German and STEM

Windmills © Goethe-Institut

German and STEM: A winning combination!


Sustainability Tree © Goethe-Institut For mathematicians, computer-scientists, engineers, technicians, as well as experts in the field of sustainability, Germany offers a broad range of opportunities when it comes to higher education and career.

The inclusion of STEM content in the German language classroom, and conversely the thematization of Germany in STEM classes provides students with not only general language skills, but also builds their technical vocabulary.

The German-STEM Projects of the Goethe-Institut USA

  • focus on interdisciplinary sustainable education
  • gets students excited about German language while simultaneously imparting subject specific content 
  • can be implemented at various levels.

Slogan of the Sustainability Summit: Water, Energy, Climate, Consumption © Goethe-Institut

Sustainability Summit 2019

What will we need to thrive as we make the shift toward a sustainable future?  Learn more about the similarities, the meaning of diversity, multiple perspectives and about links between STEM and German.

Aqua Agenten (c) German School

Aqua Agents

School children on water mission: The Aqua Agents project from Hamburg is now underway in the US!
With this project, they learn to approach water in new and unusual ways to understand what a valuable resource it is.

  Teaching Sustainability Goethe-Institut

Teaching Sustainability

This project unites German and STEM teachers under the umbrella of Sustainability.
It promotes the implementation of sustainability issues in the classroom, exchange of knowledge, learning from best practice, and working across the curricula. The project gives teacher teams the opportunity to be trained about various sustainability topics (i.e.water, energy, climate, and consumption) by experts in Germany.

PASCH Goethe-Institut

PASCH German STEM Workshop

PASCH-schools have excellent German and STEM-programs. How can German teachers integrate STEM disciplines such as math, physics, biology and chemistry into their German lessons and collaborate with their colleagues? Teachers dealt with this question during the PASCH workshop German and STEM at the Goethe-Institut Washington.

Deutsch und MINT

Windmühlen © Goethe-Institut

Deutsch und MINT: Eine tolle Kombination!


Nachhaltigkeit Baum © Goethe-Institut
Deutschland bietet für angehende Mathematiker, Informatiker, Ingenieure, Techniker oder auch Experten auf dem Gebiet der Nachhaltigkeit breitgefächerte Möglichkeiten in den Bereichen Studium und Karriere.

Der Einbezug von Sachfachinhalten in den Deutschunterricht und umgekehrt die Thematisierung von Deutschland in den MINT-Fächern vermittelt Schülern neben allgemeinsprachlichen auch fachsprachliche Kompetenzen.

Die Deutsch-MINT-Projekte des Goethe-Instituts in den USA

  • fokussieren auf fächerübergreifenden nachhaltigen Unterricht
  • begeistern Schüler für das Fach Deutsch und vermitteln zugleich sachfachspezifische Inhalte
  • können in verschiedenen Niveaustufen eingesetzt werden.

Nachhaltigkeitsgipfel 2019

Was müssen wir wissen, wenn wir den Wandel zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft vorantreiben wollen? Erfahren Sie mehr über die Gemeinsamkeiten, über die Bedeutung von Vielfalt und unterschiedlichen Perspektiven, und über Verbindungen zu MINT und Deutsch als Fremdsprache.

Aqua Agenten (c) German School

Aqua Agenten

Das Aqua-Agenten Projekt aus Hamburg ist jetzt in den USA unterwegs! Mit diesem Projekt lernen Schülerinnen und Schüler (Grund- und Mittelstufe) den nachhaltigen Umgang mit der kostbaren Ressource Wasser.

Nachhaltigkeit im Unterricht Goethe-Institut

Bildung für Nachhaltigkeit

Ziel ist es, DaF- und MINT-Lehrer*innen im Bereich Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) zu vernetzen, damit sie gemeinsam BNE-Projekte an ihren Schulen durchführen. Die Implementierung von Themen der Nachhaltigkeit, fachlicher Austausch, das gemeinsame Lernen anhand von Modellbeispielen und fächerübergreifendes Arbeiten stehen im Vordergrund.

PASCH Goethe-Institut

PASCH DaF MINT Workshop

PASCH-Schulen haben exzellente Deutsch- und MINT-Programme. Wie können die Deutschlehrer die MINT-Fächer Mathematik, Physik, Biologie und Chemie in ihren Unterricht integrieren und mit ihren Kollegen arbeiten? Mit dieser Frage befassten sich Lehrkräfte auf dem PASCH Workshop DaF und MINT am Goethe-Institut Washington