schülern kannst du es herausfinden. 

German for Hire Erfahrungsberichte

  • Haddon Township High School, NJ © Scott Partenheimer
    Haddon Township High School, NJ: Für mich war das „German for Hire“-Programm eine unvergessliche Erfahrung. Ich stand an einem Tag vor sechs verschiedenen Klassen, habe über das Leben in Deutschland berichtet, Fragen beantwortet und mich mit den Schülern unterhalten, welche allesamt sehr interessiert und motiviert waren. Claire Roder
  • Haddon Township High School, NJ Teacher Testimonial ©
    Haddon Township High School, NJ: Ich konnte mich im Voraus direkt mit Claire austauschen und gemeinsam erstellten wir ein Programm, das genau den Anforderungen meiner Schüler entsprach. Claire verbrachte den ganzen Tag mit uns und zeigte in einer Power-Point-Präsentation das Leben in Deutschland, beantwortete alle Fragen von insgesamt 110 Schülern. Jeder hatte die Chance, mit der deutschen Muttersprachlerin zu sprechen und ihr zuzuhören und konnte dabei auch etwas mehr über die deutsche Kultur lernen. Scott H. Partenheimer
  • Gunn High School, CA © Denise Reck
    Gunn High School, CA: Den Schülern hat meine Präsentation über Migration in Deutschland sehr gefallen. Im Anschluss hatten sie großen Spaß dabei, Döner selber zu machen. Denise Reck
  • Los Gatos High School, CA © Goethe Institut
    Los Gatos High School, CA: Die Schüler hatten viel Spaß und konnten viel Deutsch sprechen. German for Hire bietet eine besondere Gelegenheit, Deutsch attraktiv zu machen, einfach ein tolles Programm! Verena Hehl
  • Chinle High School, AZ © Maja Bösser
    Chinle High School, AZ: Die zwei Tage, die ich an der Chinle High School verbringen durfte, waren sehr eindrucksvoll und ich hoffe, dass ich einige Schüler für Deutschland und Deutschlernen begeistern konnte. Die Schüler waren sehr offen und haben mich herzlich empfangen. Außerdem hatte ich die Chance, an einer Stunde Navajo teilzunehmen und einen Eindruck von der Sprache zu bekommen. Maja Bösser
  • Chinle High School, AZ Teacher ©
    Chinle High School, AZ: Es war wunderschön, Maja hier zu haben und ihren Erzählungen über das Studium in Deutschland zuzuhören. Wir haben jetzt sehr viele Schüler, die sich dafür interessieren, eventuell in Deutschland zu studieren. Maja hat sogar an unserer Informationsveranstaltung für die neuen Freshman-Klassen teilgenommen und dabei über 100 Schüler über die deutsche Sprache und Deutschland informiert. Ich werde nächstes Jahr auch wieder einen jungen Botschafter bestellen. Kathleen Shull
  • Claremont High School, CA © Jennifer Tsai
    Claremont High School, CA: German for Hire ist echt ein super Programm. Viele Schüler haben noch nichts über Marburg, die Gebrüder Grimm oder Frankfurt gewusst, daher war es total toll für mich, sie so interessiert zu sehen und meine deutsche "Welt" teilen zu können. Natascha Vonderschmitt
  • Cheyenne Mountain High School, CO © Goethe Institut
    Cheyenne Mountain High School, CO: Ich bin immer noch begeistert von der Schule und den SchülerInnen. Doug ist echt ein toller Lehrer und ich konnte in nur einem Tag schon so viel mitnehmen. Auch das Deutschniveau der SchülerInnen hat mich fasziniert. Sie haben echt alles verstanden und waren sehr interessiert. Kathrin Bickert
  • Chandler High School, AZ © Ian Hersey
    Chandler High School, AZ: Zu Beginn der Unterrichtsstunde hat mir die Lehrerin sehr unkompliziert die Unterrichtsführung überlassen — ein großer Vertrauensvorschuss, wie ich finde. Während des Unterrichts habe ich versucht, langsam zu sprechen und Wörter, die mir schwierig erschienen, zu umschreiben. Die Schüler waren alle unheimlich aufgeschlossen, interessiert und haben sich viel Mühe gegeben, meine Fragen auf Deutsch zu beantworten. Nach der Arbeit kam dann das Vergnügen in Form einer kleinen Weihnachtsfeier. Mir war es eine wahre Freude. Christoph Schreiber
  • Old Bridge High School, NJ Teacher Testimonial ©
    Old Bridge High School, NJ: Die Begeisterung über den Besuch aus Deutschland war groß, da sowohl Sprachkenntnisse als auch das Wissen über die deutsche Kultur direkt angewandt werden konnten. Vor allem gefiel den SchülerInnen Rouvens Präsentation über Weihnachten in Deutschland! Wir mochten das Programm sehr und hoffen, dass wir bald wieder einen „German-for-Hire-Botschafter“ in unserem Klassenzimmer willkommen heißen dürfen!! Brita Schmitz
  • Diablo Valley College, CA © Goethe Institut
    Diablo Valley College, CA: Die Studierenden waren sehr interessiert daran, wie es sich in Deutschland als junger Mensch lebt und wie sich „das Studentenleben“ dort gestaltet. Sie wissen jetzt zum Beispiel, was BAföG ist, wie ein Kochkarussell funktioniert und welche Bildungswege es gibt. Es hat mir viel Freude bereitet, ihnen auch von meinem Studierendenalltag in Paderborn zu erzählen und Fotos von der Uni, Studentenwohnheimen und der Stadt zu zeigen. Ich würde jederzeit wieder den deutsch-amerikanischen Kulturaustausch unterstützen! Rebecca Meier
  • Diablo Valley College, CA Teacher Testimonial ©
    Diablo Valley College, CA: Rebecca hat ihre Präsentation als interaktives Quiz gestaltet und so die Studenten die ganze Zeit interaktiv einbezogen. Die Studenten waren sehr begeistert von ihrem Besuch und besonders interessiert an ihrer Spotify-Liste mit deutscher Musik. Es war deutlich sichtbar, dass ein deutscher Botschafter, der in derselben Altersgruppe wie die Studenten und "frisch" aus Deutschland ist, einen ganz anderen emotionalen Effekt auf die Schüler hat als ein Professor. Rebeccas Besuch war mit Sicherheit das absolute Semesterhighlight für viele! Tina Schrader
  • Litchfield Senior High School, MN © Goethe Institut
    Litchfield Senior High School, MN: Der Schulbesuch war unglaublich lehrreich für mich. Die Lehrerin hat mir erlaubt, den ganzen Schultag mit ihr zu verbringen, so dass ich auch einen Einblick in den amerikanischen Lehreralltag bekommen habe. Ich habe darüber gesprochen, was die Schüler nach der Schule mit Deutsch anfangen können und habe verschiedene deutsche Künstler vorgestellt, um den Schülern die deutsche Musik etwas näherzubringen. Rena von Essen
  • The Paragon School, FL Teacher Testimonial © Sara Hoefler
    The Paragon School, FL: Die SchülerInnen waren begeistert von Leas Besuch! Lea präsentierte uns den Alltag einer typischen Jugendlichen in Deutschland und stellte ihre Heimatstadt vor. Durch German for Hire konnten sie aus erster Hand erfahren, wie deutsche Jugendliche leben. Zudem konnten sie wichtige soziale Kompetenzen üben – das Stellen von angemessenen Fragen und die Interaktion mit einem Rollenvorbild ähnlichen Alters. Wir würden uns sehr über einen erneuten German for Hire Besuch freuen. Sara Hoefler
  • Nolan Catholic High School,TX © Madeline O'Bryan
    Nolan Catholic High School, TX: Der Tag an der High School war ein voller Erfolg, nicht nur für mich, sondern auch für die Schüler. Sie waren sehr interessiert, offen und neugierig, und fanden es toll, mit einem Muttersprachler in Kontakt treten zu können, der ihnen Antworten zu ihren Fragen geben konnte. Meiner Meinung nach bringt dieser kleine, aber pädagogisch wertvolle kulturelle Austausch nicht nur ein Stück Deutschland in die USA, sondern ermutigt amerikanische Schüler auch dazu, mit dem Erlernen der deutschen Sprache an einem College fortzufahren oder sogar eine Reise, ein Austauschprogramm oder ein Studium in Deutschland in Erwägung zu ziehen. Selina Pazen
  • Independence High School, CA Teacher Testimonial ©
    Independence High School, CA : Mareike war sehr hilfsbereit und flexibel, von der Planung bis zur Durchführung und ihr Besuch hat den Unterricht bereichert und wurde von den SchülerInnen sehr geschätzt. Katharina Eldada