Dual language immersion program models

What are the typical curricular models for dual language programs?

By Johanna Watzinger-Tharp, Ph.D.

Dual language, or dual immersion education in the U.S. refers to formal schooling in two languages, typically starting in Kindergarten or first grade and, ideally, sustained and articulated through grade 12. Dual immersion programs may be offered whole school, or as a strand within a school. Generally speaking, elementary dual immersion is well defined and has experienced rapid growth over the past 10 years, while secondary dual immersion programs are relatively rare and not as well defined.  

Even though dual immersion programs vary according to contexts, implementation and structure, they share three common goals: bilingualism and biliteracy; academic achievement in both languages; and biculturalism, or the understanding and appreciation of multiple cultures and languages (U.S. Department of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition, Dual Language Education Programs: Current State Policies and Practices, Washington, D.C., 2015). In dual language programs, students learn core subjects (English language arts, math, science) in English and a partner language (also called target language), for example Chinese, French or German. Dual language programs are designed to serve all students, including those whose home language is not English, students with special needs and students from lower socioeconomic backgrounds. They also serve students whose home language is neither English nor the partner language, for example a student with a French home language background who might participate in a German/English dual immersion program.

Instructional models: Elementary dual immersion
Instructional models for dual immersion vary within and across educational levels (elementary, middle and high school). Moreover, specific features of an instructional model, for example which subjects are taught in which language, may change from one grade level to another. Programs do have to align with certain principles to be classified as dual immersion. Most importantly, at least 50% of the school day must be taught in the partner language, though teachers may enforce students’ use of the partner language to a greater or lesser degree, depending on grade level and proficiency.

Programs range from an equal 50/50 language allocation (half of the day in each language) to 90/10 models where students are taught almost exclusively in the partner language, e.g. German, French or Spanish. The 90/10 allocation gradually shifts toward an even split, usually by grade 5. 50/50 program models almost always involve two teachers, and two classrooms, one for the partner language and the other for English. 90/10 models, in contrast, typically rely on a single bilingual teacher who switches from one language to the other at specified times of the school day. It is important to note that the partner language content is not repeated or duplicated in English. Rather, content, materials and instruction have to complement each other, since the length of the school day, and the amount of time available for learning, is the same for children in dual language immersion as it is for children in monolingual classrooms.
 
Instructional model illustration: Utah dual immersion
The two pie charts below illustrate the decisions pertaining to the distribution of subjects that schools have to make by showing the instructional model for dual language programs in the State of Utah. In Utah schools, in grades 1-3, content areas such as math, social studies and science are taught in a partner, or target language, for example German (shown as the right half of the pie chart). The other (equal) part of the day (shown as the left half of the pie chart) is mostly devoted to English literacy, or English language arts. During the English-speaking part of the school day, students also learn English vocabulary to reinforce content that is taught in the target language, in particular math. In grades 4-5, math mostly shifts to the English portion of the day, English language arts decreases, and the amount of target language literacy instruction increases.

Model grades 1-3 Utah Dual Language Immersion Model grades 4-5 Utah Dual Language Immersion














Secondary Dual Immersion
Sustaining dual language immersion into middle and high school is critical to students achieving high levels of proficiency in both English and the partner language, but also presents significant challenges. It is difficult to meet the need for teachers who are qualified to teach secondary content areas in a language other than English, though elementary schools often face a teacher shortage as well. Generally speaking, secondary programs tend to be less rigorously defined, not as structured and also less likely to divide instruction equally across the two languages. Given the challenges, it is unfortunately quite common for school districts to discontinue dual language immersion after 6th grade.

What are the options or models, then, for continuing dual language immersion through middle and high school? Most commonly, middle and high schools will offer one, possibly two content courses, e.g. history, math or social science, and a language arts course that is geared to the level of students who have experienced five to six years of dual immersion. With these limited course offerings, the allocation of partner language instruction will be much less than 50%, possibly 40%, but more likely 25-30%.

In schools with an Advanced Placement (AP) program, students who have continued with some form of dual language immersion at the secondary level are often able to complete an AP world language course and exam as early as 9th grade. This opportunity also creates another challenge, however, since schools rarely offer world language or language arts courses beyond AP. The State of Utah is addressing this issue with the so-called Bridge Program for grades 10, 11 and 12. Through partnerships with universities, high schools offer advanced courses that grant high school and upper level college credits to students who have passed the AP exam.
 
Conclusion
For students to reach advanced levels of proficiency in two languages, they must have the opportunity to participate in articulated dual immersion programs from kindergarten or first grade through 12th grade. The creation of dual immersion programs at the elementary level should always go hand-in-hand with planning for secondary level continuation that includes setting proficiency targets and benchmarks for each grade level. Only well-articulated and rigorously designed K-12 dual immersion programs will create the conditions necessary for students to become truly bilingual, biliterate and bicultural.

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp JWT

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp, Ph.D. is associate professor in the Department of Linguistics at the University of Utah, researching and teaching on dual immersion, multilingualism, curriculum design and teacher education.

Curriculare Modelle

Wie sehen die verbreiteten curricularen Modelle für bilinguale Programme aus?

Von Dr. Johanna Watzinger-Tharp

In den USA bezeichnet der Begriff „dual language“ bzw. „dual language immersion education“ ein durchdachtes, klar strukturiertes Programm für die schulische Ausbildung in zwei Sprachen, das in der Regel im Kindergarten oder in der ersten Klasse anfängt und idealerweise bis zur Abschlussklasse der High School (12. Klasse) fortgeführt wird. Bilinguale Immersionsprogramme können schulweit oder im Rahmen einzelner Züge angeboten werden. Im Grundschulbereich sind Programme dieser Art meist gut ausgearbeitet und haben in den letzten 10 Jahren ein rapides Wachstum erfahren, wohingegen die im Sekundarbereich seltener und weniger klar definiert sind.  

Obwohl solche Programme je nach Umfeld, Umsetzung und Struktur unterschiedliche Ausprägungen annehmen können, verfolgen sie grundsätzlich drei Ziele: die Beherrschung beider Sprachen in Wort und Schrift, das Erbringen akademischer Leistungen in beiden Sprachen sowie ein gutes Verständnis zweier Kulturen (U.S. Department of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition, Dual Language Education Programs: Current State Policies and Practices, Washington, D.C., 2015). Im Rahmen bilingualer Programme lernen Schülerinnen und Schüler die Kernfächer (englische Sprache und Literatur, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften) auf Englisch und in der Partnersprache (auch als Zielsprache bezeichnet), wie z. B. Chinesisch, Deutsch oder Französisch. Bilinguale Programme sind für alle Lernende vorgesehen, auch solche, die zuhause kein Englisch sprechen, Lernende mit Behinderungen und solche aus einkommens- und sozial schwachen Familien. Darüber hinaus sind sie für Schülerinnen und Schüler offen, die zuhause weder Englisch noch die Partnersprache sprechen, etwa solche, die zuhause Französisch sprechen und dennoch an einem bilingualen Immersionsprogramm für Deutsch und Englisch teilnehmen.

Unterrichtsmodelle: Bilinguale Immersionsprogramme in der Grundschule
Die Unterrichtsmodelle, die bei bilingualen Immersionsprogrammen zum Einsatz kommen, variieren innerhalb und zwischen den Bildungsstufen (Grundschule sowie Mittel- und Oberstufe, also Elementary, Middle und High School). Darüber hinaus können sich bestimmte Aspekte der jeweiligen Modelle, z. B. im Hinblick darauf, welche Fächer in welcher Sprache unterrichtet werden, von einer Klassenstufe zur nächsten ändern. Alle Programme müssen jedoch bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen, um als bilinguale Immersionsprogramme eingestuft werden zu können. Vor allem muss mindestens 50% des Schultags in der Partnersprache unterrichtet werden, wobei Lehrkräfte die Nutzung der Partnersprache durch die Schülerinnen und Schüler mehr oder weniger intensiv durchsetzen können, je nach Klassenstufe und Sprachbeherrschung.

Programme variieren von einer gleichgewichteten Sprachverteilung von 50/50 (wobei jeder Sprache ein halber Schultag gewidmet ist) bis hin zu 90/10-Modellen, bei denen Lernende fast ausschließlich in der Partnersprache unterrichtet werden, z. B. Deutsch, Französisch oder Spanisch. Modelle mit 90/10-Verteilung werden dann bis zur 5. Klasse allmählich auf eine 50/50-Verteilung umgestellt. Diese erfordern fast immer zwei Lehrkräfte und zwei Klassenzimmer, also je eine Lehrkraft und ein Klassenzimmer pro Sprache. Im Gegensatz dazu werden 90/10-Modelle meist von einem einzigen, zweisprachigen Lehrer unterrichtet, der zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten während des Schultags die Sprache wechselt. Dabei ist anzumerken, dass in der Partnersprache vermittelte Inhalte nicht auf Englisch wiederholt oder dupliziert werden. Stattdessen müssen Unterlagen und Unterricht einander ergänzen, da die Dauer des Schultags und die zum Lernen verfügbare Zeit für Kinder in bilingualen Immersionsprogrammen nicht länger ist als beim einsprachigen Unterricht.
 
Unterrichtsmodelle am Beispiel bilingualer Immersionsprogramme in Utah
Die folgenden beiden Kreisdiagramme illustrieren die Entscheidungen hinsichtlich der Fachverteilung, die Schulen treffen müssen, anhand des Unterrichtsmodells für bilinguale Programme im Bundesstaat Utah. In den dortigen Schulen werden in den Klassen jeweils bis zu drei Sachfächer wie Mathematik, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften in einer Partner- bzw. Zielsprache wie etwa Deutsch (rechts im Kreisdiagramm) unterrichtet. Der andere (gleich lange) Teil des Tages (die linke Hälfte des Kreisdiagramms) wird primär auf Sprach- und Literaturunterricht in der englischen Sprache verwendet. Während des englischsprachigen Teil des Tages lernen Schülerinnen und Schüler außerdem englisches Vokabular, um Inhalte zu stärken, die in der Zielsprache unterrichtet werden, insbesondere Mathematik. In den Klassen 4-5 wird Mathematik größtenteils in den englischen Teil des Unterrichtstags verlegt, es wird weniger englische Sprache und Literatur unterrichtet, und die Alphabetisierung in der Zielsprache nimmt zu.

Utah Dual Language Immersion Utah Dual Language Immersion Utah Dual Language Immersion Utah Dual Language Immersion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Bilinguale Immersion in der Sekundarstufe
Die Fortführung bilingualen Immersion in der Middle und High School ist unverzichtbar, damit Schülerinnen und Schüler ein hohes Maß an Sprachkompetenz sowohl in Englisch als auch der Partnersprache erzielen. Dies ist jedoch mit großen Herausforderungen verbunden. Der Bedarf an Lehrkräfte, die qualifiziert sind, Sachfächer in einer anderen Sprache als Englisch zu unterrichten, ist schwer zu decken – wobei auch in der Primarstufe oft ein Lehrermangel herrscht. Generell sind die Programme im Sekundarbereich oft weniger rigoros definiert, weniger strukturiert und es ist weniger wahrscheinlich, dass der Unterricht zu gleichen Teilen auf beide Sprachen verteilt ist. Angesichts der Herausforderungen kommt es leider häufig vor, dass Schulbezirke die bilinguale Immersion nach der 6. Klasse einstellen.

Welche Möglichkeiten und Modelle zur Fortführung der bilingualen Immersion in der Middle und High School gibt es also? Häufig bieten diese Schulen ein oder zwei Fächer wie z. B. Geschichte, Mathematik oder Sozialwissenschaften sowie einen Sprach- und Literaturkurs für das Niveau von Schülerinnen und Schülern nach fünf bis sechs Jahren bilingualer Immersion an. Angesichts dieses eingeschränkten Kursangebots liegt der Anteil des Kursangebots in der Partnersprache bei deutlich unter 50 %, manchmal bei 40 %, aber in der Regel eher bei 25-30 % des Schultags.

In Schulen mit einem sogenannten Advanced Placement (AP) Programm können Lernende, die irgendeine Form der bilingualen Immersion in der Sekundarstufe fortgesetzt haben, oftmals einen AP-Weltsprachenkurs mit der entsprechenden Prüfung abschließen, oft schon in der 9. Klasse. Das führt jedoch zu weiteren Herausforderungen, da Schulen in den seltensten Fällen Kurse in Weltsprachen bzw. Sprache und Literatur über dem AP-Niveau anbieten. Der Bundesstaat Utah geht dieses Problem mit dem sogenannten Brückenprogramm für die Klassen 10, 11 und 12 an (https://l2trec.utah.edu/bridge-program/). Im Rahmen einer Universitätspartnerschaft bieten High Schools fortgeschrittene Kurse an, bei denen Schülerinnen und Schüler nach bestandener AP-Prüfung High-School- und College-Leistungspunkte sammeln können.
 
Schlussfolgerung
Damit Lernende ein hohes Niveau in zwei Sprachen erreichen können, müssen sie die Gelegenheit haben, ab der Vorschule bzw. der ersten Klasse an durchdachten, klar strukturierten Immersionsprogrammen teilzunehmen. Dabei sollte die Schaffung bilingualer Immersionsprogramme auf Grundschulniveau stets Hand in Hand mit der Planung für eine Fortsetzung in der Sekundarstufe gehen, wobei auch Kompetenzziele und Messgrößen für jede Klassenstufe aufgestellt werden. Nur gut strukturierte, angemessen aufgebaute bilinguale Immersionsprogramme, die vom Kindergarten bis zum Schulabschluss in der 12. Klasse fortgesetzt werden, schaffen die nötigen Voraussetzungen, um zwei Kulturen und zwei Sprachen in Wort und Schrift zu beherrschen.

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp JWT

Johanna Watzinger-Tharp, Ph.D. ist Associate Professor an der Abteilung der Linguistik an University of Utah, sie forscht und unterrichtet im Bereich bilingualer Bildung, Mehrsprachigkeit, Curriculumsplanung und Lehrerausbildung.