Program Outcomes

What will your students be able to do at the end of the program

Below is a table showing an example of a possible progression of foreign language proficiency levels according to the ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. This progression is based on a program operating approximately 50% in German (Rilke Schule German School of Arts and Sciences in Anchorage, AK). You will note that speaking, reading, listening and writing progress at different rates, with listening and reading progressing often more quickly than speaking and writing.

German Immersion Grade Level Expectations
 
Grade Level speaking listening reading writing
Kindergarten Novice Mid Novice Mid Novice Low Novice Mid
1st Novice Mid Novice High Novice Mid Novice Mid
2nd Novice High Novice High Novice Mid Novice High
3rd Novice High Intermediate Low Novice High Novice High
4th Intermediate Low Intermediate Mid Intermediate Low Intermediate Low
5th Intermediate Low Intermediate High Intermediate Low Intermediate Low
6th Intermediate Low Intermediate High Intermediate Mid Intermediate Low
7th Intermediate Mid Advanced Low Intermediate Mid Intermediate Mid
8th Intermediate Mid Advanced Low Intermediate High Intermediate Mid


ACTFL in cooperation with the National Council of State Supervisors for Languages (NCSSFL) has also created Can-Do statements which more specifically illustrate what learners “can do” at the different levels. These criteria statements focus on proficiency as opposed to deficiency. Can-Do statements serve as a curricular support document and assessment tool. The Can-Do statements are student-centered and intended to be a self-assessment tool. Students use the Can-Do statements to consider the quality of their own work and indicate, to the best of their ability, how well they are performing in relation to grade level expectations. Teachers use Can-Do statements for assessment, communicating with students and parents, and for planning for instruction, e.g., lesson plans, unit plans, year plans. The Can-Do statements are also designed to help stakeholders outside the classroom, such as parents and administrators, understand how language proficiency will progress over time.

ACTFL-NCSSFL Can-Do statements are organized into Proficiency Benchmarks supported by more specific Performance Indicators. Taking these as a starting point, the teachers at Rilke Schule created even more specific indicators for every grade level that reflected the content and language progression in their program. Below you can download examples of their Benchmarks and Indicators at four different grade levels and four different areas (speaking, listening, reading and writing).

Below you can download an example of a possible progression of grammatical elements for grades K-6. This is based on a program operating approximately 50% in German. You will notice the progression from the student being able to use the grammatical element in first modeled situations, then structured situations and finally independently and consistently. The full documents illustrating the K-9 and 10-12 Programs of study and corresponding progression of curricular outcomes in Language Arts is available from the website of the Alberta Ministry of Education (Canada), under "Programs of Study" here.

Programmergebnisse

Was Ihre Schüler am Ende des Programms wissen und können

Die folgende Tabelle gibt Beispiele für die mögliche Progression des Kompetenzniveaus gemäß den ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines des American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. Diese Richtlinien wurden im Rahmen eines ungefähr zu 50% auf Deutsch unterrichteten Programms an der Rilke Schule German School of Arts and Sciences in Anchorage, Alaska erarbeitet. Dabei fällt auf, dass Sprechen, Lesen, Hören und Schreiben nicht gleich schnell erlernt werden: Oft werden beim Hör- und Leseverständnis schneller Fortschritte erzielt als beim aktiven Sprachgebrauch, d. h. beim Sprechen und Schreiben der Zielsprache.

Klassenstufenerwartungen für Deutsch-Immersionsprogramme
 
klasse Sprechen hören Lesen Schreiben
Kindergarten Novice Mid Novice Mid Novice Low Novice Mid
1. Novice Mid Novice High Novice Mid Novice Mid
2. Novice High Novice High Novice Mid Novice High
3. Novice High Intermediate Low Novice High Novice High
4. Intermediate Low Intermediate Mid Intermediate Low Intermediate Low
5. Intermediate Low Intermediate High Intermediate Low Intermediate Low
6. Intermediate Low Intermediate High Intermediate Mid Intermediate Low
7. Intermediate Mid Advanced Low Intermediate Mid Intermediate Mid
8. Intermediate Mid Advanced Low Intermediate High Intermediate Mid


Der ACTFL hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem National Council of State Supervisors for Languages (NCSSFL) außerdem sogenannte Can-Do statements (Kann-Beschreibungen) herausgegeben, die konkreter vorgeben, über welche Kompetenzen Lernende je nach Niveau verfügen sollten. Dabei legen diese Kriterienaussagen den Schwerpunkt auf Kompetenzen statt auf Lücken. Sie sind als Unterstützungs- und Bewertungstool für den Lehrplan zu verstehen. Außerdem stellen sie eine schülerorientierte Methode zur Selbstbeurteilung dar. Anhand dieser Statements können Schülerinnen und Schüler ihren Fortschritt beurteilen und weitgehend feststellen, wie gut sie im Hinblick auf die Klassenstufenerwartungen abschneiden. Lehrkräfte können diese Kann-Beschreibungen zur Beurteilung, zur Kommunikation mit Schülern und Eltern sowie zur kurz- und langfristigen Unterrichtsplanung verwenden. Außerdem können nicht direkt am Unterrichtsgeschehen beteiligte Stakeholdern wie z. B. Eltern und die Verwaltung daran nachvollziehen, wie sich die Sprachkompetenz im zeitlichen Verlauf entwickelt.

ACTFL/NCSSFL Can-Do Statements sind in sogenannte Proficiency Benchmarks (Kompetenz-Benchmarks) gegliedert, die sich nach konkreten Performance Indicators (Leistungsindikatoren) richten. Ausgehend davon haben die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer an der Rilke Schule noch präzisere Indikatoren für jede Klassenstufe entwickelt, die zum Inhalt und zur Sprachprogression des Programms passen. Im Folgenden können Sie Beispiele der erarbeiteten Benchmarks und Indikatoren für vier Klassenstufen und vier Bereiche (Sprechen, Hören, Lesen und Schreiben) herunterladen.

Über den Link unten können Sie ein Beispiel einer möglichen Progression von Grammatikelementen für die Klassenstufen K-6 herunterladen. Diese beruht auf einem Programm, das etwa zu 50 % auf Deutsch unterrichtet wird. Daran ist ersichtlich, dass Schülerinnen und Schüler lernen, die jeweiligen grammatikalischen Prinzipien zunächst in modellierten Situationen, dann in strukturierten Situationen und schließlich unabhängig und durchgängig korrekt zu verwenden. Das vollständige Dokument mit dem Unterrichtsprogramm für die Klassenstufen K-9 und 10-12 sowie die entsprechende Progression der Lehrplanziele für die Sprachkompetenz finden Sie auf der Website des Bildungsministeriums der kanadischen Provinz Alberta unter diesem Link.