Devon Donohue-Bergeler
Our Coaches

Devon Donohue Bergeler Devon Donohue Bergeler

I grew up in Dallas and studied German language and literature at Boston University. After graduation, I supported U.S. study abroad participants and completed an M.A. at the Technische Universität Dresden in German Studies, Culture and Communication with a focus on teaching German as a foreign language. After a traineeship at the European Parliament in Luxembourg and an administrative job at the Universität Hamburg, I returned to my native Texas to complete a Ph.D. in Foreign Language Education at the University of Texas in Austin.

My work teaching in the Department of Germanic Studies and with the Center for Teaching and Learning inspired my dissertation work, for which I developed and implemented a semester-long professional development opportunity in drama-based pedagogy aimed towards graduate student instructors teaching German in the collegiate lower-division curriculum. The dissertation explored graduate student instructors’ uptake of innovative pedagogy and the factors that help or hinder their engagement. My additional research interests include teacher development, experiential learning, and study abroad outcomes. Starting in Fall 2018, I am a Senior Lecturer of German at the University of Texas at San Antonio.

It is important to be a coach with the Goethe-Institut because I would like to help early career German teachers and college instructors to build bridges between theory and practice. I combine a unique perspective as a proficient non-native German speaker with classroom experience as both an instructor and as an educational developer. This allows me to help identify areas for improvement, empathize with instructors about classroom realities, and co-create targeted and scaffolded steps to make realistic progress towards a specific goal that improves teaching and learning.

Devon Donohue-Bergeler
Unsere Coaches

Devon Donohue Bergeler © Devon Donohue Bergeler

Ich bin in Dallas aufgewachsen und habe Germanistik an der Boston University studiert. Nach dem Abschluss habe ich U.S. Studenten eines Auslandsprogramms betreut und einen Magister an der Technische Universität Dresden in German Studies, Culture and Communication mit Schwerpunkt Deutsch als Fremdsprache abgeschlossen.

Nach einem Praktikum beim Europäischen Parlament in Luxemburg und einer Anstellung an der Universität Hamburg bin ich nach Texas zurückgekehrt, um im Fach Fremdsprachendidaktik an der University of Texas at Austin zu promovieren. Meine Arbeit im Institut für Germanistik und im Lehr- und Lernzentrum inspirierte meine Doktorarbeit, für die ich eine 4-monatige Fortbildung zum Thema Dramapädagogik für Deutsch-lehrenden Doktoranden entwickelt und durchgeführt habe. Die Doktorarbeit untersuchte, wie Doktoranden mit einer innovativen Pädagogik umgegangen sind sowie die kontextuellen Einflüsse darauf, die dem Umgang helfen oder ihn hindern. Meine zusätzlichen Forschungsgebiete sind die Lehrerausbildung, erlebnisorientiertes Lernen, und Lernen beim Auslandsstudium. Ab August 2018 bin ich Dozentin in Germanistik an der University of Texas at San Antonio.

Es ist mir wichtig, Coach beim Goethe-Institut zu sein, weil ich unerfahrene DeutschlehrerInnen und DozentInnen helfen möchte, Brücken zwischen Theorie und Praxis zu bauen. Ich habe eine einzigartige Perspektive als Nichtmuttersprachlerin mit Deutschunterrichtserfahrung sowohl als Lehrende als auch als Fortbilderin. Damit kann ich mögliche Ziele zur Verbesserung der Lehrpraxis identifizieren, Empathie mit Lehrenden zum Thema Unterrichtsalltag zeigen, und zusammen mit Lehrenden aufbauende Schritte besprechen, um realistischen Fortschritt zu erzielen, der die Lehr- und Lernkultur verbessert.