Conferences & Networking

Conferences

16. Internationale Deutschlehrertagung (IDT)

The 16th International German Teacher Conference (IDT) took place from July 31 to August 4, 2017 in Freiburg (Switzerland). The Goethe-Institut awarded stipends to German teachers in the USA to attend this unique event. More information about the Goethe-Institut's participation in this year can be found here.
 

GETVICO

The Goethe-Institut and the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) present GETVICO the Virtual Conference for German Teachers in the US and Canada.

Date: 09/16/17
Call for Abstracts until 04/01/17

ACTFL 2017 in Nashville

Come visit us at Booth #323 during this year's American Convention for the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) in Nashville! Talk to colleagues from Goethe-Institutes all over the country, get new teaching and promotional materials, learn more about our programs and win amazing prizes. 

GAD McDaniel

We look forward to participating in the 23rd German-American Day on October 17 at McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland. This year’s theme is “Einshoch6 auf US Tour” and will feature a lively concert by Einshoch6 as they choose McDaniel College for their first performance of their fall USA tour. Additionally, the Goethe-Institut Washington will offer a workshop for students on “Mobile Apps for German Learners” to which we encourage you to Bring Your Own Phone. Offer your students a field-trip they will not easily forget: register your entire class by September 25th.
 

AATG Immersion Weekends

On September 30th, the Goethe-Institut Washington will join the Maryland-DC AATG chapter for their fall immersion weekend. Titled “Building Bridges”, teachers will have the chance to exchange ideas to better understand and bridge the requirements of their students at different levels: high school, community college and university. The Goethe-Institut Washington will additionally be offering an overview of our services for teachers and students of German.

MFLA 2017

The Goethe-Institut Washington looks forward to seeing you at the Maryland Foreign Language Association (MFLA) Fall Conference on Saturday, October 21st. Come stop by our table in the exhibitor area or take part in our workshop to learn about how we support German programs and teachers in the US. This year’s fall MFLA will take place at Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, Maryland.

GWATFL

Visit our workshop for German teachers at the 4th annual Greater Washington Association of Teachers of Foreign Language (GWATFL) Languagefest at Catholic University in Washington DC. We look forward to seeing you there. Make sure to register here by October 15th.

Networking

Career Days USA 2018

 2018 the Goethe-Instituts are once again organizing Career Days for High School and college students in multiple cities throughout the USA. Take a look at when a Career Day in your area is taking place and make sure to plan the attendance for you or your entire class.

PASCH Summer Camp in Portland

Themed „2037: our world in 20 years“ an international summer camp was hosted by the initiative “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH). Between July, 9 and 16 students from the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Central America gathered in Portland, Oregon.

Konferenzen & Vernetzung

Konferenzen

16. Internationale Deutschlehrertagung (IDT)

Die 16. Internationale Deutschlehrertagung (IDT) fand vom 31. Juli bis 4. August 2017 in Freiburg (Schweiz) statt. Das Goethe-Institut vergab Stipendien an DeutschlehrerInnen in den USA zur Teilnahme an der IDT. Hier finden Sie mehr zur diesjährigen Teilnahme des Goethe-Instituts. 

GETVICO

Das Goethe-Institut und der Verband amerikanischer Deutschlehrer (AATG) veranstaltet eine Virtuelle Konferenz für Deutschlehrer und Deutschlehrerinnen in den USA und Kanada.

Termin: 16.09.17
Call for Abstracts bis 01.04.17

ACTFL 2017 in Nashville

Besuchen Sie uns bei Stand #323 der diesjährigen American Convention for the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) in Nashville! Unterhalten Sie sich mit KollegInnen der Goethe-Institute in den USA, nehmen Sie neue Unterrichts- und Promomaterialien mit, erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Angebote und gewinnen Sie tolle Preise.

GAD McDaniel

Wir freuen uns darauf, am dreiundzwanzigsten German-American Day am 17. Oktober im McDaniel College in Westminster, Maryland teilzunehmen. Das diesjährige Motto lautet „Einshoch6 auf US Tour“ und wird ein lebhaftes Konzert der Band Einshoch6 bieten, da sie das McDaniel College für die erste Performance ihrer Herbst Tournee wählt. Zudem wird das Goethe-Institut Washington einen Workshop über „Mobile Apps for German Learners“ für Schüler anbieten, für den wir empfehlen, das eigene Handy mitzubringen. Bieten Sie Ihren Schülern einen Ausflug, den sie nicht so schnell vergessen werden: registrieren Sie Ihre gesamte Klasse bis zum 25. September. 
 

AATG Immersion Weekends

Am 30. September wird sich das Goethe-Institut dem Immersionswochenende des Maryland-DC AATG Ortsverbands anschließen. Gemäß dem Titel „Building Bridges“ werden Lehrer die Chance haben, Ideen auszutauschen um die Anforderungen der Schüler in den unterschiedlichen Stufen zwischen High School, Community College und University zu verstehen und zu überbrücken. Darüber hinaus wird das Goethe-Institut Washington zusätzlich eine Übersicht über unsere Angebote für Deutschlehrer und Schüler anbieten.

MFLA 2017

Das Goethe-Institut Washington freut sich darauf, Sie auf der Maryland Foreign Language Association (MFLA) Herbstkonferenz am Samstag, den 21. Oktober zu sehen. Kommen Sie an unseren Stand im Ausstellungsbereich vorbei oder nehmen Sie an unserem Workshop teil, um zu lernen, wie wir Deutschprogramme und Lehrer in den USA unterstützen. Die diesjährige Herbst MFLA wird am Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, Maryland stattfinden.

GWATFL

Besuchen Sie unseren Workshop für Deutschlehrer auf dem vierten jährlichen Greater Washington Association of Teachers of Foreign Language (GWATFL) Sprachfest in der Catholic University in Washington DC. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie dort zu treffen. Vergessen Sie nicht, sich bis zum 15. Oktober hier zu registrieren.

Vernetzung

Karrieretage USA 2017

Auch 2017 organisieren die Goethe-Institute in mehreren Städten der USA Karrieretage für Schüler/innen und Studierende. Schauen Sie, wann ein Karrieretag in Ihrer Nähe stattfindet, und planen Sie rechtzeitig die Teilnahme für sich oder Ihre ganze Klasse.

PASCH Summer Camp in Portland

„2037: Unsere Welt in 20 Jahren“ war das Thema des diesjährigen regionalen Jugendbegegnungscamp der Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH). Zwischen  09.07. und 16.07.2017 trafen sich Schüler aus den USA, Kanada, Mexiko und Zentralamerika in Portland, Oregon.