Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions © colourbox

Conditions for taking part in the current "Studienbrücke" (Study Bridge) program in the U.S.A. as follows:
  • high school students in their sophomore year or higher
  • students must have been attending an American school for at least six years at the time of application
  • students can prove and demonstrate knowledge of German at the early A1 level or higher

Students of any nationality may apply.
The application should ideally include a Goethe-Zertifikat as proof of German language skills if the student has an A2 level or higher. These exams can be taken at the Goethe-Institut as part of the application process when the applicant is invited to an interview or after the interview. Certificates from internationally recognized exams may also be accepted with the application. Certificates may not be older than one year. 
A placement test is recommended for testing your language level. To register for the Goethe-Institut’s placement test, please contact the Language Department at the Goethe-Institut New York (language@newyork.goethe.org).
All references must be provided in written form (English or German). It is not enough to provide the addresses of the people who will serve as references on the application. The students’ teachers should write a recommendation. The parents or guardians of the applicants must sign a declaration of consent and write a letter in which they state their support for their child to participate in the “Studienbrücke Deutschland” (“Study Bridge Germany”) program.
Although the program focuses on studying STEM subjects and economic sciences, this is not a criterion for exclusion.
If a student qualifies for a full  or partial scholarship, all or partial components of the program will be free of charge. Participants must also provide their own spending money for the summer courses in Germany.
The Goethe-Institut does NOT cover any of the costs associated with applying for a visa or further studies in Germany.

If a student does not qualify for a full scholarship, the student
has to cover the program fees including:
  • German language courses and exams
  • summer Courses in Germany 
  • intercultural training
  • academic trainings and exams
  • administration fee and materials
TestDaF Logo © TestDaF Institut Following preparatory language courses and the TestDaF preparatory course, the TestDaF is taken within the framework of the Studienbrücke programme.

To study at a German university, prospective students have to prove a sufficient command of German at B2/C1 level. This proof can be obtained by successfully completing the TestDaF at level 4. The test comprises four sections: reading comprehension, listening comprehension, written expression and oral expression. The test can be taken at your local Goethe-Institut or at another test centre near to where you live.

Further information about the TestDaF
TestAS Logo © TestAS Passing the TestAS forms part of the Studienbrücke programme’s university preparation.

The TestAS is a central and standardized scholastic aptitude test for prospective students from abroad. They have to pass the test with a minimum score of 100 points in order to be admitted to study at one of the Studienbrücke programme’s partner universities. The test comprises a core test of cognitive abilities, plus a subject-specific test either for the subjects mathematics, IT and science, or for the engineering sciences.

Further information about the TestAS

TestAS example questions
Contact: University preparation program USA

Andrea Pfeil
Director Language Program
Deputy Executive Director
Goethe-Institut New York
andrea.pfeil@goethe.de

Anne-Sophie Albrecht
Educational Liaison
Goethe-Institut New York
anne-sophie.albrecht@goethe.de

Fragen und Antworten zur Studienbrücke

Studentin, die sich meldet © colourbox

Die Voraussetzungen für die Teilnahme am aktuellen Programm Studienbrücke in den USA sind:
 
  • Schülerinnen oder Schüler der Sophomore High School Klasse oder höher
  • Schülerinnen oder Schüler, die zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung seit mindestens sechs Jahren an eine amerikanische Schule gehen
  • Schülerinnen oder Schüler, die nachweislich über Deutschkenntnisse auf dem frühen A1 Niveau oder höher verfügen.
Es können sich Schülerinnen und Schüler jeder Nationalität bewerben.
Der Bewerbung sollte möglichst ein Goethe-Zertifikat beigefügt werden, wenn die Schülerin oder der Schüler ein höheres Sprachniveau hat als A1. Bei Einladung zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch kann die jeweilige Prüfung auch während des Bewerbungsverfahrens oder im Nachgang zur Bewerbung am Goethe-Institut abgelegt werden.
Zertifikate von international anerkannten Prüfungen werden bei der Bewerbung ggf. auch akzeptiert. Alle Zertifikate dürfen nicht älter als ein Jahr sein.
Um das Sprachniveau zu testen, ist es sinnvoll einen Einstufungstest zu machen. Die Anmeldung für den Einstufungstest des Goethe-Instituts erfolgt über das Sprachkursbüro in New York (language@newyork.goethe.org).
Alle Referenzen müssen in schriftlicher Form (englisch oder deutsch) verfasst werden. Für die Bewerbung reicht es nicht aus, Adressen von Personen, die als Referenz dienen, anzugeben. Die Lehrer*innen der Schülerinnen und Schüler sollten eine Empfehlung verfassen. Die Eltern oder Erziehungsberechtigten der Bewerber*innen müssen eine Einverständniserklärung unterschreiben und sollten ein Schreiben verfassen, in dem sie die Teilnahme ihres Kindes am Programm „Studienbrücke Deutschland“ unterstützen.
Der Programmschwerpunkt liegt auf dem Studium von MINT-Fächern und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Die Studienbrücke bereitet auf eine Bewerbung um einen Studienplatz an den Partneruniversitäten vor. 
Eine Überischt über die Programmkosten finden Sie hier
TestDaF Logo © TestDaF Institut Der TestDaF wird im Rahmen der Studienbrücke nach der sprachlichen Vorbereitung durch Sprachkurse und den TesDaF-Vorbereitungskurs abgelegt.

Für das Studium an einer deutschen Hochschule müssen ausreichende Sprachkenntnisse auf der Niveaustufe B2/C1 nachgewiesen werden. Dieser Nachweis kann durch den TestDaF auf der Niveaustufe 4 erbracht werden. Die Prüfung umfasst die vier Teile Leseverstehen, Hörverstehen, Schriftlicher Ausdruck und Mündlicher Ausdruck. Die Prüfung kann an Ihrem Goethe-Institut oder einem anderen Testzentrum in Ihrer Nähe abgelegt werden.

Weitere Informationen zum TestDaF
TestAS Logo © TestAS Die Absolvierung des TestAS ist Teil der Studienvorbereitung der Studienbrücke.

Der TestAS ist ein zentraler, standardisierter Studierfähigkeitstest für ausländische Studieninteressierte. Sie müssen den Test mit mindestens 100 Punkten bestehen, um zum Studium an einer der Partnerhochschulen der Studienbrücke zugelassen zu werden. Der Test besteht aus einem Kerntest, der Ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten prüft, und einem Fachtest für das Studienfeld „Mathematik, Informatik und Naturwissenschaften“ oder „Ingenieurwissenschaften“.

Weitere Informationen zum TestAS

TestAS-Modellaufgaben
Andrea Pfeil
Leiterin Sprachabteilung
Stellvertretende Institutsleitung
Goethe-Institut New York
andrea.pfeil@goethe.de

Anne-Sophie Albrecht
Bildungskooperation Deutsch
Goethe-Institut New York
anne-sophie.albrecht@goethe.de