Events

Training Seminars in Germany

 At each of the 10-day summer training seminars, ten teacher tandems (consisting of one German and one STEM teacher) from the USA will participate. Experts from the field of Sustainability will serve to foster the participants’ understanding and provide insight into the practical implementation of Education for Sustainable Development.
 
The program includes excursions to schools and other educational centers, technical discussions and the creation of original projects and materials. Information about the seminars will be disseminated at the beginning of the year, and will be open to German and STEM teachers from all schools types.

The content of the seminars address the various subject areas of sustainability. 

Webinars

Teachers who took part in the training seminar in Germany, present their projects and materials here. We have archived past Webinars, so you may view them anytime and use the created materials. Participation in the Webinars is free.

Internationale Fachkonferenz „Sustainability Matters“

 On October 3, 2015, experts and speakers from Germany and the USA presented the current state of research regarding Sustainability and Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). The conference provided a hands-on approach to ESD. Various outreach programs, best-practice examples of designing and implementing projects for students, and integrating new perspectives in the classroom and/or the whole school were presented.

Participants from all over the US were presented with a comprehensive overview of the different fields of ESD and were updated on the latest research. The experts gave new impulses as well as strengthened the participants’ motivation to connect teaching sustainability with their own subject (German, STEM, etc.) and work across the curricula.
 
“Sustainability Matters!” offered the unique opportunity to increase technical knowledge about sustainability-related issues (such as energy, climate, water, and biodiversity). At the same time, the participants learned about how practical and easy it is to integrate sustainability into their daily life.
 
In the afternoon, various Chicago organizations presented their sustainability-related outreach programs and highlighted best practice examples.

Veranstaltungen

Fortbildungsseminare

 An den 10-tägigen Fortbildungsseminaren im Sommer nehmen jeweils zehn Lehrertandems (eine Deutsch- und eine MINT-Lehrkraft) aus den USA teil. Expert*innen auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit bilden die Teilnehmer*innen fort und bieten Einblicke in die Praxis der Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE).

Das Programm beinhaltet Exkursionen zu Modellschulen und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen, Fachaustausch mit Expert*innen auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit und die Entwicklung eigener Projekte und Materialien. Die Fortbildungsseminare werden zum Jahresbeginn ausgeschrieben
und sind offen für Deutsch- und MINT-Lehrkräfte aller Schulformen.

Die Seminare befassen sich inhaltlich mit den verschiedenen Themenbereichen der Nachhaltigkeit.

Webinare

Lehrer*innen, die an den Fortbildungsseminaren in Deutschland teilgenommen haben, stellen hier ihre Projekte und Materialien vor. Bereits vergangene Webinare haben wir archiviert, so dass Sie sie jederzeit anschauen du die dazugehörigen Materialien nutzen können. Die Teilnahme an den Webinaren ist kostenlos.

Internationale Fachkonferenz „Sustainability Matters“

 Am 3. Oktober 2015 fand im Rahmen des Projekts eine internationale Konferenz statt. Deutsche und amerikanische Expert*innen auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit und der Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) präsentierten neben dem aktuellen Stand der Forschung auch viele konkrete Beispiele aus der BNE.

Die Konferenzteilnehmer*innen aus den gesamten USA erhielten einen breit gefächerten Einblick in die Bereiche der BNE. In praxisorientierten Workshops wurde anschaulich gezeigt, wie man mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit fächerübergreifend (z.B. Deutsch als Fremdsprache und MINT-Fächer) arbeiten und Inhalte sinnvoll miteinander verzahnen kann.
 
Die Konferenz „Sustainability Matters!” gab den Teilnehmer*innen die Möglichkeit, sich auf verschiedenen Gebieten der Nachhaltigkeit, wie z.B. Energie, Klima, Wasser und Biodiversität, fortzubilden und sich zu Projektideen auszutauschen. Gleichzeitig wurde in den Vorträgen und Workshops auf vielfältige Art und Weise gezeigt, wie man das alltägliche Leben effizient nachhaltiger ausrichten kann.
 
Am Nachmittag präsentierten lokale Organisationen ihre Weiterbildungsprogramme im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit und gaben anhand vieler erfolgreicher Beispiele einen guten Einblick in die Praxis.