The Peaceful Revolution/30th Anniversary Berlin Wall

 @picture-alliance

Multimedia Booklet Offers Insight into German Contemporary History

The multimedia brochure A Peaceful Revolution- 30 Years Fall of the Berlin Wall invites students of German and anyone interested in contemporary German and European history to explore the events, people and personal narratives that shaped the fall of the Berlin Wall 30 years ago.  

In addition to important facts on German post-war history (1945-1990), readers explore- through the eyewitness accounts of David Gill, the incumbent Consul General of the Federal Republic of Germany in New York, and Diana Erinna, a German lecturer from Boston, the intricacies of everyday life behind the Iron Curtain: What did it feel like to grow up in the German Democratic Republic (GDR)? How were both witnesses involved in the events of 1989 and how did these influence their future live trajectories?

The brochure and accompanying videos with both eyewitnesses are in English language and can thus be used outside of the German classroom. Students of German have the opportunity to solve simple tasks and quizzes and expand the vocabulary on the topic.

Accompanying Videos

Embedded QR-Codes in the brochure lead directly to videos with both witnesses, David Gill and Diana Erinna. Videolanguage: English with subtitles. All videos can be accessed on the Goethe-Institut NY Youtube video channel.  

  •  @Goethe-Institut NY
  •  @Goethe-Institut NY

Ordering the Brochure

Interested in ordering physical copies of the brochure? 
Email: teacherservice-newyork@goethe.de
Fees: Free of charge, but you will have to cover shipping fees.

Friedliche Revolution und 30 Jahre Mauerfall

 @picture-alliance

Multimediale Broschüre gibt Einblick in deutsche Gegenwartsgeschichte

Die multimediale Broschüre A Peaceful Revolution- 30 Years Fall of the Berlin Wall,  lädt Deutschlernende ein, die Ereignisse, Menschen und persönlichen Geschichten zu erkunden, die eine neue Ära in der zeitgenössischen deutschen und europäischen Geschichte einläuteten.

Neben wichtigen Fakten zur deutscher Nachkriegsgeschichte (1945–1990), entdecken LeserInnen durch die Augenzeugenberichte von David Gill, dem amtierenden Generalkonsul der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in New York, und Diana Erinna, einer Deutschdozentin aus Boston, das Alltagsleben hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang: Wie fühlte es sich an, in der DDR aufzuwachsen? Inwiefern waren sie an den Ereignissen von 1989 beteiligt und wie beeinflussten diese die künftigen Lebenswege beider Augenzeugen?

Die Broschüre und kurze Videos mit beiden Augenzeugen sind auf Englisch und können somit auch außerhalb des Deutschunterrichts eingesetzt werden. Für Deutschlernende gibt es zudem die Möglichkeit, einfache Aufgaben und Rätsel zu lösen, um den Wortschatz zum Thema zu erweitern.

Begleitvideos zur Broschüre

In der Broschüre eingebettete QR- Codes führen direkt zu kurzen Videos mit den Augenzeugen David Gill und Diana Erinna.

Videosprache: Englisch mit Untertiteln.

Alle Videos sind auf dem Goethe-Institut NY Youtube Videokanal verfügbar.

  •  @Goethe-Institut NY
  •  @Goethe-Institut NY

Bestellung

Möchten Sie die Broschüre bestellen?

Email: teacherservice-newyork@goethe.de

Kosten: Die Broschüre ist kostenlos. Sie müssen allerdings die Versandkosten tragen.