Conversation Listening to History: Revisiting Memory through Soundscape Compositions

Yvette J. Jackson's Swan Storyboard © Yvette Janine Jackson

Wed, 10/28/2020

Online

A conversation between Yvette Janine Jackson and Jacek Smolicki


Click here to register.

The notion of the soundscape is a compositional technique which creates a sonic environment for the listener to immerse herself in. Often aesthetically intriguing, even mesmerizing, soundscape compositions invite listeners to acquire a new perspective and critical angle on the subject or space they pertain to. They can open up a temporary zone for rethinking one's understanding of a given milieu, its history, actors and relations that govern their actions.
 
In this conversation, composers Yvette Janine Jackson and Jacek Smolicki consider soundscapes and their potential for capturing events and characters from the past and connecting them with the present.

Our speakers will begin the conversation with the following presentations:

Yvette Janine Jackson
Narrative soundscape composition is a framework for confronting contentious historical events and social issues.  The practice engages multichannel audio, low frequencies, and often darkness to immerse the listener in a sensorial experience that cannot be conveyed solely through written or spoken text.  Swan, a radio opera that begins in the cargo hold of a tall ship transporting Africans to the Americas before morphing into an Afrofuturistic examination of freedom, will be presented as a springboard for conversation about sound’s affordances as a monument of the past and present.

Jacek Smolicki
With an increased sonic attention and sensibility,  soundscapes that surround us can be approached as specific kinds of living monuments. Through that kind of listening, that which we hear at a given moment becomes simultaneously an aural manifestation of the present and an echo of the past. Just like images, sounds do not emerge and disappear in a vacuum. Seemingly ephemeral, fleeting, and immediate noises of today might have their sonorous roots anchored deeply in history. They replace, reconfigure, or build on that which for some reason has been relegated to the audible past. For example, in sites affected by difficult historical events, the present soundscapes seem to camouflage those of the past; they may seem less representative of that which is present than misrepresentative of that which is absent. Such contested sites reject the aural conditions of today and instead remain stubbornly suspended somewhere between the past and present.
 
Artistic techniques, such as critical and reflective listening, field recording, and soundwalking may help throw into relief various aural dimensions of a site in which power relations of today and the past continuously resonate. These modes of sonic alertness and sensibility can constitute temporary zones for rethinking our perception of soundscapes and reflecting on that which no longer resounds.



Yvette Janine Jackson Foto: Catherine Koch Yvette Janine Jackson is a composer and sound installation artist focused on bringing attention to historical events and social issues. Her works have recently been featured at Fylkingen; Vienna’s MuseumsQuartier Tonspur Passage; International Festival of Computer Art in Maribor; the Fridman Gallery in New York; Cube at Virginia Tech; Tonband Fixed Media Festival at Audiorama; Spreckels Organ in Balboa Park; the San Diego Art Institute; San Francisco International Arts Festival; Stockholm’s Kulturnatten; the Borealis Festival; and in residency at Elektronmusikstudion.

Recent commissions include Lot’s Wife, for ensemble and electronics, by Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity; Remembering 1619 for violin and tape; Atlantic Crossing read by the Naples Philharmonic with support from the American Composers Orchestra; and Cannot Be (Unrung) for carillon and electronics co-commissioned by the University of Chicago and University of Michigan for Tiffany Ng.

Yvette is an assistant professor in Creative Practice and Critical Inquiry in the Department of Music and teaches for the Theater, Dance, Media program at Harvard University. Yvette's chapter "Narrative Soundscape Composition: Approaching Jacqueline George's Same Sun" is in the new book Between the Tracks: Musicians on
selected electronic music edited by Miller Puckette and Kerry L. Hagan for MIT Press.


Jacek Smolicki © Smolicki Jacek Smolicki (b.1982, Kraków) is an interdisciplinary artist, designer, researcher, and soundwalker interested in attending to (as in paying attention) and recording (as in calling to mind and heart) the diversity of human and other-than-human realms and existences.

In his design and art practice, besides working with existing documents, archives and heritage, Smolicki develops new modes of sensing, recording, para-archiving, and mediating memories, stories and signals from various sites, scales, and temporalities. His work is manifested through soundscape compositions, soundwalks, site-responsive performances, experimental archives, audio-visual installations, and diverse forms of writing.

He has exhibited, presented his works, performed, soundwalked, and given workshops internationally (e.g. Kraków, Madrid, Moscow, Helsinki, Stockholm, San Francisco, Budapest, Vienna, Sarajevo, Oxford). In 2017 he completed his PhD from the School of Arts and Communication at Malmö University where he was a member of the Living Archives, a research project funded by the Swedish Research Council.

Between 2020-2023 Smolicki pursues an international postdoc funded by the Swedish Research Council. His research explores the history and prospects of field recording and soundwalking practices from the perspective of post-digital art, environmental humanities, and philosophy of technology. He is also an associate scholar at the Informatics and Media Hub for Digital Existence at Uppsala University. From January 2020 he is a member of BioMe, a research project that investigates ethical implications of AI technologies on everyday life. Smolicki explores sonic capture cultures and the impact of AI technologies on human voice.


“Listening to History" is a series of transatlantic conversations between sound artists, historians and musicologists around the relationship between sound and remembrance. With monuments being called into question around the world, many are asking if there are more flexible and effective alternatives to classical marble and bronze statues. What qualities should we be looking for in the monuments of the future – can sound point us in new directions? What advantages does sound as a medium offer for connecting the past with the present?

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The project connects to the activist and artistic work of local, national, and transnational movements as a reflection of memory culture and discusses new perspectives on forms of memory. 

Back

Gespräch Geschichte hören: Gedenken anhand von Soundscape Kompositionen

Swan Storyboard von Yvette J. Jackson © Yvette Janine Jackson

Mi, 28.10.2020

online

Ein Gespräch zwischen Yvette Janine Jackson und Jacek Smolicki


Klicken Sie hier, um sich zu registrieren.

Der Begriff des Soundscapes ist eine Kompositionstechnik, die eine Klangumgebung schafft, in die sich der Hörer eintauchen kann. Oftmals laden ästhetisch faszinierende, sogar faszinierende Klanglandschaftskompositionen den Hörer dazu ein, eine neue Perspektive und einen kritischen Blickwinkel auf das Thema oder den Raum zu erlangen, auf den sie sich beziehen. Sie können eine temporäre Zone eröffnen, um das Verständnis eines bestimmten Milieus, seiner Geschichte, seiner Akteure und Beziehungen, die ihre Handlungen bestimmen, zu überdenken.

In diesem Gespräch betrachten die Komponist*Innen Yvette Janine Jackson und Jacek Smolicki Soundscape Kompositionen und ihr Potenzial, Ereignisse und Charaktere aus der Vergangenheit festzuhalten und mit der Gegenwart zu verbinden.

Unsere Redner beginnen das Gespräch mit folgenden Präsentationen:

Yvette Janine Jackson
Narrative Soundscape-Komposition ist ein Rahmen für die Auseinandersetzung mit umstrittenen historischen Ereignissen und sozialen Themen. Die Praxis verwendet Mehrkanal-Audio, niedrige Frequenzen und häufig Dunkelheit, um den Hörer in eine sensorische Erfahrung einzutauchen, die nicht nur durch geschriebenen oder gesprochenen Text vermittelt werden kann. Swan, eine Radiooper, die im Frachtraum eines Großseglers beginnt, das Afrikaner nach Amerika transportiert, bevor sie sich in eine afrofuturistische Untersuchung der Freiheit verwandelt, wird als Sprungbrett für Gespräche über die Erschwinglichkeit von Klang als Denkmal der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart präsentiert.

Jacek Smolicki
Künstlerische Techniken, wie kritisches und reflektiertes Hören, Feldaufzeichnungen und Soundwalking, können dazu beitragen, verschiedene akustische Dimensionen eines Ortes, an dem die Machtverhältnisse von heute und der Vergangenheit kontinuierlich mitschwingen, in Relief zu bringen. Diese Arten der klanglichen Wachsamkeit und Sensibilität können temporäre Zonen darstellen, um unsere Wahrnehmung von Soundscapes zu überdenken und über das nachzudenken, was nicht mehr erklingt.



Yvette Janine Jackson Foto: Catherine Koch Yvette Janine Jackson ist eine Komponistin und Klanginstallationskünstlerin, die sich darauf konzentriert, die Aufmerksamkeit auf historische Ereignisse und soziale Themen zu lenken. Ihre Arbeiten wurden kürzlich in Fylkingen gezeigt; Wiener MuseenQuartier Tonspur Passage; Internationales Festival für Computerkunst in Maribor; die Fridman Gallery in New York; Würfel bei Virginia Tech; Tonband Fixed Media Festival im Audiorama; Spreckels Orgel im Balboa Park; das San Diego Art Institute; San Francisco International Arts Festival; Stockholms Kulturnatten; das Borealis Festival; und in der Residenz bei Elektronmusikstudion.

Zu den jüngsten Aufträgen gehört Lot's Wife für Ensemble und Elektronik des Banff Center für Kunst und Kreativität; Erinnerung an 1619 für Violine und Tonband; Atlantic Crossing gelesen von die Naples Philharmonic mit Unterstützung des American Composers Orchestra; und Kann nicht sein (Unrung) für Glockenspiel und Elektronik im Auftrag der Universität von Chicago und University of Michigan für Tiffany Ng.

Yvette ist Assistenzprofessorin für Kreative Praxis und Kritische Untersuchung in der Musikabteilung und unterrichtet für das Programm Theater, Tanz, Medien in Harvard Universität. Yvettes Kapitel "Narrative Soundscape Composition: Approaching Jacqueline George's Same Sun "ist in dem neuen Buch Between the Tracks: Musicians on ausgewählte elektronische Musik, herausgegeben von Miller Puckette und Kerry L. Hagan für MIT Press.


Jacek Smolicki © Smolicki Jacek Smolicki (* 1982 in Krakau) ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler, Designer, Forscher und Soundwalker, der daran interessiert ist, sich mit der Vielfalt von Menschen und anderen Menschen zu befassen (wie Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken) und sie aufzuzeichnen (wie sie an Verstand und Herz zu erinnern). menschliche Bereiche und Existenzen.

Smolicki arbeitet in seiner Design- und Kunstpraxis nicht nur mit vorhandenen Dokumenten, Archiven und Erbe, sondern entwickelt auch neue Modi zum Erfassen, Aufzeichnen, Para-Archivieren und Vermitteln von Erinnerungen, Geschichten und Signalen von verschiedenen Orten, Maßstäben und Zeitlichkeiten. Seine Arbeit manifestiert sich in Klanglandschaftskompositionen, Soundwalks, ortsbezogenen Performances, experimentellen Archiven, audiovisuellen Installationen und verschiedenen Formen des Schreibens.

Er hat ausgestellt, seine Werke präsentiert, aufgeführt, Soundwalking durchgeführt und Workshops international gegeben (z. B. Krakau, Madrid, Moskau, Helsinki, Stockholm, San Francisco, Budapest, Wien, Sarajevo, Oxford). 2017 promovierte er an der Hochschule für Kunst und Kommunikation der Universität Malmö, wo er Mitglied des Living Archives war, einem vom schwedischen Forschungsrat finanzierten Forschungsprojekt.

Zwischen 2020 und 2023 verfolgt Smolicki einen internationalen Postdoc, der vom schwedischen Forschungsrat finanziert wird. Seine Forschung untersucht die Geschichte und Perspektiven von Feldaufzeichnungs- und Soundwalking-Praktiken aus der Perspektive der postdigitalen Kunst, der Umweltwissenschaften und der Technologiephilosophie. Er ist außerdem Associate Scholar am Informatik- und Medienzentrum für digitale Existenz an der Universität Uppsala. Ab Januar 2020 ist er Mitglied von BioMe, einem Forschungsprojekt, das die ethischen Auswirkungen von KI-Technologien auf den Alltag untersucht. Smolicki untersucht Sonic Capture-Kulturen und die Auswirkungen von KI-Technologien auf die menschliche Stimme.


"Listening to History" ist eine Reihe transatlantischer Gespräche zwischen Klangkünstlern, Historikern und Musikwissenschaftlern über die Beziehung zwischen Klang und Erinnerung. Angesichts der weltweit diskutierten Rolle von Denkmälern fragen sich viele, ob es flexiblere und effektivere Alternativen zu klassischem Marmor- und Bronzestatuen gibt. Welche Eigenschaften sollten wir in den Denkmälern der Zukunft suchen - kann uns dabei der Klang in neue Richtungen weisen? Welche Vorteile bietet der Klang als Medium, um die Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart zu verbinden?

Shaping the Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. Das Projekt knüpft an die aktivistische und künstlerische Arbeit lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zu Reflexion von Erinnerungskultur an und diskutiert neue Perspektiven auf Formen des Erinnerns.

Zurück