Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Short-term group exchange © GAPP / B. Ludewig

For new and current GAPP schools
Plan your next exchange

GAPP is one of very few school exchange programs rooted in long-term partnerships between partner schools, teachers, and communities. We strive to enable partner schools to build transatlantic relationships that go beyond a singular student exchange. Below you will find all the information you need to continue building students' trust and interest in German / American culture and language.  

Coronavirus Update

In light of recent spread of COVID-19 virus, we ask you to update GAPP on the status of your 2020 exchange to Germany. Please fill out the short form here. We appreciate your cooperation!

 

German-american virtual exchange (GAVE)

Online exchange materials for teachers to use in your German classroom -- whether you are currently working with students virtually or face-to-face!


Submit Grant Application

application Deadlines 2020

February 1, 2020
For a spring / summer 2020 exchange | Groups departing to Germany before August 1, 2020

June 1, 2020
For a fall / winter 2020 exchange | Groups departing to Germany August 1 - December 31, 2020

Please note: Applications will be reviewed after the respective deadline. We will do our best to support as many schools as possible but cannot guarantee that all schools will receive a grant.

Start Online Grant Application


Grant Information

GAPP zone map
 

GRANTS for TEACHERS & CHAPERONES

Accompanying GAPP teachers receive airfare subsidies. GAPP groups of more than 10 students are eligible for 2 teacher grants. The rate is calculated as a flat rate depending on the average regional fare.

GRANTS for GROUPS

GAPP groups receive airfare subsidies depending on the region of their departure. Finalize your participating students list and travel dates and apply for a travel grant.

Supporting documents for upload with your grant application 2020

Please save both documents above to your computer, fill out, and upload them when prompted in the online application form.

EXCHANGE SCHOLARSHIPS FOR INDIVIDUAL STUDENTS

Individual GAPP scholarships are exclusively for financially challenged students. You can submit an application on behalf of your student by filling out the online application form here.


Travel, Accommodation & Peer Advice

GAPP groups may fly with any carrier of their choice. However, Lufthansa and Icelandair are offering special conditions to GAPP groups for the Exchange Season 2020. GAPP Groups on Lufthansa need to be booked through Objectix to obtain special conditions. Click on the links below to find out more.
 

Find out more about Icelandair GAPP Exchange offer 2020


Peer advice

If you have very specific questions about exchange logistics (e.g. which carriers to use, best tours in Berlin/Munich/Cologne etc.) we would like to encourage you to join our GAPP Teacher Forum on Facebook. This FB forum is a closed group of currently 500+ American GAPP coordinators and teachers and it is administered by GAPP. Only members can see and submit posts; therefore, it is a safe and supportive environment where you can ask for advice from experienced GAPP colleagues, share your own experiences, and connect with fellow GAPP coordinators from around the U.S.
 
Logo Join our GAPP Teacher Forum! Get expert peer advice


Insurance

GAPP does not provide personal liability, health, or accident insurance to groups. However, GAPP groups must have insurance for students and teachers (liability, health & accident) when traveling. Personal liability, health, and accident insurance are mandatory. The GAPP coordinator is responsible to get the group insurance.
However, GAPP provides professional liability and accident insurance for up to two accompanying teachers per group. We can offer this free liability insurance even to groups that do not receive funding in a given year. So it is always worthwhile to hand in your grant application.

You may enroll through the online Grant Application 2020 for coverage through a policy of the Goethe-Institut Munich. With your grant checks you will receive a confirmation of your enrollment, basic information about coverage and information how to contact the insurance broker Klemmer International Versicherungsmakler GmbH in case of an emergency.
 
GAPP does not charge a fee for any of its services for the short term GAPP exchange. GAPP also does not make any arrangements, such as flight or hotel bookings for the traveling GAPP groups. The respective school administration, parents and guardians, teachers/coordinators, students, and accompanying individuals, are solely responsible for the implementation of the program. The participating school and individuals accept herewith all risks and responsibilities while carrying out the GAPP exchange.   

We advise all GAPP teachers and coordinators to get administrative approval from their school. Organizing and conducting the program with approval from your school administration legitimizes the GAPP exchange as a part of the regular school program. It provides you with legal protection and support.
 

General Visa and Traveler Safety Information

U.S. citizens do not need to apply for a visa to enter Germany for a GAPP group exchange trip. Upon entering Germany they will be issued a stamp in their passport allowing them to stay within the Schengen Area, which includes Germany, for up to 90 days.
U.S. residents with foreign passports may not be able to enter Germany and the Schengen Area without a visa. Please consult the Visa Regulations Overview of the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) for detailed information.

If the foreign citizen is a legal U.S. resident and their citizenship requires a visa, they may be eligible to be issued a visa by a German Consulate or Embassy in the United States. This website will guide you through the application process and help you to find a German mission in the U.S.
 
Please also refer to the Schengen Visa – Tourist factsheet and checklist for comprehensive information.
Please make sure to enroll in the free Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) provided by the U.S. State Department. This is a key resource to help the U.S. Diplomatic Missions in Germany reach out to you in case of an emergency.

The Traveler’s Checklist provided by the State Department for a short summary of the most important points and useful further links.

GAPP Evaluation Documents

Once you have concluded your exchange, we would appreciate it if you would submit your feedback to us, which we will use to improve our program. Please find our program evaluation documents for teachers, students and parents/guardians below.


Note: Please make sure to always obtain parental/guardian consent for our GAPP student evaluation.


Changing Partner Schools

If, for whatever reason, you need to change partner schools, please remember to first let your partner school know about your plans.

If a change in partner schools is necessary, visit www.partnerschulnetz.de to set up a new profile and find your new partner school.

Please inform us about your new partner school by sending an email to gapp@goethe.de.


Workshops & Training

GAPP supports passionate teachers, who want their students to have the best education possible. We offer workshops, training and resources on coordinating successful exchanges. Visit our Workshops and Training page for the latest updates.

Workshops and Training


Long-Term Exchange

Quote
© GAPP / B. Ludewig

GAPP, Inc. is designated by the U.S. Department of State as an authorized visa sponsor organization of the “Exchange Visitor Program”. The long-term individual exchange is only available to
  • GAPP students who have previously participated in a short-term group exchange
  • teachers working at one of the five official German Schools Abroad in the U.S.
  • German Language Advisors (Berater für Deutschunttericht) as determined by the Central Agency for German Schools Abroad (ZfA)
Long-term individual exchange


Our Partners

German American Partnership Program is administered by the Goethe-Institut and funded by the German Federal Foreign Office and the U.S. Department of State. GAPP is also supported by the WunderbarTogether Campaign. In Germany, GAPP is administered by our partner, the Pädagogischer Austauschdienst (PAD).
 

In cooperation with

supported by

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Short-term group exchange © GAPP / B. Ludewig

Für neue und aktuelle GAPP-Schulen
Planen Sie Ihren nächsten Austausch

GAPP ist eines der wenigen Schulaustauschprogramme, die auf langfristigen Partnerschaften zwischen Partnerschulen, Lehrkräften und Gemeinden beruhen. Wir unterstützen Schulen beim Aufbau transatlantischer Beziehungen, die über einen Schüleraustausch hinausgehen. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alle Informationen, die Sie benötigen, um das Vertrauen und das Interesse der Schüler*innen an der deutschen / amerikanischen Kultur und Sprache weiter auszubauen.

Aktuelles zum Stand Coronavirus

German-american virtual exchange (GAVE)

Online-Austauschmaterialien für Lehrkräfte, die Sie in Ihrem Deutschunterricht verwenden können - egal, ob Sie derzeit virtuell oder im Präsenzformat mit Schüler*innen arbeiten!


Zuschussantrag stellen

Bewerbungsfristen 2020

1. Februar, 2020
Für Austausch im Frühling / Herbst 2020 | Gruppen, die vor dem 1. August 2020 nach Deutschland abreisen

1. Juni, 2020
Für Austausch im Herbst /Winter 2020 | Gruppen, die zwischen dem 1. August und 31. Dezember 2020 nach Deutschland abreisen

Bitte beachten: Bewerbungen werden nach Ablauf der jeweiligen Frist geprüft. Wir werden unser Bestes tun, um so viele Schulen wie möglich zu unterstützen, können jedoch nicht garantieren, dass alle Schulen einen Zuschuss erhalten.

Zuschussantrag stellen


Informationen zu den Zuschüssen

GAPP zone map

Zuschüsse für Lehrkräfte und Begleiter

Begleitende GAPP-Lehrkräfte erhalten Flugzuschüsse. GAPP-Gruppen mit mehr als 10 Schüler*innen haben Anspruch auf 2 Lehrerzuschüsse. Der Tarif wird pauschal nach dem durchschnittlichen regionalen Tarif berechnet.

Zuschüsse für GRUPPEN

GAPP-Gruppen erhalten je nach Abflugregion Flugzuschüsse. Stellen Sie Ihre Teilnehmerliste und Reisedaten fertig und beantragen Sie ein Reisestipendium.

Untertützende Dokumente für Ihren Zuschussantrag 2020 zum Hochladen

Bitte speichern Sie die obigen Dokumente auf Ihrem Computer ab, füllen Sie sie aus und laden Sie sie hoch, wenn Sie im Online-Bewerbungsformular dazu aufgefordert werden.

AUSTAUSCHSTIPENDIEN FÜR EINZELschüler*innen

Individuelle GAPP-Stipendien richten sich ausschließlich an finanziell benachteiligte Schüler*innen. Sie können eine Bewerbung für Ihre*n Schüler*in einreichen, indem Sie das Online-Bewerbungsformular hier ausfüllen.

Wichtige Informationen zu Ihrem bevorstehenden Austausch

Zuschussantrag stellen


Reise, Unterkunft & Peer-Beratung

Fluggesellschaften und unterkunft

GAPP-Gruppen können mit der Fluggesellschaft ihrer Wahl fliegen. Lufthansa und Icelandair bieten GAPP-Gruppen jedoch Sonderkonditionen für die Austauschsaison 2021 an. Klicken Sie auf die Links unten, um mehr zu erfahren.

Lufthansa Logo

Lufthansa über Objectix

GAPP-Gruppen auf Lufthansa müssen über Objectix gebucht werden, um Sonderkonditionen zu erhalten.

Icelandair Logo

Icelandair

Unten können Sie den Icelandair-GAPP Vertrag für das Reisen 2020-2021 heruntenladen.

Hostelling International Logo

Hostelling International

Hostelling International ist ein weltweites Netzwerk an gemeinnützigen Jugendherbergsverbänden.

City hostels Logo

City-Hostels

Sieben moderne City-Hostels in Bonn, Duisburg, Düsseldorf und Köln bieten jeder Zielgruppe die passende Übernachtungsmöglichkeit.

Peer-Beratung

Wenn Sie ganz spezielle Fragen zur Austauschlogistik haben (z. B. welche Fluggesellschaften sich anbieten, die besten Touren in Berlin / München / Köln usw.), empfehlen wir Ihnen, unserem GAPP-Lehrerforum auf Facebook beizutreten. Dieses FB-Forum ist eine geschlossene Gruppe von derzeit über 500 amerikanischen GAPP-Koordinator*innen und -Lehrer*innen und wird von GAPP verwaltet. Nur Mitglieder können Beiträge sehen und übermitteln. Sie können sich somit in einer sicheren Umgebung von erfahrenen GAPP-Kolleg*innen beraten lassen, Ihre eigenen Erfahrungen austauschen und mit anderen GAPP-Koordinator*innen aus den USA in Kontakt treten.
 
Facebook Logo Treten Sie unserem GAPP Teacher Forum bei und lassen Sie sich von Experten beraten!


Versicherung

GAPP bietet Gruppen keine persönliche Haftpflicht-, Kranken- oder Unfallversicherung an. GAPP-Gruppen müssen jedoch eine Versicherung für Schüler*innen und Lehrkräfte (Haftung, Gesundheit und Unfall) auf Reisen haben. Persönliche Haftung, Kranken- und Unfallversicherung sind obligatorisch. Die GAPP-Koordinator*innen sind für den Abschluss der Gruppenversicherung verantwortlich.
GAPP bietet jedoch eine Berufshaftpflicht- und Unfallversicherung für bis zu zwei begleitende Lehrkräfte pro Gruppe an. Wir können diese kostenlose Haftpflichtversicherung auch Gruppen anbieten, die in einem bestimmten Jahr keine Finanzierung erhalten. Es lohnt sich also immer, Ihren Zuschussantrag einzureichen.

Sie können sich über den Online-Zuschussantrag 2020 für den Versicherungsschutz über eine Police des Goethe-Instituts München anmelden. Mit Ihrem Zuschussscheck erhalten Sie eine Anmeldebestätigung, grundlegende Informationen zum Versicherungsschutz und Informationen, wie Sie sich im Notfall an den Versicherungsmakler Klemmer International Versicherungsmakler GmbH wenden können.
 
GAPP erhebt keine Gebühr für jegliche Dienste für den Kurzzeit-GAPP-Austausch. GAPP trifft auch keine Vorkehrungen hinsichtlich der Flug- oder Hotelbuchungen für die reisenden GAPP-Gruppen. Für die Durchführung des Programms sind ausschließlich die jeweilige Schulleitung, Eltern und Erziehungsberechtigte, Lehrer*innen / Koordinator*innen, Schüler*innen und Begleitpersonen verantwortlich. Die teilnehmende Schule und Einzelpersonen übernehmen hiermit alle Risiken und jegliche Verantwortung bei der Durchführung des GAPP-Austauschs.

Wir empfehlen allen GAPP-Lehrer*innen und -Koordinator*innen, die behördliche Genehmigung ihrer Schule einzuholen. Die Organisation und Durchführung des Programms mit Genehmigung Ihrer Schulverwaltung legitimiert den GAPP-Austausch als Teil des regulären Schulprogramms. Sie bietet Ihnen Rechtsschutz und Unterstützung.
 

Allgemeine Informationen zu Visa und Reisesicherheit

U.S.-Bürger müssen kein Visum beantragen, um für eine GAPP-Gruppenreise nach Deutschland einzureisen. Bei der Einreise nach Deutschland wird ihnen ein Stempel in den Reisepass ausgestellt, mit dem sie sich bis zu 90 Tage im Schengen-Raum, der auch Deutschland umfasst, aufhalten können.
U.S.-Bürger mit ausländischen Pässen können möglicherweise nicht ohne Visum nach Deutschland und in den Schengen-Raum einreisen. Nähere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Übersicht der Visabestimmungen des Auswärtigen Amtes.

Wenn ausländische Staatsbürger in den USA ansässig sind und deren Staatsbürgerschaft ein Visum erfordert, können sie eventuell von einem deutschen Konsulat oder einer deutschen Botschaft in den USA ein Visum erhalten. Diese Website führt Sie durch das Bewerbungsverfahren und hilft Ihnen, eine deutsche Vertretung in den USA zu finden.
 
Bitte beachten Sie auch das Schengen Visa - Tourist Factsheet und die Checkliste für umfassende Informationen.
Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sich für das kostenlose Smart Traveller Safety Program (STEP) des U.S.-Außenministeriums anmelden. Dies ist eine wichtige Ressource, damit die U.S.-diplomatischen Vertretungen in Deutschland im Notfall Sie unterstützen können.

Die vom Außenministerium bereitgestellte Reisecheckliste enthält eine kurze Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Punkte und nützliche weiterführende Links.

GAPP Bewertungsunterlagen

Sobald Sie Ihren Austausch abgeschlossen haben, würden wir uns freuen, wenn Sie uns Ihr Feedback übermitteln, das wir zur Verbesserung unseres Programms verwenden werden. Unten finden Sie unsere Programmevaluierungsdokumente für Lehrkräfte, Schüler*innen und Eltern / Erziehungsberechtigte.


Hinweis: Bitte holen Sie immer die Einwilligung der Eltern / Erziehungsberechtigten für unsere GAPP-Schülerprüfung ein.


Partnerschule wechseln

Informieren Sie zunächst Ihre Partnerschule, wenn Sie aus irgendeinem Grund die Partnerschule wechseln müssen.

Auf www.partnerschulnetz.de können Sie ein neues Profil einrichten und Ihre neue Partnerschule finden, wenn ein Wechsel der Partnerschulen erforderlich ist.

Bitte informieren Sie uns über Ihre neue Partnerschule per E-Mail: gapp@goethe.de.


Workshops & Training

GAPP unterstützt leidenschaftliche Lehrer*innen, die ihren Schüler*innen eine bestmögliche Bildung ermöglichen möchten. Wir bieten Workshops, Schulungen und Ressourcen zur Koordinierung des erfolgreichen Austauschs an. Besuchen Sie unsere Workshops und Training Seite, um die neuesten Updates zu erhalten.

Workshops und Training


Langfristiger Einzelaustausch

Quote
© GAPP / B. Ludewig

GAPP, Inc. wird vom U.S. Außenministerium als autorisierte Visa-Sponsororganisation (Visa Sponsor Organization) des "Exchange Visitor Program" für die Gymnasiasten aus Deutschland bezeichnet. Der langfristige Einzelaustausch steht den Schüler*innen zur Verfügung, die ihre GAPP-Partnerschule in den USA für ein Semester oder ein Schuljahr besuchen.
Langfristiger Einzelaustausch


Unsere Partner

Das GAPP-Programm wird vom Goethe-Institut verwaltet und vom Auswärtigen Amt und dem US-amerikanischen Außenministerium finanziert. GAPP wird auch von der WunderbarTogether-Kampagne unterstützt. In Deutschland wird GAPP von unserem Partner, dem Pädagogischen Austauschdienst (PAD), verwaltet.
 

in Kooperation mit

unterstützt von

Top