Goethe-Institut Summer School
Teacher Training

Summer school Photo: Loredana LaRocca

In summer 2017, the Goethe-Institut USA is going to offer a five-week-long professional development event for 25 young teachers of German from the U.S. and Canada. The summer school consists of two components: a three-week-long online phase and a two-week-long face-to-face session in Germany.

Goethe-Institut Summer School

The goal for this summer school is twofold. First, there will be mini-workshops focusing on developing teachers' instructional expertise in several areas areas that are particularly relevant for North-American teachers, such as assessment, using digital media in the German classroom, or differentiated instruction. The mini-workshops will be led by experts from the Goethe-Institutes in Germany and will be augmented by classroom observations in German schools.

At the same time, participants will have an opportunity to improve their own German language abilities through an integrated language course designed specifically for teachers (Levels B1-C1) as well as through the around-the-clock immersion environment. The overarching theme for both components will be presenting and exploring current issues and trends in the German culture.

The summer school consists of two components: a three-week-long online phase and a two-week-long face-to-face session in Germany.

The online phase will ensure accurate placement into the appropriate language course section and serve as preparation for the face-to-face instructional activities. At the end of the summer school, the participants will be able to take an optional Goethe-Institut exam.
The primary target audience for this summer school are non-native German school teachers with less than 4 years of professional experience.
In order to be considered you have to be a member of the AATG or CATG, if you are not a member yet, please join AATG or CATG before applying.
The Goethe-Institut will cover the costs for:
  • course materials 
  • accommodations (in double rooms) 
  • two meals per day for the duration of the summer school (breakfast and lunch)  
  • free time activities and a full-day trip
  • apply here for a scholarship for the costs of travel to Germany
The participants will be responsible for travel and meal costs as well as for costs of the Goethe-Institut exam, should they choose to take it.

You will receive a notification from us regarding your acceptance as well as further information by April 15, 2017. In order to be considered you have to be a member of the AATG or CATG, if you are not a member yet, please join AATG or CATG before applying.
Dates

Online phase: June 19 to July 07, 2017
Face-to-face session in Germany: July 16 - 29, 2017 (arrival: Sunday, departure: Saturday)

Place: Schwäbisch Hall

Application

Send us your application until March 31, 2017.
Application form

Sommerschule des Goethe-Instituts
Fortbildung in Nordamerika und Deutschland

Sommerschule Photo: Loredana LaRocca

Das Goethe-Institut USA bietet im Sommer 2017 eine fünfwöchige Fortbildungsveranstaltung für 25 Nachwuchsdeutschlehrer/innen aus den USA und Kanda an. Die Sommerschule besteht aus zwei Phasen: 3 Wochen Online-Vorbereitungsphase und 2 Wochen Präsenzphase in Deutschland.

Sommerschule des Goethe-Instituts

Inhalt der Sommerschule ist einerseits die Entwicklung methodisch-didaktischer Kompetenzen, die auf besonders relevanten Themen für Lehrerfortbildung in Nordamerika basieren (z.B. Leistungsmessung, Einsatz der Medien, Binnendifferenzierung). Dieser fachliche Fortbildungsteil wird von Experten des Goethe-Instituts in Deutschland durchgeführt und mit Hospitationen an deutschen Schulen verknüpft.

Zum anderen haben die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, ihre Deutschkenntnisse in einem integrierten Sprachkurs für Deutschlehrer/innen (Niveau B1-C1) sowie durch eine Immersionserfahrung zu verbessern. Der übergreifende thematische Fokus für beide Komponenten ist die Vermittlung des aktuellen Deutschlandbildes. 

Die Sommerschule besteht daher aus zwei Phasen: 3 Wochen Online-Vorbereitungsphase und 2 Wochen Präsenzphase in Deutschland.

Die Onlinephase dient zu der sprachlichen Einstufung, Orientierung und Vorbereitung der Teilnehmer auf die Präsenzphase. Am Ende der Sommerschule werden die Teilnehmenden die Gelegenheit haben, nach Wunsch eine Goethe-Institut-Prüfung abzulegen.
Zielgruppe sind in erster Linie Deutschlehrer/innen an Schulen mit weniger als 4 Jahren Berufserfahrung, für die Deutsch keine Muttersprache ist. 
Um an der Sommerschule teilnehmen zu können, müssen Sie Mitglied der AATG bzw. CATG sein; falls Sie noch kein Mitglied sind, treten Sie der  AATG oder CATG bei, bevor Sie sich bewerben.
Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt:
  • Kurs- und Materialienkosten 
  • Unterkunft im Doppelzimmer 
  • Verpflegung (Frühstück und Mittagessen)  
  • Kosten für Rahmenprogramm und Ausflug
  • Bewerben Sie sich für ein Teilstipendium für die Reisekosten.
Reise- und Verpflegungskosten sowie Kosten der Prüfungen werden von Teilnehmenden selbst getragen. 

Sie erhalten bis zum 15. April 2017 Rückmeldung, ob Ihre Bewerbung berücksichtigt werden kann sowie weitere Informationen. Um an der Sommerschule teilnehmen zu können, müssen Sie Mitglied der AATG bzw. CATG sein; falls Sie noch kein Mitglied sind, treten Sie der  AATG oder CATG bei, bevor Sie sich bewerben.
Termine

Onlinephase: 19. Juni bis 07. Juli 2017
Präsenzphase in Deutschland: 16. - 29. Juli 2017 (Anreise: Sonntag, Abreise: Samstag)

Ort: Schwäbisch Hall

Anmeldung

Bewerben Sie sich bis zum 31. März 2017 online:
Online-Bewerbung