Deutsche digitale Kinderuni - Für Kinder von 8 bis 12 Jahren © Goethe-Institut / Kids Interactive

DIFFERENT WAYS TO STUDY

The Kinderuni is suitable for German beginners as well as for students who are already fluent in German. For beginners we recommend to watch the 30 videos (one per lecture) in English – accompanied, if preferred, by German or English subtitles. Each video teaches Kinderuni students 10 new German words, making it a perfect introduction to learning the language even without prior knowledge of German.

In English

Each lecture explains a different different scientific topic in English while teaching a few German words in a fun and playful way.

In German

Students can watch the entire lecture in German and learn new, more complex German words in each video.

MIX IT UP!

Subtitles can be turned on in either language to help understanding. Watch in English, with German subtitles, or vice versa - completely customizable to your language level.

To set up an account, simply visit the learning platform online and follow the below guide that shows how to set up the account and start your Kinderuni studies. We hope you enjoy the Kinderuni and have fun learning German in the world of science!

Creating an account

Open the learning platform in your browser, preferably Google Chrome. At the top of the site you can select your preferred language  (EN for English, DE for German):



There is also short trailer featuring Professor Einstein, one of the characters of the Kinderuni, that you can watch before creating an account.

Underneath the video you will find a SIGN IN button. Clicking the SIGN IN button redirects you to a site where you can choose to create a new account (or sign into your existing account if you already have a user name and password).




Upon clicking on “CREATE NEW ACCOUNT” the Kinderuni provides 3 account options:



Click on the account you would like to create, either TEACHER VERSION (which provides access to learning materials) or PARENT VERSION. Both the parent and the teacher account have the option to track the progress of one or several children accounts through activation codes.

Home Screen

Once an account has been created and you’ve successfully signed into the digital learning platform, the Kinderuni start screen looks like the below:


The top bar has a Startbutton (HOME) button, a “Study Manual” (explaining how the Kinderuni works in brief), and a “My Awards” button where all the badges that are collected are stored:



 

EDIT YOUR PROFILE AND PRINT A KINDERUNI CERTIFICATE

On the top right corner is the profil, which can be accessed by clicking on the name:



In the detailed profile section students can add personal information to their profiles by clicking the “EDIT PROFILE” button:



Here you can also change your password and produce a Kinderuni certificate by clicking on “CERTIFICATE”. The certificate can be saved as a PDF and printed. It contains details of the child’s current status in the Kinderuni (e.g. “Student”, “Bachelor”, “Junior Professor”, etc.) and shows which lectures have been completed to date.
 

Activation codes

In order to link up a teacher/parent account with a children account to follow the student’s progress in the Kinderuni, a unique activation code for each children account is provided. This activation code can be found at the bottom of the PROFILE section.




The activation code is automatically generated for each children account and can be provided to teachers and/or parents, who can insert the student’s code into their own Kinderuni profiles to view the child’s progress (“View reports”).



 

START YOUR KINDERUNI CAREER

To start with the Kinderuni lectures, any lecture can be chosen in one of the three faculties – "Humankind", "Nature", "Technology" – by clicking on the lecture square:



The lecture will open and the screen looks like the below:


If you click on the little arrows (   ) you will get to the different sections of the lecture.
Each lecture consists of the following:

  • a video which can be watched in a variety of languages, including English and German
  • three tasks related to the video
  • a bonus task
Please note that the bar "For Teachers" on the left-hand side is only available through a teacher account. This section provides learning scenarios and access to didactic materials that can be downloaded as PDF documents. These documents are available in German and in English. 
.

COMPLETING A KINDERUNI LECTURE

For the videos, subtitles can be added in German or English at the bottom right and the sound adjusted on the bottom left hand side.



Throughout the video, German words appear on the screen that match the English words being said in the video. In order to successfully complete the video, these German words are to be “caught” by clicking on them with the cursor.



Catching enough German words earns the student stars and allows to proceed to the tasks.


Completing all three tasks (and bonus tasks) correctly earns students badges (awards). There are two badges for every lecture that can be collected.
 
Please note that badges are unique to the language selected, so there are badges to be collected in the German language version, and separate badges for the English language version of the Kinderuni. The tasks in either language have different questions, themes and purposes: The ENGLISH task set (so the tasks that appear once you’ve completed the video in English) focus more strongly on content and the 10 new German words. These tasks can be completed by non-German speakers as they require no prior knowledge of German. The task set in the GERMAN language focuses more strongly on learning German. Regarding the content, these tasks are less complex than the English tasks but require some knowledge of German. Completing the set of tasks in one language or the other results in the student earning a different set of badges.

The awards button    on the top bar provides an overview of the badges that have been collected (in color) and badges that can be collected (greyed out):


Successfully completing lectures and collecting badges allows students to advance their Kinderuni careers: from Student (0-8 lectures) to Bachelor (9-14 lectures), Master (15-20 lectures), Doctor (21-26 lectures), Junior Professor (27-29 lectures) and as the highest career step to Professor (all 30 lectures).



The home button    on the left upper corner of the Kinderuni allows you to return to the overview page with all three faculties and lectures.

Further questions? Please contact us at Kinderuni-USA@goethe.de

We wish you a lot of fun diving into the world of science!

Contact

Allison Paul
Language Program Officer
Goethe-Institut Washington
E-Mail-Adresse Allison.Paul@goethe.de

Dr. Anne Schönhagen
Director Language Programs North America
Goethe-Institut Washington
E-Mail-Address Anne.Schoenhagen@goethe.de 

Questions? Please contact us! 
kinderuni-USA@goethe.de

Project partners

WDR-Logo       Deutsche Welle

Social Media

More

STUDIEREN AUF VERSCHIEDENEN WEGEN

Die Kinderuni ist sowohl für Deutschanfänger*innen, als auch für Schüler*innen, die bereits fließend Deutsch sprechen, geeignet. Den Anfänger*innen empfehlen wir sich die Video-Vorlesungen in englischer Sprache anzusehen. In jedem Video werden den Studierenden 10 neue deutsche Wörter beigebracht, sodass sie auch ohne Vorkenntnisse eine Einführung in das Erlernen der Sprache bekommen.

Auf Englisch

Jede Vorlesung erklärt ein wissenschaftliches Thema  in englischer Sprache und lässt dabei spielerisch einige deutsche Wörter einfließen.

Auf Deutsch

Studierende können die Vorlesung auch auf Deutsch ansehen und lernen dabei neue, schwierigere deutsche Wörter.

VARIIERE!

Untertitel sind in beiden Sprachen verfügbar. Schau das Video auf Englisch, mit deutschen Untertiteln, oder andersherum - personalisierbar zum eigenen Sprachverständnis.

Besuchen Sie die Lernplattform der Digitalen Kinderuni und folgen Sie den unten stehenden Anweisungen, wie man einen Account einrichten und an der Kinderuni studieren kann. Wir hoffen, dass Ihnen die Kinderuni viel Freude bereiten wird!

Einen neuen Account erstellen

Öffnen Sie die Lernplattform in Ihrem Browser, vorzugsweise Google Chrome oder Mozilla Firefox. Dort können Sie oben rechts Ihre Sprache auswählen (z.B. DE für Deutsch, EN für Englisch):



Bei Interesse können Sie sich auf dieser Seite auch einen kurzen Trailer mit Professor Einstein (einem der Moderatoren der Kinderuni) ansehen.

Unter dem Video finden Sie den Anmeldebutton. Wenn Sie auf den Anmeldebutton klicken, werden Sie zu einer Seite weitergeleitet, auf der Sie ein neues Konto erstellen können (wenn Sie bereits ein Account besitzen, melden Sie sich mit Ihrem Anmeldenamen und Kennwort an):





Wenn Sie auf "Neuen Zugang anlegen" klicken, werden Ihnen 3 Kontoversionen angeboten:


Klicken Sie auf das Konto, welches Sie erstellen möchten: entweder den Kinder-Zugang, oder Lehrer*in-Zugang (die den Zugriff auf Lernmaterialien bietet), oder den Eltern-Zugang. Sowohl das Elternkonto, als auch das Lehrer*inkonto haben die Möglichkeit, die Fortschritte eines oder mehrerer Kinderkonten mithilfe von Aktivierungscodes zu verfolgen.

Startbildschirm

Sobald ein Konto erstellt wurde und Sie sich bei der digitalen Lernplattform angemeldet haben, sieht der Startbildschirm der Kinderuni folgendermaßen aus:



Oben sehen Sie einen  Startbutton ("Start") Button, "Anleitung zum Studium", ein Lernhandbuch in dem die Funktionsweise der Kinderuni kurz beschrieben wird) und "Meine Auszeichnungen", in der alle gesammelten Badges aufbewahrt werden.

Bearbeitung des Profils und Ausdrucken eines Zeugnisses

In der oberen, rechten Ecke befindet sich das Profil. Wenn Sie Ihren Namen anklicken, haben sie den Zugriff darauf:



Im Profilbereich können Studierende persönliche Informationen hinzufügen, indem Sie auf "Profil bearbeiten" klicken:




Hier können Sie auch Ihr Passwort ändern und ein Kinderuni-Zeugnis erstellen, indem Sie auf "Zeugnis" klicken. Das Zeugnis kann als PDF gespeichert und gedruckt werden. Es enthält Informationen über den aktuellen Stand und zeigt an, welche Vorlesungen belegt wurden.

Aktivierungcode

Um ein Eltern- oder Lehrer*in-Konto mit einem Kinder-Konto zu verknüpfen, um die Fortschritte des Kindes/Schüler*in zu beobachten, wird für jedes Kinder-Konto ein Aktivierungscode bereitgestellt. Diesen Aktivierungscode finden Sie unten im Profil:



Dieser Code wird automatisch für jedes Kinder-Konto generiert und kann Lehrkräften und/oder Eltern zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Diesen Code können Sie in Ihr eigenes Profil einfügen, um die Fortschritte der Kinder/Schüler*innen zu sehen („Berichte ansehen“):


 

Starten Sie Ihre Karriere an der Kinderuni

Um mit den Kinderuni-Vorlesungen zu beginnen, können Sie jede Vorlesung in einer der drei Fakultäten – "Mensch", "Natur", "Technik" – auswählen, indem Sie auf den Vorlesungsbereich klicken:



Die Vorlesung wird geöffnet und der Bildschirm sieht folgendermaßen aus:



Wenn Sie auf die kleinen Pfeile (   ) klicken, gelangen Sie zu den verschiedenen Bereichen der Vorlesung. 
Jede Vorlesung besteht aus:

  • einem Video, welches in englischer oder deutscher Sprache abgespielt werden kann
  • drei Aufgaben, die sich auf das Video beziehen
  • einer Bonus-Aufgabe
Außerdem bietet der Bereich "Für Lehrende" Zugriff auf didaktische Materialien, die in englischer und deutscher Sprache verfügbar sind.

EINE KINDERUNI VORLESUNG ERFOLGREICH ABSCHLIESSEN

In jedes Video können Untertitel in deutscher oder englischer Sprache hinzugefügt werden. Diese Einstellung befindet sich unten rechts. Ebenso kann der Ton unten links eingestellt werden.


Während des Videos werden auf dem Bildschirm deutsche Wörter angezeigt. Um das Video erfolgreich abzuschließen, müssen diese deutschen Wörter "eingefangen" werden, indem man sie mit der rechten Maustaste anklickt.



Wenn man genug deutsche Wörter gefangen hat, bekommt man Sternchen und Häckchen und darf mit den weiteren 3 Aufgaben fortfahren.


Sie haben eine Aufgabe gelöst, wenn 2/3 der Antworten richtig sind. Für die Lösung der Aufgaben können Sie sich je vier Badges verdienen. Ein Badge wird für die ersten drei Aufgaben verliehen, der zweite Badge für die Bonusaufgabe. Wenn die Aufgaben auf Deutsch gelöst werden, kann man noch zwei zusätzliche Badges erwerben. Um die Karriereleiter aufzusteigen, müssen die Aufgaben aber nicht zwingend auf Deutsch gelöst werden. Es handelt sich hierbei nur um einen kleinen Bonus für diejenigen, die bereits Deutsch lernen.

Die Aufgaben in beiden Sprachen haben unterschiedliche Ziele: Die Aufgaben in der englischen Version legen den Fokus mehr auf den Inhalt (keine Vorkenntnisse im Deutschen erforderlich), während die Aufgaben in der deutschen Version mehr für das intensive Erlernen der deutschen Sprache geeignet sind.

Die Taste  (“Meine Auszeichnungen”) oben bietet eine Übersicht von bereits gesammelten Badges (farbig) an, und Badges, die noch gesammelt werden können (grau):


Wenn die erste Vorlesung erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurde und die Badges gesammelt wurden, können die Studierenden ihre Kinderuni Karriere vorantreiben: vom Studenten (0-8 Vorlesungen) bis zum Bachelor (9 Vorlesungen), Master (15 Vorlesungen), Doktor (21 Vorlesungen), Juniorprofessor (27 Vorlesungen) und zum höchsten Karriereschritt, Professor (30 Vorlesungen).
 
Die Taste Startbutton ("Start") in der linken oberen Ecke ermöglicht Ihnen den Rückkehr zu der Übersichtsseite mit den drei Fakultäten und allen Vorlesungen.

Haben Sie weitere Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns via E-Mail Kinderuni-USA@goethe.de

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß in der Welt der Wissenschaft!

Kontakt

Allison Paul
Bildungskooperation Deutsch
Goethe-Institut Washington
E-Mail-Adresse Allison.Paul@goethe.de

Dr. Anne Schönhagen
Leiterin Spracharbeit Nordamerika
Goethe-Institut Washington
E-Mail-Adresse Anne.Schoenhagen@goethe.de

Fragen? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne! 
kinderuni-USA@goethe.de

Projektpartner

WDR-Logo       Deutsche Welle

Social Media

Facebook Logo Instagram

Mehr