Resources for school administrators

school principal Photo: Graham Oliver, Colourbox.de

Welcome!

Administrators and leaders working in the educational sector – school principals, district superintendents, Department of Education’s supervisors for world languages, members of the school boards – can find in this section information on why to introduce a German dual language program in their school(s), what curricular models are adopted in other states across the U.S., how to connect to other schools with German dual language programs, and how to best support teachers and students.

Fabrice Jaumont, a well known expert in the field of dual language education, outlines the current situation and trends in American bilingual education.
Landscape of dual language education in the U.S.
There is a vast body of research documenting the significant positive impact that foreign language learning can have on student's personal, social, and professional life: from improved brain capacity and memory function to better academic and employment opportunities, not to mention increased cultural awareness and richer social networks. The Second Languages and Intercultural Council of the Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA) and the Canadian Association of Second Language Teachers (CASLT) put together a comprehensive bibliography and literature review highlighting the latest research findings in the areas of cognitive and academic, personal and societal, intercultural, and economic impact of the second language learning.
There is a multitude of great reasons to add German to a repertoire of languages offered at your school. Here are just a few:

Economy
  • German companies account for 800,000 jobs in the U.S., and U.S. companies have created approximately the same number of jobs in Germany.
  • Germany is the third largest investor in the U.S., the fourth largest national economy worldwide and the largest in the European Union.
  • Knowing German can boost your annual salary in the U.S. by 4%, in Europe by even more.
Education
  • 2,000 grants are awarded to U.S. students and professors annually to study and research in Germany.
  • Tuition is free at Germany’s excellent universities.
  • 233,000 foreign students are currently enrolled in 350 German Universities, about 12% of the entire student population. After the U.S. and U.K. this makes Germany the most attractive country for foreign students.
  • About 750 high schools in the U.S. have long-term exchange programs with schools in Germany. With GAPP (German American Partnership Program), more than 10,000 students visit each other every year.
Heritage and language
  • Over 50 million Americans claim German heritage, which makes them the largest single ethnic group in the United States.
  • German is the most commonly spoken language in the U.S. after English and Spanish.
  • There are more than 100 million German speakers in the world, not only in Germany, but also in countries such as Austria, Switzerland, parts of France and Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Denmark and Belgium.
  • German is the most widely spoken language in Europe. 18% of European Union residents speak German as their native language and 14% of all Europeans can speak German as a second language. German is also the most commonly used language on the Internet after English.

Culture
  • With 7,62 million foreigners currently living in Germany, it is the world´s top migration spot after the U.S.
  • Germany is a modern, cosmopolitan country. Its society is shaped by a plurality of life styles and truly different ethno-cultural diversity. 
If you would like to learn more facts and reasons why learning German will boost your students’ future, visit our advocacy portal Just Add German.
This presentation addresses the most frequently asked questions by the administrators about what, why and how of establishing a German dual language program at a school.
The educational community has used a variety of terms over the years to refer to schooling in two languages. Among them, dual language education and dual language immersion are used interchangeably as umbrella terms over other terms such as bilingual immersion, bilingual enrichment, developmental bilingual and heritage language immersion.  For the purposes of this project, we will use dual language immersion as the overarching term to emphasize that students are being schooled in two languages in an immersive setting.

The Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) defines dual language immersion, or dual language education, in the following way: “In dual language education programs, students are taught literacy and academic content in English and a partner language. The goals of dual language are for students to develop high levels of language proficiency and literacy in both program languages, to demonstrate high levels of academic achievement, and to develop an appreciation for and an understanding of diverse cultures.“

The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) offers the following core characteristics  of dual language immersion:
  • Additive bilingualism with sustained instruction through the majority language (English) and the minority  language (e.g. German)
  • Subject area instruction through the minority language occurs for at least 50% of the school day during the elementary school years
  • Teachers are fully proficient in the language(s) they use for instruction
  • Support for the majority language  is strong and present in the community at large
  • Clear and sustained separation of languages during instructional time
In the U.S., we distinguish between two types of dual language immersion programs, one-way and two-way. The distinction is based on the differences in the student populations each program type predominantly serves.

One-way dual language immersion (also referred to as foreign language immersion): This type of program predominantly supports one “language group” of students (e.g. native English speakers) to become bilingual, biliterate and bicultural in an additional language, e.g. Chinese, French, German, Russian or Spanish. However, students whose home language is a language other than English also populate one-way programs. The home language might match the partner language, or it might be different from it, for example a student with Arabic language background might participate in an English/German dual language immersion program.

Two-way dual language immersion: Two-way dual language immersion programs serve two language groups together in the same classroom, one group that is English-speaking and another that uses a language other than English as its dominant home language. “Two-way” signals that these two language groups, English and for example German, move simultaneously towards each other’s languages. To serve both language groups equally well, either group should make up no less than one third of the classroom.

Other terms that may be used for two-way dual language immersion include bilingual immersion, bilingual enrichment, and developmental bilingual. However, bilingual enrichment is often used for programs with less than 50% of the school day taught in the partner language. Also, we typically refer to programs as developmental bilingual if they are mostly populated by English learners rather than two equally represented language groups.
The structure of one-way and two-way dual language immersion programs varies, but they all provide at least 50% of instruction in the partner language at all grade levels beginning in pre-K, Kindergarten, or first grade and running at least five years, through grade 5 but preferably through Grade 12.

Further terms and their definitions can be found on the pages of Two-Way Immersion Outreach Project by Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL).
Currently many states and districts across the country are expanding their dual language offerings. Several states have instituted state-wide policies related to dual language and bilingual education, with some mandating specific program models or articulated program expectations. The following states offer a comprehensive overview of their policies and program outcomes and feature resources and information about dual language education:
In addition, the following states adopted the Seal of Biliteracy, an award given by a school, district, or state in recognition of students who have studied and attained proficiency in two or more languages by high school graduation:
Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.
Are you interested in learning more about bilingualism, its benefits for individuals and society, the current state of bilingual education in the U.S., or the practical aspects of raising multilingual children? We have compiled an annotated bibliography that addresses these and other topics in the field of second language learning, teaching, and policy making.  

Are you ready to introduce German at your school?

Initiating a dual language program requires careful long-term planning and complex interlocking decisions. On our portal we provide you with a road map to establishing a program, an overview of most commonly used curricular models, common quality standards, and possible program outcomes. Read on!

National Association for Bilingual Education

Bilingual education advocacy, resources and professional development for teachers, connection to dual language programs across the country

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA)

Immersion education resources: Publications, bibliographies, research projects and findings, professional development for teachers

Ressourcen für Schulverwalter

Schulleiter Foto: Graham Oliver, Colourbox.de

Herzlich Willkommen!

Hier erfahren Sie als Verwaltungs- oder Führungskraft im Bildungssektor, weshalb die Einführung eines Deutsch-Immersionsprogramms an ihrer Schule bzw. ihren Schulen sinnvoll ist, welche Lehrplanmodelle in den verschiedenen US-Staaten verbreitet sind, wie Sie Kontakt zu Schulen aufnehmen, die solche Programme bereits umgesetzt haben, und wie Sie Lehrkräfte und Schülerinnen und Schüler am besten unterstützen.

Fabrice Jaumont, ein bekannter Experte für zweisprachige Erziehung, umreißt die aktuelle Situation und die Trends in der bilingualen Schulbildung in den USA.
Bilinguale Immersionsprogramme in den USA: Ein Überblick
 
Forscher haben umfassend nachgewiesen, welche enormen positiven Auswirkungen das Erlernen einer zweiten Sprache privat, gesellschaftlich und beruflich für Schüler hat. Vom Spracherwerb profitieren nicht nur die Hirnleistung und das Gedächtnis, sondern es eröffnen sich außerdem zusätzliche akademische und berufliche Chancen, das kulturelle Bewusstsein wird geschärft und die soziale Interaktion wird bereichert. In Kanada haben zwei renommierte Lehrerorganisationen, der Second Languages and Intercultural Council of the Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA) und die Canadian Association of Second Language Teachers (CASLT), eine umfassende Literaturliste mit den neuesten Forschungsergebnissen zu den kognitiven, akademischen, persönlichen, gesellschaftlichen, interkulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen des Erlernens einer Zweitsprache zusammengestellt.
Eine Menge guter Gründe sprechen dafür, neben anderen Sprachen auch Deutsch an Ihrer Schule anzubieten:

Wirtschaft
  • Deutsche Unternehmen stellen 800.000 Arbeitsplätze in den USA und amerikanische Firmen haben etwa dieselbe Zahl an Arbeitsplätzen in Deutschland geschaffen.
  • Deutschland ist der drittgrößte Investor in den USA, die viertgrößte Volkswirtschaft der Welt und die größte Volkswirtschaft in der EU.
  • Wer Deutsch kann, verdient in den USA bis zu 4 % mehr als andere Arbeitnehmer – in Europa ist der Vorteil sogar noch größer.

Bildung
  • Jedes Jahr werden 2.000 Stipendien für Deutschlandaufenthalte an Schüler, Studenten und Professoren vergeben.
  • Deutschland hat hervorragende Universitäten, die keine Studiengebühren erheben.
  • Derzeit sind 233.000 ausländische Studierende an 350 deutschen Universitäten eingeschrieben, das sind ca. 12% aller eingeschriebenen Studenten. Deutschland ist somit nach den USA und Großbritannien das attraktivste Land für ausländische Studierende.
  • Etwa 750 amerikanische High Schools betreiben Langzeit-Austauschprogramme mit deutschen Schulen. Über das GAPP (German American Partnership Program) nehmen mehr als 10.000 Schülerinnen und Schüler am Schüleraustausch mit dem Partnerland teil.

Tradition und Sprache
  • Mehr als 50 Mio. Amerikaner sind deutscher Abstammung. Damit sind deutschstämmige Amerikaner die größte ethnische Gruppe in den Vereinigten Staaten.
  • Neben Spanisch und Englisch ist Deutsch die am häufigsten gesprochene Sprache in den USA.
  • Mehr als 100 Mio. Menschen weltweit sind deutschsprachig – nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in Ländern wie Österreich, der Schweiz, in Teilen Frankreichs und Italiens, in Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Dänemark und Belgien.
  • Deutsch ist die meistgesprochene Sprache in Europa. 18 % aller EU-Einwohner sind Deutsch-Mutterprachler, weitere 14 % sprechen Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Deutsch ist außerdem die zweithäufigste Sprache im Internet, nur Englisch wird häufiger verwendet.

Kultur
  • In Deutschland leben derzeit 7,62 Mio. Ausländer. Damit ist Deutschland das führende Ziel für Einwanderer nach den USA.
  • Deutschland ist ein modernes, weltoffenes Land. Die deutsche Gesellschaft ist von Pluralität und hoher ethnischer und kultureller Diversität geprägt. 

In unserem Informationsportal Just Add German erfahren Sie mehr darüber, warum es gut für die Zukunftschancen Ihrer Schülerinnen und Schüler ist, Deutsch zu lernen.
Dieser Vortrag geht auf die häufigsten Fragen aus der Verwaltung darüber ein, worum es sich bei diesen Programmen handelt, warum sie sinnvoll sind, und wie der Aufbau eines bilingualen schulischen Deutschprogramms gelingt.
Im Laufe der Jahre haben sich im Bildungswesen die verschiedensten Begriffe für eine zweisprachige Schulbildung etabliert. So kommt es, dass dual language education und dual language immersion gleichbedeutend und als Überbegriff für andere Konzepte verwendet werden, u. a. bilingual immerson, bilingual enrichment, developmental bilingual und heritage language immersion. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts wird der Begriff dual language immersion (bzw. bilinguale Immersionsprogramme) als Überbegriff verwendet, um zu betonen, dass Schülerinnen und Schüler in zwei Sprachen mit Immersionsmethoden unterrichtet werden.

Das Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) definiert den Begriff dual language immersion bzw. dual language education so: „Im Rahmen sogenannter dual language education-Programme lernen Schülerinnen und Schüler Lesen, Schreiben und akademische Inhalte auf Englisch und in einer Partnersprache. Ziel ist die Beherrschung beider Programmsprachen in Wort und Schrift, das Erbringen akademischer Leistungen auf hohem Niveau sowie Anerkennung und Verstehen unterschiedlicher Kulturen.“

Das Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) führt die folgenden Kernqualitäten bilingualer Immersionsprogramme auf:
  • Additive Bilingualität bei fortgesetztem Unterricht in der Mehrheitssprache (Englisch) und der Minderheitssprache (z. B. Deutsch)
  • Mindestens die Hälfte des täglichen Sachunterrichts in den Grundschulklassen erfolgt in der Minderheitssprache
  • Alle Lehrkräfte beherrschen ihre Unterrichtssprache(n)
  • Starke Unterstützung der Mehrheitssprache im Gemeindeumfeld
  • Klare, anhaltende Trennung der Sprachen während des Unterrichts

In den USA wird zwischen zwei Arten bilingualer Immersionsprogramme unterschieden: sogenannten „one-way“ und „two-way“ Programmen, also uni- und bidirektionalen Programmen. Der Unterschied liegt hier in der Schülerpopulation, auf die diese Programme jeweils zugeschnitten sind.

One-way dual language immersion (auch als foreign language immersion bezeichnet): Diese Art von Programmen unterstützt primär Schülerinnen und Schüler einer „Sprachgruppe“ (z. B. Kinder mit englischer Muttersprache) beim Erwerb der Sprache (in Wort und Schrift) und der Kultur eines anderen Sprachraums. Angeboten werden solche Programme z. B. für Chinesisch, Deutsch, Französisch, Russisch oder Spanisch. Es sind jedoch auch Lernende in solchen Programmen vertreten, die zuhause eine andere Sprache als Englisch sprechen. Dabei kann es sich um die Partnersprache oder um eine dritte Sprache handeln. So könnten beispielsweise Schülerinnen und Schüler, die zuhause Arabisch sprechen, an einem bilingualen Immersionsprogramm für Englisch und Deutsch teilnehmen.

Two-way dual language immersion: Diese Art von Programmen sieht vor, dass zwei „Sprachgruppen“ gemeinsam in einem Klassenzimmer unterrichtet werden, wobei eine Gruppe Englisch als Muttersprache hat und die andere Gruppe zuhause die Partnersprache spricht. „Two-way“ weist darauf hin, dass diese beiden Sprachgruppen, also Englisch und beispielsweise Deutsch, sich zeitgleich und zunehmend immer stärker zur jeweils anderen Sprache hinbewegen. Um beiden Sprachgruppen gleichermaßen gerecht zu werden, sollte keine Gruppe einen Anteil von weniger als einem Drittel der Klasse darstellen.

Weitere Begriffe für solche Programme sind u. a. bilingual immersion, bilingual enrichment sowie developmental bilingual, wobei bilingual enrichment häufig für Programme verwendet wird, bei denen weniger als 50 % des Unterrichts an einem Schultag in der Partnersprache stattfindet. Als developmental bilingual bezeichnete Programme unterrichten primär Englischlernende und in der Regel nicht zwei zu gleichen Teilen vertretene Sprachgruppen. Die one-/two-way dual language programs sind unterschiedlich strukturiert, ihnen ist jedoch gemein, dass mindestens 50% des Unterrichts in allen Klassenstufen in der Partnersprache erfolgt. Sie setzen im Kindergarten, in der Vorschule oder der ersten Grundschulklasse an und sind auf mindestens fünf Jahre (bis zur 5. Klasse) ausgelegt, bevorzugt werden sie jedoch bis zum High-School-Abschluss (d. h. bis zur 12. Klasse) fortgeführt.

Weitere Begriffe mitsamt ihren Definitionen finden Sie auf den Informationsseiten zum „Two-Way Immersion Outreach Project“ des Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL).
Zahlreiche Staaten und Bezirke im ganzen Land erweitern derzeit ihr Angebot bilingualer Schulprogramme. In mehreren Bundesstaaten gelten verbindliche Richtlinien für bilinguale Bildungsinitiativen und Immersionsprogramme, wobei einige auch  konkrete Programmstrukturen bzw. Anforderungen vorgeben. Die folgenden Bundesstaaten bieten einen umfassenden Überblick über ihre Richtlinien und Programmergebnisse und stellen Ressourcen und Informationen zur bilingualen Erziehung bereit:
Darüber hinaus haben die folgenden Staaten mit dem Seal of Biliteracy eine Auszeichnung eingeführt, die von Schulen, Bezirken oder Bundesstaaten an Schülerinnen und Schüler verliehen werden kann, die zum Zeitpunkt des High-School-Abschlusses zwei oder mehr Sprachen erlernt und einen entsprechenden Leistungsnachweis erbracht haben:
Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.
Möchten Sie mehr über Bilingualität, ihre Vorteile für den Einzelnen und für die Gesellschaft, den aktuellen Status bilingualer Schulbildung in den USA oder praktische Aspekte der mehrsprachigen Erziehung erfahren? Dann sind Sie hier richtig: Wir haben eine Bibliographie mit Kommentaren zu diesen und verwandten Themen im Hinblick auf den Erwerb und das Unterrichten einer Zweitsprache sowie das Gestalten der Schulpolitik für Sie zusammengestellt.  

Sind Sie bereit, Deutsch an Ihrer Schule einzuführen?

Die Einführung eines bilingualen Programms erfordert eine sorgfältige langfristige Planung und komplexe Entscheidungen, die miteinander verflochten sind. Auf unserem Portal erhalten Sie einen Wegweiser zur Gründung eines Programms, einen Überblick über die am häufigsten verwendeten curricularen Modelle, oft eingesetzte Qualitätsstandards und mögliche Programmergebnisse. Lesen Sie weiter!

National Association for Bilingual Education

U.S.-weite Interessengruppe für Förderung des bilingualen Unterrichts, Ressourcen und Fortbildungen für Lehrkräfte, Kontakte zu bilingualen Programmen in den USA

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA)

Immersionsausbildung und Forschung: Artikel und Bücher, Bibliographien, Forschungsprojekte und Berichte, Fortbildung für Lehrkräfte