Melanie Mello
Our Coaches

 © Melanie Mello

I am originally from Pforzheim, Germany, and have lived in the U.S. for over 13 years. For the last ten years, I taught German as a Foreign Language at the middle school, high school, and the college level. Currently, I teach German I through IB German at Chandler High School, and German 101 and 102 as Associate Faculty for the School of International Letters and Cultures at the Arizona State University. In my roles as GAPP Coordinator, Goethe-Institut Coach, President of the Arizona Language Association, Chair of the FLACH Committee of AATG, and secretary of the Arizona Chapter of AATG I promote and support the learning and teaching of the German language and culture here in the U.S.
 
Having benefited from the coaching and tutelage of so many others, I decided to become a coach as part of the Goethe-Institut’s Teacher Training Program in hopes of passing on the knowledge that was passed on to me and to share the expertise that I have accumulated over the years of teaching students about the German speaking world and its culture.  
 
Becoming a teacher is a life-long process, a process that is communally driven. All methodological and pedagogical approaches benefit from dialogue and discussion. But staying abreast of best practices is a daunting task for teachers who often work late into the night to finish grading and to prepare lesson plans. As a coach, I hope to help teachers refine their skills and to manage the daily challenges presented by the German classroom.

Melanie Mello
Unsere Coaches

 © Melanie Mello

Ich komme ursprünglich aus Pforzheim und lebe seit über 13 Jahren in den USA. Seit zehn Jahren unterrichte ich Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Middle-School, High-School und der Universität. Derzeit arbeite ich an der Chandler High School in Arizona, wo ich Deutsch 1 – AP und IB Language B: Higher Level unterrichte, sowie Deutsch 101 und 102 als Associate Faculty in der School of International Letters and Cultures der Arizona State University. Als GAAP-Koordinatorin, Coach im Teacher Coaching Program des Goethe-Instituts, Präsidentin der Arizona Language Association, Vorsitzende des FLACH-Komitees der AATG und als Sekretärin des Arizona Chapters von AATG setze ich mich für das Lernen und Lehren der deutschen Sprache und Kultur hierzulande ein.

Einer der vielen Gründe, warum ich mich dazu entschieden habe, als Coach mitzuwirken, ist der, dass ich selbst seit vielen Jahren von der Unterstützung durch und dem Austausch mit anderen erfahrenen DeutschlehrerInnen profitiere und diese Repetroire von bewärhrten methodisch-didaktischen Prinzipien und meine eigenen Unterrichtsrfahrungen gerne mit anderen Lehrern teilen möchte.

Wie wir alle wissen, ist das Lehrerdasein ein lebenslanger Lernprozess, der durch einen regen Austausch mit anderen Gleichgesinnten angetrieben wird, um fachlich auf dem aktuellen Stand zu bleiben und um neue Impulse für den Unterricht zu bekommen. Leider fällt dies vielen Lehrern schwer, vor allem Deutschlehrern, die oftmals Eizelkämpfer an ihren Schulen sind, und vor lauter Unterrichtsplanung, Nachbereitung und Korrigieren nicht dazu kommen. Gerade deswegen hoffe ich darauf die Möglichkeit zu haben, anderen Deutschlehrern, die an diesem Program teilnehmen, unterstützend zur Seite zu stehen, um ihnen dabei zu helfen, ihre Unterrichtspraxis zu stärken.