Aqua Agents

Aqua Agenten in Chicago © Goethe-Institut

School children on water mission:
The Aqua Agents project from Hamburg is now underway in the US!

Aqua-Agenten © Goethe-Institut Chicago School children (elementary/middle school) are on a mission – a water mission!

By taking on exciting assignments linked to AQUA AGENTS stories, they are trained as AQUA AGENTS. In the classroom, they learn to approach water in new and unusual ways to understand what a valuable resource it is. They are given interesting opportunities to engage their curiosity and research the many facets of water, to raise their own questions, to find answers themselves, and to work in teams to develop solutions to problems. The AQUA AGENTS project empowers them to become advocates for their own life choices and for responsible social relationships as a whole. The goal is to use the example of water to show how ecological, social, cultural and economic factors are all linked together in our world.

The AQUA AGENTS office in Hamburg and the Goethe-Institut Chicago are jointly responsible for the adaptation and implementation of the AQUA AGENTS project in the USA. 

About the project

The project “Aqua Agents” is based on the principles of education for sustainable development. In Germany it was distinguished as “An official project of the UN-Decade Education for Sustainable Development”.

Here you find more information:

The UN-Decade Education for Sustainable Development (2005-2014) pursued the world-wide goal of embedding the principals of sustainable development in all areas of education in accordance with Agenda 21.
This will give all people the chance to acquire the knowledge necessary for living sustainably, to develop future-oriented thinking and to act responsibly in accordance to these principals.
Education for Sustainable Development takes into account economic, social and ecological aspects. It highlights local, regional and global relationships. As a result, causes of various problems, including climate change, exploitation of natural resources, droughts, world-wide conflicts and poverty, become visible. Furthermore, the consequences of the actions on the individual level become visible as well.

ESD does not only involve broaching the subject of sustainability, but also the development of resolutions and action in accordance with sustainability.

In 2015 the UNESCO Global Action Program launched “Education 2030: Framework for Action”, with a goal “Towards inclusive and equitable quality education and lifelong learning for all.”

The AQUA AGENTS project was developed in accordance with ESD principals: At the forefront is a skills oriented and holistic understanding of the natural resource water. The participating students gain knowledge about the interconnectedness of economic, ecological, social and cultural aspects. The education program encourages sustainable thinking and action, builds students’ confidence in their ability to shape the future and shows by example how ESD can be implemented in the classroom and through extracurricular activities.
 
In the classroom, the students learn to approach water in new and unusual ways to understand what a valuable resource it is. They are given interesting opportunities to engage their curiosity and research the many facets of water, to raise their own questions, to find answers themselves, and to work in teams to develop solutions to problems. The AQUA AGENTS project empowers them to become advocates for their own life choices and for responsible social relationships as a whole. The goal is to use the example of water to show how ecological, social, cultural and economic factors are all linked together in our world.

 The AQUA AGENTS tasks are generally broken down into four topics:
—Water Supply
—Wastewater Management
—Water and Habitats
—Water and Economic Areas

All 34 exercises are bundled in the Aqua Agents Suitcase. For interdisciplinary lessons there is a collection of materials in English. The materials are supplemented by continuative materials for German language learners, such as regionally tailored assignment sets.

The AQUA AGENTS project was designed according to the principles of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) and has earned the designation “Official Project of the UN World Decade of Education for Sustainable Development” three times. A network of partners from the fields of environmental protection, education, business, and the sciences stands behind this project. The main sponsors are the Michael Otto Foundation for Environmental Protection, Hamburg Wasser (which is responsible for water supply and wastewater management in Hamburg), and Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG (the largest operator of container terminals in Hamburg). The Hamburg AQUA AGENTS office develops and coordinates all project activities in Germany.
The AQUA AGENTS office in Hamburg and the Goethe-Institut Chicago are jointly responsible for the adaptation and implementation of the AQUA AGENTS project in the USA.
 
Are you interested in the Aqua Agents project? We'll gladly include your school.

With the materials in the ‘Aqua Agents Suitcase’ you can carry out the project in your German classroom. Ideally, you would work inter-disciplinarily along with a STEM teacher, who can use the English materials simultaneously.
 
The project can take place over several weeks, or be integrated into your classroom as you see fit. In addition, we make regionally specific as well as supplementary materials available for topics such as water in everyday life and virtual water.
 
The activities can be tailored to one’s needs and preferences, and can be solved individually, in pairs, or as a team. Varied activity types, games, and texts are one of the aspects of the project that support the learning process and motivate students on their way to becoming Aqua Agents.
 
For participating teachers, praxis-oriented training seminars focusing on the didactic concepts of education for sustainable development and to assist with the integration of the materials in the classroom are offered.
 
The Goethe-Institut makes the German and English teaching materials available to teachers at no cost. Additionally, schools receive support throughout the implementation of the project, including Aqua Agent Passports for participating students, supporting materials for text work, assistance with carrying out activities such as conducting a survey about water and water-waste.
 
Would you like to participate in the project?
Please complete the online registration form.
 
 
Within the project, students tackle various questions. They use action-oriented thinking to solve problems or independently research for answers or alternative solutions.

Examples:
- How does the water cycle work?
- The Journey of Jeans
- The Toilet Quiz
- Who owns the water source?
- Where does drinking water come from and how does a water treatment plant work?
- Invasive Species in the Water
- How much water does it take to get your egg on the table?
 
  • Aqua Agenten Case © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Buttons © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Material © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Magnets © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Nametag © Goethe-Institut

Aqua-Agenten: Dem Wasser auf der Spur!

Aqua Agenten in Chicago © Goethe-Institut

Das Aqua-Agenten Projekt aus Hamburg ist jetzt in den USA unterwegs!

Aqua-Agenten © Aqua-Agenten Schülerinnen und Schüler (Grundschule/ Mittelschule) gehen auf die „Mission Wasser“!

Mit Hilfe von spannenden Aufträgen, eingebettet in die sogenannte „AQUA-AGENTEN-Story“, werden sie zu AQUA-AGENTEN ausgebildet. Im Klassenzimmer setzen sie sich auf neue und ungewöhnliche Weise mit der kostbaren Ressource Wasser auseinander. Sie bekommen dabei Gelegenheit, mit Spaß und Neugier die Vielfalt von Wasser zu erforschen, selbstbewusst Fragen zu stellen, Antworten zu finden und im Team Lösungen für Probleme zu entwickeln. Mit dem Bildungsangebot AQUA-AGENTEN werden sie motiviert, sich für ihr eigenes Leben und ein verantwortungsvolles Miteinander in der Gesellschaft aktiv einzusetzen.

Das AQUA AGENTEN Büro in Hamburg koordiniert das Projekt inhaltlich und organisatorisch. Die Umsetzung in den USA erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Chicago. 
 

Zum Projekt

Das Projekt „Aqua-Agenten“ basiert auf den Prinzipien der Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE). In Deutschland wurde es als „Offizielles Projekt der UN-Weltdekade Bildung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung“ ausgezeichnet.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen:
 

Die UN-Dekade Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (2005-2014) verfolgte weltweit das Ziel, die Prinzipien der nachhaltigen Entwicklung gemäß der Agenda 21 in allen Bildungsbereichen zu verankern.
So sollen alle Menschen die Chance haben, sich Wissen anzueignen, um nachhaltig und zukunftsfähig denken und entsprechend verantwortungsvoll handeln zu können.
Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung berücksichtigt ökonomische, soziale und ökologische Aspekte. Sie macht lokale, regionale und globale Zusammenhänge deutlich. So werden Ursachen verschiedener Probleme wie z.B. Klimawandel, Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen, Dürren, weltweite Konflikte und Armut sichtbar. So wird auch sichtbar, welche Konsequenzen das Handeln des Einzelnen hat.

Zur BNE gehören nicht nur das Thematisieren von Nachhaltigkeitsthemen, sondern auch das Entwickeln von Lösungsansätzen und das entsprechende nachhaltige Handeln.

2015 startete das UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramm Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung mit dem Ziel “Bis 2030 für alle Menschen inklusive, chancengerechte und hochwertige Bildung sowie Möglichkeiten zum lebenslangen Lernen sicherstellen”.

Das Projekt AQUA-AGENTEN wurde nach den BNE-Prinzipien entwickelt: Ein kompetenzorientiertes und ganzheitliches Verständnis für die Ressource Wasser steht im Vordergrund. Die teilnehmenden Schüler gewinnen Erkenntnisse über die Vernetzung ökonomischer, ökologischer, sozialer und kultureller Aspekte. Das Bildungsangebot ermutigt zu nachhaltigem Denken und Handeln, fördert die Gestaltungskompetenzen und zeigt modellhaft, wie BNE im Unterricht und bei außerschulischen Aktionen realisiert werden kann.
Mit Hilfe von spannenden Aufträgen, eingebettet in die sogenannte „AQUA-AGENTEN-Story“, werden Die Schüler zu AQUA-AGENTEN ausgebildet. Im Klassenzimmer setzen sie sich auf neue und ungewöhnliche Weise mit der kostbaren Ressource Wasser auseinander. Sie bekommen dabei Gelegenheit, mit Spaß und Neugier die Vielfalt von Wasser zu erforschen, selbstbewusst Fragen zu stellen, Antworten zu finden und im Team Lösungen für Probleme zu entwickeln.

Mit dem Bildungsangebot AQUA-AGENTEN werden sie motiviert, sich für ihr eigenes Leben und ein verantwortungsvolles Miteinander in der Gesellschaft aktiv einzusetzen.

In der Themenwerkstatt erarbeiten sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler selbstorganisiert vier spannende Wasserthemen und werden zu „AQUA-AGENTEN“ ausgebildet:
- Wasser als Element und Ressource
- Wasser als Abwasser
- Wasser als Lebensraum
- Wasser in verschiedenen Regionen sowie Wirtschaftsraum Wasser

Alle 34 Aufgaben sind im Aqua-Agenten Koffer zusammengefasst. Für den fächerübergreifenden Unterricht gibt es eine Aufgabensammlung in englischer Sprache. Ergänzt werden die Materialien durch weiterführende DaF-Aufgaben sowie regionalspezifisch angepasste Aufgabensets.
 
Das Projekt AQUA-AGENTEN wurde nach den Prinzipien einer Bildung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) konzipiert und ist dreimal als „Offizielles Projekt der UN Weltdekade Bildung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung“ ausgezeichnet.
Ein breit angelegtes Netzwerk steht hinter der Projektentwicklung: Die Michael-Otto-Umweltstiftung, Hamburg Wasser und die Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG unterstützen das Projekt als Hauptsponsoren. Das AQUA AGENTEN Büro in Hamburg koordiniert das Projekt inhaltlich und organisatorisch. Die Umsetzung in den USA erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Chicago.
 
Sie haben Interesse am Projekt "Aqua-Agenten"? Wir nehmen Ihre Schule gerne auf.

Mithilfe der Aufgaben im Aqua-Agenten Koffer kann das Projekt im Deutschunterricht durchgeführt werden. Idealerweise arbeiten Sie fächerübergreifend mit einer MINT-Lehrkraft zusammen, die gleichzeitig die englischen Materialien nutzen kann.

Die Themenwerkstatt kann über mehrere Wochen bearbeitet werden oder auch ganz an Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst werden. Zusätzlich stellen wir weitere sowohl regionalspezifisch angepasste als auch ergänzende Materialien und Aufgaben zur Verfügung: z.B. zu den Themen Wasser im Alltag oder Virtuelles Wasser.

Die Aufgaben werden selbstorganisiert in Einzelarbeit, in Partnerarbeit oder auch gemeinsam im Team gelöst. Abwechslungsreiche Aufgabentypen, Spiele, Texte u.a. unterstützen den Lernprozess und motivieren die Schüler auf ihrem Weg zum „Aqua Agenten“.

Für teilnehmende Lehrkräfte werden praxisorientierte Fortbildungen zum didaktischen Konzept, zur Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung und zum Einsatz der Materialien im Unterricht angeboten.

Das Goethe-Institut stellt den teilnehmenden Lehrkräften die deutschen und englischen Unterrichtsmaterialien und die Fortbildung kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Außerdem werden die Schulen bei der Durchführung des Projekts unterstützt: Aqua-Agenten-Ausweise für teilnehmende Schüler, Materialien zur Textarbeit, Hilfe bei der Durchführung von z.B. Passantenumfragen zum Thema Wasser und Wasserverbrauch.

 
Sie möchten am Projekt teilnehmen?
Dann füllen Sie bitte das Online-Anmeldeformular aus.
 
Innerhalb der Themenwerkstatt befassen sich die Schüler mit verschiedenen Fragestellungen. Sie lösen Probleme handlungsorientiert oder recherchieren eigenständig nach Antworten und alternativen Lösungswegen.

Beispiele:
- Wie funktioniert der Wasserkreislauf?
- Die Reise einer Jeans
- Das Toiletten-Quiz
- Wem gehört die Wasserstelle?
- Woher kommt das Trinkwasser und wie funktioniert eine Kläranlage?
- Invasive Spezies im Wasser
- Wieviel Wasser steckt im Frühstücksei?
 
  • Aqua Agenten Koffer © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Buttons © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Material © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Magnete © Goethe-Institut
  • Aqua Agenten Namesschild © Goethe-Institut