Susanne Even

Susanne Even © Susanne Even Susanne Even
Indiana University
Department of Germanic Studies
Ballantine Hall 644
1020 E Kirkwood Ave
Bloomington, IN 47405
+1 978 790-7447
evens@indiana.edu
http://lnkd.in/whxEkU

Aktuelle DaF Tätigkeit
Clinical Associate Professor of German
Coordinator of the Language Program
 

Drama Pedagogy for Foreign Language Education
Drama Pedagogy for Foreign Language Teaching and Learning is a holistic and learner-centered approach for the foreign language classroom. Students make intensive and lasting experiences with the foreign language through techniques from the performing arts. The seminar introduces basic drama pedagogy techniques and familiarizes participants with their practical use. The seminar can be tailored to conversational practice, literary texts, or the teaching of culture.

Drama Grammar: Action-Oriented Grammar Learning
In drama grammar (drama pedagogy for the teaching and learning of foreign grammar), theater techniques help create fictitious situations that raise learners’ awareness of grammatical phenomena. Grammar is experienced not only cognitively but also personally, emotionally, socially, and kinesthetically. The foreign language is experienced in practical contexts that require students to act and react appropriately with spoken language as well as body / facial expressions and movements. The seminar introduces drama grammar teaching phases and shows participants how to integrate them into their daily teaching.

Improv Theater for Teacher Training
This workshop introduces the basic techniques of improvisational theater and how to effectively use them for foreign language teaching. Participants will be familiarized with various techniques from improv theater that can be used for vocabulary building and that stimulate and inspire interaction between foreign language learners. Participants will also learn how to initiate dialogues that encourage improvisation in the foreign language classroom.

Regionalized Area Studies
Teaching about foreign countries should not be limited to an overview of political states, their geography, and their cultural artifacts. Rather, people’s ways of living and thinking in their actual contexts should be introduced so as to offer learners intensive and personalized impressions of the foreign culture. This seminar takes East Frisia as an example for regional Landeskunde in the foreign language lesson.

Bilingual Novels for Adolescent Readers
The bilingual book Mensch, be careful for teenagers (Rösler/O’Sullivan 1986) is great reading for advanced beginners or intermediate learners in their third or fourth year of German. The seminar will show how a bilingual text can enhance students’ willingness to read and their ability to draw understanding from context. Apart from increased motivation and lowered anxiety towards foreign language texts, Mensch, be careful also supports both language awareness and language learning awareness.

Talking with and through Art
To be able to see and observe is called the fifth skill, after listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Like all the other skills, seeing is never done in isolation but always in combination with other skills: talking about pictures, listening to what others say about them, creative writing that starts off from a visual impulse, reading novels that feature artifacts. This workshop focuses on various ways to use fine arts (pictures, sculptures) as starting points for intense and diverse verbal exchanges.
 
Being a trainer is investing in the future – the future of both colleagues and students. It is exhilarating to plant pedagogical seeds and see them grow!

Susanne Even

Susanne Even © Susanne Even Susanne Even
Indiana University
Department of Germanic Studies
Ballantine Hall 644
1020 E Kirkwood Ave
Bloomington, IN 47405
+1 978 790-7447
evens@indiana.edu
http://lnkd.in/whxEkU

Aktuelle DaF Tätigkeit
Clinical Associate Professor of German
Coordinator of the Language Program
 

Dramapädagogik im Fremdsprachenunterricht
Dramapädagogik im Fremdsprachenunterricht ist ein holistischer und lernerzentrierter Ansatz für die Erarbeitung von Unterrichtsinhalten. Der gezielte Einsatz von Techniken aus den dramatischen Kunstformen ermöglicht intensive Erfahrungen mit der fremden Sprache. Das Seminar stellt dramapädagogische Basistechniken vor und macht die Teilnehmenden mit ihrem praktischen Einsatz vertraut. Der Schwerpunkt des Seminars liegt wahlweise auf Konversation, Literatur oder Kultur.

Dramagrammatik: Handlungsorientiertes Grammatiklernen
Im dramapädagogischen Grammatikunterricht werden mit Hilfe von Theatertechniken fiktive Kontexte geschaffen, in denen Lernende für grammatische Phänomene in der fremden Sprache sensibilisiert werden. Grammatik wird nicht nur kognitiv, sondern ebenso persönlich-emotional, sozial und kinesthetisch erlebt, und grammatische Phänomene werden in Kontexten umgesetzt, in dem die Lernenden sprachlich (und auch nichtsprachlich) handeln müssen. Das Seminar stellt dramagrammatische Unterrichtsphasen vor und macht die Teilnehmenden mit ihrem praktischen Ablauf vertraut.

Improvisationstheater in der Lehrausbildung
Dieser Workshop stellt Grundtechniken und Potential von Improvisationstheater für den Fremdsprachenunterricht vor. Teilnehmende werden mit unterschiedlichen Impro-Techniken vertraut gemacht, die für Vokabelarbeit nützlich sind und darüber hinaus großartige Impulse zu freier Interaktion zwischen den Lernenden geben. Weiterhin werden praktische Anleitungen gegeben, wie improvisierte Gespräche im Fremdsprachenunterricht initiiert und genutzt werden können.

Regionale Landeskunde
Landeskunde sollte nicht auf Überblicksinformationen über Staaten, ihre Geografie, und Hochkultur reduziert werden, sondern einen intensiven, personalisierten Einblick in die Lebensstile und Denkweisen realer Menschen in ihren jeweiligen Lebensräumen geben. Am Beispiel von Ostfriesland stellt dieses Seminar praktische Anregungen vor, wie eine solche regionale Landeskunde im Unterricht praktisch umgesetzt werden kann.

Bilinguale Jugendliteratur
Dieses Seminar stellt das bilinguale Jugendbuch Mensch, be careful! (Rösler/O’Sullivan 1986) vor, das sich für die Lektüre von fortgeschrittenen Anfängern (3. Lernjahr Deutsch) hervorragend eignet. Exemplarische Übungen geben einen Einblick, wie das bilinguale Format kontextuelles Verständnis und Lesebereitschaft fördert. Abgesehen von erhöhter Motivation und geringeren Berührungsängsten fremdsprachlichen Texten gegenüber bietet Mensch, be careful! einen gelungenen Rahmen zur Förderung von Sprachbewusstsein und Sprachlernbewusstsein.

Über Bilder ins Gespräch kommen
Sehverstehen gilt als die fünfte Fertigkeit nach Hören, Sprechen, Lesen und Schreiben. Wie auch keine der anderen Fertigkeiten steht sie isoliert da, sondern immer im Zusammenhang mit anderen: Sprechen über Bilder, Hören, was andere über Bilder sagen, kreatives Schreiben, das von einem visuellen Impuls ausgeht, Lesen über Kunstwerke oder die Lektüre von literarischen Werken, in denen es um Kunst geht. In diesem Workshop geht es um die Auseinandersetzung mit Bildern und Skulpturen. Visuelle Impulse aus der bildenen Kunst sollen zu vielfältigem (Sprach-) Handeln anregen.
 
Die Trainertätigkeit ist immer auch eine Zukunftsinvestition. Es ist faszinierend und befriedigend, Ideen zu säen und zu sehen, wie sie aufgehen.