Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Federal Election 2021Illustration (detail): © Goethe-Institut e.V.

German Federal Elections 2021

When German citizens cast their vote in the parliamentary elections on September 26, 2021, they will not only elect a new government and a new chancellor. Beyond Germany and the EU, the outcome is expected to have repercussions for the transatlantic relationship as well. Would you like to teach the German parliamentary elections in Fall, but don`t know where to start? This dossier prepares you to teach by providing background information, professional development trainings, virtual study tours, special language courses, instruction materials for your German or social science/civics/government classroom, educational programs, competitions and virtual exchanges for your students. 


Input by Experts

#BTW21 - Politics for the Youth @picturealliance/BorisRoessler

Video Interviews
Politics for the Youth

Five young politicians from Germany´s leading political parties discuss why they joined their party, what topics are important to them and their communities and what they find fascinating about the US electoral system. 

Picture of the Bundestag in Berlin, Germany. © Moritz Lüdtke on unsplash.com

Teacher Training
German election workshop series

From an introduction to the political system in Germany, to an overview of the German political parties, the concerns of young voters to teacher exchanges, this workshop series provides information tailored specifically to the needs of German teachers.  

WanderbUS live event © Goethe-Institut Washington

Take Your Class to the Digital Wanderbus
Discuss with German Politicians

Teachers may register their German students (middle- and high school students) for the Digital WanderbUS, a 3D- world that features live-conversations with German politicians. Before and after the elections! 

German for Hire © Goethe-Institut

Live Visits in Your Classroom
German Federal Elections 2021 - A Youth Perspective

On September 26, Germany will elect a new government as well as a new chancellor. The outcome is expected to have significant consequences for Germany, the EU as well as international relations with other countries. Invite one of our German-for-Hire ambassadors into your (virtual) classroom to talk about the elections from a young person´s perspective. Virtual visits available nationwide.

Bundestagswahl ©Colourbox

For Social Science Educators
Virtual Study Tours

Are you, a non-German teacher, interested in discussing modern-day German/EU politics with your students? Find out how to approach the topic by joining the free virtual study tours of theTransatlantic Outreach Program (TOP). 

           


Student Engagement

German(y) © Leo Patrizi, iStock

Podcast
„Deutschland im Ohr“: Our latest podcast on the Federal Elections – Step into German

The German federal elections are coming up. We’ll tell you the ins and outs of the German political system, and what it means for Germany and Europe as a whole to see the EU’s longest serving political leader step down. Podcast and worksheets now available at Step into German. 
 

Wettbewerb Politics for the Youth ©Colourbox

Student Competition
Engage with German Politicians

Your students have watched the videos of our project Politics for the Youth and have had fun with the interactive materials. Now it`s their turn to enter to win in our competition for middle- and high school students in the US. Submission deadline: October 22, 2021. 

GAVE Online exchange materials © Goethe-Institut / Sonja Tobias

German American Virtual Exchange (GAVE)

How do you set up a virtual exchange between your students and a students in Germany so that they can discuss the elections on both sides of the Atlantic? GAVE (German American Virtual Exchange) is GAPP’s virtual exchange program. Since 1972, so for almost five decades, GAPP has enabled teachers to offer their students a cultural exchange with a partner school in Germany. Support, guidelines, and materials are provided at no cost to you!

German Parliamentary Elections @Colourbox/Patrick Daxenbichler

Bundestagwahl with U-Häppchen

The German parliamentary elections will take place on September 26, 2021. How many parties can Germans vote for and what is `limited term office`? U-Häppchen, are interactive PDFs that cover contemporary topics in the German speaking world combined with authentic, student-oriented tasks. Published every month for German beginner students in Middle-/High Schools (level A1-A2). Download Interactive PDF Bundestagswahl 2021


Instruction Materials

GAVE (German American Virtual Exchange) Photo (detail): © GAPP

German American Exchange Program
GAVE

In preparation for the Bundestagswahl GAPP will release a special topic on U.S. and German political systems. From August-December, students and teachers will be able to work with partner schools in Germany to become more informed on the voting process in both countries.​

Politics for the Youth ©Colourbox

Interactive Materials
Youth Politics

Interactive Pdfs for students in middle- and high schools provide not only access to German contemporary politics; they also encourage students to reflect about their own political commitment. 

Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) Photo (detail): © Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb)

Election App and Instruction Materials | bpb
Wahl-o-mat

Developed by the German Federal Agency for Civic Education - the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung or the ”bpb”- the Wahl-o-mat is a highly popular election tool, available also as an app. Since its inception in 2002, the Wahl-o-mat has been used 85 million times!


Background Information and Handouts


Contact

Ajkuna Hoppe
Educational Liaison

Goethe-Institut New York
teacherservice-newyork@goethe.de

                                       


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Deutsche Bundestagswahlen 2021 Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Bundestagswahl 2021

Am 26. September 2021 wird bei der Bundestagswahl nicht nur eine neue Regierung und ein/e neue/r Bundeskanzler/in gewählt. Das Ergebnis wird über Deutschland und die EU hinaus große Auswirkungen auf das transatlantische Verhältnis haben. Sie möchten die Bundestagswahl im Unterricht behandeln, wissen aber nicht, wo Sie anfangen sollen? Dieses Dossier bereitet Sie vor mit Hintergrundinformationen, Fortbildungen, virtuellen Studienreisen, speziellen Sprachkursen, Unterrichtsmaterialien für den Deutsch/ Sozialkundeunterricht, Bildungsprogrammen, Wettbewerben und virtuellen Austauschen für Ihre Lernenden. 
 


Expert*innen-Input

#BTW21 - Politics for the Youth Illustration (Ausschnitt): © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Video Interviews
Politik für die Jugend

Fünf Nachwuchspolitiker*innen aus Deutschlands führenden Parteien sprechen darüber, warum sie in ihre Partei eingetreten sind, welche Themen für sie und ihr Umfeld wichtig sind und was sie am US-Wahlsystem fasziniert. 

Bild des Bundestags in Berlin, Deutschland. © Moritz Lüdtke on unsplash.com

Training
Fortbildungsreihe zur Bundestagswahl

Diese Workshop-Reihe ist speziell auf die Bedürfnisse von Deutschlehrer*innen zugeschnitten: Einführung in das politische System Deutschlands, Überblick über die Parteilandschaft, die Anliegen junger Wähler*innen bis hin zum Lehrkräfte-Austausch. 

WanderbUS Veranstaltung © Goethe-Institut Washington

Bringen Sie Ihre Klasse zum Digitalen WanderbUS
Gespräche im Wanderbus

Lehrkräfte können ihre Deutschschüler*innen (Middle- und High Schools) für den Digitalen WanderbUS anmelden, eine 3D-Welt, in der Live-Gespräche mit deutschen Politiker*innen stattfinden.  Vor und nach der Wahl! 

German for Hire © Goethe-Institut

Virtuelle Besuche im Klassenzimmer
Bundestagswahl 2021 - Perspektive der Jugendlichen

Am 26. September wählt Deutschland eine neue Regierung und eine:n neue:n Bundeskanzler:in. Das Ergebnis der Wahl wird große Auswirkungen auf Deutschland, die EU und die internationalen Beziehungen mit anderen Ländern haben. Laden Sie eine:n unserer German-for-Hire Botschafter:innen  in Ihr (virtuelles) Klassenzimmer ein, um über die Wahlen aus der Perspektive von jungen Menschen zu sprechen! Virtuelle Besuche landesweit möglich.

Bundestagswahl ©Colourbox

Fortbildungsreihe für Sozialkunde- Lehrkräfte
Virtuelle Studienreisen

Sie unterrichten Sozialkundefächer und sind daran interessiert, mit Ihren Schüler*innen über die aktuelle deutsche/EU-Politik zu diskutieren? Die kostenlosen virtuellen Touren vom Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) vom 6. bis 29. Juli 2021 tauchen Sie in Themen ein, die sowohl für Deutschland als auch für die USA/Kanada relevant sind. 
 


Engagement für Lernende

Deutsch(land) © Leo Patrizi, iStock

Podcast
„Deutschland im Ohr“: aktueller Podcast zu den Bundestagswahlen auf Step into German

Die Bundestagswahlen stehen vor der Tür. In unserem neuesten Podcast der Reihe „Deutschland im Ohr“ erklären wir euch, wie die Wahlen in Deutschland funktionieren und was es für Deutschland und ganz Europa bedeutet, wenn die längstamtierende Regierungschefin in der Europäischen Union das Zepter abgibt. Jetzt mit Arbeitsblatt und Transkript auf Step into German. 

Wettbewerb Politics for the Youth © Colourbox

Wettbewerb für Schüler*innen
Bundestagswahl und Alltagspolitik

Ihre Schüler*innen haben sich die Videos unseres Projekts Politik für die Jugendangesehen und haben die interaktiven Materialen durchgenommen? Jetzt sind sie dran: Beim Wettbewerb für Schüler*innen an US- amerikanische Middle- und High Schools. Einsendeschluss: 22. Oktober 2021. 

GAVE Online exchange materials © Goethe-Institut / Sonja Tobias

German American Virtual Exchange (GAVE)

Wie richten Sie einen virtuellen Austausch zwischen  Schüler*innen in den USA und Schüler*innen in Deutschland ein, damit sie die Wahlen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks diskutieren können? GAVE (German American Virtual Exchange) ist das virtuelle Austauschprogramm von GAPP. Seit fast fünf Jahrzehnten ermöglicht es GAPP Lehrkräften in den USA ihren Schüler*innen einen kulturellen Austausch mit einer Partnerschule in Deutschland. Unterstützung, Materialien und Handreichungen werden kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt. 

German Parliamentary Elections @Colourbox/Patrick Daxenbichler

Bundestagwahl mit dem U-Häppchen

Am 26. September 2021 findet die Bundestagswahl statt. Wie viele Parteien stellen sich zur Wahl und was ist `Amtszeitbegrenzung´? U-Häppchen beinhalten aktuelle Informationen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum, die fü​r den sofortigen Einsatz im Unterricht gedacht sind. Die interaktiven PDFs für Sprachanfänger*innen (Niveau A1-A2) erscheinen einmal pro Monat. Interaktives PDF `Bundestagswahl`herunterladen


Materialien für den Unterricht

Virtueller Austausch GAVE (German American Exchange Program) Photo (detail): © GAPP

Deutsch-Amerikanisches Austauschprogramm
GAVE

In Vorbereitung auf die Bundestagswahl wird GAPP ein spezielles Thema zum politischen System der USA und Deutschlands veröffentlichen. Von August bis Dezember können Schüler*innen und Lehrkräfte mit Partnerschulen in Deutschland zusammenarbeiten, um mehr über den Wahlprozess in beiden Ländern zu erfahren.

Politics for the Youth ©Colourbox

Interaktive Materialien
Politik für die Jugend

Interaktive Pdfs für Schüler*innen an Middle- und High Schools bieten nicht nur einen Zugang zur deutschen Gegenwartspolitik, sondern regen auch zur Reflexion über das eigene politische Engagement an. 

Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) Foto (Ausschnitt): © Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb)

Wahlapp I Unterrichtsmaterialien | bpb
Wahlomat

Der Wahlomat wurde von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) entwickelt und ist ein beliebtes Wahlinstrument, das auch als App verfügbar ist. Seit seiner Einführung im Jahr 2002 wurde der Wahl-o-mat bereits 85 Millionen Mal genutzt!


Hintergrundinformationen und Handreichungen


Kontakt

Ajkuna Hoppe                                                       
Bildungskooperation Deutsch 
Goethe-Institut New York
teacherservice-newyork@goethe.de

 

Top