Hip-Hop Battle Boston

Hip-Hop-Battle Boston ©Goethe-Institut Boston

Hip-Hop-Battle Boston

For the second time, students from different high schools will compete at the Hip-Hop Battle Boston. Teams of students, representing their respective schools, write lyrics about the topic 'Ich' ('I'), practice their performance, improve their pronunciation and stage presence, and get inspiration from experts - all in German, of course!

Despite its association with perceptions of gang life, hip-hop is rightly regarded as a form of language art—one that demands talent, training and courage, much like acquiring skills in a foreign language. With its focus on the spoken word, exploring rhythm, sound and pronunciation, it is a wonderful instrument for language learning and particularly for young learners.

For this reason, the Goethe-Institut Boston has again organized a hip-hop competition for learners of German at New England-based high schools. For two days, the participating students will work together and present the results of their work at a finale showcase. Winners will be awarded a studio recording of their German rap.

The participating schools of the Hip-Hop Battle Boston 2019 are:
Boston Latin School, MA
Conval Regional High School, Peterborough, NH
Cony High School, Augusta, ME
Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School, MA


Watch the film of the first edition of the Hip-Hop Battle Boston from 2017.

This project is financed by the PASCH-project (Schools - Partners of the Future).

Hip-Hop Battle Boston

Hip-Hop-Battle Boston ©Goethe-Institut Boston

Hip-Hop-Battle Boston

Zum zweiten Mal treffen Schüler und Schülerinnen verschiedener High Schools beim Hip-Hop Battle Boston aufeinander. In Schulteams schreiben die Schülerinnen und Schüler einen Rap zum Thema „Ich“, üben Texte und Performance, verbessern Aussprache und Bühnenauftritt und lassen sich dabei von Experten inspirieren - alles natürlich auf Deutsch! 

Denn trotz der Assoziationen mit „Gang Life“ wird Hip-Hop inzwischen zurecht als eine Sprachkunst anerkannt - und zwear eine,  die Talent, Übung und Mut voraussetzt - genau wie das Erlernen von Fremdsprachen. Hip-Hop, mit seinem Fokus auf dem gesprochenen Wort, auf Rhythmus, Klang und Aussprache, ist daher ein wunderbares Instrument zum Spracherwerb gerade für Jugendliche.

Aus diesem Grund organisiert das Goethe-Institut Boston zum zweiten Mal einen Hip-Hop Wettbewerb für DeutschlernerInnen an High Schools in Neuengland. Zwei Tage lang werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler zusammenarbeiten und am Schluss das Resultat ihrer Arbeit im Finale präsentieren. Zu gewinnen gibt es unter anderem eine Studioaufnahme des selbstgeschriebenen Raps.

Die teilnehmenden Schulen des Hip-Hop Battle Boston 2019 sind:
Boston Latin School, MA
Conval Regional High School, Peterborough, NH
Cony High School, Augusta, ME
Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School, MA

Sehen Sie hier den Film der ersten Ausgabe des Hip-Hop Battles Boston aus dem Jahr 2017.


Dieses Projekt wird finanziert aus Mitteln des PASCH-Projekts (Schulen - Partner der Zukunft)