Presentations and workshops Focus on STEM

BMW HQ ©flickr.com/Gilbert Sopakuwa

Fri, 11/02/2018 -
Sat, 11/03/2018

Cambria Hotel Newport



BMW HQ

Career Day/Teacher Workshops/Immersion Day

German and STEM are a perfect combination: The knowledge of German can not only open your way to studying at one of the many excellent free universities in Germany. It can also be the key to employment with one of the leading German engineering firms worldwide.
 
The University of Rhode Island, together with the Goethe-Institut Boston, the AATG and the German Academic Exchance Service (DAAD) are organizing a two-day German-STEM Immersion Seminar on Friday, Nov. 2 and Saturday, Nov. 3 in North Kingston, RI. Teachers and students from high schools and colleges from New England are invited to participate and find out more about the perfect combination of STEM and German.

At the Career Booster Germany on Friday, Nov. 2 between 8:30 am and 6:30 pm, students from high schools and colleges can find out more about opportunities for studying and working in Germany. The Goethe-Institut Boston, together with other partners, showcases excellent opportunities for German speakers in Germany as well as in the U.S. Representatives from German universities, foundations, exchange organizations, companies and the German Consulate will present career options and show how you can succeed with German. The participating students explore options for career paths, professional training, German university degree programs without tuition fees, scholarships, and apprenticeships in Germany and in the USA. This event takes place at the Cambria Hotel in Newport, RI. 

Also, on Friday, Nov. 2 between 8:30 am and 6:30 pm, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) offers Workshops for Teachers from colleges: The participants of this event will learn more about possible career paths for their students and the programs and offerings from German universities. The Goethe-Institut offers a similar workshop for high school teachers.
This event takes place at the Cambria Hotel in Newport, RI. 

Participants of both events will have the chance to experience the buzz of the International Engineering Colloquium which takes place at the same time in North Kingston, RI. They will be able to attend parts of the program of this prestigious international seminar and network with the participants during the session breaks and at the information fair.

On Saturday, Nov. 3 between 8:00 am and 3:30 pm, students and their teachers from high schools in New England can experience STEM through German in hands-on STEM-experiments and workshops at the German-STEM-Immersion Day: Think of fire, explosions, roller coasters, helicopters, science, and fun!  Prizes, competitions, speaking German in an immersion setting, and meeting other German students from throughout New England! URI students and faculty, teachers from around New England, and companies such as MTU Aero Engines will offer workshops based on a myriad of STEM topics including airplanes, roller coasters, salt, forests, and more. The STEM immersion day at URI will be supported in particular by alumni and current ambassadors of the German International Engineering Program who will have studied and interned with German companies in Germany for one year and have returned with great passion for their fields of studies in both engineering and German language and culture. German speaking engineering faculty at URI will run engineering/science workshops in the German language. A highlight of the day will be the workshop “No fear of science!” by German science entertainer and author Jo(achim) Hecker. This event takes place at the  University of Rhode Island in Kingston, RI.

Participation is free and we offer a limited number of grants for high schools, up to $250.00 per grant, to subsidize the transportation costs for school group field-trips (the grants are awarded on first come first served basis only to schools that register for the whole two-day event). Per school we offer 10 places for students*. For schools travelling from far, lodging for students and teachers at the conference center can be arranged. The cost for lodging for students, based on two nights and four students per room, is $50.00 p.p. Teachers can request lodging for two nights in two-person-bedrooms at $100.00 per person. If needed, transport for student groups between both event locations in Newport and Kingston will be offered for free.

Teachers will receive a certificate of attendance which they can use to claim PDPs.

You can register until October 12 by filling out the online registration form. If you have any further questions, please send an e-mail to kerstin.haemmerling@goethe.de

* If you want to take more students, please let us know. If we have places left, we will let you know.

'German STEM Immersion Day – New England'  is part of the Deutschlandjahr USA 2018/19 – Year of German-American Friendship. This initiative is funded by the German Federal Foreign Office, implemented by the Goethe-Institut, and supported by the Federation of German Industries (BDI).

Partnerlogos ©Goethe-Institut Boston

 

Back

Workshops und Präsentationen Fokus auf MINT

BMW HQ ©flickr.com/Gilbert Sopakuwa

Fr, 02.11.2018 -
Sa, 03.11.2018

Cambria Hotel Newport

240 Aquidneck Ave
Middletown, RI 02842

Karrieretag/Workshops für Lehrkräfte/Immersion Day

DaF und MINT sind eine perfekte Kombination: Deutschkenntnisse können nicht nur ein Studium an einer der vielen ausgezeichneten und kostenlosen Universitäten in Deutschland ermöglichen. Sie können auch der Schlüssel zu einer Karriere bei einem von Deutschlands tonangebenden Ingenieursunternehmen sein.

Die University of Rhode Island organisiert gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut Boston, dem AATG und dem DAAD ein zweitägiges DaF-MINT-Immersionsseminar am Freitag, den 2. und Samstag, den 3. November in North Kingston, RI. Lehrkräfte, Dozenten/innen, Studierende und Schüler/innen sind herzlich eingeladen, daran teilzunehmen und mehr über die perfekte Kombination von DaF und MINT zu erfahren.

Beim Career Booster Germany am Freitag, den 2. November zwischen 8:30 Uhr und 18:30 Uhr, können Schüler*innen und Studierende an High Schools und Colleges mehr über die Möglichkeiten von Studium und Arbeit in Deutschland erfahren. Das Goethe-Institut Boston präsentiert zusammen mit anderen Partnern interessante Karriereperspektiven für Amerikaner mit Deutschkenntnissen in Deutschland sowie in den USA. Vertreter/innen von deutschen Hochschulen, Stiftungen, Austauschorganisationen und Unternehmen zeigen in diversen Präsentationen und Workshops, wie Deutsch zum Schlüssel zum beruflichen Erfolg werden kann. Die Teilnehmer/innen entdecken Möglichkeiten für ihre schulische und berufliche Laufbahn, Studienmöglichkeiten in Deutschland, Stipendien und Praktika in Deutschland in den USA. Diese Veranstaltung findet im Cambria Hotel Newport statt.

Ebenfalls am Freitag, den 2. November zwischen 8:30 Uhr und 18:30 Uhr, bietet der DAAD Workshops für Dozent*innen von Colleges an: Die Teilnehmer/innen an dieser Veranstaltung lernen mehr über Studien- und Karrieremöglichkeiten für ihre Schüler/innen und Studierenden und über das Studienangebot an deutschen Hochschulen. Das Goethe-Institut bietet eine ähnliche Veranstaltung für Lehrkräfte an High Schools an. Diese Veranstaltung findet im Cambria Hotel Newport statt.

Teilnehmer/innen an beiden Veranstaltungen haben die Möglichkeit, das International Engineering Colloquium, das zum gleichen Zeitpunkt in North Kingston, RI stattfindet, live mitzuerleben. Sie können an einigen Programmteilen dieses angesehenen Seminars teilnehmen und während der Programmpausen und auf dem Informationsmarkt mit Teilnehmer/innen netzwerken.

Am Samstag, den 3. November, zwischen 8:00 Uhr und 15:30 Uhr können Schüler/innen und Lehrkräfte von High Schools in Neuengland die Faszination von MINT dann in praktischen Experimenten und Workshops selbst erleben beim German-STEM-Immersion Day. Denken Sie an Feuer, Explosionen, Achterbahnen, Hubschrauber, Wissenschaft und Spaß! Wetbewerbe, Preise, Deutsch sprechen in einer Immersionsumgebung und die Möglichkeit, andere Deutschlerner aus ganz Neuengland kennenzulernen. Studierende und Dozenten von URI, Lehrkräfte verschiedener Schulen in Neuengland und Unternehmen, wie MTU Aero Engines, werden Workshops zu unzähligen MINT-Themen, wie z. B. Flugzeugen, Achterbahnen, Salz, Wälder und viele andere anbieten. Der MINT-Immersionstag an URI wird insbesondere von Studierenden udn Alumni des International Engineering-Programms unterstützt, die dank ihrer persönlichen Erfahrungen durch Studienaufenthalten und Praktika in Deutschland überzeugte Botschafter der perfekten Kombination Deutsch und MINT sind. Deutschsprachige Dozenten der Ingenieurswissenschaften an URI werden Workshops auf Deutsch präsentieren. Ein Höhepunkt des Tages wird der spannende Science-Show „No fear of science“ des bekannten deutschen Wissenschaftsentertainers und Autors Jo(achim) Hecker. Diese Veranstaltung findet an der University of Rhode Island in Kingston statt.

Die Teilnahme an den Veranstaltungen ist kostenlos, und wir bieten wir eine begrenzte Anzahl an Zuschüssen in Höhe von bis zu  $250 für teilnehmende Schulgruppen, um die Anreisekosten abzudecken (die Vergabe erfolgt in der Reihenfolge der eingegangenen Anmeldungen und wird nur Teilnehmern, die am gesamten zweitägigen Programm teilnehmen, angeboten). Bitte haben Sie Verständnis dafür, dass wir pro Schule maximal 10 SchülerInnen zulassen können*. Für Teilnehmer*innen, die eine weite Anreise haben, kann Übernachtung in einem Hotel geregelt werden. Die Kosten für Schüler*innen für zwei Übernachtungen in einem Viererzimmer betragen $50 pro Person. Lehrkräften können wir zwei Übernachtungen in einem Zweibettzimmer für  $100 pro Person anbieten. Falls gewünscht, wird für Schülergruppen auch kostenlost Transport zwischen den beiden Veranstaltungsorten in Newport und Kingston angeboten.

Lehrkräfte erhalten nach dem Ende der Veranstaltung ein Teilnahmezertifikat, mit dem sie PDPs geltend machen können.

Anmeldungen für diese Veranstaltung sind leider nicht mehr möglich. Wenn Sie noch Fragen haben, schicken Sie bitte eine E-Mail an Kerstin Hämmerling:
kerstin.haemmerling@goethe.de  

When Sie mehr als 10 Schülerinnen und Schüler mitnehmen möchten, geben Sie uns bitte Bescheid. Wir werden Sie dann informieren, wenn wir noch Restplätze haben.

Das Projekt „German STEM Immersion Day – New England“ ist Teil des Deutschlandjahres USA 2018/19, eine Initiative gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt, realisiert durch das Goethe-Institut e.V. und unterstützt durch den Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e. V..

Partnerlogos ©Goethe-Institut Boston

Zurück