Career Booster Grand Rapids 2019

Career Booster GermanY © Goethe-Institut

Wed, 10/09/19, 9am - 1pm
Aquinas College

1700 Fulton E., Grand Rapids, MI 49506

This event is an opportunity for Michigan students who are currently studying German (or are interested to do so in the future), to learn more about German-American companies, and to expand their career options in an increasingly global market.

The German Career Day will feature a mix of presentations, panel discussions, mini-workshops, and information booths where students will learn about various German businesses that are represented in Michigan, and their educational and on-site training opportunities. Students will also receive information about required skill sets for specific careers, and have the chance to engage in mock interviews with company representatives.

Additionally, students will have the opportunity to meet with representatives from collaborating partner organizations (the German American Exchange Service, the German-American Chamber of Commerce, The Right Place, and the Michigan Economic Development Corporation), ask questions about possible career paths, and receive information about Study Abroad, Intern & Work programs in Germany. We have also invited CBYX and DAAD Alumni to join us and share their professional experiences about living, studying and working in Germany.

There are a limited number of stipends available to help defray the costs for the bus. Participating schools /teachers can apply for the stipend on the registration form.

Career Booster Grand Rapids 2019

Career Booster GermanY © Goethe-Institut


 

Mi, 09.10.2019, 9:00 - 13:00 Uhr
Aquinas College

1700 Fulton E., Grand Rapids, MI 49506

Der German Career Day wendet sich insbesondere an Schüler und Studenten, die bereits Deutsch lernen bzw. in der Zukunft Deutsch lernen wollen, um ihre Karrieremöglichkeiten auf dem zunehmend globaler werdenden Arbeitsmarkt zu verbessern.

Das Format der Veranstaltung wird im Großen und Ganzen eine Mischung aus Info-Ständen, Podiumsdiskussionen, Workshops und einem kulturellen Rahmenprogramm sein. Die Teilnehmer sollen die Möglichkeit haben, abwechselnd an Podiumsdiskussionen und Workshops zu verschiedenen Themen teilzunehmen und sich an Info-Ständen mit Vertretern der Firmen und Partnerorganisationen zu unterhalten.

Zum German Career Day werden deshalb deutsch(-amerikanische) Firmen sowie wichtige Partnerorganisationen eingeladen (DAAD, AATG, die Deutsch-Amerikanische Handelskammer, The Right Place, Michigan Economic Development Corporation u.a.), um Schüler und Studenten über Arbeits- und firmeninterne Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten vor Ort und in Deutschland zu informieren, und Fragen rund um das Thema „Karriere mit Deutsch" zu beantworten. Von den o.g. Organisationen sollen die Schüler auch erfahren, welche vielfältigen Studien- und Praktikumsangebote, bzw. welche zusätzlichen Fördermöglichkeiten es in den USA und in Deutschland gibt. Zudem werden Alumni des CBYX-Programms (Congress Bundestag Youth Exchange) und anderer Austauschorganisationen erwartet, die von ihren Erfahrungen in der deutschen Arbeits- und Hochschulwelt berichten.

Für Schulen gibt es eine begrenzte Anzahl von Reisekostenzuschüssen für den Bus. Teilnehmende Lehrkräfte können den Reisekostenzuschuss auf dem Anmeldeformular beantragen.