Why I am a Trainer

Susanne Even
Indiana University (Bloomington, IN) 

Susanne Even © Susanne Even Working for and within the Trainer Network fascinates me because of its democratic nature: language teachers come together and embark on mutual exchanges of experiences in joint learning processes. We learn from and with each other and thus pursue both our individual and collective professionalities. We put the significance of German as a Foreign Language on the map and, at the same time, implement what we dare to teach – life-long learning!
Trainer profile


Sara Hoefler
The Paragon School (Orlando, FL) 

Sara Hoefler © Sara Hoefler As a member of the Trainer Network, I have my fingers on the pulse of all things German. Whether best practices in the classroom, further education for professionals, or fun contests for students – the Goethe-Institut is an invaluable resource.
Trainer profile  


Elke Lorenz
Manhattan High School (Manhattan, KS) 

Elke Lorenz © Elke Lorenz The collaboration with colleagues across the United States and from all levels of instruction is enriching and inspires me on a daily basis to do my best in the classroom.
Trainer profile  


Jo Sanders 
Rilke Schule (Anchorage, AK) 

Jo Sanders © Jo Sanders The work with the Trainer Network is tremendously important to me as an AATG consultant as well as a Networker, since I give an average of 12 workshops per year all over the country. The training sessions bring new topics to us, acquaint us with new resources and, above all, train us in new methods to use to inspire teachers. I want the teachers in my workshops to leave saying, “I can do this... I have to do this”.  


Lorna Sopcak 
Ripon College (Ripon, WI) 

​Lorna Sopcak © ​Lorna Sopcak As a one-person department, I welcome the opportunity to work with teams of colleagues in the Trainer Network, as we are introduced to pedagogically sound materials and approaches and then develop sessions to present at state, regional and national conferences. The work has shaped my teaching and kept me informed of pedagogical innovations. The purpose of the Trainer Network is to serve the profession, but it is also an opportunity for personal development and for building relationships with colleagues.
Trainer profile 


Daniel Villanueva 
University of Nevada (Reno, NV)


Daniel Villanueva © Daniel Villanueva The opportunity to share experiences with educators from elementary teachers to full professors that the Goethe-Institut Trainer Network provides has proven very beneficial not only to me, but also to my university colleagues and our Nevada AATG chapter. The regional workshops to be wonderful occasions for creative collaboration on pedagogy, new student recruitment, and existing German program support with dedicated educators from as far away as Alaska and New York. (And since our membership includes excellent cooks, singers, and actors, our workshops have important social aspects, too!)
Trainer profile

Ich bin gerne Trainer/in, weil ...

Susanne Even
Indiana University (Bloomington, IN) 

Susanne Even © Susanne Even Mich fasziniert an der Arbeit im Trainernetzwerk das demokratische Zusammenkommen von Sprachpädagoginnen und –pädagogen im gemeinsamen Erfahrungsaustausch und Lernprozess. Wir lernen miteinander und voneinander und treiben damit unsere individuelle und kollektive Professionalität voran. Wir stellen die Bedeutsamkeit der Fremdsprache Deutsch in den Mittelpunkt und setzen dabei selbst um, was wir uns zu lehren trauen: lebenslanges Lernen!
Trainerprofil 


Sara Hoefler
The Paragon School (Orlando, FL) 

Sara Hoefler © Sara Hoefler Als Mitglied des Trainernetzwerks bin ich stets auf dem Laufenden, was beim Deutschunterricht zur Zeit gefragt ist. Egal, ob es den Unterricht, die Lehrerfortbildung oder spannende Schülerwettbewerbe angeht - das Goethe-Institut ist eine unverzichtbare Informationsquelle.
Trainerprofil 


Elke Lorenz
Manhattan High School (Manhattan, KS) 

Elke Lorenz © Elke Lorenz Ich bin gern Trainerin, weil mich die Zusammenarbeit mit Kolleg/innen aus allen Teilen der USA und aus allen Unterrichtsstufen bereichert und inspiriert, täglich mein Bestes im Unterricht zu geben.
Trainerprofil 


Jo Sanders 
Rilke Schule (Anchorage, AK) 

Jo Sanders © Jo Sanders Ich bin seit dem Anfang beim Trainernetzwerk dabei gewesen und gebe im Schnitt 12 Workshops im Jahr. Daher ist die Arbeit beim Netzwerk sehr wichtig, nicht nur neue Themen einzuführen, sondern vor allem, neue Methoden zu erlernen und üben. Mir ist das Wichtigste, mein Publikum so zu fesseln, dass sie danach sagen: Das kann ich auch, das muss ich auch! Oder wie Rilke so schön sagt: “Du mußt dein Leben ändern...” 


Lorna Sopcak 
Ripon College (Ripon, WI) 

​Lorna Sopcak © ​Lorna Sopcak Als die einzige Deutschprofessorin an meinem College habe ich die Zusammenarbeit in dem Trainernetzwerk nicht nur gebraucht sondern auch genossen. Die Workshops sind immer pädagogisch sehr solide und sind eine Anreicherung meines Unterrichts. Sie liefern auch den Stoff für zahlreiche interaktive Konferenzsessions. Das Trainernetzwerk trägt zur Weiterbildung und persönlicher Entwicklung bei und baut Kontakte zu Kolleg/innen im Beruf auf.
Trainerprofil 


Daniel Villanueva 
University of Nevada (Reno, NV)


Daniel Villanueva © Daniel Villanueva Die Gelegenheit, die das Goethe-Institut-Trainernetzwerk bietet, mit Lehrkräften von Grundschullehrer/innen bis auf ordentliche Professor/innen Erfahrungen auszutauschen, hat sich nicht nur mir als besonders vorteilhaft erwiesen, sondern auch meinen Universitätskolleg/innen und den Mitgliedern unseres AATG-Verbandes in Nevada. Die Regionalseminare sind wunderbare Anlässe zur kreativen Zusammenarbeit mit engagierten Teilnehmer/innen - die von so weit weg wie Alaska und New York kommen - bei der Ausarbeitung von pädagogischen Konzepten, der Anwerbung neuer Student/innen, und der Unterstützung bestehender Germanistik-Programme. (Und da sich unter unseren Mitgliedern auch Amateurköche, -Sänger und -Schauspieler befinden, enthalten unsere Seminare auch wichtige soziale Komponente!)
Trainerprofil